Unifi Sabah-Sarawak UNIFI Thread, Free until Dec 24month contract promo

NubPro
post Nov 23 2015, 02:27 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 23 2015, 02:18 PM)
Dang. Not sure if my parents is surfing / youtubing when I do speed test remotely. But anyways, thanks for your head up. Going back to test again tonight with direct LAN connection to see how it goes. Am using Asus RTN66U.

Edit: Whats your IP range bro? My has been changed from 1.xx something to 118.xx since last night.
all ips are dynamic unless you bought static ip.
NubPro
post Nov 23 2015, 05:39 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 23 2015, 05:24 PM)
1Gbps? The old generation design TM used during HSBB Phase 1 areas can't even support 50Mbps.
TM launched FTTH services using GPON technology 7 years ago during its early stage of introduction.
To further understand how GPON works, each port at the OLT has 2.4G/1.2G rate. If you "pao"(reserve) the port all to yourself meaning only 1 line direct to your home, of course you'll get a dedicated 2.4G/1.2G line but it's going to cost you a dedicated leased line. So to cut costs down, you need to share that line using a passive splitter installed in the cabinet like the one shown above.
The idea is like a water tap/electricity cable that goes into your home, if you turn on too many taps/install too many air-conditioner units, then of course overload/water pressure slow lorr.
The splitter cassettes inside the cabinet looks like one of these:
Back then (2008), TM got greedy and used the maximum 1 port split 64 lines.Each user only gets this much guaranteed bandwidth:
2.4G / 64 lines =  37.5Mbps (Download)
1.2G / 64 lines = 18.75Mbps (Up)
If you count in overheads say 10%, that's around 34M (Down) /  17M (Up).
Also don't forget you need to reserve IPTV bandwidth around 8Mbps plus the internet plan you're selling.
30M(Internet) + 8M(IPTV) = 38M (Down)
Through my years of experience, even 30M already got restriction, don't say 50M.If they insist on selling, I can guarantee most customers will come back complaining that they can never achieve their package speeds. they will be taking a gamble and pray that customers won't complain. That's why 50M plans are very limited to certain new areas.
As comparison, Time's network and many other FTTH providers in Indonesia(Telkom) and Thailand(AIS, CAT, 3BB) who launched their GPON networks much later all use 1:32 splitters max on each port.
So each port is capable of 72M down / 38M up. Selling 100M service like what Time does still works but rarely you can get speed results  that matches your subscribed 100M plan.
Now those FTTH services in USA, Singapore and Japan use even tighter standards,if you subscribe gigabit packages, they will put you on very low split count per port. No more than 16 lines per port with some no more than 8 lines per port.
TM covered many areas already during HSBB Phase 1 so if they want to plan for faster speeds, just imagine how much work and budget extra they need to spend to re-wire all the old ports. It's like building a new network once again. More OLT ports, new feed lines for new ports need to pull to cabinets and more splitters. They'll not afford it unless more songlap happens.
Now with Phase 2, the improvised the split ratio a little. It's now 1:32 on par with Time and the rest of the industry ISPs. That's why I said 100M ports are now capable with the newer bigger cabinets.
More splitters = More space needed = Need more BIGGER cabinet.
Heard of AT&T Gigapower service in US? They split no more than 16 lines per port, so they need really big cabinets. This is an ADC cabinet used over there, big a not? It's taller than a fully grown "ang moh"
In Singapore and HK, you won't see large size cabinets on the roads, they "sorok"(hide) them inside HDB flat riser rooms/huts. If you get to see one, it's at least twice the size of ours on the road.
Woa, thanks for the knowledge. I am glad that my network is kinda future proof, but damn they haven't launch Unifi. By the way are you a network engineer?

ps wuts songlap?
NubPro
post Nov 23 2015, 06:31 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(cgw @ Nov 23 2015, 06:20 PM)
Ho, if there's a white tm box hanging at the pole, does that mean service is available? Or if not, usually how long will the service be available? Thanks
n
Approx a month. thats what I have learnt if the tm box thingy recently appeared.

Which area?

--
Looks like TM will be in a hot mess if they decided to offer 100mbps.

This post has been edited by NubPro: Nov 23 2015, 06:53 PM
NubPro
post Nov 26 2015, 04:30 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Nov 26 2015, 02:38 PM)
unifi in area above 100% confirmed?
its officially listed in Sarawak TM page, so heck yea.
NubPro
post Nov 27 2015, 11:48 AM

397 posts

Oh well, I decided check the actual postcodes that are officially listed in the Unifi coverage page.
The results are fairly interesting.

17 out of 220 postal codes are under Unifi coverage at Sarawak.

Whereas, Sabah only scored 7 out of 398 postal codes.

Do keep in mind, the all postal codes listed are retrieved from a third party site, which may not be necessary accurate.
rolleyes.gif

--

Here are the results:

Sarawak Postal Codes Official Unifi-ed:

Sabah Postal Codes Official Unifi-ed:

@Vyrnach
If ya don't mind, please update the postal codes.

This post has been edited by NubPro: Nov 27 2015, 11:55 AM
NubPro
post Nov 29 2015, 11:37 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Xteoh @ Nov 29 2015, 11:17 PM)
TM contractor sabah focus on 88450 post code now. I can see everywhere is TM contractor laying fibre cable to the pole and new TM box
which area?

