Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?

mydragoon
post Feb 25 2013, 04:20 PM

7,044 posts

mydragoon
post Feb 25 2013, 04:32 PM

7,044 posts

still trying to see if Samsung dropped any hints inside the poster... so far... nothing other than '4'.
mydragoon
post Feb 27 2013, 10:37 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ Feb 26 2013, 04:40 PM)
Ya, totally nothing to expect this year in MWC, all 5" 1080p + Snapdragon 600/800, so booooring seriously with this trend.
clearly lots of trolls on this topic...

all complain boring specs, etc...

logically speaking... what do people expect? isn't it a natural 'evolution'? from 720p screen to 1080p screen? isn't it also natural to go from small to bigger sized phone?

the thing is... if screen remains 720p... these trolls will say Androids are not innovating.

same with size... or the processors. they'd say how come android is stagnant.

look at the other camp... OS look and feel has not really changed in years. only recently there's a change is size. but when that happens... people say wow... major change. wow... company listens to users.

trolls... please go far, far away. back to the swamp and keep Shrek company over there...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Feb 27 2013, 10:39 AM
mydragoon
post Feb 27 2013, 10:42 AM

7,044 posts

id go on to even ask these trolls...

if you say everything is boring... what do you expect? what kind of specs and features?

and if that does not appear on a fruit phone... does that mean the fruit phone is also boring?
mydragoon
post Feb 27 2013, 11:00 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Feb 27 2013, 10:57 AM)
Duhh..bro..no need bashing other brands. We should keep neutral and on topic. We are not haters. Let them keep and play with their own wonderful toys...lolz
Peace icon_rolleyes.gif
heh heh... ok la...

nolar... i'm just using that coz many people still like to compare with the 'best' and fruit is still widely perceived to be the 'best'. but nolar, i dun go call the users names, or anything. i respect their decision.

just that i get kinda annoyed that a thread about sharing info on the phone is always turned into some other things at the initial phase of the thread... by the trolls.
mydragoon
post Feb 27 2013, 11:13 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Feb 27 2013, 11:05 AM)
Or you can't decide any and end up not buying lol. Happened to me last year since S3, I have yet to buy a phone till now since then. Because them processors can't stop upgrading and I always wanted a MicroSD slot and removable batt. Looks like I should really buy S4 if the rumors are true.
my advise to ppl is...

processor and ram will always improve and increase. there will come a time when people no longer look at these hardware specs but look at the overall experience.

so, as long as you can do what you want with the present models (and think you can continue to do so for the next 2 years), that is good enough.

in my case... Note 2 is just about right. i wanna be able to watch fullHD movie (only coz i'm lazy to look and store multiple copies of the same movie). note 2 and s3 can do that.

but i like big screen.

and ya... luckily... Samsung still have expansion slow and removable battery. i still quite traditional and would like them.

so, having said all the above... sometimes... even older models are good enough. and what more, older models will be more affordable once the new model is announced/ launched.
mydragoon
post Mar 5 2013, 10:32 AM

7,044 posts

rumours, rumours, rumours...

mydragoon
post Mar 5 2013, 02:21 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(echineko @ Mar 5 2013, 01:35 PM)
EDIT: accidentally quoted, sorry tongue.gif

I'm not a Samsung fan, rather an Android smartphone fan. I'll be curious to see what they come up with this time, and how it compares to my choice, the Xperia Z  tongue.gif

The S3 had some interesting software features that differentiate it from others rather than just raw specs, I expect that to continue. And maybe this time they'll go for a non-plastic design as well, heh. But no matter what, this phone should  be a big hit as well, looking forward to comparing with my friends once it's out  rclxms.gif
one possibility...

According to The New York Times, The Samsung Galaxy S4 will introduce new eye-tracking technology to allow users to navigate their devices hands-free. The information comes from an unnamed Samsung employee less than two weeks away from the phone’s official unveiling in New York City.

The new functionality would follow on the heels of other advancements such as Smart Stay introduced with the Samsung Galaxy S3, a feature that could detect when a user was actively viewing the screen and thus prevent the display from timing out. Eye-scrolling would monitor a users eyes as they peruse webpages, instantly advancing to the next paragraph as the end of the previous is reached.

The exact technology being uses to accomplish such “smart” scrolling was not disclosed, but like Smart Stay, the front-facing camera is no doubt involved. The function could be core to the Galaxy S4 experience and make for a great demo for Samsung to show off come March 14th.

as for pricing... i believe Samsung will do what they have done in the past... stick to the original launch price. the Samsung Galaxy S (since S2) launches at rm2199 (i think). their note series at rm2299 (also i think).

should not be any different this time around.
mydragoon
post Mar 5 2013, 02:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Mar 5 2013, 02:21 PM)
Last time phones get smaller and smaller.
Now phones get bigger and bigger.  biggrin.gif
display resolution get bigger (better) and it'll be pointless is the screen size goes smaller instead.
mydragoon
post Mar 6 2013, 01:00 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 6 2013, 02:04 AM)
Yup..S2 and S3 both are ugly. doh.gif
But both are best selling Android Phone of the Year. thumbup.gif
i like s2 design. i dun like s3 design... tongue.gif
mydragoon
post Mar 6 2013, 01:01 PM

7,044 posts

actually, though i'm 99.999% sure i won't be getting the S4... one thing i recall reading about s4 (rumours, that is) is the screen may be LCD instead on LED.

