I cannot imagine what will happen if one Singapore dollar hits Ringgit 3.00..?
very soon..
What will happen on our FDs if Ringgit is keep depreciating..?
S$ 1 = RM 2.594 --> Hu..hu..
US$ 1 = RM 3.330 --> will go up again..?
AU$ 1 = RM 2.982
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.
Aug 27 2013, 02:35 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Singapore dollar and US dollar rise against Ringgit like a rocket lately..
I cannot imagine what will happen if one Singapore dollar hits Ringgit 3.00..? very soon.. What will happen on our FDs if Ringgit is keep depreciating..? S$ 1 = RM 2.594 --> Hu..hu.. US$ 1 = RM 3.330 --> will go up again..? AU$ 1 = RM 2.982 |
Aug 27 2013, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 27 2013, 10:52 AM) ........ money to bail out companies/organization which have been mismanaged due to in-competencies, corruption, greed etc etc and that include the banks too. Captain, if you think about the crony issue, this topic relates to many sectors and that will be no ending for discussion..This is fun discussion instead of repeating the same FD promo until new FD promotions are out You suggested Honda hybrid, but don't forget Honda (except Honda motorcycle) is also a crony company; unless buy only Nissan. For grocery shopping, perhaps the only options left without crony are NSK, 99 Speed Mart and Econsave and etc... For bread without crony is Massimo, I believe you know about this. For petrol station without crony, I think is only Caltex left.. For banks without crony, only Public bank and foreign banks left. I will never put my FD in Public bank because of the low interest rate, in this case, I do not care whether it is a crony or not. About the greedy for high FD rate, it is quite normal for everybody to aim for the possible higher interest rate. I think it is quite controversial if this involves of crony issue, but I agree this probably should take into account. Thank you for sharing. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 28 2013, 12:32 AM |
Aug 28 2013, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 27 2013, 05:21 PM) Bro, true that it is normal for us to aim for higher FD rate. Like I said, we have a choice. And once again it is not about cronyism but my personal choice based on my principles. Captain, I do not expect BR will bankrupt. Let me put in another way - If there is no guarantee by the government that Rakyat's money will be used to pay the depositors of BR, will educated people that come to this forum deposit with BR? Most probably not. But because they know the Rakyat's money is there to bail them out when these companies are mismanaged, they go deposit there for no other reason except that they can get more money. So what is the difference between these selected few people and politicians that uses/receive/steal/misuse Rakyat's money for their own benefit? I guess if something goes wrong with BR, Ministry of Finance must have some legit solutions standby to rectify it. But I am not surprised if they use Rakyat money to bailout depositors as this is only one of the corruption cases in Malaysia. Thank you for sharing your opinion. If the concern is about Rakyat (tax payers) money, then I think this recent news should brought us attention: Pemuda UMNO Tentang Peminjam Tegar PTPTN Disenarai Hitam KUALA LUMPUR 20 Ogos - Hasrat kerajaan meneyenaraihitamkan peminjam Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional (PTPTN) yang ingkar ke dalam Sistem Maklumat Rujukan Kredit Pusat (CCRIS) ditentang oleh Pergerakan Pemuda UMNO. Ketua Pemuda UMNO, Khairy Jamaluddin berkata, kerajaan seharusnya mengambil pendekatan lain bagi mengumpul kembali dana yang dipinjam dari badan tersebut dan bukannya menyenaraihitamkan dibawah CCRIS. "Keutamaan hendaklah diberi kepada tindakan bersepadu yang juga mengambil kira pemberian insentif bayaran balik serta kaedah pembayaran anjal yang mengambil kira situasi semasa peminjam," katanya dalam kenyataan kepada media di sini, hari ini. Menurut Khairy, hutang pendidikan PTPTN merupakan keperluan bagi meneruskan pengajian ke peringkat lebih tinggi dan ianya bukanlah pinjaman pilihan peribadi seperti pinjaman kad kredit atau pinjaman kenderaan. "Harus diakui bahawa pinjaman PTPTN bersifat keperluan kerana kerajaan tidak menawarkan pendidikan percuma sepenuhnya di institusi pengajian