11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]

FCUK89
post Mar 1 2008, 09:14 PM

www.bigvisionsocialmedia.com
955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 1 2008, 08:39 PM)
1 quick question here, is it easi to rent a house wif budget rm 1000 or below(fully furbished) nearby the uni?

thanks!
Do you mean by a whole house? Or a room?

I doubt so..at least would be RM 1000 above...
If worse come to worse, you have to go to Sunway Semenyih, which is RM 600 without furniture...but further away from college...

You can try asking other ppl and see, but as far as i know, i don't think you can rent a fully furnish house near campus for RM 1000. I think the cheapest would be RM 1100 or RM 1200....
FCUK89
post Mar 2 2008, 12:25 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 1 2008, 11:00 PM)
oh.. i see.. i mean a whole house.. wif like 2 to 3 rooms.. well.. i have no idea of how's it going to be like staying at semenyih.. hope u guys can tell me more.. thx
Erm, the house there usually all have 4 rooms. So one house can accomodate 5 people (with masterbedroom having 2). It's not too bad. Staying in Semenyih is basically really quite. Depends on what do you like to do usually. If you like to go watch movie, or always go out malls, then I'm afraid, you will be bored here.
But if you like to play sports, or a nature lover or a bookworm, then probably you will enjoy it here.

But despite the quite quiet lifestyle here in Semenyih, the people in the university here are the ones who bring colour to your life here. So no worries about that.

Weekends will be a little quiet though.

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 1 2008, 11:07 PM)
im planning to rent on-campus accomodation though its more expensive, coz of the convenience.
Yeah it would be a little expensive, but I have to say, it's really much convenience going to school and playing sports. Since you don't have a car, it would be better for you to do that way, but as for food wise, you need to follow friends out to eat to not get bored of the cafeteria food.

QUOTE(jhen89 @ Mar 2 2008, 12:05 AM)
their on campus accomodation is really very expensive!
and the food on campus sucks too.
ooopsssssssss
Lunch isn't that bad actually. Dinner, well that probably might have a problem actually, cause their dinner don't really look fresh, and the variety is lesser.
Nonetheless, if those who are staying at TTS 5, which is near the campus, you can eat at a kindergarten for 5 dinner meals (from Monday to Friday), but you need to let them know and ask them whether they can accomodate you. No refunds available i think.
I'm not sure about the price though, but should be RM 6 per dinner i think.
They will cook chinese dishes, so it would be like your mom's home cook meal.

It saves your headache on where to eat though.

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 2 2008, 07:59 AM)
hey i'm thinking of taking up foundation in business and management at nottingham u before proceeding to do BA in Finance, Accounting and Management. is the course good?
I'm a student from the foundation in business and management. I'm in my Year 1 now in finance, accounting management (FAM).

I would say, if you do not plan to go other universities and you have made up your mind that you want business course, then why not join the foundation. I do not regret joining it, and I truly enjoyed it with lecturers like Pek Kim and Ms. Wendy. The foundation course will definitely help you in FAM, as you know how does the business school work and you have an edge over those who enter FAM from other institutions.

But if you want to keep your options open for other universities and not sure what course you would like to take, then I would suggest you to opt for A levels.

Hope I get to help you guys. For those who are waiting for your SPM results, I wished you guys good luck.
FCUK89
post Mar 2 2008, 12:26 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(crashbandicoot @ Mar 2 2008, 12:13 PM)
semua batang di sini tongue.gif

anyways when this thread reaches 100 pages, we shuld have LYN NOTTINGHAM STUDENTS GATHERING. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Lol..that is quite true.

Erm, as for gathering, we always say want to have want to have, but then I don't see any results. So sad...

Added on March 2, 2008, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(jhen89 @ Mar 2 2008, 12:09 PM)
the air cond room is extremely expensive. RM600 for a month excluding the air cond usage fees.
lOl. im stayin in the RM440 room. not bad la.
but kinda small. i mean really small. LOL.

food they serve is normal. but the taste is just..... erk... and the price... erk..... LOL.

to sanesaint, nottingham business school is quite famous i think..
and i think it's better den many colleges and uni in malaysia.
as what i noe, the entry reqquirement for business school is even higher den our school of engineering.
Oh and yeah, the reason why the price is considered to be expensive is that the price charged doesn't represent the quality of the food. Which is why I find it not worth it.

That is just my opinion.

This post has been edited by FCUK89: Mar 2 2008, 12:27 PM
FCUK89
post Mar 2 2008, 12:33 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(crashbandicoot @ Mar 2 2008, 12:29 PM)
No need to gather lah...I see you almost everyday. tongue.gif
Lol...it took me after so long to realise who are you...
Haha...anyway see you later...
FCUK89
post Mar 2 2008, 02:13 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(crashbandicoot @ Mar 2 2008, 12:36 PM)
+__+ I thought you knew...where is the hairy dude? He never join here one....
Lol...
He is busy in Bangsar that's why.

