Mar 19 2013, 12:26 PM
369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
an interesting read about the giant bikes
giant bikes for those who prefer watching a video This post has been edited by yolk: Mar 19 2013, 01:18 PM |
Mar 19 2013, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 19 2013, 01:44 PM) sorry.. wrong quote.. i meant it for yolk... hahahaha looks like giant wanna claim the title for carbon bike/frames and based on their test looks like they might just pull it off ... old already... mouse click also senget... piss onto urinal also senget and god knows what else... vin_ann not yet reach carbon level so still got space for his head to grow before it can kaboom |
Mar 20 2013, 06:22 AM
Mar 20 2013, 06:23 AM
Mar 20 2013, 07:00 AM
hey guys
I'm in the midst of a shopping spree buying stuff online in preparation for winter riding and was looking at buying some tyres/brake pads. There's a deal online currently for 2 x conti gp 4000s + 5 tubes for roughly RM 250 - 260. The cheapest i found here in LBS is about RM 300 for tyres only. Question is would you buy tyres online or rather get it from LBS despite it being more expensive for warranty issues/returns etc ?? Would using 25mm tyres make loads of difference ? Some say it comfier coz can lower tyre pressure and has more/better contact patch/rolling resistance ?? Also for brake pads I was looking at some swisstop. Apparently they're very rim/alu friendly and not so abrasive plus has very good stopping distance in both wet and dry. Was looking at the green pads. Any other suggestions or should I just stick to the standard shimano pads ? Also I assume my 4za brakeset takes standard shimano pads ? I noticed that on my current brake pads the front is one piece. The metal plate + brake pad are together. The rear I think is two piece as there's a nut behind the metal piece which is to remove the pad itself ? So if I were to buy pads I need to buy the whole block/pad for front and pad replacement for rear ? Will try to take pictures later in the evening if what I said doesn't makes sense. This post has been edited by yolk: Mar 20 2013, 07:02 AM |
Mar 20 2013, 01:07 PM
Mar 20 2013, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 20 2013, 09:22 AM) that's a very good deal. for tyres, buying online is fine. okay thanks for the confirmation. I have no idea what pads they are. Came with the bike, some entry level 4za caliper and brake pads. Definitely not dura ace what kind of shimano pads do you have? dura ace? if the stopping power of current pads is enough, just stick with them. yeap, i think u got it right. QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 20 2013, 09:51 AM) tires is tires.. if it faks up it faks up...usually nothing to return regarding tires unless it comes already with a big hole... thought some people do claim tyres based on manufacturing defect ? Though I have no idea what condition the tyre must be/was for them to make such a claim in the first place.25mm is something you have to try for yourself... might work for me, but not you... no definitive answer on this one... swisstop is good if you can get it easily... usually sram shops stock them up...and not priced too high up for my taste..shimano's are not cheap by the same standard... the 105 inserts are around RM60 for a set of 2 pair or 4 inserts while the dura ace ones are RM110 just for a pair.... but if you haven't wear them out or is considering changing wheels... swap them when either one happens... preferably a new pad with a new wheel... no point bringing a pad embeded with metal bits over to a new rim and ruin it... always buy inserts as they are cheaper in long run... if you can... get a set of complete pad holder + insert for your fronts this time around and just get inserts for the rear... you also get more choices by selecting inserts only... just make sure it is shimano compatible and that's it...campy ones have a different lock groove on the pad...or no groove at all if i am not wrong.. I'll compare the prices over here and online to see which are cheaper. Another brand mentioned is koolstop salmon pads ?? Seems to be a cheaper alternative to the swisstop green albeit much cheap though it doesn't last as long. I am definitely considering changing wheels as per my previous posts but have reduced my budget by a bit and now most likely getting the rs80 c24 instead of the 7900 c24. I wouldn't be able to differentiate the difference between the two and many seasoned riders made the same comment. There is also a promo for 2010 ksyrium elite which are ridiculously cheap compared to the 2013 model but can't find much details on what the difference is between the two. So now it's boiled down to rs80 c24 vs 2010 ksyrium elite. This post has been edited by yolk: Mar 20 2013, 01:25 PM |
