5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[Worklog] Icute Casing, New update. Enjoy

TSzzzz52
post Mar 26 2006, 11:10 PM, updated 17y ago

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

Like to share with you all my work in process. Bored with the last mod. yawn.gif yawn.gif

Old Mod.
user posted image user posted image

I started my new mod on 17/3/06 (Fri). I'm working 5 1/2 days week so only doing in the weekend. cry.gif cry.gif

For this new mod, I will be trying to do a mirror shine finish, still unsure which color to go for? unsure.gif unsure.gif

Firstly, all the components and the arcylic panels have to disassemble.

After that, I take apart the whole casing and strip and sand the old paint until the the bare metal surface. This was really hardwork rclxub.gif .

I used a drill and drill out all the rivets. This was the easy part thumbup.gif
Next came the stripping part. I got a paint stripper for RM 7 from the hardware shop near my place. user posted image
This is my first time using a paint stripper, I apply it without any hand protection. sweat.gif sweat.gif Bad idea, the chemical got onto my arms and legs and it burn and itch like hell rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif . After that i took out the rubber gloves and apply the chemical very carefully sweat.gif .
Using a scrapper and water, i remove the paint from every part of the casing. 3 layers in all, (original beige, blue then the sliver). ohmy.gif
After getting the paint removed, I sand the surface with grit 180 sandpaper, follow by grit 320. Rinse, dry and ready for action icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

The whole process took me the whole weekend sweat.gif sweat.gif

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Will continue the worklog and upload the pics later tonight if i got the time flex.gif flex.gif

This post has been edited by zzzz52: Sep 28 2006, 10:02 PM
kingmaker_20
post Mar 26 2006, 11:14 PM

" t3H 1337(tm)"
3,159 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Mar 26 2006, 11:10 PM)
Like to share with you all my work in process. Bored with the last mod

Old Mod.
I started my new mod on 17/3/06 (Fri).
First, I take apart the whole casing and strip and sand the old paint until the the bare metal surface.

I used a drill and drill out all the rivets.
Old mod quite simple......let se what's going to happen to this case.
ikan_semilang
post Mar 26 2006, 11:43 PM

4,504 posts

Isn't easy using paint stripper for take out the paint?
TSzzzz52
post Mar 27 2006, 10:37 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

To be continue, actually i have finish spraying the primer layers.

Pics coming up..........
TSzzzz52
post Mar 27 2006, 10:39 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Mar 26 2006, 11:43 PM)
Isn't easy using paint stripper for take out the paint?
Thanks, I'm using it. If not i think very very susah to strip the paint rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
But have to be careful when using it........ sweat.gif sweat.gif
Gamer
post Mar 27 2006, 11:10 AM

Be Original
3,366 posts

the old mod also very nice, anyway can't wait to see the new mod. nice job.
mADmAN
post Mar 27 2006, 11:15 AM

10,530 posts

once done pls put a beore and after pic of ur case.... wanna compare which is nicer coz the first mod is already really good....

hope u can outdo urself wit this one thumbup.gif
TSzzzz52
post Mar 27 2006, 08:49 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

As stated b4, the parts after spraying with primer. I used anchor brand paint no. 5 (Grey undercoat). 2 cans cost me RM9

The zinc coated surface was really hard for the paint to stick to it. But any how i spray 3 thin layers and lightly sand the painted surface with grit 600.

Below is the parts after painting 3 coats and before sanding
user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by zzzz52: Mar 27 2006, 08:51 PM
TSzzzz52
post Mar 27 2006, 08:59 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

After finishing the 2 cans of spray, i went out to get my third can of primer, but doh.gif doh.gif it was sold out, talking about my luck. I cannot wait for the new stock to arrive and cause its sunday, most shops r closed.
So i settle for a can of anti-rust primer (no.19).
Finally i continue spraying another 2 coats of primer and everything is done for the undercoat.

This post has been edited by zzzz52: Mar 27 2006, 09:54 PM
TSzzzz52
post Mar 27 2006, 09:17 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

Today, i went to the shop to choose what color i want. I tried going for dark blue(no. 34) but it was not dark enough.

So, after going through the color chart i settle for black (no. 30). As if my luck was already bad, it made a turn for the worse......... mad.gif mad.gif doh.gif doh.gif again...again OUT OF STOCK. Only 2moro will arrive. cry.gif
Haih, guess i have to wait until 2moro

Anyhow, i got a can of rubbing compound (neza rubbing compound)RM6.50 and a sanding block RM9.

Not sure of this rubbing compound is suitable?? Can anyone help?? thumbup.gif
Guys, feel free to give any suggestion for the color choice, still not 100% sure!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by zzzz52: Mar 27 2006, 09:53 PM
TSzzzz52
post Mar 27 2006, 09:31 PM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

BTW, this is whats happening to my CPU. sweat.gif sweat.gif (Naked and dangerous...... cool.gif cool.gif ) Have to stay like this until my casing is completed

This post has been edited by zzzz52: Mar 28 2006, 12:43 PM
superdav007
post Mar 28 2006, 12:27 AM

1,072 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Mar 27 2006, 09:31 PM)
BTW, this is whats happening to my CPU.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif (Naked and dangerous...... cool.gif  cool.gif )

just dun spill water onto it..haha sweat.gif
radioactive
post Mar 28 2006, 12:39 AM

1,857 posts

Jus tie it on to the side of the computer table...space the mobo wif some papers...at least some1 wun step on it...

Bout ur rubbing compound..i think its ok...i had been using it
exkay
post Mar 28 2006, 01:08 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

u're risking your harddisk ler.. why not just lie it flat?
TSzzzz52
post Mar 28 2006, 09:47 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Mar 28 2006, 01:08 AM)
u're risking your harddisk ler.. why not just lie it flat?
Yaloh, the hard disk is dangerous, but i already used tape to tape it on the box.
Initially, i tried to stack the two harddisk but was worry that both will overheat.

Thanks for the help rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Vervain
post Mar 28 2006, 11:19 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

better don't stack the hard disk la. have a bad experience before. your naked pc arouses me haha. try to mod the PSU to fit in the casing. since you have a windowed casing
caaron
post Mar 28 2006, 04:46 PM

Always to Assist
515 posts

u did it on your own. nice casing. i help my friend spray. the theme of the casing is bumblebee.
ianho
post Apr 1 2006, 07:06 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

All Worklogs bumped to the top for easy reference by all.

siauann
post Apr 2 2006, 07:35 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

how do u strip off all the casing?
TSzzzz52
post Apr 3 2006, 10:16 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

As stated in the above post, i used a drill to drill out all the rivet.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0155sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:49 AM