They have pretty much covered all Taman Kingfisher area.
TM agents are there ready to serve you, mine to be installed next month.
NubPro
post Nov 30 2015, 12:20 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Xteoh @ Nov 29 2015, 11:53 PM)
At Taman Khidmat they wiring the fiber cable to the pole. At Inanam G Mart I saw they pulling fiber cable into underground. Many new TM Box with Laser sticker spotted at Inanam area (Taman Khidmat, Taman BDC, Taman Dai Ming, Gaint Kolombong)
dayum lots of area under 88450. That's great!
This is going to take a while before they proceed to another postcode.

This post has been edited by NubPro: Nov 30 2015, 12:20 AM
NubPro
post Dec 22 2015, 06:56 PM

397 posts

News:
East Coast of Borneo ( Lahad Datu etc ) will be getting UniFi next year, 2016.

--
Default router ( provided by TM ) shits.
Rather unstable download speed and crappy bottleneck ( around 20 mbps ).
Instead of the new HyppTV box ( the white one ), I was instead provided with the old one.
When I asked the contractor, he claimed that the old was actually better than the new one. ( wot ) hmm.gif

Anyway, back to the story. It's totally worth to get a new router and stay away from the crappy default equipment, the modem.

My Asus Router, AC66U:

rclxms.gif
NubPro
post Dec 27 2015, 01:45 AM

397 posts

New postal codes in service of UniFi officially:
91000 (Tawau, Sabah)
93300 (Kuching, Sarawak)
98100 (Lutong, Sarawak)

TS, please update.
NubPro
post Dec 28 2015, 01:13 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Vyrnach @ Dec 28 2015, 12:06 PM)
updated. thanks!  biggrin.gif
Oppsie

You already listed them in Sarawak category.
NubPro
post Jan 15 2016, 10:31 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(toiletwater @ Jan 15 2016, 07:52 AM)
Thanks for the useful info in the thread starter..

I would like to ask, using unifi... How do you link up the fixed line phones (or have more than one working fixed line phone)?

Tq!
you cant link up fixed line phone with Unifi.
Idk why though.

Yes, your previous fixed line will remains if you choose so, hencd you will have 2 home numbers.
NubPro
post Jan 15 2016, 01:58 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Jan 15 2016, 01:38 PM)
u can't, phone line together with unifi is running thru fiber

unlike the usual copper wire phone line, totally different things
I want to convert my streamyx home number to Unifi.
NubPro
post Jan 15 2016, 06:17 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Colonel Cabuk @ Jan 15 2016, 03:48 PM)
You can't.

What you can do is pay a minimum fee every month to keep the old number active.
I know I can't
But i need to know the reason behind this.

Fyi, monthly payment 1 ringgit.
NubPro
post Jan 15 2016, 09:08 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(toiletwater @ Jan 15 2016, 08:46 PM)
Thanks! all si-fus here. It's much clearer now.
I also find it weird that VIP 5,10,20 has free unlimited fixed line calls, whereas VIP 30 and 50 doesn't. My mom definitely wants the free fixed line calls.
vip 5 to 20 have been removed.
NubPro
post Jan 19 2016, 11:45 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Victory333 @ Jan 19 2016, 10:20 AM)
Hi guys, I wonder how is the unifi coverage at Sabah and Sarawak...
Pls drop some feedback. tq
One word: Improving.
NubPro
post Jan 27 2016, 04:16 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Jan 27 2016, 02:43 PM)
Have been tunneling for months in front of my house.

and still tunneling now.

and tunneling.

and tunneling. lol.
fix pipe or electric?

NubPro
post Jan 28 2016, 02:53 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Jan 27 2016, 09:56 PM)
hey...last month my house installed unifi
and i jz got home to see my unifi....
everything is at the living room, by the tv mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

really sien with it... family did tell the contractor to install upper floor... contractor insist to install hypptv... and put unifi router and modem together  wid hypptv in the living room by the tv

already call tm complained, they made the report.
it is better to put at lower level.

I monitor their every single move during the installation so yea.
NubPro
post Jan 28 2016, 10:37 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Vyrnach @ Jan 28 2016, 09:14 PM)
it should be one of those roadshow like events they have been doing like recently at CityOne and Saberkas. Very likely would be the standard packages. Usually only special offers would be for those long time existing customers whose contract almost expire

EDIT: also can anyone around sarawak and sabah still confirm if VIP5,10 and 20 still available?. Seems like they're forcing everyone to go for UNIFI30 or 50
VIP 5 - 20 gone in Sabah.
NubPro
post Jan 29 2016, 03:01 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 29 2016, 02:57 PM)
Went to have a look at the Unifi promotion at the shopping mall here as advised by TM SMS.

Big disappointment. Same thing as the Unifi promotion last year. RM179 for 30 M, add RM20 for the phone calls, etc.

Was hoping for the free calls this time. No such offer.

No need to waste your time going to offers like this one.
The advance plan 30 Mbps should've been priced at RM 199 by this time, but instead the promo has been extended until further notice.

Hence the "promo"
NubPro
post Feb 15 2016, 06:02 PM

397 posts

New Postcode Available for UniFi Registration

Sabah:

Sarawak:
none

@junclj
There you go
https://www.tm.com.my/Home/Broadband/unifi/...es/Request.aspx

-
Btw, anyone of you has your update speed throttled to 10Mbps?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0291sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:25 AM