41017 Squirrel's tree house RM15 wub.gif
41019 Turtle's little oasis RM15 wub.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 9 2013, 10:31 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Mar 9 2013, 12:56 AM)
Hello orang kaya tongue.gif Nice haul!!
Not kaya lah. This week, I restart my Lego engine after stopping >10+ years.
Spend some saved bullets ...

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 9 2013, 01:48 AM)
haul like a boss ......
nice  rclxms.gif
Wanted 1 set technics only, end up with 2 sets sweat.gif Makan roti + air kosong when come back ... sad.gif
Coz calculated is still cheaper than M'sia. Even with 20% discount at Metro in SG.

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 9 2013, 02:43 AM)
Fr HK?
wow...sure cheaper
Yes, HK. Thanks for the tips from some bro's here icon_rolleyes.gif I asked several pages earlier for places in HK. In's Point is worth to go. Seriously.
The varieties at HK Sogo (Causeway Bay) and Toy's R Us are very wide and a lot, but more expensive than In's Point.
Will source few more places, heard AA Place at nearby Kennedy Town (Island) sell by parts.

QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Mar 9 2013, 10:45 AM)
You make me wanna go holiday in HK. The savings will be good enough for the airfare.
Yes bro, bring big luggage with spare foldable bag inside. My luggage overflow. sweat.gif
Seriously worth it. Take current set 9398 as example:

M'sia I think definitely most expensive among MY, SG, HK.

SG selling SGD330 = HKD2050 = RM821
http://www.bricksworld.com/store/pc/viewPr...63&idcategory=0
Even with 20% discount, is RM657 (wait long long 1-2 times a year and if not sold out)

HK I manage to find HKD1500 = RM601

Of course, if any bro's in US or Europe, some can get even cheaper.

cute_boboi
post Mar 9 2013, 10:32 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Cont... max quote 5 postings...

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 9 2013, 09:31 PM)
I guess you like that place... laugh.gif
I could hang out at that place for hours !
I LOVE wub.gif that place. Not just Lego, but other toys stuff.
But I hang out very fast, 1-2 hours only.
Do quick search, compare price, buy and go.

QUOTE(Caryane @ Mar 9 2013, 09:43 PM)
Hauling like a boss!
Thanks bro, I'm "poison" back to Lego after 10+ years. Will dig my old technic sets to combine for MOC.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 10 2013, 12:08 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 9 2013, 11:26 PM)
this link is SG? price
Yeah, that's SG price
BricksWorld

QUOTE(Caryane @ Mar 9 2013, 11:35 PM)
Looks like In's Point is a MUST go when i visit HK next year or maybe year end =X

Where's In's Point btw?
Yes, MUST go for Lego fans.
Yau Ma Tei MTR, exit A2, along Nathan Road. Google Map for In's Point. Very easy to find.

cute_boboi
post Mar 11 2013, 09:43 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Mar 11 2013, 08:31 AM)
yup. parkson is  selling at this price...
thanks to u...this is my haul yesterday

this is how much i pay for it...

Good discount ! thumbup.gif
cute_boboi
post Mar 12 2013, 10:43 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Mar 11 2013, 09:48 PM)
icon_question.gif I wonder is any Lego Technic seller here... hmm.gif
I'm no seller, but more towards a Technic fan.
Just got 8110 and 9398 icon_rolleyes.gif
I think there are only a few Technic fans in this thread.

cute_boboi
post Mar 12 2013, 12:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Mar 12 2013, 11:24 AM)
me me me... i m a technic fan biggrin.gif
Great. I got 2x older technic sets, one of which is mindstorm v1 or v1.5. Forgot the number, need to go back to dig it.
Both also has controller/motor functions.
Just re-start my Lego engine again ...
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 15 2013, 11:13 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Mar 14 2013, 03:44 PM)

Technic also catches my fancy and I have two very nice technic sets: 8110 Mercedes Unimog and 8043 Motorised Excavator. My Lego Technic acquisition target this year will be the massive 42009 Crane! thumbup.gif

Another Technic fan icon_rolleyes.gif

8043 is EOL (end of life) set, and it is getting more expensive. I'm tempted to get it, since it has a lot of motors, track-wheels, bucket.
8110 still available, but starting to get limited stocks. For a Benz + Unimog, I think is a good set.
9398 is the current one.

I'm also waiting for the 42009 MKII crane around Aug 2013. Expected price USD220 +/- with ~2606 pieces. Malaysia price will be more expensive shakehead.gif

Modular buildings are nice, but too expensive if get the whole range, including the EOL Cafe Corner.
I like trains also, Maersk 10219 + tracks + motorized + space of at least 2x5 meter.