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 2 2008, 02:09 PM)
yeah. ME.. btw.. i am from sarawak.. haha
I see. No worries, there are quite a number of people from east Malaysia. One of my friend is from Sarawak too.
Therefore, during weekends, you guys have can East Malaysia gathering or something.

This post has been edited by FCUK89: Mar 2 2008, 10:32 PM
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:20 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 02:40 PM)
so many complaints about the food how come there is no serious action taken to improve the quality of the food? the uni should put more effort on this issus(hope so).anyway is there any wifi/broadband in the on-campus hostel?how much per mth?and what about the quality?
Erm, why they are are not taking action to improve the quality?
Well, one of the reason is because there is monopoly of food. Honestly, the food has improved slightly since 2006, but just slightly.

Apart from the cafeteria, there is a restaurant in the Admin building, which serves slightly better food but at a slightly higher price. What extra do you get from the extra money paid is more comfortable environment and dinning place.

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 04:22 PM)
so what is the best option to opt for say if i would like to access to internet in my own room?maxis broadban/celcombroadband/extreme broadband/tmhotspot?what about the rate?thx  smile.gif
Internet. Hmm... If you are staying on campus and you need a connection to your room, I am said to say that you have to get it from Extreme Broadband. A small company contracted with Nottingham to be the sole provider of internet to the on campus room at Nottingham. Price is a little pricey but seeing that you do not have a choice, might as well get it right?

However, if you are more hardworking, you can always walk to the Student Association building, 5 minutes walk to use the free Internet there/TM Hotspot. For TM Hotspot, you have to subscribe it though, with RM 15 per month (I think).

But sad to say, I do not know why the connection in the Student Association building for both TM Hotspot and free internet is really bad on the top floor, but if you use it at the ground floor, you are getting wonderful speed.

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 06:26 PM)
too bad cant bt ><...haiz...den less entertainment oledi..btw,i wan to ask whether if air-con only available in the RM600 room,i noe thats ensuite bathroom,but what if is there any single room wif shared bathroom equipped wif air-con available in oncampus ?
Yup, too bad you can't BT. But there is always a way. That you need to come to Nottingham to find out.

Lesser entertainment? Maybe, maybe not. Depends on who you mix with? If you have friends who are download freaks who has like every new movie or series every week, you can have your own Semenyih Cinema.

If your friends like to play sports, you can play endless sports everyday. If you want to study, got library and the whole place is quite at night. You will be able to study.

There is no single room with air-con for shared bathroom. I doubt there is one, unless the new blocks have them. Not really sure though.

This post has been edited by FCUK89: Mar 3 2008, 11:21 PM
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:38 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 2 2008, 03:24 PM)
is the food reali tht bad? are there no other places to eat? n if i decide to do the foundation there, is there any kind of twinning programme for my degree where lk i spend first 2 years here then go uk for 1 year or vice versa?
There are actually many places to eat. It's just that you need a car, and the mental strength of not getting bored with the usual food for 3 years?

There are 2 types of programme.

1. Mobility Programme
It is an exchange programme, where students are allowed to go to UK during their non-first year nor last year. What does this mean?
Well, it means that if your course is 3 years, then you can only go for mobility during your 2nd year and you have to come back for graduation during the last year.
If your course if 4 years, you have a choice of going either on the 2nd year or 3rd year but NOT BOTH and come back to graduate.
This programme allows you to pay MALAYSIAN fees, which is why you need to COME BACK HERE to graduate.

Do take note that you will not be able to get into this programme even though you apply as the staffs in the UK campus will be the one choosing. So you have to have good result plus luck. icon_rolleyes.gif

Exception: If you are taking pharmacy course, you have to go there during your 3rd and 4th year, which translate to the opportunity to graduate there. Yeah, but WAIT. You have to pay the fees (of UK campus ) as an International student which could be double or triple the amount you pay in Malaysia.

2. Transfer Programme
This programme is a little special and it is SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY.
What is this programme?

Well first of all, if you are going for this, be prepare to pay the fees (of UK campus ) as an International student.
Alright now for the programme details. This one allows you to go there during your 2nd year and graduate there. This means that you are officially moving to the UK campus and become a student of the UK campus. You will no longer be a Malaysian campus student (is it patriotism)?

You have to be very sure that you are going to transfer (by your first year) and not plan to cheat them by going to mobility and then requesting for transfer so that you can save on your money and graduate there. They are smart enough. nod.gif Yes they are when it comes to money.

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 2 2008, 08:52 PM)
for business courses?
Alright for business course, this year, there is no seats available for transfer programme, which is why one of my friend is so sad as he was planning to transfer.
There is only mobility programme, there is, but limited seats. On average every year, probably 25-30 seats are only available for mobility programme.

