Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

alexng2208
post Jul 12 2013, 11:03 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 11 2013, 10:43 PM)
Where are you located anyway? The Bosch should be common enough to be bought at any hardware store, the only thing is the bargaining needed to be done.

Meguiar's Ultimate Compound's cut can vary by the pad used, so, IMO, it's a very good Over-The-Counter product that most enthusiasts can use.

The Duragloss is a LSP, but it has mild abrasives that could clean up most of the light swirls or marring on our typically soft Asian clear coats, yet leave behind a decent durability protection.
I work @ klcc and live at balakong ... so let's say if i have a ROB or something

i'll need MUC (short formed, too many words to type) + 2-4 pads (half of which is cutting and then polishing) + Duragloss 501 for LSP?

thats not to mention wash + clay + remove tar before hand right?

This post has been edited by alexng2208: Jul 12 2013, 11:03 AM
alexng2208
post Jul 12 2013, 03:32 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 12 2013, 12:08 PM)
Then I don't see how you need to purchase the stuff from Johor, any hardware shops should stock the Bosch.

You've got it right about needing to wash/clay/remove tar before any machine polishing.

I'm not so sure if there are alternatives for UC(ultimate compound) in OTC form that's so versatile, maybe other sifu(s) could chip in about that. Of course if you could dedicate another step for a polish like SwirlX or Ultimate Polish it'll be better, but since you're working on limited budget, the Duragloss Marine RV Polish (#501) on a polishing pad would be good enough to remove any light marring/swirls and leave behind a durable sealant.
i'm getting from 12v.com.my
Maybe get the RM120 Combo MUC + MUP. Pads get 2 (budget mar) RM45 each 1 polishing 1 cutting so RM90.
Still have budget for a Machine!

alexng2208
post Jul 12 2013, 04:18 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 12 2013, 04:14 PM)
Do you already have a LSP? If not, you'll still have to get a LSP, which was why I didn't suggest UP and replace it with other LSP.
i have some leftover M21 2.0 smile.gif

hahaha.. i'll check if its enough but i think its ok. smile.gif

duragloss 501 seems good blush.gif
alexng2208
post Jul 15 2013, 01:38 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 15 2013, 12:45 AM)
liquid form are usually put on applicator/machine and apply, buff off after haze/certain curing period.

spray ons are the typical spray on wipe off, or spray on wait for haze/cure and buff off.
Quaz,

the Duragloss you mention, where do i get them? laugh.gif
alexng2208
post Jul 16 2013, 04:51 PM

4,789 posts

Anyone here willing to loan me a polishing machine for a week?

need to clean up my paint! smile.gif

alexng2208
post Jul 17 2013, 08:31 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 16 2013, 10:25 PM)
My DA is not with me right now. But if you're willing to come over to Shah Alam you can have my Bosch ROB or DeWalt rotary.
>.<

you are too kind sir!

i will go over and inform you beforehand too brows.gif
alexng2208
post Jul 17 2013, 03:56 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 17 2013, 11:11 AM)
Better do...cuz I don't normally carry the machine around with me....LOL...
hehe.. ok smile.gif maybe these 2 days!

hopefully you are on LYN daily! anyways, do you know if duragloss.com.my is ok to buy online? blush.gif
alexng2208
post Jul 17 2013, 04:51 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 17 2013, 04:38 PM)
Then I guess I better have the machine in my car for the next 2 days then...errr...which one ah? Bosch or DeWalt? blush.gif

DG.my is reliable. Know him personally for years. Great guy and also a crazy detailing kakis.... thumbup.gif
Dewalt please? I have pm-ed you too!

anyways if this is correct:
1. pair it with 2 pads, 1 Orange for Cutting and 1 Green for Polishing/AIO
2. Meguiars Ultimate Compound (any duragloss equiv?)
3. Duragloss 501
alexng2208
post Jul 17 2013, 05:07 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 17 2013, 05:03 PM)
Aiyo...with a rotary then it's a different story already. A rotary with LC Orange pad and ultimate compound is a very aggressive combination...can take out *almost* any scratch already (unless you own one of those cars with very hard clear coat). I think I remember you said you just want to 'clean' only.

