The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V7

maldiniho
post Mar 16 2013, 05:00 PM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

while wife and kids having their naps, I took this golden opportunity to start building my space monorail 6990 set. For today, I finished the monorail track and the space stations. more to come

Nice features of this vintage set:
1. the monorail runs on 9V battery. cool stuff. Long time I never buy 9V boxy battery liao since my last electric toy biggrin.gif
2. one of the station can actually move its blue canopies and plates to become another shape! this I never realized before
3. two switches that controls the direction of the monorail, whether go clockwise/anti-clockwise/stop completely. (haven't tried myself, just by looking at the instruction manual)
3. comes with 4 minifigs with space utility vehicle

mine is a used set , already 20+ years old but luckily no major dents or missing parts. Just the usual discolor of white bricks. I can see why this commands such high price after so many years even I willing to fork out RM600+ for this. I see some brand new sealed one on ebay is asking for RM2000-RM4000 blink.gif

Maybe alby kor/ ddreaming kor should keep some of their haul to store room and only sell it after 20 years. iron man set for RM2000 maybe? Can recoup all the money in one shot rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by maldiniho: Mar 16 2013, 05:08 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
maldiniho
post Mar 18 2013, 03:49 PM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

Ahh..i just can read ur guys posting about modulars..

and sort of poison too..hahah

me too, that discussion alone has lasted for two pages... realy poisioning

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 18 2013, 03:19 PM)
here I wanna thank Jusco 1u for locking the bigger Chima sets inside the glass cabinet.. hence saving me (rm153 - 10%). perhaps next time =)

I usually do a grab and go, no questions asked.. if there's anything that require me to perform extra steps to get the stuff... i usually give up.
rclxms.gif nice tips to prevent further spending. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by maldiniho: Mar 18 2013, 03:54 PM
maldiniho
post Mar 18 2013, 09:08 PM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 18 2013, 08:52 PM)
any way am going to hunt this for my next set  tongue.gif
if i get lucky again
Good luck bro, may the darkside power be your side rclxms.gif flex.gif

Star war sets verry poisonous too bro, every year got new sets. jaga jaga your expenditure woh

This post has been edited by maldiniho: Mar 18 2013, 09:16 PM
maldiniho
post Mar 19 2013, 10:21 AM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 19 2013, 09:36 AM)
Yep I agree.... nothing can stop us from turning the Emporium into something "else" inside.
alan kor, maybe it's time for you buy modular and to "transform" them into gigantic robots. or better yet, make them into 3-in-1 what Lego creator does, Modular building, air ship, and robot drool.gif drool.gif

notworthy.gif whistling.gif Trying to influence Alan to buy modular ...hum...hum.... notworthy.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by maldiniho: Mar 19 2013, 10:22 AM
maldiniho
post Mar 19 2013, 11:34 AM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

QUOTE(kaneshiro21 @ Mar 19 2013, 11:18 AM)
should we be worry ?  hmm.gif

The LEGO Group has announced plans to build and operate its own LEGO factory in China. The factory will supply products for the growing Asian market. Construction is expected to begin in 2014.

“It is our strategy to have production close to our core markets in order to secure short lead-time and world class service to our customers and consumers, and it has proven a successful strategy. Asia – including China – is a future core market for the LEGO Group and therefore I am excited to share our plans for the new factory. Having full control of the production process is essential to deliver products of a consistent high quality and safety and in harmony with our values” says Bali Padda, COO and adds:

“In addition by placing a manufacturing site in the region we reduce our environmental impact as we will reduce the need for transporting products from Europe to be sold in Asia.”

Full story at :

http://aboutus.lego.com/en-us/news-room/20...ctory-in-china/
it's a two-edge sword imo. on one hand it should reduce the cost and hoepfully translate to lower retail price; on the other hand, maybe the quaity may degrade to give way for lower production cost

as long as the quality don't degrade too much, i welcome this move so can buy more lego. anyway my legos are meant for display and i usually don't tear them down once they are assembled. thumbup.gif
maldiniho
post Mar 20 2013, 11:18 AM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 20 2013, 11:06 AM)
Ok..another upcoming community bulk thingy....
Based on the list i gather from forummer, here are the things i considered bring in :
Winter Village Cottage 10229
Star Wars Millennium Falcon 7965
Creator Pet Shop 10218 
Creator Grand Emporium 10211
Monster Fighters Haunted House 10229
Palace Cinema 10232
Arkham Asylum 10937
camper van 10220

Generally, i have the idea of the price for community bulk. Special price are given to recurring forummer who tumpang & buy many stuff... thumbup.gif
Im still not sure the final price, but hopefully its cheaper... tongue.gif
aarrrghh... wallet crying for help already... must resist.... (don't include galaxy squad set bro. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif ... otherwise,,, my last defence might collapse and I might poke another hole in my poor wallet )
maldiniho
post Mar 22 2013, 11:17 AM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 22 2013, 11:11 AM)
won't it cost more if you get here bits and there... cost of shipping ?
we should share share our unused parts,,, put in one pile of bricks and each choose what they need. i also got a small pile of bricks don't know what to do with them... smile.gif
maldiniho
post Mar 27 2013, 10:03 AM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

helping to push towards V8 thread.... pic spam tongue.gif

this is the cuusoo project on the verge to get 10,000 supporters. nice to complement the modulars that u have tongue.gif

maldiniho
post Mar 27 2013, 12:37 PM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 27 2013, 11:52 AM)
will be nice if they really produce biggrin.gif can combine modular + big city sets + friends biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 27 2013, 11:54 AM)
but they need licnese, right?  unsure.gif
With the success of Shell Lego cars, maybe this can entice McD to promote BigMac Meal and pay another RM12 to get the McD shop set,
StarBucks to sell large moche latte and add another RM12 to get the Starbuck lego set

7-11 to promote buy one dozen of Durex "rubber" and the 7-11 set is yours! drool.gif drool.gif
maldiniho
post Mar 27 2013, 04:52 PM

verrò, conquisto
1,591 posts

4 more to go.... rclxms.gif

ilfort lkor, get ready soon flex.gif

This post has been edited by maldiniho: Mar 27 2013, 04:52 PM

0.0479sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:10 AM