Buying Advice nikon D50 vs D70s?

bh-4
post Apr 19 2006, 09:33 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 19 2006, 09:19 PM)
20D?? no money leh  blush.gif is it around 4500??

anyway i'm back from the stinking KKB place  vmad.gif mosquito everywhere...aedes some more  vmad.gif

anyway i'm gonna buy tomolo liao  icon_rolleyes.gif kinda happy but still a bit indecisive  doh.gif

oh ya guys i wanna ask...when i was playing with the D70s, i noticed that the lens glass infront is kinda brownish. is it already pre-equipped with a filter?  unsure.gif

n how many types of filter r there in the market?
i think that is not the filter. its the coating of the lens.

D50's kit lens is good, but the D70's kit lens is better. in terms of range the 18-70 wins. but when it comes to using built in flash, the 18-70 will have some problems since when you pull it to wide and take pictures with built in flash, you will notice a shadow at the bottom tongue.gif. easily solved by getting an external flash. in terms of picture quality, both lenses perform GOOD. as long as you dont go pixel peeping and try REALLY HARD TO FIND their flaws. smile.gif anyway, get any camera and start shooting. build the photographer in you and not the equipment collecter in you. tongue.gif
bh-4
post Apr 19 2006, 11:21 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 19 2006, 09:47 PM)
i think i'll be sticking with the 18-70mm lens pretty long  sweat.gif if got money then only try n get a micro nikkor lens or a super tele nikon/3rd party lens  sweat.gif
hehe... 18-70mm is a very good range as a walk around lens. if you really want to get into macros. u can always purchase some close up filters( 2 +4 close up filters should do the job ). but dont buy nikon's since they are really really really expensive. or another good alternative is get the sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG MACRO. the one with the red ring. its a good telephoto lense and also a good macro lense.... its really soft at around 300mm but until around 250mm its really usable... if you step down the aperture to around f8 it should be acceptable for all focal lenghts.... the sigma would cost around RM750 for a new one. comes with a soft pouch + lens hood summore. smile.gif

bh-4
post Apr 19 2006, 11:29 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 19 2006, 11:10 PM)
With the 30D out, used 20D body is around the range of ħRM3500.

Btw, Vladimir's selling 30D body for RM4700.
dont think many 20d users will switch to 30d since the changes from 20d is not much. just add some megapixels.... spot metering ( not that i use it, but some people need this feature for fine composing ) .... ISO step from 1 step to 1/3 step ( not many will use it anyway, i like it better with 1 steps ).... but if your upgrading from 300d @ 350d it might be worthwhile. smile.gif.
bh-4
post Apr 19 2006, 11:54 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Apr 19 2006, 11:27 PM)
What's the point of buying a lens if it does not deliver optically when wide open or across its specified zoom range? You might as well get one with a tighter zoom range and extrapolate the image; you'd probably get the same result.
that should depend on how deep your willing to dig into your pocket tongue.gif. tighter focal lengths usually is better but depends once again on how you are going to use it... i suggested the Sigma since sumone wants to use a macro and a telephoto. since the lens has fairly good aspects in both the macro and telephoto ( and also it has a very good price tag ).

but if it comes down to getting a good macro and telephoto on one lense, you could always result to the Zoom Micro Nikkor 70-180mm f/4.5-5.6 ( which has a price tag of nearly RM4k ). tongue.gif

0.0204sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:05 AM