Basically, something like Megs Twin (Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish) + 1 orange cutting (for spot correction of deeper scratch) + 2 white polishing + 1 black finishing pads + an LSP (wax/sealant) of your choice is all you'd need TO START.
ZOMGGGGG

LUCKILY I CONSULT YOU

so
1. i'll get the Meg's Twins
2. use the rotary
3. i scared die so i use White and Black pads (5.5 inch?)
4. and an LSP of my choice

correct?
alexng2208
post Jul 17 2013, 09:39 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 17 2013, 08:34 PM)
Yeah...thats about right. But forget about the pads, let me set you up with the rotary and pads (unless you plan on keeping them). Just get the Megs twin. Take it as a complimentary 'loaner' from an old aquaintance. Glad to have gotten in touch with fellow kakis from the 'old days'.
i already paid for them pads... haha... i'll put them up for sale right away LOL biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

great getting back in touch too!!!!
alexng2208
post Jul 18 2013, 09:06 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2013, 10:03 PM)
eh if you plan to continue detailing and get poisoned by krismas' rotary/DA etc, you might as well keep the pads so you can use em once you get your own machine  brows.gif
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 17 2013, 10:14 PM)
LOL...now now...who's doing the poisoning...hahaha
haha... its this saling poison mempoison that keeps us all sane and interested in this amazing detailing!
alexng2208
post Jul 18 2013, 04:26 PM

4,789 posts

guys, which is more cutting powahhh

1. polishing pad with Ultimate Compound
or
2. polishing pad with M83
alexng2208
post Jul 19 2013, 11:56 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 18 2013, 04:29 PM)
If not mistaken, both have similiar cutting power(considering the same pad) but have different types of abrasives and thus different techniques and also M83 tend to have more lubrication hence less drying/dusting, but I would say Ultimate Compound should have a tad more cutting.
noted there...
a shout out to ever helpful old friend krismas smile.gif

and i'm gonna start my journey into rotary this weekend! (pending arrival of my Megs UC)

i have plenty M83 and M80 so maybe i'm going to use those + LSP using M21 2.0
alexng2208
post Jul 19 2013, 02:19 PM

4,789 posts

Received parcel from cheeho04 for my Megs UC
Received parcel from duragloss.com.my for my pads
Kindly received a lease on a dewalt rotary, thanks KrisMas

my detailing journey begins!
alexng2208
post Jul 19 2013, 02:31 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 19 2013, 02:30 PM)
Good luck and have fun....and...err...careful with the racing stripe ya...
i was thinking to rip off the ones at the sides and keep the ones in the middle hmm.gif hmm.gif

anyways, imma get unlimited supply of ducttape from the offices of le gf HAHA flex.gif

no painters/3M tape
alexng2208
post Jul 19 2013, 02:40 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 19 2013, 02:39 PM)
Errr...I hope you're joking....cuz duct tape is a definite No-No. The adhesive would stick to the paint in no time....
OMG really? CRAP

imma out of ideas... i'll go get painters tape tomorrow maybe then rclxms.gif
alexng2208
post Jul 25 2013, 03:43 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 25 2013, 03:42 PM)
I'm actually considering selling my LHR15 Bigfoot. Brand new never been used without any pads.
i ahve 2 spare pads
alexng2208
post Jul 29 2013, 09:14 AM

4,789 posts

KrisMas thanks for your dewalt!!

i tried it over the weekend and i was wondering, how to clean the pads properly? i don't wanna destroy them!

anyways, my LSP m21 2.0 nearly finished, any alternative to recommend?
alexng2208
post Jul 29 2013, 09:46 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 29 2013, 09:40 AM)
Using them with the Megs polishes? Wash them just like you wash normal sponges. Wash with some dishwashing detergent (by hand btw), picit2 all the polishes out then rinse until *almost* no more soapy foam coming out. Spin dry for a minute or two with the rotary (in a bucket to protect the surroundings from spray) at...well...max speed if you dare...muahaha. Dry them indoor (under the shade) with the velcro side facing up. That's just about how I (generally) clean them.

Not much could destroy the pads except for:
1. stiff brush
2. forced wring dry - velcro might delaminate
3. not rinse thoroughly
Yes, i used only the Megs Ultimate Compound.

by the time i was done, i had backache... Great!!
alexng2208
post Jul 29 2013, 09:49 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jul 29 2013, 09:47 AM)
Duragloss, DG 105 Total Performance Polish (Sealant) with DG 951 Aquawax (spray sealant) for maintenance topper... thumbup.gif  or Menzerna Power Lock Polymer Paint Sealant. I've heard some raves about the Osren Synergized Wax but personally haven't tried it before...quite affordable though...
Liew also recommended this... but he said no stock right now sad.gif

i am loving the Megs Ultimate Spray Wax thing. Is Aquawax as awesome?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0244sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:53 PM