Actually...l dont know what is the diffrent between class D and mono amp?
Today, l just bought a Blaupunkt Velocity Class D 2/1 channel amp to drive my sub. Is that a good choice?
Class D amp, Is it good to drive sub?
Apr 1 2006, 10:30 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,387 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuching |
Guys, l got a few question here.
Actually...l dont know what is the diffrent between class D and mono amp? Today, l just bought a Blaupunkt Velocity Class D 2/1 channel amp to drive my sub. Is that a good choice? |
Apr 2 2006, 12:59 AM
721 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Malaysia | Singapore |
Class D and monoblock are the same thing... they use the same circuit design... monoblock are mainly used to power a sub... normally has only 1ch output(except for DMA)... They are designed to power a sub with the minimal power drag from the battery compared to a bridged class A/B amp...
since you hav bought the Blaupunkt amp then i would suggest you to use it first... flick around with it... and see if it gets overheat or not... see whether it fulfills your desire or not... normally a monoblock dun come cheap... so buy wisely... buy it when you really need it... cheers... |
Apr 2 2006, 10:26 AM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
Monoblock never come cheap because they're rated for high power output usage
Anyway craziechild... I saw your sig. I would say..... ditch that pre-amp. They're so outdated with the HUs available nowadays |
Apr 2 2006, 11:15 AM
well i am planiing to run active... so the pre-amp is not parametric... but active e xover... hehehe....
Apr 2 2006, 08:54 PM
4,133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cameron Highlands Rank: Amateur |
QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 2 2006, 12:59 AM) Class D and monoblock are the same thing... they use the same circuit design... monoblock are mainly used to power a sub... normally has only 1ch output(except for DMA)... They are designed to power a sub with the minimal power drag from the battery compared to a bridged class A/B amp... Class D =/= Monoblocksince you hav bought the Blaupunkt amp then i would suggest you to use it first... flick around with it... and see if it gets overheat or not... see whether it fulfills your desire or not... normally a monoblock dun come cheap... so buy wisely... buy it when you really need it... cheers... pls make ur facts clear anyways, class is the definition/description of its power efficiency (e.g. class A tend to have a lot of power loss bcos of most of the power will be dispose as heat) class D amp is popular for driving subs bcos of its efficiency wit the minimal power loss thus giving the subs for full feed i guess if u're not going for extreme SPL listening pressure the amp would be more than enuf to drive ur sub cheers |
Apr 2 2006, 09:32 PM
Erm....guys...is it SQ stand for Sound Quality? Then how about SPL? (sorry about this as l,m not a hardcore ICE player)
Actually, l,m using the amp to power a 12inch sub for my new Myvi as the original sound system is totally "bassless". Now...l can feel the bass already but again....lack of treble now. terrible....lol |
Apr 2 2006, 09:53 PM
1,443 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ...... |
QUOTE(daniel31 @ Apr 2 2006, 09:32 PM) Erm....guys...is it SQ stand for Sound Quality? Then how about SPL? (sorry about this as l,m not a hardcore ICE player) SPL means, Sound Pressure Level. As for me,SPL means (Sound Pleasure Level Actually, l,m using the amp to power a 12inch sub for my new Myvi as the original sound system is totally "bassless". Now...l can feel the bass already but again....lack of treble now. terrible....lol |
Apr 2 2006, 09:59 PM
1,443 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ...... |
QUOTE(daniel31 @ Apr 1 2006, 10:30 PM) Guys, l got a few question here. I got a Concept Monoblock (suitable for SQ) for sale, you want ah? USA made, used few months only, and very seldom use. I bought it RM1600, want to sell it cheap cheap only... need money to buy processor Actually...l dont know what is the diffrent between class D and mono amp? Today, l just bought a Blaupunkt Velocity Class D 2/1 channel amp to drive my sub. Is that a good choice? |
Apr 3 2006, 10:07 AM
2,696 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Butterworth,Penang Status: Available |
craziechild:-
"You may spend the money in the whole world into you ICE but still sound like stock standard if you don't tune it properly..." +++ u wil get worse sound if u add cheap cheap "Pre Amp" even u r the super extream good tunner. |
Apr 3 2006, 05:31 PM
well... its not those parametric pre-amp.... i am planning to do an active system... whining sound will not be a problem if your installation skill is good enough and if you do a good planning of where the wires will go...
