Nintendo Handheld 3DS|2DS LYN Official Thread V3, New 3DS coming soon, New tered bila?
kagenn
Jul 31 2013, 03:07 PM
Hey guys, got myself a 3DS XL with MH3U last weekend and I've been reading up a bit on this thread. Got a few questions I would like to ask:
Anyone purchased on play-asia before? Is it safe and the goods come without any issues? Looking for a decent casing/cover for my 3DS XL.
What is the purpose of streetpass? My pals with 3DS only play games on it and have not really tinkered with the other features of the device, so I'm pretty curious.
kagenn
Aug 1 2013, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(figure8 @ Jul 31 2013, 06:41 PM) use fedex. no prob so far. Oh alright, thanks for the info.
kagenn
Aug 2 2013, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(DeinanCF @ Aug 2 2013, 01:33 PM) Oh, that explains a lot, I guess it'll be like those guild cards for Monster hunter players will exchange when they streetpass. Will try play-asia when I have to I guess, since I ordered a cheap TPU case from dx.com which the price is almost the same as the shipping price in play-asia itself. Though it'll take between 20-30 days to reach, if it reaches.
kagenn
Aug 5 2013, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(soraroxas90 @ Aug 4 2013, 01:27 PM) I don't know if I'm in the correct thread. but does anyone know where i can buy a crystal case for my 3ds xl? There are a few sellers here that sell these sorta stuff, so you could always approach them/search for their threads. Or you could get it outside, maybe from where you got your 3DS XL? I ordered mine from dx.com, but as mentioned by Deinancf, quality wise it may be an issue. Then you could try play-asia.com if you have the money. I'll update here when I get my cheap TPU casing.
kagenn
Aug 6 2013, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(soraroxas90 @ Aug 5 2013, 11:39 PM) Thanks for the input bros. I just need a screen protector so it can prevent scratches on my XL. But if the item itself causes the scratches wouldn't that defeats the purpose? bought my XL last 3 days and accidentally scraped off one of the angles causes the paint to come off. Turun harga d...  That's why i need a case. Besides plastic, is there such thing as metal? There's a lot of screen protector available here, just use the search for 3DS XL for garage sale and you should fine some that will be suitable for your needs. There are aluminum casing for the 3DS XL as well, but I prefer TPU as it would theoretically be better protection in the event of me dropping it. Check out the hori equipment for the 3DS XL, or other third party brand of accessories.
kagenn
Aug 17 2013, 06:23 PM
Anyone has Shin Megami Tensei IV? What do you guys feel about the game? Worth purchasing?
kagenn
Aug 18 2013, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(konakona @ Aug 17 2013, 06:27 PM) Worth every penny. I end up buying almost all of the DLC as well. That game us quite hard though, compared to standard RPG. Sounds good, and reviews says it's equally as good as you've said too. I don't mind hard games, as long as they don't make it a grind-only game. How much are the DLCs if you don't mind me asking? The reviews didn't seem to have covered those. Will probably get it once I have my salary for this month.
kagenn
Aug 20 2013, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(DeinanCF @ Aug 4 2013, 02:33 AM) For TPU cases, I go for ori as a precaution. I want something that won't melt into the device or become sticky from long term use because you have no idea what the plastic quality is like from 3rd party manufacturers. Since you have ordered it, do update me about it. Got my TPU case today, it's quite okay for the price I paid for it, some USD4.1. Doesn't seem lousy to the point where it'll just melt like that, although I was expecting it to be slight harder, but overall quite pleased with it.. unless it starts melting. It came in a relatively low profile envelope, with bubble wrap on the inside of the envelope, which I guess it's alright, thought I'm not too sure how well it'll hold more fragile items. The back of the bottom cover isn't very... 'clean' with some remnants of plastic not properly shaved, but I guess you get what you pay for. Definitely no match for the nice Yveltal case. =p » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
kagenn
Aug 21 2013, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(konakona @ Aug 21 2013, 12:44 AM) Where did you buy the casing? Looks pretty solid. The link below is the one I bought, although I must warn you, I ordered this on the last day of last month, and just received it today. It's a long wait, and no way to track the package. I think if you place an order above 25 USD you'll get tracking number. Think it's probably the same delivery time though. It's relatively solid, and pretty good for its price in my opinion, adds little bulk too, so there's no problem keeping it into the pouch. Does make it feel a bit heavier though. http://dx.com/p/separate-type-protective-t...nsparent-192001
kagenn
Aug 21 2013, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(konakona @ Aug 21 2013, 01:57 AM) Ah I see. A lot of nice casing, thanks for the link. My friend is looking for one. For my casing, I paid a sum price (RM28+) to use FedEx. But the speed and tracking is worth it. 1 day arrived at KL. I got it in the next working day. Yours look pretty darn nice compared to mine though. I was seriously considering getting either the MH4 accessory pack that comes with the TPU casing as well or to save up a little more for SMT IV. Then I found this casing, and got this instead for the time being. The cover is a bit flimsier compared to the rest of the body around the stylus part though. Good thing is it won't add any scratches to the cover with it there.
