Mountain Biking Heaven V27, Jump Around, Jump! Jump!

hon kin
post Jun 15 2013, 11:44 PM

391 posts

Hi to every sifus here! I'm quite a newbie on biking. Currently looking for a Giant bike with ATX7 frame. Don't really like the front fork performance though... So i wanna change a new/better fork. Due to really tight on budget, i spotted the suntour xcm v3. Would it fit on the ATX7 frame? Which criteria should i look for if i wanna change the front fork? Thanks! =)
hon kin
post Jun 17 2013, 12:52 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(sebnimh84 @ Jun 17 2013, 07:51 AM)
Suntour XCM V3 not recommended at all.... my bike comes stock with it. Rebound is crappy as ever and the fork is stiff like crazy... wrists hurt even after short ride in comparison to higher-end forks.

Save up and go for a better fork, it'll be worth the while (That's what I'm doing now smile.gif )
Oh, thanks for the advice! What about XCR[i'm hooked with the fancy remote lockup function XD] ? Or the Road Shox Dart2..? A lot of ppl recommending the Dart 2 to me, but the price is... very steep :/
hon kin
post Jun 18 2013, 04:52 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(sebnimh84 @ Jun 17 2013, 02:32 PM)
Suntour's coiled forks are... not to my liking. Honestly they're so keras. IF you're on the budget, you might want to consider Suntour's Epicon X1. Local retail pricing goes from RM500 - RM700. However if you can read mandarin you might want to consider buying from Taobao. Some mates of mine bought it from this site for RM400+ with shipment. Bring the fork to your local shop, and pasang siap. Not one of the best air forks around, but I'd say best value for money at that price.

Definitely won't feel as plush as them Fox, Rockshox, Manitou or even DT Swiss forks, but it'll do the job better than them XCM/XCR forks
wah... so expensive eh... Well, i'm really a begineer, so i dont really want to spend too much before upgrading to the really good one. I was aiming something at RM200, and yeap, i'm thinking to get the XCR from taobao, which will cost me around RM200 with shipping included.

hon kin
post Jun 19 2013, 12:28 AM

391 posts

Just tried a Exitway bike with a Suntour XCT fork on it and the response is slightly stiffer than i thought, but i still can take it. And just realize the XCM is a higher grade version. I think i gonna get the XCM V3 ...
hon kin
post Jun 22 2013, 11:15 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Jun 19 2013, 12:21 PM)
XCT to XCM  doh.gif
bike shop super hapi ...then next time XCM to XCR ftw  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haizz... ohmy.gif

I'm really a beginner in this area so i really dont know much, and i saw some bike with price tag over RM1k and just using the XCT so i assume the XCM should be a nice upgrade for the stock fork that comes with the bike?[which the fork is sealed and really really stiff]

hon kin
post Jun 29 2013, 05:05 PM

391 posts

Hi guys... Sorry for the interruption...

Recently i was offered this bike:

Trinx X1 with around RM800 these are the specs:
26 x 17 Aluminium Frame
Lockable front fork [Zoom] (i think this should be quite stiff...)
Sram X4 shifter
FD Shimano TX50
RD Sram X3
Sunrace MFM56 Crank
Brake Tektro HDC300
Kenda 26 x 1.95 Tire

Is this bike worth for the price tag?
hon kin
post Jun 29 2013, 07:50 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Jun 29 2013, 07:30 PM)
How tall are you and your reach? Need to check your geometry correctly. 17" usually height >170cm. Adjust that seat pitch level to ground, adjust seatpost to correct height so that you stretch your legs full but not overly (hard to explain, go check how to setup geometry). Get a feel of the handle bar. Handlebar should be around the same height as seat as a start for XC and road riding. seat higher than handlebar and your shoulder will hurt as weight tranferred forward. Handlebar high and might get back ache on long xc rides. Some people got long reach, some people kaki panjang. Make sure you get a feel of it. If fit not right don't even bother looking at components. Don't get confused with Cyphereza's bike... Itu stunt man punya setup. Pain is part of the game  tongue.gif

All the bike parts are pretty basic. Don't expect too much. Don't know what fork is that. Coil or air spring? If coil and you are featherweight... Lockout or no lockout also no use. For that price think is coil spring.
My height 171cm, had some ride with my friend's 17in Polygon before, quite ok. Fork? No idea at all... Not gonna bother at it, maybe gonna change it, maybe not, just take it as it is, currently need a bike for myself. hmm.gif
hon kin
post Jun 30 2013, 11:39 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jun 29 2013, 07:54 PM)
lbs say can for ride in taman wink.gif
Whatabout some light mountain riding? tongue.gif

hon kin
post Jun 30 2013, 03:49 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Jun 30 2013, 12:30 PM)
you would like to change bike after 1st mountain riding
Dont need first one... The bike i getting[that i shows on the previous post] wont be satisfy me anytime. Had a ride with my friends Polygon Cozmic 3.0, fall in love with it...
hon kin
post Jun 30 2013, 10:58 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Jun 30 2013, 05:52 PM)
You know it hurts to see the girl that you wanted so much with someone else...  tongue.gif anyway go within your budget. Light trails ok la. Don't abuse bike and maintain bike regularly. Make sure your budget at least includes a decent brain bucket.
Lol, exactly... Well, currently i really gonna use it for light trail... I dont know whether you guys know the the Cherok Tokun or not[a small hill that locates quite near to my home which holds DH competition occasionally], but i gonna bring the new bike there for some light mountain biking. This bike mainly is to bring me to study[I study in USM Engineering Campus, which is a small campus] and for some exercise, as i used to bike around the campus, on road and some light off road.

Well, as i mentioned Cherok Tokun, it is a place that many bikers gather and go for mountain biking. You can see a lot of bike there especially weekends! Specialized, Giant, Polygon, Merida, Trek and many more, just like a mini biking club. biggrin.gif
hon kin
post Jul 1 2013, 11:56 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(Broadica @ Jul 1 2013, 11:46 AM)
seriously bro... define light mountain biking... tokun is DH track man..
and you want to bring a taman bike to a DH track. no matter how light also quit demanding.

you can ride a xc track fine.. but DH trail... pls be very careful riding your bike there... dont want you to fall into any gap or drops or hit by DH bikers... no kidding.. be safe!
Not that downhill track shakehead.gif ... Even with something that is very capable, i'm still too coward to do a real dh ride... What i mean light one is just follow the bitumen road, not the jungle trail[which is the DH track]

Small extra question: Is there any Trek Session 88 or 9.9 in Malaysia? As i did some research and realized even UK there are only units in UK[Session 9.9], so i wondering do we have some top end DH bike here or not?

This post has been edited by hon kin: Jul 1 2013, 12:02 PM
hon kin
post Jul 1 2013, 12:23 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(Broadica @ Jul 1 2013, 12:08 PM)
oh... must define properly ma!! here is mountain biking thread... people assume you go offroad when saying mountain biking... tarmac then just say road cycling la!!

trek session 88 or 9.9 sure got... see you got money or not jer... trek boutique in solaris mont kiara.
can always order. ir not u can buy and hand carry from oversea at much cheaper price if you know where.

so fast dream so far? heheh
Oh it has difference? Sorry, i'm a beginner... haha

Yea just dream... I dont think a uni level student can afford that much... LOL

0.0543sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:21 AM