cheers... |
Apr 3 2006, 08:33 PM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
electronic crossover is not the same thing as pre-amp
btw... craziechild... did u check the Kicker subs at Star Accessories? just want to make sure that they're original goods. the price looked quite reasonable. This post has been edited by soulfly: Apr 3 2006, 08:34 PM |
Apr 3 2006, 10:01 PM
all device that is installed before an amp consider a pre-amp
This post has been edited by driftmeister: Apr 3 2006, 10:02 PM |
Apr 3 2006, 10:26 PM
hmm kicker at star car ah? hmm... i think those are china made ones la...thats why the price are quiet low... i would recommend tun sing car accessories near cherrie berries there...
Apr 3 2006, 11:16 PM
Apr 4 2006, 01:22 PM
RM300 to 400 one time i see... but not sure what model la... cuz i am not a kicker fans...
cheerss... |
Apr 6 2006, 01:22 PM
42 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
i ve a monoblock.......
How to make amp reach 350W .. do i need a 2ohms woofer At the moment me using single 12" woofer. 200W x 1 RMS [4Ohms @ 14.4V (1% THD)] 350W x 1 RMS [2Ohms @ 14.4V (1% THD)] How does a double coil woofer sounds like.........? more suitable for sealed or vented ? This post has been edited by Jwang: Apr 6 2006, 01:24 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 01:33 PM
Both DVC and SVC sub are the same... jus tht DVC sub will provide you with some wiring option to run 2 ohm from the amp...
Apr 6 2006, 07:49 PM
42 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(craziechild @ Apr 6 2006, 01:33 PM) Both DVC and SVC sub are the same... jus tht DVC sub will provide you with some wiring option to run 2 ohm from the amp... Can u explain wut is DVC & SVC ?......... me kind of noob here How to fully utilise my Amp, any set-up ? plz list any possible set-up. If it can reach 350W , i'm sure i dun wun to waste wut i pay for |
Apr 6 2006, 10:11 PM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
DVC are more powerful in the bass...but not as loud as 2 SVC sub..DVC sub actually provide wiring option and lower freq compare to SVC...
DVC is just 2 SVC built together...save space, more powerful, more wiring option... BTW, mono /= Class D..Monoblock amp got class A, class AB, Class D and also Class F if not mistaken... |
Apr 6 2006, 10:27 PM
actually the loudness/freq of DVC and SVC is depend on the sub itself
DVC is juz taking the advantage of squeezing in 1 more voice coil thus accepting more power to reach it's peak DVC u can choose to run it parellel or series means 8ohm or 2ohm i find that 8ohm tends to give me more accurate bass than 2ohm 2ohm sounds louder .. and the bass is not as accurate |
Apr 7 2006, 10:19 AM
for sure 8 ohm is more accurate...everything got it's limit...with 2 ohm, the amp actually output higher power than 8 ohm. that's y it's not so accurate....and the sub tend to accept more power...
exceeding power the sub cant handle = distortion |
Apr 7 2006, 01:59 PM
thanks for correcting me sifoos... hehehe...
Apr 9 2006, 01:15 PM
1,328 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: I wish I knew! |
does this 8ohm and 2ohm works for components as well??