kagenn
Aug 21 2013, 02:40 PM
Haha, I'm too paranoid not to have the device with me if I'm taking it out with me. The right side feels a lot flimsier than the rest, and yeah, doesn't look like that in the picture. As for the finger prints, yes, you can see them if you try it, but a lot less obvious. If you're not really looking out for them, you'll probably not notice any because it blends in well with the case. Took around 20 days to arrive, I guess this is relatively fast and as for the review, not sure why they've bumped up my involvement level from general. Nearly forgot, it's only them bubble wrapper on the insides of the envelope, with both parts of the cases are tucked into their own plastic bags and then chucked into that bigger plastic bag in the first picture. When I held the package I thought they sent me an empty envelope because it felt so soft. The case does make the whole thing look better. If only it had Goa Magara on it, then it'll be better.
kagenn
Aug 23 2013, 11:49 AM
The fingerprint smudges come off real easy though. And I've read that harder cases scratch the top of the device. Wouldn't want that with me being a relatively rough guy to begin with.
I saw the cover on Amazon/Ebay, not too sure which though. Just got myself SMT IV from Kyo last night, and have to say I'm pretty out of touch with the game series, been losing 80% of my demons even in the first dungeon. =/
kagenn
Aug 23 2013, 12:25 PM
Wow... that is.. such a way to promote a game. Not sure what to say about it. Hahaha..
I've died several times in SMT as well, usually when I scout for demons early in the game before I realise I should take out their teammates first and during the first 'boss' fight. The demons seem to hit like crazy, and if they when they take advantage of my member's weaknesses it's like a one hit kill. =( Then when they join me they decide to power down or something.
kagenn
Aug 26 2013, 04:37 PM
Anyone looking to let go of their Fire Emblem: Awakening US Nintendo club code? Am looking for one as my pal's FE:A doesn't seem to have it. =/
kagenn
Aug 27 2013, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(konakona @ Aug 27 2013, 10:55 PM) I think you'd have better luck buying a new one. =/ My friend doesn't really play his, so I'm free to always borrow his. Oh well, maybe I'll look for someone who may wanna buy it. Thanks for the input.
kagenn
Aug 28 2013, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(konakona @ Aug 28 2013, 12:36 AM) Buy his code then? Did he redeem it? I assume you want to get the code for the free 30USD? Yup, I was suppose to get it from him as he didn't want it, but I found out a few days back his was the Asian version, thus no code for me.
kagenn
Sep 20 2013, 01:07 PM
Hey guys, apparently the NA and EU eShop are selling MH3U at 50% price, just a heads up for everyone here. Just for 4 days, I believe.
This post has been edited by kagenn: Sep 20 2013, 01:08 PM
kagenn
Sep 26 2013, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(Stevenc89 @ Sep 25 2013, 08:23 PM) Hi guys, I might get the Asia 3DS XL bundle with Mario Kart 7 or Super Mario 3D Land. May I know does the game stored in the system or the SD card? Is the 4gb SD card that comes with the console enough to fit animal crossing + fire emblem? When I got mine with Super Mario 3D Land, the guy told me it's integrated within the console itself, versus keeping it on the SD card. In the case of a reset or anything, your game will still be there. Gotta double check on this though. Google says the size of Animal Crossing (I'n guessing new leaf) is 1GB and FE: A is around 1.3GB, so looks like a yes. if the extra space isn't taken by the preinstalled game.
kagenn
Sep 26 2013, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(Stevenc89 @ Sep 26 2013, 06:21 PM) Thanks guys, just bought a Blue 3DS XL bundle with MK7  Confirmed that the bundled game included in the system, not in SD card. Also wasted 1 hour figuring how to add funds in Canada eshop... End up figured out I cant use Maybank CC, now got few hundred ringgit floating @.@ You can buy USD20 from Kyo right now, he's selling it for RM70, which is at a pretty affordable price, considering how it's always 78++.
kagenn
Oct 2 2013, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(DarrellMing @ Oct 2 2013, 01:18 PM) Hi , I would like to know a few things by the way i read the first post already. - Country settings set to us for eshop purposes , honestly i hate going through the trouble of buying cashcodes i'd rather pay using credit card and through the FAQ i read on the first page it says canada so by setting to canada i can purchase stuff using our credit card eg cimb , maybank? - I bought a us set so that means i can play us , my , and sg games right? how do we tell which game came from which region? ive also read the faq and saw those pictures didnt really understand it could someone here please give me an easier and layman summary ? I bought the cash codes so I can't really comment on the first, but I think so of them here have attempted that route. Gotta wait for their feedback. The US set plays both the US games and the ASI(an) games, both of which are sold here. The US ones comes with a Nintendo club code for you to redeem on your nintendo account for redeemable stuff/games/etc. The Asian game counterparts do not have the code, and someone said it was just the repackaged US version? I believe there are three types of regions for the games: US/ASI, EU and JPN, all of which are exclusive to their own respective region consoles.