tinggi dan keperluan memiliki kelulusan sama ada diploma mahupun ijazah adalah penting bagi pembangunan kerjaya dan intelektual seseorang anak muda," katanya. Jelasnya, PTPTN harus menggunakan kaedah yang lebih efisyen bagi memberi imej yang lebih baik terhadap badan yang memberi bantuan kepada golongan muda untuk melanjutkan pengajian di peringkat yang lebih tinggi Pandangan Khairy turut dikongsi Presiden Solidariti Mahasiswa Malaysia Muhammad Safwan Anang yang menganggap tindakan memasukkan peminjam PTPTN yang ingkar dibawah CCRIS akan membebankan golongan muda. “Walaupun kami menuntut PTPTN dimansuhkan, namun tindakan yang boleh menyebabkan penyenaraian hitam nama kepada peminjam PTPTN itu perlu dikaji semula," ujarnya. http://networkedblogs.com/Ohs5s This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 28 2013, 09:24 PM |
Aug 28 2013, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 28 2013, 10:27 AM) actually i don't understand why don't blacklisted into CCRIS. IMO, thisi s the only way to make them pay! Always pinjam puinjam pinjam but no return just like wtf la... U borrow, u return, fair and square right? Why don't return. Totally can't understand... Actually i am neutral bout politics, i will go for the good gov no matter where they come from. However, the only good this i see is this CCRIS thing, but opposed by that people I read from the newspaper, no, action will not be taken to black list them on CCRIS.My friend told me, many years ago, government sent more than 20 students from MARA to study in a State University in the US, these MARA students got money from our government to pay for their their tuition fees, accommodation, food, and other expenses, they also received extra US$ 400 each month as pocket money. US$ 400 was a big dollar value at that time. We doubt they will need to pay back this US$ pocket money to the government. Let's assume if they studied there for 3 years, US$ 400 x 36 months = US$ 14400.00 20 students x US$ 14400 = US$ 288,000.00 These students academic performance were just so so, not very outstanding. QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 28 2013, 11:17 AM) Received mail from Affin yesterday This also depends on your 20% deposit amount in Affin CASA.1-3 mths 3.68% 4-6 mths 3.78% 7-9 mths 3.88% subject to 20% in CASA Any comments? For Affin saving account interest, please refer to #Post 2124 by RO Player on Page 107 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2722457/+2120 You can participate in their OMB Invasion campaign, for their Grand Prize, you have to act fast before the end of this August. http://www.omginvasion.com This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 28 2013, 12:39 PM |
Aug 28 2013, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 28 2013, 11:49 AM) Just received invitation from Bank Rakyat for this Friday. Eating issue does not exist lah.. as BR is so far OK.. Ha ha, so go or not to go ?? So I suggest you to go. Please share with us after you come back from the party, like to tell us the atmosphere, how many attendants, gifts, content of BR speech, their future business direction...and etc.. BR invites you to eat in where? A buffet dinner in Equatorial hotel? There are many big eating issues around, one of the big eating scandals is probably French submarine which cannot be sunk under the water.. So no need to worry, your buffet dinner is just a small eating.. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 28 2013, 01:34 PM |
Aug 28 2013, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 28 2013, 05:57 PM) Ha ha, bro, may not go, so no report on it. Ha.. ha.. No need suddenly to switch to snack lah.. It is at their office this Friday from 3pm to 4.30pm. It is "Majlis Hari Raya Aidilfitri BR Bersama Pendeposit/Pelanggan Korporat 2013" per the invitation letter. Likely to be small snack if there is any. Eat small small like buffet rakyat can tahan lah.. I was wondering the given gifts are considered eating or not..? You received a lot of gifts, right? I remember you said you received 2 hampers? By the way, It is quite headache when FD maturity date approaching, this is one of the reasons I placed some FD in a longer term... S$ 1.00 = RM 2.601 ---> Break records US$ 1.00 = RM 3.334 This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 12:04 AM |
Aug 29 2013, 04:15 PM
Deleted...