I saw there are tweeters that is 8ohm, is this the same things as you sifus are saying?? Thanks!! |
Apr 9 2006, 02:56 PM
normal speakers which is more than 4ohm is normally for home use
but if u got a high power amplifier using it in car is possible 2ohm is normally found on sub woofer which is DVC |
Apr 9 2006, 06:42 PM
actually mid bass and tweeter are built at 4ohm and 8ohm in home theatre also...it's the matching of connection type...
for a car tweeter, i actually say 8ohm b4...ya, it's a branded tweeter specially for car..the reason it make it 8 ohm should be also matching the connection also..just wat i thinking... erm, if ur tweet are 8 ohm, u can actually maximise ur amp for the power of the tweeter...connect it parellel with ur mid...then it will become 4ohm..but unfortunately it will not have any active setupp anymore... |
Apr 10 2006, 03:00 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
guys....with the stup in muh sig.....wat monoblock would u recommend for a budget of say 1k?
my jbl monoblock died on me...send to shop to repair and they say cannot fix toolan.. EDIT: wanna ask how good are blaupunkt amps?? can recommend any blaupunkt monoblocks? i ask coz i might be able to get cheap same question goes for kenwood amps as well This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 10 2006, 03:23 PM |
Apr 10 2006, 03:36 PM
mayb try prokick?
Apr 11 2006, 02:33 PM
yep...was actually considering the prokick monoblock to pair with my prokick 4 channel....
im asking coz i wanna know if there are other better alternatives out there for an SPL setup with my budget of 1k for the amp only... i wan sumthin that can really take alot of blasting... i place my amp under the fron passenger seat of my kelisa by the way... This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 11 2006, 02:35 PM |
Apr 11 2006, 07:38 PM
2,696 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Butterworth,Penang Status: Available |
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 11 2006, 02:33 PM) yep...was actually considering the prokick monoblock to pair with my prokick 4 channel.... i tested prokick monoblock wit kicker 12'inch woofer... not bad at all. the woofer bass sound is nice im asking coz i wanna know if there are other better alternatives out there for an SPL setup with my budget of 1k for the amp only... i wan sumthin that can really take alot of blasting... i place my amp under the fron passenger seat of my kelisa by the way... This post has been edited by kelvin_hata: Apr 11 2006, 07:39 PM |
Apr 11 2006, 10:28 PM
orion xtr900.2 ?
2ch class ab |
Apr 21 2006, 10:25 AM
guys...need more recommendations for a monoblock....
probably gonna go looking for it tomorrow... would like to knoe brand+model with price and also where to get in PJ. thanks in advance |
Apr 21 2006, 12:24 PM
monoblock or not are depend on how many sub u gonna use and wat sub u wan to use with..there's no point if u wan to use a svc 4ohm sub with a monoblock that can produce juice at 250rms @ 4ohm....it's just a waste....the great thing about mono to me is the capacity of going to 1 ohm...if a mono cant go to 1ohm, i will definitely wont get it...i want to maximise the usage of the amp...
for ur case, how many sub and wat sub u gonna use with the mono? if u just using 4ohm wiring, then i suggest u get a 2ch indeed...mono are overkill..wasted the money and the mono.... |
Apr 21 2006, 12:44 PM
good point....my ICE setup is in my sig...1x12" Alphasonik woofer
i think my woofer is wired for 4ohm....not really sure so....say my woofer is wired for 4ohm...what amp u recommend for 1k? and say my woofer is wired for mono....wat amp u recommend? |
Apr 21 2006, 04:07 PM
is it dvc 2/4ohm?
Apr 21 2006, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 21 2006, 04:07 PM) thats the thing... i have NO idea when i bought the woofer i was told its a DVC sub. and he said hes gonna wire it for 4ohm...i think la.. cant remember la.... which is why i asked to recommend amps for diff configs... n of course an amp that suits diff configs.... |
Apr 21 2006, 06:54 PM
wire to 4 ohm mean it's a dvc 2 la...just use a lower power mono like jbl600.1 is enuff.and wired the sub to 1 ohm..no need too expensive 1 if u dun plan to upgrade to 2 sub..actually if ur sub is 400rms, u can only maximise it around3++ only..u will never reach 400..it will distort..and if ur enclosure design are proper, ur sub will perform best at 3++ rms..notreally 400..400 is the best it can take....