Hope this helps. thumbup.gif
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:41 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Mar 2 2008, 07:09 PM)
Is Seminyih really that far away? If you were to drive from Subang how long would it take?
Erm, it's actually down south of Selangor. If you want to go to Seremban, it's quite near, probably 20 to 30 mins of driving (I think). You want to go Melaka and Johor? It's not too far away.

From Subang? Probably 40 mins, if traffic is good and you are driving at a speed which allows you to reach there in such a time. If not, it will be 1 hour or more.

QUOTE(disco333 @ Mar 2 2008, 07:25 PM)
What is the difference between BEng and MEng when doing engineering?

I plan on studying at University of Nottingham, once I finish my foundation I plan on doing Chemical Engineering at the Malaysian campus for three years and if possible complete the last year in UK. In order to do that I need MEng so all I want to now is what is the major difference between the two (BEng and MEng)?
You are not allowed to complete your final year there if you study your non final year here. And even though you go for the exchange programme, you will still have to come back to graduate.

Want to graduate there? You have no choice but to take the transfer programme, but it is SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY.
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:46 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 2 2008, 07:19 PM)
can girl and guy shared in a single master bedroom?
If you are staying under the management of the University's accomodation, then NOPE.
If you find a private house by yourself, then you can.

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 2 2008, 09:16 PM)
oh i see.. is it easi to find a house outside? how much ll it cost, u think?? oh ya.. y this year they don allow ?? means there is no chance for us to graduate in uk if we take ME?
Hmm. A whole house, it's not easy.
A room? Then yes.

As for the cost, depends on the location, convenience, the condition of the house, the size of your house and the demand and supply of the rooms and houses.

My house is RM 500, but has no furniture except for basic lightings, fans, toilet stuffs and kitchen sink.
But you need a car, or have a housemate who owns a car.

if you want to stay near campus, be prepared to pay from RM 1000 - RM 1800 for a house.
FCUK89
post Mar 4 2008, 06:02 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 4 2008, 04:51 PM)
thx fcuk89 again....wanna ask a question regarding TRANSFER PROGRAMME.. is there such case that a mechanical engineering student went over to UK campus to continue his 3rd and 4th year and graduate there(international student)? i am thinking of doing this type.. thanks
Welcome biggrin.gif

Anyway, I am not sure whether are you allowed to choose to go there for your "3rd and 4th year" or you have to go for your "2nd, 3rd and 4th year" if you take transfer programme.

I'm not sure about Engineering course very much, and I hope jasperng or anyone else from the engineering course can help you out.

But if it is allowed and there is seats available, I don't see a problem on why not, as long as you agreed to pay the fees as in International student.
FCUK89
post Mar 4 2008, 08:10 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 4 2008, 06:48 PM)
u rent a house for rm 500? tat's quite cheap.. but its kinda far from the uni, is it?
My house is RM 500 for a double storey terrace but it is unfurnished. Most houses are rented out for RM 600 here, but because mine is through the owner directly, therefore, I think that is why he charge it cheaper.

However there is security fees which is needed to be paid - RM 100 for 2 months (which means each month is RM 50).

You need a car, that's for sure. The journey, would be around 10 to 15 minutes to university. I usually leave between 8.30 to 8.45 to go to class.
For me, I have no regrets, and in fact I kinda like it here, but you need to get used to it for the journey and also probably necessary travelling back to campus.

With Streamyx available in the area (but you need to apply yourself) and a place which is that cheap and safe, I certainly have no complaints.
FCUK89
post Mar 4 2008, 08:17 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 4 2008, 08:13 PM)
is there no other modes of transport? cuz i cant drive at the moment
From my place, nope.

Sorry though, but public transport is really really limited in Semenyih. Which is why if you study in Nottingham, it would be best for you to get a car, if not then you have to stay near campus or on campus.

Shuttle buses are available to for students nearby the campus (but there's specific timing).

There are also buses from Kajang KTM to campus and also vice versa (there's schedule timing).
FCUK89
post Mar 7 2008, 08:35 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 4 2008, 09:22 PM)
thanks. i wonder is there any agent to contact?? since i am not there.. dunno how to find a house/room.. hehe
QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 5 2008, 11:07 AM)
haha yeah. also looking 4 a house. lol
QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 7 2008, 06:23 PM)
ahh.. looking for house.. anyone can help?
Hmm...have you guys check out Semenyih yet? I feel you guys should come here and check out the place with your parents first, and get their opinions too.

Cause just in case your parents prefer you guys to stay on campus, which is safer and more convenient for you guys.
What my friend say is true actually, probably you guys should stay here first during the first year, and after that decide once you guys are more familiar with the place.