This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 12:02 AM |
Aug 29 2013, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 29 2013, 07:22 PM) bbgoat Ha ha.. I just want to make a joke with gsc... Oh boy, I better not talk about anything else here besides FD, terrified you go report to wife.... I do not have his parents phone number la... Thanks for the links... |
Aug 30 2013, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 29 2013, 11:11 PM) Bad news from Ocbc the Mega saver 4.5% for 3 months FD will end on 10 Sept instead of end of Sept. Why suddenly OCBC shorten the period for their 4.5 FD promo..? i was thinking of switching over to Ocbc when my SC mature in 3rd week of Sept.. I called UOB this afternoon and tried to get the next new FD promo rate, but UOB said they did not have the new rate until next Monday. This UOB staff also mentioned that she heard the new FD rate would drop a bit. Let's find out on next Monday. Thanks so much for updating OCBC FD news .. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 30 2013, 06:23 PM) As instructed by bro BoomChaCha (to report after makan makan) and Grand Uncle, oh sorry Uncle Magika (to go makan makan), I changed my mind and squeezed in some time to go for BR's "Majlis Hari Raya Aidilfitri BR Bersama Pendeposit/Pelanggan Korporat 2013". Don't say instructed la.. I do not dare to do so la... Arriving at their office, they have an open house outside the bank with people queuing up for the food (ground floor). I was greeted by the BM and ABM and brought up by one of their staff to 2nd floor. They have 4 tables. All their staff were wearing formal Malay costumes (Uncle Magika, luckily I did not wear like what you said It is just a makan makan affair. Received one cute bottle with sweets inside. No talk was given. Later talked to the ABM, he said once FD matured need to re-negotiate the FD rate. As some of my initial deposit was at 4.06%, ha ha, will ask for higher rate in Sept. Asked him about the rumour about take over. He said not true, there was talk of a bank M taking over but they are in fact biggger than that one. FD interest wise, he said might even go down ?? Anyway over at the counter, asked about the ATM card, was told no annual fees. End of report. What is a PDC staff? I am not worried about the banks merge or acquisition issues. This happened in history, A small bank took over a bigger bank. If I remember this correctly, last time Arab Malaysian bank took over MBF to become AM Bank.. What is M bank? Is it Am bank? Or May Bank? If 10 people can fit one table, so 4 tables x 10 people = 40 people. But not all top depositor can attend this invitation, so I guess BR has around 100 top depositors in their branch. Not surprised for most attendees are Chinese, because around 97% population in Penang are Chinese. How was the food? Delicious? Oh.. ATM card is free..this is great. Thanks for your time and effort to write this BR meal tour for us... This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 12:41 AM |
Aug 30 2013, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 30 2013, 10:02 PM) PDC, Penang Development Corporation, under Pg G. But what if you meet your friends or your neighbors in this invitation? Then all of you knowWrong guess on M Bank, keep on guessing. Pg Chinese population high but not to extend of 97% lah This 4 tables, people finish makan and leave for others coming in. Mix of private depositors and corporate client of BR branch. Food wise, OK lah, can do. Did not eat too much as already eaten full lunch. Keep fit so that can do more Pom Cha Cha (dancing). each other are rich men? This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 12:48 PM |
Aug 30 2013, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Aug 30 2013, 10:14 PM) Escorted by BM n ABM up to 2 floor (VVIP) Oh.. you noticed this part.? I have to say that you are right this time.So please don't play a fool with bbgoat... I have FD will mature next week...very headache during this weekend and need to chase after musical chairs.. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 12:00 AM |
Aug 30 2013, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Aug 30 2013, 10:56 PM) Suddenly something flash thru my mind!! Everybody including robbers know of BR function. What if somebody took picture of your friend/follow while being escorted to VVIP Floor , then follow him home, then it will be your fault for asking him to attend This is quite true also.. QUOTE(magika @ Aug 30 2013, 10:56 PM) I did, but cannot put all money into 5 years FD, right..?This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 12:19 AM |
Aug 30 2013, 11:27 PM
Will find out UOB new FD promo rate on next Monday...