Apr 21 2006, 09:06 PM
another bp600.1? hhhmmmm....that COULD be an option....
aiyah...looks like i may have an extra week to look.....i have to work tomorrow thanks howiechoo for the tips.... but any other amps to recommend? |
Apr 21 2006, 11:24 PM
i got 2ch prokick class ab for sell....400rms total power....good ler...hehe
tested already even kicker cvr400rms cant tahan......lolz..the only underrate generation of prokick....newer product all overrate already... actually the jbl600.1 are refurbish in our country..u will never get a new 1...btw, i m just giving an example of the mono amp...this 600.1 got a high risk cos 4/5 out of 10 are return for warranty after 1/2 month regarding to my fren who sell this..hahaha |
Apr 22 2006, 12:37 AM
cheh....looks like im 1 of thouse 4/5 out of 10... sigh...
really gonna need to bounce around town to look for a good amp |
Apr 24 2006, 10:31 AM
anyone knows of any good blaupunkt class d monoblocks? wanna try n check those out too.....
are blaupunkt monoblocks good?? |
Apr 25 2006, 02:22 PM
was browsing thru the jbl website and i found these pix.....
this is how my sub is wired ![]() meaning its running on 4ohm svc right? but then.... my sub can also be wired like this ![]() this means i have a DVC sub but only wired for SVC@ 4ohm right? would it better to wire it for 2ohm or 4ohm??? if wire at 4ohm...what monoblock would be suitable? if wire at 2ohm...what monoblock would be suitable? EDIT: was also surfing the alphasonik webbie and i came across a sub that looks alot like mine... or at least the cone does. cant remember what the magnet and frame looks like.... but heres a pic of it... might or might not be what im using... ![]() my sub looks alot like the psw112c. so it might be that one. would really appreciate any help.... thanks! This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 25 2006, 02:45 PM |
Apr 25 2006, 06:30 PM
bro, u can never wire a dvc sub into svc...the number of voicecoil will never be changed..only the wiring option being change
the first pic is for svc sub..since ur sub is dvc, then follow this: ![]() ![]() |
Apr 25 2006, 07:11 PM
@howiechoo
i just visited the site with those images!! hehehehehe so should i go with 2ohm or 8ohm wiring for my spl? and i was thinking of the agako/prokick monoblocks..... |
Apr 25 2006, 10:50 PM
spl will go to 2 ohm in ur system.....the lower the better.if u got 2 sub, then go to 1 ohm...so u can maximise ur amp capabilities...
Apr 26 2006, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 25 2006, 10:50 PM) spl will go to 2 ohm in ur system.....the lower the better.if u got 2 sub, then go to 1 ohm...so u can maximise ur amp capabilities... cool....will be sure to run it on 2ohm when i have the chance to open up muh woofer box....me only have 1 wooferthanks alot howiechoo...uve been a great help see which one i can find first |
Apr 26 2006, 10:53 AM
erm, y u need so powerful mono? u are overkilling even if u got 2 x500rms sub...
Apr 26 2006, 11:05 AM
no idea man.....heheheh....
future upgrades mebbe ?? see how lor...still depends on which models im able to find oso..... |
Apr 26 2006, 01:45 PM
prokick 1200 enuff la...if u only use 1 sub, then my prokick 400 also more than enuff mma..lolz...
May 1 2006, 12:52 AM
just to update....
got muhself an agako eg-2000d monoblock for 1.4k in subang. should be one of the older models since its not on the webbie anymore... but im really impressed with this amp. sadly, my woofer cant really take this amp and it cannot be wired for 2ohm. tried it with the amp and in less than one song started smelling sumthin already. took out the woofer from the box and there was smoke!!!! |
May 1 2006, 01:09 AM
wonder y u wan to waste ur money..lolz
May 1 2006, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ May 1 2006, 01:09 AM) for the sake of more powah!!! wahahahahhahahahhahahbut in the case of the sub...im doubting it will last ler....hehehhe... in any case...gonna wait for the alphasonik to die first then only start looking into changing.... i do hope the sub lasts.... total cost of ICE up to date.... 8.4k |
May 1 2006, 08:36 PM
@_@
8.4k? lolz u shud change ur box to ported 1 |
| Change to: | 0.0247sec
5 queries
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:44 AM |