Acer Aspire5562 vs Dell Inspiron6400

TSMr.LKM
post Apr 2 2006, 12:28 AM, updated 20y ago

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Which notebook should I choose? Anyone can tell me the main differences between this two notebooks? If you were given a chance to choose either one of them, which one will you choose? Can you give us your opinion?

Does the Acer Signal Up technology useful? Can you notice the difference of 500g?
madstone
post Apr 2 2006, 01:49 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

DELL laaaaa
good customer service
no headache when u got probs
call them n they will pick the lappie within 24 hours and repair it ASAP
within few days ur lappie will be ready

no hassle no wasting time no wasting money and no wasting energy

right now we have to think about save cost dude
no point if u want to get there 4 times just to repair your notebook
the product owner should do the job for us coz we buy their lappie
that's how DELL value their customer

and nobody can beat that, believe me!

starting from RM3699 with ATI 128 or add RM57 for ATI 256
around RM4k ONLY can get 1GB RAM
tr4657
post Apr 2 2006, 06:26 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Apr 2 2006, 01:49 AM)
DELL laaaaa
good customer service
no headache when u got probs
call them n they will pick the lappie within 24 hours and repair it ASAP
within few days ur lappie will be ready

no hassle no wasting time no wasting money and no wasting energy

right now we have to think about save cost dude
no point if u want to get there 4 times just to repair your notebook
the product owner should do the job for us coz we buy their lappie
that's how DELL value their customer

and nobody can beat that, believe me!

starting from RM3699 with ATI 128 or add RM57 for ATI 256
around RM4k ONLY can get 1GB RAM
I am with you all the way. DELL service is excellent compared to others. For that reason, all my (more than 5) notebooks - Inspiron 4000, 4100, 2650(2x), 8000, 8100, 9100, 9400 - are DELL...
TSMr.LKM
post Apr 2 2006, 06:47 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Thank you all for your replies. Do you feel 2.8kg is heavy? This may be the last question before I buy 6400. biggrin.gif
Yowzer
post Apr 2 2006, 11:04 AM

315 posts

2.8kg still manageable la.... but if u are a road warrior, carrying it daily... you might want to rethink the weight... an addition of 500gms makes a pretty big difference especially if you're someone whose only transport are your legs or Public Transport... which is what I'll be doing, but I just got the Dell anyway, over the Acer.. awaiting order confirmation biggrin.gif and upgraded to 3 yrs complete cover service... for piece of mind (as I'll be overseas). Finally decided to have their people come to see me, rather than me go to them.... It's a bit big, screen being 15.4" & all... But I doubt I'll be lugging it much... so hopefully, it's a compromise la.... Your choice. 1st, decide on budget, then your requirements, finally your specs.... and don't waver. hahahaha. good luck
wtm0325
post Apr 2 2006, 11:14 AM

1,796 posts

500g is noticeable as a laptop, dun forgot ur bag, rojak stuff which will definitely add in later.

no hassle LKM, go to hv a look at this at this pc fair, headache now will be useless wink.gif major difference will be the screen size, weight, physical lookin, speakers.. performance/interior material, we dont know tht.

if comparing to the offer now, dell hands down acer completely, i oso gives merit to 6400 rather than 5562 as the big gap in price, if weight is not a problem, dell is the way to go for the current period; if u stil hv doubt, visit pc fair n everything will be clear biggrin.gif
Yowzer
post Apr 2 2006, 11:19 AM

315 posts

Yup, wtm0325 is right... you're gonna be carrying lots more junk as well... If you're a student, you're bound to carry books etc. and that's gonna be sore on your back!

Dell muddied the waters a bit with the option of a x1400 card. Else the Acer would have been tempting.. Hahaha... but go to the fair if you're in KL... then decide there & then... once you've done that, you can relax.... like I am now... no more sakit kepala comparing the notebooks... Haaaaa.....
TSMr.LKM
post Apr 2 2006, 04:20 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Yowzer @ Apr 2 2006, 11:19 AM)
Yup, wtm0325 is right... you're gonna be carrying lots more junk as well... If you're a student, you're bound to carry books etc. and that's gonna be sore on your back!

Dell muddied the waters a bit with the option of a x1400 card. Else the Acer would have been tempting.. Hahaha... but go to the fair if you're in KL... then decide there & then... once you've done that, you can relax.... like I am now... no more sakit kepala comparing the notebooks... Haaaaa.....
So when is the fair? Does Dell show his notebooks? Most probably, I will just carry my notebook from my house to the garden. tongue.gif If I have to carry it far away, I will use the car though. biggrin.gif So, will it affect? unsure.gif
wtm0325
post Apr 2 2006, 04:43 PM

1,796 posts

pc fair helds on 14-16april smile.gif

depends on u, shouldnt be a problem if short distance wink.gif
madstone
post Apr 2 2006, 06:28 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

i noticed ACER lighter than DELL right?
may because ACER use cheaper stuff drool.gif drool.gif
that magnesium alloy model how much it's weight aa?

wtm0325
post Apr 2 2006, 06:32 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Apr 2 2006, 06:28 PM)
i noticed ACER lighter than DELL right?
may because ACER use cheaper stuff  drool.gif  drool.gif
that magnesium alloy model how much it's weight aa?

lol... it's 14" vs 15.4" notebook ler, sure 14" lighter ler laugh.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Apr 2 2006, 08:23 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Apr 2 2006, 06:32 PM)
lol... it's 14" vs 15.4" notebook ler, sure 14" lighter ler laugh.gif
Just an inch will weight 500 grammes more? shocking.gif
DeathWing
post Apr 2 2006, 08:27 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Apr 2 2006, 08:23 PM)
Just an inch will weight 500 grammes more?  shocking.gif
1.3 inches difference is quite significant for LCDs.
But other factors might contribute to the weight as well.
wtm0325
post Apr 2 2006, 10:19 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Apr 2 2006, 08:23 PM)
Just an inch will weight 500 grammes more?  shocking.gif
y not, 1" means more material, make the overall size of notebook comes bigger
tehdynasty
post Apr 2 2006, 11:41 PM

116 posts

the dell ati x1400 is with 256mb graphic ram or 128mb graphic ram + 128mb system ram???
Yowzer
post Apr 3 2006, 08:58 AM

315 posts

Should be the latter configuration.
ayumi
post Apr 3 2006, 09:19 AM

18 posts

normally dell will having in pc fair or not?
Yowzer
post Apr 3 2006, 09:34 AM

315 posts

Yes, Dell's there... Conference level KL Conv Centre. There used to be floor maps at pikom.org.my.... cant' find them anyone. Anyone know where the floor plans are?

Ah ha... found it. http://www.pikom.org.my/gotoPage.do?p=pcfair_public

This post has been edited by Yowzer: Apr 3 2006, 09:35 AM
rambolee
post Apr 3 2006, 03:25 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(tehdynasty @ Apr 2 2006, 11:41 PM)
the dell ati x1400 is with 256mb graphic ram or 128mb graphic ram + 128mb system ram???
not sure
could be 64MB dedicated

TSMr.LKM
post Apr 3 2006, 05:24 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(tehdynasty @ Apr 2 2006, 11:41 PM)
I think it's 256MB integrated vRam and 256MB able to be dedicated to it.

0.0152sec    1.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:08 PM