QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 19 2013, 07:06 PM)
i'm currently driving spectra5 with stock absorbers and springs, and my car is 3 years +.
my stock rims are 16 inch, and i find the road sound from certain coarse and uneven roads are very bad.currently using 2 unit achilles ATR sport in front , and 2 unit silverstone NS 500 at the back.
So now thinking of changing tyres to either Michelin or Toyo. But 16inch tyres very expensive, both brands i mention is about Rm450 per donut. and 15 inch tyre is half the price around 330.
Should i trade in my 16in and go for 15inch instead? now using 205/50/16 , planning to change to 195/60/15
Based on your statement, most probably your current tires almost worn out right? Your current tires combination of Achilles ATR Sport and Silverstone NS500 is crappy tires anyway

. Don't get me wrong, both provide best bang for buck when they are quite fresh/new. Nearing the end of their service life, the road noise is damn loud.

(this is based on my friend's vios running on 17' Achilles, and another using Silverstone)
If you do change to Michelin/Toyo/Yoko/BridgeS/etc, surely you will feel the NVH level much much better. If you downgrade to 15' and use better branded tires, sure got improvements la
But I dun think your current rims and tires combo will fetch a good price anyway since you say your stock wheels ald 3yrs.