laptop user... share your experience, which method is better??

TSyhanwong
post Apr 3 2006, 11:31 PM, updated 20y ago

159 posts

when plugging in power cord to lappie.. the battery better to take it out or just leave it since my laptop have auto but off when it is full charged... icon_question.gif

or take the battery out???

but one thing is often take it out.. it start to losse...

how rclxub.gif

and will it effect the the battery lifespan if leave it with power supply over it??
blu3chip
post Apr 3 2006, 11:33 PM

447 posts

im interested in the answer for this question too. i keep taking my batt out.
goliath
post Apr 3 2006, 11:33 PM

5,533 posts

huh? i tot we had this discussion b4. anyhow, it is recommended to take out your battery when your laptop is on power supply to preserve the lifespan of the battery. Battery start to loose... neva heard of it...
julchin_09
post Apr 3 2006, 11:55 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Battery cannot hold the charge when taken out for extensive periods at a time. It is advisable to take out the battery if the Lappie would be used as a desktop as the on'ing and off'ing of the lappie will reduce the charge cycles. But if you leave it on for a long time then no harm but still advisable to store the battery due to the heat.

Even storing the battery has its steps. In the website for BatteryUniversity, it is stated that the battery be stored in a cool(preferbably below room temperature), dry place at around 30% capacity left. Actually the cooler the place the better but don't go putting it in the fridge unless its in a seal air-tight package.

For more info check out http://www.batteryuniversity.com/index.htm

Also please check the previous threads for this topic as it has been discussed many many times before. The last thread is still new.....
goliath
post Apr 3 2006, 11:56 PM

5,533 posts

heck, the last thread even teaches me how to store a battery in correct manner...
madstone
post Apr 4 2006, 12:01 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

better take it out BUT i never done it hehehehe
TSyhanwong
post Apr 4 2006, 12:35 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Apr 3 2006, 11:56 PM)
heck, the last thread even teaches me how to store a battery in correct manner...
i wont simply open a thread if i know thats any same as mine...

i will appreciate if u can send the link for me.. thank you
jamezco
post Apr 4 2006, 12:36 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

For more info check out http://www.batteryuniversity.com/index.htm

From julchin_09
amy test
post Apr 4 2006, 02:09 AM

378 posts

if you take the battery out..
then suddenly blackout..

how aa..? unsure.gif
jamezco
post Apr 4 2006, 02:19 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

then put ur batt in and use ur lappie lo
TMTANWHACKY
post Apr 4 2006, 02:21 AM

745 posts

i dunno y but i find tat when da batt is in, it tends2hang quite a lot, esp when playin games
jamezco
post Apr 4 2006, 02:26 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

harrr..... got such thing ? Batt is juz the hardware ... ntg to do wit software i think .... wat lappie u using ar ?
THTgadgets.com
post Apr 4 2006, 02:27 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hmmm, u have a weird problem there, tmtan... Better check it out with your manufacturer as it could be some defect there...

Lately, when i'm having my lappie connected to A/C power (esp. at home), i make it a point to take out the battery... I'm worried that constant "charging" of the batt can reduce its lifespan...
kabyss87
post Apr 4 2006, 04:41 PM

785 posts

sweat.gif
QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Apr 4 2006, 02:27 AM)

Lately, when i'm having my lappie connected to A/C power (esp. at home), i make it a point to take out the battery... I'm worried that constant "charging" of the batt can reduce its lifespan...
It does reduce lifespan icon_idea.gif

The battery life will reduce like 80% if u use the A/C power + the battery together.. sweat.gif

i've tried that b4 in with my old laptop... normal battery life about 2 hours, after 3 years of not pulling out the battery and keep on charging... now the battery was to supply 30minutes of power only..

goliath
post Apr 4 2006, 04:57 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Apr 4 2006, 12:35 AM)
i wont simply open a thread if i know thats any same as mine...

i will appreciate if u can send the link for me.. thank you
check the links in this thread. more info contains in there..
amy test
post Apr 4 2006, 05:07 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Apr 4 2006, 02:19 AM)
then put ur batt in and use ur lappie lo
i know that laa... what i mean is.. won't all your unsaved information lost if suddenly blackout while you're using ac power with the battery taken out..?
rclxub.gif
jamezco
post Apr 4 2006, 05:19 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(amy test @ Apr 4 2006, 05:07 PM)
i know that laa... what i mean is.. won't all your unsaved information lost if suddenly blackout while you're using ac power with the battery taken out..?
rclxub.gif
depends on what program u are using ... lets say ur using microsoft word then got the recover function one when u turn ur lappie back on ...

works wit PCs too ... not only lappies ... or either that u can buy a battery power supply unit ... then u can auto change to the batt when there is no power at home
techno_fanatics
post Apr 4 2006, 05:22 PM

-Retired OCers-
1,006 posts

what happen when u on AC power,then suddenly put the fully charge battery without turning off the laptop first..hehe
jamezco
post Apr 4 2006, 05:30 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

nothing will happen ... biggrin.gif

if not u can turn off ur lappie then turn off ur AC then only put ur batt in... so much hassle leh
techno_fanatics
post Apr 4 2006, 05:37 PM

-Retired OCers-
1,006 posts

yeah..need to turn off the lappie then only can put the batt..

0.0376sec    1.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:40 PM