ZTE Modem Mod, Really NTBD mod.
TSianho
Apr 3 2006, 07:10 PM, updated 19y ago
Cucimangkoklife
This is what I did to improve the cooling first. Those of u who haven't noticed. This silly ZTE modem runs extremely hot n I don't even use BT. Better go check ures too. This is how the stock modem looks like. C those 2 red arrows? Stick the heatsinks there.  1st I stuck a CM Blue Ice northbridge cooler on it minus the fan. The smaller RAM chip, I used a CM ramsink on it.  This is the standard case. Very little ventilation. Look at the arrows, it's blocked for sum reason.  This is after I cut out the vent holes.  Same thing with the bottom. It's also blocked.  Here's what I did to open up the vent holes.   This post has been edited by ianho: Apr 3 2006, 07:28 PM
TSianho
Apr 3 2006, 07:12 PM
Cucimangkoklife
Then I tot y not make an acrylic case to gif it sum bling bling. Also, even after modding the vents on the standard grey case, it was still very very hot. So I made a big huge acrylic case for it. The back panel where the wires plug in is left out so there's plenty of ventilation.
TSianho
Apr 3 2006, 07:24 PM
Cucimangkoklife
SUSAllnGap
Apr 3 2006, 07:30 PM
this is really NBTD, dont want to add any bling bling ? This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 3 2006, 07:30 PM
TSianho
Apr 3 2006, 07:34 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(AllnGap @ Apr 3 2006, 07:30 PM) this is really NBTD, dont want to add any bling bling ? Hahahha. Sitting around NBTD lar today. I really suck at circuit board electronics so I dunno where I can tap the power from for LEDs n all that. If only I knew where to tap, I'd add 2x 40mm fans for sum proper ventilation n also sum blue LEDs.
SiLv3R
Apr 3 2006, 09:07 PM
Lolz tat was rely a NBTD mod
superdav007
Apr 3 2006, 10:20 PM
wah....just for a modem case u put so much effort....very dedicated...repects.....
TSianho
Apr 3 2006, 11:32 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(superdav007 @ Apr 3 2006, 10:20 PM) wah....just for a modem case u put so much effort....very dedicated...repects..... Where got effort. It's just a really simple mod. The acrylic case took me like 15 minutes only.
ikan_semilang
Apr 3 2006, 11:46 PM
Got suggestion, put 2 x 120mm fan for blower.
AHBOON
Apr 4 2006, 12:03 AM
aiyo..really nbtd///try get some led and some ccfl to chan with it..or build something like car or building lar..tat is best
SnoWFisH
Apr 4 2006, 12:13 AM
wow...cant wait for the final version of ur casing......  . maybe i will "order" one from u hehe....  .
radioactive
Apr 4 2006, 12:46 AM
The first post is a repost from official hardware cooling thread....still can remember it cuz tht post is the first post i made wif pics....then u post ur cooling mod there....tht time i was pretty much a newbie  IMHO...Tht modem case nids some more dynamic look instead of looking like a big ice cube...gotta have some nice curves...bling bling it and fan it...run a pair of 5 or 12v power line from ur molex to ur cube...use those thin wires as will bring less appeal...or get some transparent speaker cable...LED light reflecting off the clear insulating layer shud be a bonus when u add LED to it. Jus my opinion...dun flame me.. BTW..where did u got ur lil alu heatsink..tht tiny thing sitting on top the lil white piece. This post has been edited by radioactive: Apr 4 2006, 12:54 AM
SUSAllnGap
Apr 4 2006, 08:55 AM
do like the mood clock, get some multi-colour LED and let it dance !!!! This post has been edited by AllnGap: Apr 4 2006, 08:55 AM
mADmAN
Apr 4 2006, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(radioactive @ Apr 4 2006, 12:46 AM) BTW..where did u got ur lil alu heatsink..tht tiny thing sitting on top the lil white piece. thats the CoolerMaster alu ramsinks..... u can get copper ones from forumer dinster. alu ones i think u can get from moderno
Vervain
Apr 4 2006, 11:10 AM
can curi allngap's imac idea wat. spray the internal with white. let the front panel be transparent. then remove the LED lights from the circuit and replace it with allngaps blue SMD LED (correct if i'm wrong). that will look like those ET spaceship landed on earth.
abubin
Apr 4 2006, 12:20 PM
easier to just get a USB fan and blow directly on the modem...hehe..like what I am doing right now. The fan is connected to my server and running 24/7
superdav007
Apr 4 2006, 01:53 PM
btw how hot can the modem get...haha
kurikuraX
Apr 4 2006, 01:57 PM
OMG.. I also have 1 unit at home...but i rent it from telekom...