This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 31 2013, 01:39 PM |
Aug 31 2013, 01:14 PM
RHB FD Promo Bundled with Uni Trust at 1:1 Ratio
Effective from 13 August to 26 September 2013 3.98% for 1 year tenure, but need to buy Uni Trust at 1:1 ratio Min RM 10K Max RM 3 Million |
Sep 1 2013, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Aug 30 2013, 11:18 PM) Frankly I do not advise to attend such function as this is an eye opening function , eye opening for those with criminal intention. But the good thing is that maybe a good opportunity to create human networks from rich and successful depositors there.QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Sep 1 2013, 07:41 AM) Yes, if put RM 10K in FD, then need to put another RM 10K in Uni Trust, total is RM 20K.If put RM 25K in FD, then need to put another RM 25K in Uni Trust, total is RM 50K. |
Sep 1 2013, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 1 2013, 01:11 PM) Ha ha, received invitation from Public Mutual Gold for a seminar. Guess what, in Equatorial Hotel (BoomChaCha was guessing BR holding function there). Better not to go Wah... somemore a Golden Class customer from Public Mutual fund.. Really a Top Goat and a humble Goat (go by bbgoat rather than aagoat).. You have noting to lose to attend..Maybe Public Bank will offer a good deal for participants?..Go lah.. If you are worried to get ambushed after the seminar, then don't go back to your office/home directly, drive rounding in crowded area first, the best is to park your car in nearby police station parking lot for few minutes, make sure nobody follows you then drive back to your destination. QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 1 2013, 01:11 PM) FD, wise, unless UOB has good promotion in Sept, will be withdrawing matured FD and put to BR. After makan makan, thinking to top up a little bit more (the power of BR giving people "eating" makan makan). If not will top up in KFH with lower rate. I will call UOB and post the UOB new FD promotion here tomorrow.Hopefully it is a good news for all of us.. QUOTE(lightbulk @ Sep 1 2013, 02:50 PM) Abang Kilat, Sorry, I do not know the fee charge for Uni Trust from RHB.You have to call RHB to find out: http://www.rhb.com.my/ Good Luck This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 1 2013, 10:03 PM |
Sep 1 2013, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(RO Player @ Sep 1 2013, 10:15 PM) Top Cat, usually gifts from banks are not really valuable.What are the most valuable gifts you have received from banks? Am Bank Top Rate Promotion - 15 July to 15 October 2013 Link: http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/D...ateDeposit.aspx This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2013, 01:32 AM |
Sep 2 2013, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Sep 1 2013, 07:53 PM) hi all, Check out Mach online FD with PIDM, interest rate up to 3.4% p.a. may i know which other bank that offer online placement of FD, like maybank? i know public bank does not offer that (they do, but u need to pickup ur certificate, which is a hassle). does bank rakyat or ocbc offer that? https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/mach-fixed-deposit Alliance Bank online FD, a chance to win a Samsung 46" smart TV: http://www.alliancebank.com.my/savewinsmartplus This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2013, 01:45 AM |
Sep 2 2013, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 2 2013, 09:24 AM) Thank you for your safety advice earlier !! There is only one FD promo from UOB for SeptemberReally admire the efforts you put in to check out the various FD promotions ! Even updating info into wee hours of the day Let us know after you have called UOB on their Sept promotion. Thanks ! UOB FD 3 Months Promo - Effective from 2 September to 30 September 2013 3.3% for 3 months tenure 95% of fund put in FD, 5% of fund put in CASA Minimum deposit: RM 10K Ha..ha.. will try to sleep early from now on.. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2013, 11:26 AM |
Sep 2 2013, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 1 2013, 09:38 PM) Ocbc has brought forward to end the Mega Saver on 10 Sept. Ocbc other offer is 3.3% for 9 months. It seems that banks has changed the promotion to longer period, 9 months or more with a rate lower than present....SC 3.3% for 12 months.... I just called OCBC help line, OCBC said all 4 FD promos will end on this 10th of September: (1) Mega Saver 3 months FD at 4.5% bundled with CASA (Smart Savers) (2) 3.7% for 13 months (3) 3.4% for 12 months (4) 3.3% for 3 months QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 2 2013, 11:35 AM) Thanks ! You are welcome.The 3 mth promo is lower than both KFH 3.98% for Junior acct and also BR's rate. So will move out from UOB and go to KFH or BR. I guess OCBC will lower the FD rates after 10 of September.. QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 2 2013, 12:55 PM) Judging from the lack of exciting ones, I'll prolly just go for a joint-account FD for OCBC MegaSaver for the next 3 months. You'd better do it fast before 10 September..This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2013, 01:58 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0392sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:03 PM |