EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

lock_82
post Mar 8 2024, 08:22 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 8 2024, 07:44 AM)
Very important is  not to withdraw. Many ppl will withdraw acc 2 for housing.

I hit RM1m in early 40s I think. Now at RM2.5m at 50.

Minimal voluntary contribution.
It is power from saving over time. Then again many run business and wont park money in epf, as it can trace back their income source.

At 5% dividend alone would net you 125k dividend, in turn rm10k+ per mth. You can definitely retire now given no high vakue debts..

Totally envy. I am early 40s at similar pace and hope i can get there at 50 too.

This post has been edited by lock_82: Mar 8 2024, 08:23 AM
lock_82
post Apr 28 2024, 06:48 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Apr 28 2024, 06:08 PM)
This is really gonna be scary if they cant hold above 5. 

We're in a 3 body problem then with EPF :

- Not enough money to retire
- lower dividend returns
- Inflation and currency devaluation
So destined to demolition unless we migrate?
lock_82
post Jun 21 2024, 07:32 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 21 2024, 06:33 AM)
If Account 3 will have same dividend in 2025 onwards, it’s wiser decision
But new contributions is only 10% goes there… until 31/8 you can move more from Account 2

Some will prefer to diversify but both also Govt control
Key is only 10% of new contribution goes to Act 3 while ASM you can withdraw 100% when you need it.

Also, you can only dump max 100k per year into EPF

This post has been edited by lock_82: Jun 21 2024, 08:46 AM
lock_82
post Jun 28 2024, 01:34 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 28 2024, 12:16 PM)
3.88bil MYR is just "parking" in account 3...
Waiting for the "right moment" or "good opportunity" to invest / spend 😋
More like waiting for right vacation package or promotion item for most.. haha
lock_82
post Jul 10 2024, 07:08 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 10 2024, 06:32 AM)
Is it because your company can easily find cheaper replacement from within or outside of company?
2 persons >60yo that i know keep having contract extended with same benefits n without pay cut.
Same with my old company, employment longevity is depending on who you know more and plus what you know..
lock_82
post Aug 21 2024, 08:11 AM

539 posts

I am early 40s, and just want to say pretty much same feeling where hope no scxw up till I can retire at 55-60. Sure feels like long way to go and definitely feel tougher to get a secure job till then. is this what people called mid life crisis and it is scary.
lock_82
post Oct 4 2024, 09:08 AM

539 posts

I believe the EPF data isnt accurate to reflect the wealth distribution in country as we know we have tons of people dont pay tax..

Quote NST report:
It was reported that Malaysia only has slightly more than 1.3 million individual taxpayers out of a population of more than 33.5 million, representing a mere 4.0 per cent of the whole population.
lock_82
post Dec 20 2024, 09:23 AM

539 posts

Base case now one can withdraw 10%..

If one saving now is meant for major spending like house, oversea education assume exceeding 25% available then best to keep it elsewhere.

Else it maybe impossible to outrun shifting goalpost which by 2028 will be at 1.3M
lock_82
post Jan 2 2025, 06:25 PM

539 posts

Anyone tried i-saraan yet? I cant seem to find the option to confirm it is I-saraan contribution vs. normal top up.
lock_82
post Jan 2 2025, 07:38 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 2 2025, 06:54 PM)
Using Banking platform only can pick i-saraan..

i-akaun kwsp cannot pick i-saraan option

And finally only old i-akaun kwsp portal can see i-saraan contribution....

New i-akaun kwsp portal / apps all combined as self contribution only
Got it thru the bank. Thanks a lot.
lock_82
post Jan 8 2025, 06:46 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Jan 8 2025, 01:22 AM)
Assuming it’s RM500 a year. It would take 10 years to hit RM5k. If a person is gainfully employed, it would be hard unless they start at 14 years old.

Or one has to remain a gig worker for a large part of their adult life.
Maybe one can be business owner under SSM, pay no salary but dividend hence they can make good use of this injtiative?
lock_82
post Jan 8 2025, 06:09 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 8 2025, 02:15 PM)
or those who early retired...  tongue.gif
or those working overseas...  blink.gif
Neither of these groups needs such benefit.. but heck gomen.. sigh
lock_82
post Feb 4 2025, 07:35 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Feb 4 2025, 09:08 AM)
The news say 1,6M members are contributing... so that average out rm8k+... still low...
well bulks of the really rich people, doesnt earn salary.. just dividend..
lock_82
post Jun 7 2025, 06:39 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 7 2025, 03:32 PM)
Not many actually can contribute more...

EPF official numbers stated around 10k+ only...
Honestly i felt cant contribute too; business owner who claim minimal revenue on yearly basis.. i know few getting B40 benefit while guarantee much richer than me. Parking money in epf creates paper trail..
lock_82
post Aug 6 2025, 08:04 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(togekiss @ Aug 6 2025, 09:57 AM)
thanks for sharing, but as you can see from statistics, most won't even hit 1M, let alone 2.5M. what can we do if we're in this category?  sad.gif
well the really rich ones, have plenty of cash stack at home.. EPF is mostly for honest working employee who paid taxes and all.
lock_82
post Aug 6 2025, 11:35 PM

539 posts

while this maybe out of topic, as a parent with kids i found it hard to save money for their tertiary education. So question is, is it norm to depend on my own EPF for their teriary fund, which can be easily 200k+ per pax.
lock_82
post Aug 7 2025, 07:40 PM

539 posts

Thanks for the nice feedbacks. Personally, havent been able to save much money outside so have to utilize EPF to fund kids educations. Honestly, same with most comment if 100-200k in Msia should be acceptable. Not rich enough to sponsor anything more. It seems impossible to save 200k hard cash also.. life isnt easy. Local uni meaning kids have to waste time in STPM with low chance of getting what they want unless kid is really bright. Of course, for those are are super rich, 1M will be not an issue but cant afford to go there.
lock_82
post Oct 2 2025, 11:39 AM

539 posts

To be honest, I wasnt looking at EPF number until i was 40yr. Single breadwinner at home with kids, was tough in initial decade but learned to be thrifty as well. No fancy car or house, no expensive oversea vacation. Started to look at EPF because finding it difficult to save myr150-200k for kids tertiary education when time comes. Considered lucky one with decent job and pay but looking at this board makes me feel underpaid.. just venting
lock_82
post Oct 2 2025, 06:55 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Oct 2 2025, 06:49 PM)
The passage of time is a silent killer. The longer it is, the harder to accurately predict. I remembered in the early nineties. People say when one retires at 55, if can get a couple of thousand is very good already. Back then we have very few avenues where one can spend money. Coconuts was what we picked up at the roadside. We don’t have Internet to pay and phones to buy. Who knows 30-40 years from now.
well, one has a choice to continue living like it was 30yrs ago. A lot things are just a distraction.

0.0570sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:52 AM