Lego is costly, and therefore currently I'm sticking to Technic. I like the mechanical, gears, motor, pneumatics, etc.

cute_boboi
post Mar 15 2013, 04:07 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Mar 15 2013, 11:33 AM)
8043 is $300 in amazon..  sweat.gif

for technic, my wishlist is 9398 crawler biggrin.gif
US$300 x 3.1 = RM900-930

Currently, 8043 is sold at slight premium, cheapest I found is HKD2100 (RM840)
I didn't buy it due to slight premium, not enough space to carry back, and just got 8110 and 9398. A bit regret, but think the new 42009 MKII crane will cover for it.

I think 9398 is good for the remote control v2 and servo-motor. Engineering wise, not as great though.
8043 is sheer power.

Next project is try DIY upgrade the Lego tyres to RC models.

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Mar 15 2013, 12:50 PM)
Wah! Is 9398 Crawler so popular meh? Perhaps because it is not yellow that's why I don't like! lol! doh.gif

It looked small in the picture but based on piece count and price it should be quite a massive set! Again, perhaps it's the colour that's putting me off this set! tongue.gif
It's slight premium due to EOL already. Price will only get higher slowly.

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Mar 15 2013, 03:06 PM)
There is no escaping once your invoice value is greater than RM400... Sure kena! Our government need the money. Then Pos Malaysia also make some money for clearing from customs. vmad.gif

Sometimes you get lucky and escaped paying tax but that doesn't happen so often...
Yeah, can't escape two things in life : death & tax tongue.gif
I was so glad when I manage to get out KLIA Customs without them stopping me sweat.gif , with 3 unboxed big sets:
9398, 8110 and 3185 about rm2k+ if in local price.

Just back to KL, I will write a summary for shopping Lego in HK (refer post #834

icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 15 2013, 05:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(witchesareevil @ Mar 15 2013, 04:16 PM)
Mind sharing any tips to purchase Lego in HK? I went to HK on Christmas last year but I couldn't find any Lego. Disappointed, I asked my tourist guide he also doesn't know. So I came back to KL with no succeed in Lego shopping.  sad.gif
Sure, I've finished writing the draft, will wait later to post with photos, since can't upload now.
I'm no journalist, so my writing will be straight-forward type.
I'll try upload photos and map over the weekend and post it icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(vex @ Mar 15 2013, 04:23 PM)
lucky i bought my 8043 last 2 month, still manage to buy at SGD300, now is SGD 360 already.
if buy 3 month ago, can get SGD 270-280. i pay SGD 30 premium d. sad.gif
That is cheap thumbup.gif How I wish I re-start my Lego a bit earlier.

cute_boboi
post Mar 18 2013, 10:50 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Mar 17 2013, 08:41 PM)
I decided to take down all my modulars to see how it all looks like together. It was real marathon carrying 8 modulars down the stairs from my room to the large table downstairs and then bringing them up all again.  sweat.gif But looking at them all assembled and line up is worth it!  thumbup.gif

I think the 6 seater table is not big enough. As you can see it is almost filled to the brim from end to end. I think I can fit another 5 more but have to take more shots from the rear and front.  sweat.gif

See the 2 vehicles? I found out that the FB and PC are both 2 stories and both have vehicles!
Geng thumbup.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 18 2013, 11:16 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Finally, I finished typing my Lego shopping guide in HK and click post, LYN Forum has photos limit blink.gif

In the end, I created a new blog here. icon_idea.gif Hope you guys/gals have a look and perhaps the guide can be helpful.

If TS would like to share the link in first page, please add it.

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Mar 18 2013, 04:22 PM)
arghh if the price is right..surely confirm poison..imagine if people bring it modulars with price < RM700 tongue.gif
Check my HK shopping guide, even Toys "R" Us are selling at RM640. Outside shops in HK should be cheaper by another RM50-150. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(xfrenzy @ Mar 18 2013, 07:52 PM)
In taipei now, LEGO is cheaper here.

Particularly interested in this set. Anyone knows how much it retails in Malaysia ? Selling NTD1159.
[attachmentid=3352572]

Here are the other LEGO sets.
[attachmentid=3352587]
[attachmentid=3352591]
[attachmentid=3352592]

Found in Taipei City Mall, underground mall in Taipei Main Station MRT.
Can do a summary for Taipei, Taiwan ? I might be going there later this year icon_rolleyes.gif
Check my signature, I just posted Lego guide for Hong Kong.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Mar 18 2013, 11:17 PM
cute_boboi
post Mar 19 2013, 11:39 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 19 2013, 10:54 AM)
awesome. i might go later this year for toy shopping wif the kids...

but lego boxes are really huge la. that day iw as at shanghai i saw quite a few modulars, 5 sets including the tower bridge. no way i can carry it back lol.
Have to unbox it. Contents normally just half of it.
Open up the box, can fit into my 26" luggage as base.
I manage to fit in 3 big boxes
8110 = 58.2 x 48 x 9.1 cm (23" x 19" 3.6")
9398 = 58.2 x 48 x 9.1 cm
3185 = 58.2 x 37.8 x 8.7 cm

Better to have bigger luggage like 28" or 30"

Then I dump all my clothes into foldable bag (that I bring over) to check in.

