need advice on training, on shoulders and back

TSmalfogs
post Jan 31 2013, 07:20 PM, updated 13y ago

140 posts

ok , i am new in bodybuilding. i have workout for quite sometime , but then i notice i have difficulties on back and shoulder training.
at first , i always do lateral raise ,front raise , and presses , i will feel the pain is on my traps .. maybe my posture were wrong , so, i adjust it and eventually it shifted to the shoulder. My problem is the exercise that it always hit on the front delts. so i wanna ask are they any tips or guidance to take note for raises to actually hit the mid delts?

next is back , i have a weak back muscle , i cant do a wide pull ups , but a narrow grip i can pull for 5 to 6 times .. same question are they any type of rules to take note on back training? .. if there is something wrong plz give advice ,

oh ya b4 i forget i always complete my workout with 12 reps 4 sets for shoulder workout, for pull ups i do 8 reps for 4 sets .
theCrab
post Jan 31 2013, 07:41 PM

1,093 posts

traps dominated guy
go light weight on raise

dont need too wide grip pull up
start from narrow grip is good
TSmalfogs
post Jan 31 2013, 07:48 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Jan 31 2013, 08:41 PM)
traps dominated guy
go light weight on raise

dont need too wide grip pull up
start from narrow grip is good
traps dominated guy? don quite get it .. jus go light weight is enough? but then do wide grip and narrow grip focuses on different muscle?
theCrab
post Jan 31 2013, 07:50 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(malfogs @ Jan 31 2013, 07:48 PM)
traps dominated guy? don quite get it .. jus go light weight is enough? but then do wide grip and narrow grip focuses on different muscle?
wide grips recruit more teres major and traps,rear delts come into play
narrow grip more on lats

TSmalfogs
post Jan 31 2013, 08:08 PM

140 posts

ok .. thx bro .. will try it out ..
-Dan
post Jan 31 2013, 08:20 PM

4,382 posts

Something I've found which gives me a better connection with the lateral deltoids is leaning forward slightly and tilting your thumbs down when you lift. Alternatively, you could use a bench set at a high incline and lean against it, a la Alberto Nunez:

theCrab
post Jan 31 2013, 08:20 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(malfogs @ Jan 31 2013, 08:08 PM)
ok .. thx bro .. will try it out ..
regardings your lateral raise
start your raise from side of your thigh to prevent swinging and momentum
use a ligther weight good form for 12-15 reps

ifvrynxar
post Feb 6 2013, 01:01 AM

36 posts

deadlift will helps a lot in building strong back..
but yes, proper technique is damnly crucial..
daveiam
post Feb 8 2013, 04:45 AM

17 posts

Am thinking about taking protein shakes to bulk myself up.
Which ones do u think is the best http://topbestprice.com/top-20-best-sellin...n-shakes-drink/
Steven_aka_G
post Feb 8 2013, 10:16 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(daveiam @ Feb 8 2013, 04:45 AM)
Am thinking about taking protein shakes to bulk myself up.
Which ones do u think is the best http://topbestprice.com/top-20-best-sellin...n-shakes-drink/
What's your daily diet and workout like?
daveiam
post Feb 8 2013, 11:15 PM

17 posts

Diet i wouldn't say i'm very consistent yet since i don't have a set menu in mind, yet

but here's what i "usually" eat:
morning: oat + corn, 2 boiled eggs
afternoon: been eating indian mamak for the past 2 weeks, but i eat there white rice, chicken currey, vege
night: mee, rice, fish head mee hoon, not set diet unfortunately

My current workout schedule is 2 times per week, 1.5 hours each, focusing only on 1 muscle group every time

Comments/advice?
Steven_aka_G
post Feb 8 2013, 11:52 PM

524 posts

You're not eating enough. Hence, I think even if you were to add in protein shakes, it won't do any difference.

Nor do I think you are lifting enough. But since you didn't specify your routine, I am not going to comment on that just yet.

golden7676
post Feb 15 2013, 12:53 PM

99 posts

Hey guys, I want u r advice
I usually do workout at home with dumbell 10kg 200x 10set left and right everyday and push up 120x..6set
Everyday.

What is the next workout set I should do?
golden7676
post Feb 15 2013, 12:54 PM

99 posts

My weight only 60kg, 167cm
SUSLdee
post Feb 16 2013, 10:34 PM

442 posts

Lateral raise is the most painful exercise, especially during the early phrase.. U hv to get used of it lol

0.0188sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:22 PM