Mar 20 2013, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 20 2013, 03:05 PM) quite light leh the caliper... you own a ridley?? forza is ridley's in house component... yup i own a ridley .. the lower end model though, ridley icarus. Came with tiagra + fsa crank + 4za components. No idea how heavy/light the calipers are. tyres is usually not going to arrive in any defect state lar...if have also it will be noticeable like a big slit or a big hole on the tire... those are clear cut claimable... i used the koolstop pads that look like this, not sure the name.. but according to this... called dura http://www.koolstop.com/english/road_pad.html ![]() i like this as it brakes quite well, but i am not sure about the durability because none of my pads last as long as a year... i also like it because the tail end kicks up a bit to reduce brake squeal and judder... Ahhh yes the dura, the salmon pads is referring to the orang bit/compound on the pads. Dura seems like a good compromise since it's a mix black/salmon. Will look into it. |
Mar 21 2013, 06:34 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 20 2013, 05:28 PM) it says 125gram per caliper... ahhh unfortunately no. My bike came with 4za stratos components. The cirrus/cirrus pro probably comes with their higher end carbon bikes. http://www.bikemania.biz/brakes/forza-4za-...us-road-brakes/ that is almost crazy light... if it is exactly the one you have... the koolstop pad for me feels a good compromise... i like it particularly because it has no brake squeal... |
Mar 21 2013, 06:15 PM
is there a lot of difference between 12-25 vs 11-28 on a compact crank ?
ahhhhh found this website .. makes it easy to compare the diff gear calculator This post has been edited by yolk: Mar 21 2013, 06:28 PM |
Mar 21 2013, 06:30 PM
Mar 21 2013, 06:56 PM
Mar 21 2013, 07:05 PM
Mar 21 2013, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 21 2013, 07:01 PM) why did you buy the crud roadracer mudguards? quite easy to break ler... should have bought the sks race blades based on the feedback from some of the commuters here they say the crud mudguards are safer coz if a twig or something gets caught between the mudguard and the tyre the crud just comes of the mounting points coz it's not metal/screwed to the bike .. anyway wasn't that expensive 35 bucks so will just try and see how it goes |
Mar 22 2013, 12:12 AM
Mar 22 2013, 03:34 AM
Mar 22 2013, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 22 2013, 08:09 AM) go go go there's one for auction here but the starting bid is aud 4k For auction is a near new Lynskey Helix Titanium road bike in medium size built with top complementary. 6.29kg actual weight complete without pedal! The spec are: - Lynskey Helix frame, medium size, bright brushed finished with etched lettering (which is an extra US$550 finishing option) - ENVE 1.0 fork - 2011 SRAM Red shifters - 2011 SRAM Red rear derailleur - 2012 (latest) SRAM Red front derailleur - 2012 (latest) SRAM Red XG-1090 cassette 11-28T - TRP 970SL forged magnesium brakes - ZIPP Vuma Quad 50/34 compact crankset with ZIPP ceramic bearings - TUNE (made in Germany) BoBo headset - Lynskey titanium seat post (decals removed) - ZIPP SL SS full carbon handle bar - Rotor (made in Spain) S1 stem - Reynolds MV32UL full carbon clincher wheelset (1284g actual weight, this model is fitted with Reynolds re-branded DT Swiss 240 hubs) - Continental GP4000s Black Chilli 23c tires - Full Yokozuna Reaction cables set - Fizik bar tape - Specialized Romin Expert saddle with hollow titanium rails - USE (made in UK) Spin Stix titanium quick release - Parlee (made in USA) full carbon front derailleur clamp This post has been edited by yolk: Mar 22 2013, 08:17 AM |
Mar 22 2013, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 22 2013, 10:25 AM) again, we are not talking about japanese yen here... 7AUD per day is heck a lot... i can't even afford McChickies McFakinCheapoYousoFakinDunBelieveItValue meal each and everyday and there you are talking about saving the same amount in AUD everyday...are you trolling us or wat? ahhhh gomenasai ... it's cause I'm earning aud so I don't convert back to RM so saving AUD 7 a day is not that much. Just tapau lunch from home can liao i feel so depressed now that i have to go choke slam my office colleagues...jus because my boss is not around for me to push him out of the window... fak tis shit and it's friday... |
Mar 25 2013, 07:59 AM
| Change to: | 0.0526sec