MAS gives 30kg luggage nowadays, I use up only 23kg sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 19 2013, 11:48 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 19 2013, 11:45 AM)
i would love to see the face of Kastam when they open a luggage filled with unboxed LEGO bricks. Malaysian AFOLs are really semangat in avoiding ALJ tongue.gif
You don't know how scare inside, keep praying, while I "buat muka selamba" while walking out of KLIA Customs sweat.gif

3/4 of my main-luggage was filled with bricks laugh.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 19 2013, 01:35 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(nickvanhakim @ Mar 19 2013, 11:59 AM)
I put all the bricks in my backpack, so looks like mcm bawa souvenir je smile.gif
went for company trip to Korea, so everything are paid for...so I guess a must for me to get one modular set at least...so FB set at 200K won/RM600, terus rembat although I'm targeting for Palace Cinema actually...
My backpack was a laptop + other stuff , same like you, working trip. Backpack alone was 7.6kg. Aduhai ... keep find trolley in airport or place to sit sweat.gif

Yeah, seems like it, missed out shopping Lego in Seoul earlier.

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 19 2013, 12:01 PM)
well, we can always say these lego r gifts for anak, cousin, cucu, adik
Does Customs really believe this reason ? hmm.gif I'm always wondering, since all are unboxed. I nearly wanted to purchase another Lego box though ...

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 19 2013, 12:09 PM)
Need to see when can reach.  Haha. Maybe one set only.
If you have business trip is worth. But not if you purposely travel like some dude I used to met. Compare price with Singapore. Rather waste the time taking bus there just to get LEGO.
This is true. Unless paid trip. Or got friends/relatives who can help.
I have friend in SG who are waiting for Metro sale 20%

cute_boboi
post Mar 19 2013, 02:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 19 2013, 01:49 PM)
i tried to do that but always kena. aih. nvm la, they wanna chk, check saja.
Did they see any of your Lego / bricks ?
Unboxed or not ?
Do they tax you ? What reason you give them (if they asked) ?

So far, touch wood, I've never been asked to open luggage before.
Scan x-ray kena few times.
Generally just walk straight through.

cute_boboi
post Mar 19 2013, 02:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 19 2013, 02:32 PM)
nolar, the time i kena, i din buy any LEGO. i only brought few bottles of beer from UK ;p
they din say anything

the time when i had few DUPLO, few normal LEGO and 1 big mill falcon in box ......... they were too sleepy (6am i think), and din kacau me
haha... yeah. Sometimes timing is important. Like buka puasa time 7-8pm ... laugh.gif

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 19 2013, 02:33 PM)
i thought of debox the modular also... then decided not to buy cos i will stick to own MOC, if start play modular there goes another few thousand ringgit.
I stop short of modular also, stick to Technic currently. If 8x modular full set ... sweat.gif bread also can't afford already.

BTW, my 8110 chassis is done. Finish 2.5 of 5 instruction books rclxub.gif It has full complete gears and differentials, just need to add servo-motor and XL/M motor only.

Will post some pictures later.

cute_boboi
post Mar 20 2013, 10:22 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Mar 20 2013, 12:15 AM)
Am I the only one with this?

I'm sure someone here has it as well but don't seem to see it being posted. One of the best set I owned and no regrets buying it biggrin.gif
R2D2 Manufacturer : Industrial Automation ??? hmm.gif

Then for Terminator ... I saw a lot of Skynet van/lorries on the road all the time hmm.gif

Looks like Malaysia doomsday or aliens or ... rolleyes.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 25 2013, 11:00 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Mar 23 2013, 03:41 PM)
Hi guys,

Finally I get enough rest to write my first Lego shopping report.  rclxms.gif

That was my little haul yesterday. Was on a day trip to Singapore yesterday and had a little time before I leave to check out one of my favourite Lego store in Singapore: ToysHunt. They have branches in Novena Square, Great World City and Tampines. I've visited both Novena Square branch and Great World City main branch in the past but not Tampines. Personally I like their Novena Square branch more because it is well organised, the main branch at Great World City is much bigger but I find it more cluttered probably because they have more stuff lying all over the place...

Well, this is my mini report on ToysHunt. They have an online store too: www.toyshunt.com.sg

I don't have the luxury of roaming around Singapore to check out other Lego stores but ToysHunt is pretty darn impressive to me and I think should be up there with the best if not the best in Singapore.
Nice guide for SG thumbup.gif

QUOTE(scpt @ Mar 24 2013, 05:41 PM)
Latest haul from US with the help of a friend biggrin.gif
The Unofficial Lego Technic Builder's Guide by Sariel shocking.gif How much is the book ?

cute_boboi
post Mar 26 2013, 10:16 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(dilvin @ Mar 26 2013, 07:36 AM)
This book is available Amazon for less than usd20 or you can just torr..uhuk uhuk uhuk  whistling.gif
uhuk uhuk uhuk *cough* ... icon_rolleyes.gif 350+ pages *cough*

rolleyes.gif

0.0651sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:53 PM