Anyway, I will try my best to post up advertisements of rooms/houses available for rent over here (which is sent to all students through our own Nottingham email).

I can't guarantee that I have time to post up everything, but I will try my best. Anyway, most advertisements are for houses which is near campus. The ones further are not many, but there will be some at times.
FCUK89
post Mar 7 2008, 08:45 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(evilprincess89 @ Mar 7 2008, 05:19 PM)
hi, just wanna ask if daily needs and foods are easily available around tat area? how bout banks, clinics or post office?
Alright, in Semenyih towns, there are few banks - Maybank, Public Bank, Hong Leong Bank and Eon Bank. If you need HSBC or CIMB, you need to go down to Kajang.

ATMs are available on campus, with Maybank and Affin Bank being the provider.

In town, there are Econsave, The Store, 7 Eleven and Privately Owned Mini Market.

Petrol Stations - Petronas, BHP and Shell.

Post Office - I usually go there quite often. Yeah there is one, but it is usually packed when its the bills payment period. Most of the standard services are offered.

Clinics - On campus have one, and in the town has 1 which is 24 hours.

Food - TTS 3, Forest Bar, 7 Wonders, KFC, Kawan Kita, Multichoice, D'Tree Steak House, Bak Kut Teh and some other Chinese shops (not restaurant). You want mamak food? Plenty over here.

There are no TM Point over here, neither a hospital nor Bomba.

There are 2 Stationery shops and 1 Laundry shop in the town.

Book store, Mini Mart and Laundry are also available on campus.

I think that's maybe about it. Hope it helps.
FCUK89
post Mar 8 2008, 12:09 AM

955 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 7 2008, 08:50 PM)
wow there arent many stuff there in semenyih eh? pretty much sounds like a dead town to me. how is the gym and the basketball court on campus? and are there any co-curriculur activities there like clubs and societies or stuff like that?
Erm, I seemed to miss out an important entertainment center at Semenyih.

You have Internet Cafe, not one but 2. One is NT Zone, and the other is Absolute Play. There is where some people go and spend their time, playing games like Call of Duty.
It will be fun when you have friends to play with.

Sports facilities have been improved quite a bit since 2007. More courts have been build, except for Badminton courts, which only has 2 indoor courts.

We have squash, table tennis, gym, pool, badminton, basketball, netball and soccer field.

It is actually a dead town, but it's the students from the university which make the town feel a little lively. Once you have friends here, trust me, you will complain at the start, but after that, you will get use to it.

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 7 2008, 09:56 PM)
fcuk, i am planning to visit this uni anytime soon ya.. hehe.. anyway, thanks for ur info again, u are reali veri helpful.. waiting for ur posts regarding the rental.. thanks
That's great. If you could make it, come down in between 24th to 28th March where we will be having our own sports week. This will happen in the evening, so if you have time, do stay till evening.
FCUK89
post Mar 11 2008, 07:34 PM

955 posts

Open Days of Our University are as follows:

Dates: 22 (Saturday) & 30 (Sunday) March / 5 (Saturday) April 2008

Time: 10am - 4pm

Dont' Miss Out This Opportunity !!!
FCUK89
post Mar 16 2008, 03:30 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(roxxor @ Mar 16 2008, 03:23 PM)
Do we need to go overseas for MEng in civil engineering?
Need to? No.

Can go? Yes.
FCUK89
post Mar 22 2008, 10:22 AM

955 posts

Notts Game starting this coming week.

With Ultimate Frisbee starting on Monday and the finals will be on Wednesday.
FCUK89
post Mar 25 2008, 09:14 PM

955 posts

Rooms for rent Advertisement for Nottingham students

Rooms for rent at TTS4 (wifi precinct)
-Master bedroom (can be shared by 2 students) and single room
-Fully furnished
-Air-conditioned
-Montly rental (for 9 months) inclusive of water and electricity bills.

Please contact Mr. Eng
Contact No. 012-4778610
Email kecy7exq@nottingham.edu.my

Room for rent at TTS5
-Master bedroom
-Fully furnished
-Air-conditioned

Please Contact Mr. Foo
Contact No. 012-4297735

This post has been edited by FCUK89: Mar 25 2008, 09:14 PM
FCUK89
post Mar 25 2008, 09:22 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Tom Welling @ Mar 25 2008, 12:49 PM)
izzit possible to transfer to the UK campus for the last yr?
Nope not at all. For the last year only, not at all.

You have to graduate here no matter what. Sorry.

QUOTE(ychien89 @ Mar 25 2008, 02:04 PM)
Does Nottingham undergraduate studies accept any other pre-Us other than their foundations and A-lvls?

Have anyone encountered students who are from different pre-Us, not from A-lvls and their foundation?
Erm, I think they accept people from SAM and also those who did some Chinese Pre-U. I forgot what it is called though.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0242sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:19 AM