Class D amp, Is it good to drive sub?

howiechoo
post Apr 6 2006, 10:11 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

DVC are more powerful in the bass...but not as loud as 2 SVC sub..DVC sub actually provide wiring option and lower freq compare to SVC...

DVC is just 2 SVC built together...save space, more powerful, more wiring option...

BTW, mono /= Class D..Monoblock amp got class A, class AB, Class D and also Class F if not mistaken...
howiechoo
post Apr 7 2006, 10:19 AM

1,919 posts

for sure 8 ohm is more accurate...everything got it's limit...with 2 ohm, the amp actually output higher power than 8 ohm. that's y it's not so accurate....and the sub tend to accept more power...
exceeding power the sub cant handle = distortion
howiechoo
post Apr 9 2006, 06:42 PM

1,919 posts

actually mid bass and tweeter are built at 4ohm and 8ohm in home theatre also...it's the matching of connection type...

for a car tweeter, i actually say 8ohm b4...ya, it's a branded tweeter specially for car..the reason it make it 8 ohm should be also matching the connection also..just wat i thinking...

erm, if ur tweet are 8 ohm, u can actually maximise ur amp for the power of the tweeter...connect it parellel with ur mid...then it will become 4ohm..but unfortunately it will not have any active setupp anymore...
howiechoo
post Apr 21 2006, 12:24 PM

1,919 posts

monoblock or not are depend on how many sub u gonna use and wat sub u wan to use with..there's no point if u wan to use a svc 4ohm sub with a monoblock that can produce juice at 250rms @ 4ohm....it's just a waste....the great thing about mono to me is the capacity of going to 1 ohm...if a mono cant go to 1ohm, i will definitely wont get it...i want to maximise the usage of the amp...

for ur case, how many sub and wat sub u gonna use with the mono? if u just using 4ohm wiring, then i suggest u get a 2ch indeed...mono are overkill..wasted the money and the mono....
howiechoo
post Apr 21 2006, 04:07 PM

1,919 posts

is it dvc 2/4ohm?
howiechoo
post Apr 21 2006, 06:54 PM

1,919 posts

wire to 4 ohm mean it's a dvc 2 la...just use a lower power mono like jbl600.1 is enuff.and wired the sub to 1 ohm..no need too expensive 1 if u dun plan to upgrade to 2 sub..actually if ur sub is 400rms, u can only maximise it around3++ only..u will never reach 400..it will distort..and if ur enclosure design are proper, ur sub will perform best at 3++ rms..notreally 400..400 is the best it can take....
howiechoo
post Apr 21 2006, 11:24 PM

1,919 posts

i got 2ch prokick class ab for sell....400rms total power....good ler...hehe
tested already even kicker cvr400rms cant tahan......lolz..the only underrate generation of prokick....newer product all overrate already...

actually the jbl600.1 are refurbish in our country..u will never get a new 1...btw, i m just giving an example of the mono amp...this 600.1 got a high risk cos 4/5 out of 10 are return for warranty after 1/2 month regarding to my fren who sell this..hahaha
howiechoo
post Apr 25 2006, 06:30 PM

1,919 posts

bro, u can never wire a dvc sub into svc...the number of voicecoil will never be changed..only the wiring option being change

the first pic is for svc sub..since ur sub is dvc, then follow this:

howiechoo
post Apr 25 2006, 10:50 PM

1,919 posts

spl will go to 2 ohm in ur system.....the lower the better.if u got 2 sub, then go to 1 ohm...so u can maximise ur amp capabilities...
howiechoo
post Apr 26 2006, 10:53 AM

1,919 posts

erm, y u need so powerful mono? u are overkilling even if u got 2 x500rms sub...
howiechoo
post Apr 26 2006, 01:45 PM

1,919 posts

prokick 1200 enuff la...if u only use 1 sub, then my prokick 400 also more than enuff mma..lolz...
howiechoo
post May 1 2006, 01:09 AM

1,919 posts

wonder y u wan to waste ur money..lolz

0.0149sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:36 PM