hmmm... i'd think that is a step backwards if it is true. i am now kinda used to SAMOLED screen where black is really black. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Mar 6 2013, 01:25 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 6 2013, 01:04 PM)
I see those eye scrolling and smart stay features are a complete waste of battery life.
if you have the phone and have explored the functions, etc...

you'd have noticed what others have commented... you can disable it.

but i have personally found this to be useful.

mydragoon
post Mar 12 2013, 10:52 AM

7,044 posts

Samsung officially gives us our first REAL glimpse of the Galaxy S4?
http://phandroid.com/2013/03/11/samsung-ga...-s4-first-look/

Remember that leaked Galaxy S4 image in the wild from earlier today? Well, it’s looking a lot more legit after seeing this. Samsung’s official Twitter account is giving is our first real glimpse of the upcoming Galaxy S4 — well, the corner of it anyway — and it looks…. just like the Galaxy S3. I tweaked the image’s contrast to show more of the device (that’s why the quality looks off) and as some have pointed out, the phone no longer has speaker for listening to calls. I suppose it’s possible Samsung anticipated we’d tweak the image and released only a very generic image of the Samsung Galaxy S4. No one knows for sure.

In the past, Samsung teased the Galaxy Nexus in a similar fashion, showing us only the curvature of the device, so it would only make sense if this is really the S4 and not Samsung teasing the S4 by showing us the S3. What do you guys think so far? Don’t forget to tune in Thursday where we’ll finally get to see all 4 corners of the device.

mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 01:31 PM

7,044 posts

just only today i started to read about Exynos octa. hmmm.... seems its not really 8 cores running... but 4 cores only. 4 heavy duty core. and 4 light-weight core. still, ok la... i guess.

as for premium feel. i like tupperware products. they are sturdy. they are 'plastic'. and i think its a good trade off. i dun like to see dents on my phone and dents are usually only visible if the phone is made of metal.
mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 01:49 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 15 2013, 01:33 PM)
*facepalm* Facepalm of the highest level. This logic, i don't even know where to begin with.

"dents are usually only visible if the phone is made of metal." MIND BLOWING LOGIC.
you have something against that statement/ logic?

having used 'plastic' phones, i am happy that countless drops, and i dun have a dent. and i like my phone dent free. so, you have a problem with phones made of plastic? then go somewhere else. this is S4 thread. fact is: s4 is made of 'plastic' as many puts it.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Mar 15 2013, 01:55 PM
mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 01:54 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jason111785 @ Mar 15 2013, 01:49 PM)
thats there the pixel density comes into play... normally we need at least 300dpi pictures to blow into A2 without any distortion. Ultrapixel is using the more "pixel" captured vs. 13mp rival like s4...
i guess the pixel density is only true if one wants to crop a certain part of the photo and then blow it up. and they are measured in ppi, not dpi which stands for dot (used in physical print).

otherwise, if taking the whole photo without cropping and printing it somewhere... then higher pixel count is more important (like 4mp camera vs 42mp camera), right?
mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 03:20 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 15 2013, 02:26 PM)
You were laughing at all the uptight people here a few posts ago. Now, who's uptight? So much so, you are calling names.

Did you not run his statement down and was quite abrasive at that, which he is defending? Why the sudden surge of aggression? This I cannot fathom and hence spent half my life trying to comprehend.
tq.

anyway, i'll leave this where it is...

it's friday... so i'll chill.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Mar 15 2013, 03:31 PM
mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 03:27 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jason111785 @ Mar 15 2013, 02:03 PM)
crop or not.. its still the pixel count. I was educated by my creative department that high-res pictures does not always mean high pixel count.
i'm only a newbie and just asking based on my own limited understanding...

what i understand by "high resolution" is that it has got "high count of pixels".

i had read a bit from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_resolution

anyway, but i do agree that sometimes high MP camera (like 13MP) may not really yield good results as compared to 8MP. i guess lots of other factors... however, i'd think Samsung would not wanna screw up and give us something inferior.

mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 03:34 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 15 2013, 03:26 PM)
Use headset lar bro..lolz
for me... i also hardly use headset. sometimes prefer just the speaker.

and i really do worry about those smart features on s4. at least what i understand, they can adjust the colour and also the audio...

i do worry coz take for example on Note2. if i use the stock video player at max volume, still not good enuff. but with mx player, there's an option to double up the max or sth like that. i do get louder sound coming from mx player. same file.
mydragoon
post Mar 15 2013, 03:37 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 15 2013, 03:33 PM)
I'm a newbie as well, but what I've read are that sensor size, lens quality and image processing algorithms affect the final output. And there's some kind of relationship between DPI, PPI and MP that I only understand a little. These matter very much if you have to produce prints. Otherwise it's not so important if you're posting on FB or sending over Whatsapp.
ya... i think lots of other things come into play.

i'm currently happy with what i get on sgs3 and note 2. both are 8mp.

i do hope samsung can maintain their 'standard' with the s4's 13mp. <-- then again, its not like i'm going to get the s4... hahaha...

still, having used PadFone2 and the 13mp camera on that phone, i do get worried... coz i was kinda disappointed with the 13mp on the padfone2. i felt i got better results with note2's 8mp.

and ya, camera function is quite important for me.

i do hope Samsung will bring that dual capture feature to older devices -- s3 and note2. good too if can go to even s2 and note1. biggrin.gif

0.0257sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:26 PM