LYN Official Hyundai ElantraMD Ver.8, The Club Been Officially Registered Now!

JimmyChan77
post May 6 2013, 11:53 AM

32 posts

Hi elantra owners,

I just encounter steering lock on my elantra, started my engine, but EPS and ESP light remains ON, No power supplied to MDPS. thus unable to move steering wheel. Call hyundai service, service rep came and diagnose error as "steering angle sensor" problems. He tried many times re-start the car but unable to reset the fault.

He unplug and plug in all connectors under dash, and the fault goes away.

I have known a few cases reported in US, and the solutions is to change steering columms.

Any guys encounter before?

I have contacted Hyundai, and they are waiting response from KL HQ.

JimmyChan77
post May 7 2013, 10:46 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 7 2013, 10:29 AM)
There's is one case where the owner report weird knocking sound when turning the steering. ESC module replaced.
Steering Angle Sensor is a standalone part. Urge them to replace whatever at fault.
Thanks Wei,

Does that owner feel any steering lock? or just some noise? Did it resolved after changing ESC module?

As for steering angle sensor (SAS), it is embeded in the steering columm, from what I know, need to change out whole steering columm as one unit.

http://www.hemanual.com/description-1755.html

JimmyChan77
post May 7 2013, 09:17 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 7 2013, 08:20 PM)
JimmyChan77 clearly posting about problem, not about an issue. He clearly mentioned the car turn on and there's even EPS & ESC lights.

The steering lock will only disengaged when the Start button is pressed and correct smart key detected. You can try open the door and move the steering. If its unlocked by opening door, you better send to check.
Thanks Wei for the clearification on my behalf.

The steering will loose power within 2 seconds when engine is switch off, and further locked when the drivers door is open(there a buzzing sound when opening the driver's door).

I have no past issue before, and this the first time it happened. Car is going to be one year old this coming May 15. Hope Sime Darby may have some solutions to it.....

Any guys of friends know about this issue?

JimmyChan77
post May 9 2013, 05:17 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(JimmyChan77 @ May 7 2013, 09:17 PM)
Thanks Wei for the clearification on my behalf.

The steering will loose power within 2 seconds when engine is switch off, and further locked when the drivers door is open(there a buzzing sound when opening the driver's door).

I have no past issue before, and this the first time it happened. Car is going to be one year old this coming May 15. Hope Sime Darby may have some solutions to it.....

Any guys of friends know about this issue?
Hi guys,

Car already send into hyundai (plentong branch) to resolve steering no power issue. After much attempt by them, they finally say have to change the whole steering collum.

Now car have to stay overnight, while waiting parts from KL to come down.

Will update again....

On a side note...Please go directly to Hyundai Branch and not dealers, as they have much better diagnostic equiptment compare to those 3S dealers.

JimmyChan77
post May 22 2013, 10:07 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(JimmyChan77 @ May 9 2013, 05:17 PM)
Hi guys,

Car already send into hyundai (plentong branch) to resolve steering no power issue. After much attempt by them, they finally say have to change the whole steering collum.

Now car have to stay overnight, while waiting parts from KL to come down.

Will update again....

On a side note...Please go directly to Hyundai Branch and not dealers, as they have much better diagnostic equiptment compare to those 3S dealers.
Updates of steering lock up issue...

The Multifuse inside the engine bay FUSE BOX compartment is the culprit. It seems there is a crack at the fuse join for the 80A MDPS fuse.

JimmyChan77
post Jul 6 2013, 10:16 AM

32 posts

Hi All Elantra owners,

May I know how long your maintenance free battery last?

Those who already change new car battery, is it by SC advise or you unable to start ur car? Any telltale signs before kaput?

Trying to gauge the lifetime of Elantra's battery. My car already 1year plus...

JimmyChan77
post Jul 12 2013, 11:00 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jul 8 2013, 08:12 AM)
Hi all, looking for a new 1.8 Elantra. What's the best offer now. Or any SA can intro?  Located in JB. Thanks
UGPM
JimmyChan77
post Jul 12 2013, 11:00 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jul 8 2013, 08:12 AM)
Hi all, looking for a new 1.8 Elantra. What's the best offer now. Or any SA can intro?  Located in JB. Thanks
UGPM
JimmyChan77
post Jul 12 2013, 11:12 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(mysjumblesale @ Jul 11 2013, 11:39 PM)
Hi, can u guys share if there's any rattling sound from the dash or from the door panel? =)
Thanks for sharing.
My rattling noise came from behind the front passenger glove compartment. (where's yours?)

If you are DIYier, crawl underneath the dash at the front passenger seat, locate the "SMART KEY Unit". See whether the unit is hitting the back of the glove compartment's hinge. My rattling sound is from there. I place some 3M foam tape between them.

http://www.hemanual.com/removal-2086.html

Hope I can help...

JimmyChan77
post Jul 12 2013, 11:34 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Jul 12 2013, 11:19 AM)
My house have 2 vios, 2 Altis(older and current model). The newer models getting suckier. Really orchestra. The more u fix them(yup I open my own door panels), the more rattle appear.
I have learned from my lesson. I will leave rattles be especially those cone from doors or dash. Every time u take out, the plastics become more loose.
Tell u what. Change to a toyota/honda first, then next 5 yrs only change to Hyundai. Then u will appreciate. If u buy Hyundai now, even minimal rattle come out also u won't appreciate.
That is my experience. 10 years with toyota and a Merit club member(by invitation only)
rclxms.gif
JimmyChan77
post Jul 12 2013, 11:57 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(mysjumblesale @ Jul 11 2013, 11:39 PM)
Hi, can u guys share if there's any rattling sound from the dash or from the door panel? =)
Thanks for sharing.
You also post the same question at Peugeot forum? May I know what car u really driving?

JimmyChan77
post Aug 8 2013, 02:30 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 8 2013, 01:09 PM)
Yes better go get it checked in sc. Sensor spoilt.
666devil, you encounter before? since you reply "Yes"
JimmyChan77
post Nov 12 2013, 04:49 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(mycacha @ Nov 12 2013, 04:04 PM)
Nobody help me on the question? sad.gif
Our malaysian spec 1.6HS don hav.
JimmyChan77
post Dec 2 2013, 06:35 PM

32 posts

Hi Bro & Sifu,

Which type of Iriduim plug should we use? IXUH22 or IXUH22i ?

Cos Kia Forte 1.6 is using IXUH22.....

JimmyChan77
post Dec 6 2013, 05:46 PM

32 posts

Hi Guys,

When we arm/disarm our car, there is only signal lamps to tell us. No buzzer or short beeps to tell us.

Can it be enable thru the BCM of our vehicle? I think it can be done right, with help from Hyundai centres?

Am i Wrong?

JimmyChan77
post Dec 7 2013, 02:01 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Dec 7 2013, 01:44 PM)
No configuration modification can be done in sc except reset ecu. If want, u have to find 3rd party alarm to add on. Many club members did that but I did not. I enjoy the silence more. In my previous cars, I always worried about accidentally triggering the alarm eg. Locking the car twice. No such issue for elantra. Loving it!

That's so much I can answer. U want more answer to ur question, pls go join our elantra club. So many sifus there who has done whatever u guys have asked here.
Thanks...
JimmyChan77
post Jan 3 2014, 10:57 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(AnonyMous LuQ @ Jan 3 2014, 09:41 PM)
Hi, wanna service 1st 1k 4 my HE baby tmorow..wanna opinion from sifu whats d average price n std parts change? Tq ya..
Do it before 31 Jan, there is on going discount for certain parts(15%) and labour(10%)....

0.0279sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:53 AM