Car seat recommendation, Discussion about car seat

systemup
post Jan 18 2015, 07:37 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jan 16 2015, 09:20 PM)
I've seen this new brand in nearly all the Malaysian online baby shops, but so far, none of the online baby shops actually claim that they are ECE R44 certified. Don't rely on word of mouth. Either have it in black and white, where the webpage describing the carseat says ECE R44 CERTIFIED, or see the ECE R44 sticker for yourself. At least then, if it turns out to be a lie, you have black-and-white proof that they claimed the certification when they didn't have it, and you can make a police report for cheating and take them to small claims court.

Verifying the ECE R44 certification involves first looking at the sticker, because the sticker gives the initial info about the certification. It's in a code though. For basic info about the sticker, can start with this: http://www.bebeconfort.com/car-seat-safety...4-04-label.aspx. You especially need to figure out the country code that the certification comes from. Then you have to determine who is the car seat regulator of that country and contact that regulator for verification.

Personally, this is why I prefer buying American crash tested car seats. Centralized authority, lots of online info with specifically listed brands, so harder to fake. But obviously, they're more expensive, because the cheap seats don't get exported.
how about infa secure luxi caprice, safe or not ?
systemup
post Jan 20 2015, 01:39 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jan 19 2015, 11:39 AM)
First and foremost, let me remind everyone again, that all car seats are only safe IF installed and used in your car correctly. No matter how crash tested it is, if you use your creativity to install it instead of following the instructions, or if your kid's harness is threaded through the wrong slot, or if you didn't tighten the harness enough around your kid, your car seat can hurt people instead of saving them.

InfaSecure Luxi Caprice is Australian. Australia have their own standards, which is still better than Malaysian standards, because Malaysia has NO standards.

I downloaded the InfaSecure Luxi Caprice manual from their website: http://infasecure.com.au/wp-content/upload...S-ISSUE-B_1.pdf

And on page 7, under WARNINGS, the last point says:
So, for this carseat to be safe, depends on whether your car has a child restraint anchorage point. If you have a car that you bought in Australia, then you can call the Australian dealer you bought your car from and ask about installing the anchorage point (if it's not already installed). The manual even has more phone numbers you can call in Australia.

If your car is not from Australia, read your car manual. Does your car have isofix? If your car has isofix/latch, then your car will have a child restraint anchorage point (or two or three), which would be known as top tether or top anchorage point.

But if you have isofix in your car, if you haven't already bought this carseat, you might as well buy a carseat with isofix installation, because it'd be easier to install correctly. The Luxi Caprice manual looks complicated and confusing to understand. If you don't believe me, download it and read it for yourself because I provided the link.

If your car doesn't have the top tether of an isofix and your car manual does NOT mention any type of child restraint anchorage point in addition to using the seatbelt, then this carseat will NOT be safe to use in your car.

It is always best to read your car manual AND the carseat manual before you buy any carseat, to find installation incompatibilities like this.
ya ya my car got anchorage point ,must be safe lor.......isofix car seat very expensive, cheapest rm 13xx sweat.gif sweat.gif , this car seat can use to 8years smile.gif

0.0154sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:59 PM