85 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Multiplayer DayZ (Standalone Game), DayZ Early Acess. Join us at Chernarus!

TSMr.Beanster
post Jan 26 2013, 09:03 PM, updated 12y ago

1,267 posts

DayZ Standalone released on Steam early access

DayZ's standalone version, the follow-up to the popular Arma 2 mod, is out now on Steam early access for $30. Unfortunately, DayZ creator Dean Hall was notified at the last minute that the launch trailer (below) that Steam pulled his trailer "due to censorship," but you can still watch it thanks to YouTube.

The trailer may have been pulled because of the suicide you see in the end, which we know is a new feature in the game.

As we've previously reported, Hall has made it explicitly clear that this is an alpha build of the game in the truest sense of the term. It is a work in progress, only a representation of what's to come, and filthy with bugs only players who want to observe and participate in the development process should buy into.

True to his word, Hall gave this warning top billing over any other cool features in DayZ. The main description of the game on Steam reads:

"WARNING: THIS GAME IS EARLY ACCESS ALPHA. PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE IT UNLESS YOU WANT TO ACTIVELY SUPPORT DEVELOPMENT OF THE GAME AND ARE PREPARED TO HANDLE WITH SERIOUS ISSUES AND POSSIBLE INTERRUPTIONS OF GAME FUNCTIONING."

And only then does he describe the experience, a realistic, open-world survival horror hybrid-MMO.

Disclaimers aside, the descriptions of what's included in the alpha currently available on Steam is sure to get a lot of people to buy into it. It already has Chernarus, the 230km² landmass of deep forests, cities, and villages that severs as DayZ's playground, and it can already handle up to 40 players per server. Persistent player profiles, crafting and other staples of the original DayZ mode are also all in there to varying degrees. We'll see you there, but we won't trust you to not steal our stuff.

Source: PcGamer

Purchase link: DayZ $29.99

This post has been edited by wKkaY: Oct 10 2014, 08:04 PM
memphiz_zero88
post Jan 26 2013, 09:05 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

first.

but I never play DayZ (dun have ARMA tongue.gif) so just wait for this standalone whistling.gif
wingwp
post Jan 26 2013, 09:06 PM

639 posts

Same, waiting for stand-alone
lanux128
post Jan 26 2013, 09:06 PM

208 posts

nice! thanks for creating this thread! smile.gif
TSMr.Beanster
post Jan 26 2013, 09:22 PM

1,267 posts

Welcome. The developer is busy making the game and hasn't speak much aboutit.

I'll keep this thread update whenever there is news on the game. So far everything looks good.

Hopefully DayZ will live up to the expectation as a standalone survival zombie game.

This post has been edited by Mr.Beanster: Jan 26 2013, 09:30 PM
s7ran9er
post Jan 27 2013, 10:17 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Last I enjoyed watching people wearing camo with night vision while riding on a quadbike to stalk newbies, that was fun. laugh.gif
bobohead1988
post Feb 5 2013, 05:13 PM

852 posts

ho boy

Skip to 3.30 for straight to the point

This post has been edited by bobohead1988: Feb 5 2013, 05:14 PM
ahbenchai
post Feb 5 2013, 10:12 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Feb 5 2013, 05:13 PM)
ho boy

Skip to 3.30 for straight to the point
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSMr.Beanster
post Feb 5 2013, 10:51 PM

1,267 posts

It's promising so far. It's good they take their time to develop a brand new good game. By the way video added to first post
Skidd Chung
post Feb 5 2013, 10:52 PM

479 posts

Wah great to see an update! rclxms.gif
vicng93
post Feb 5 2013, 11:01 PM

184 posts

eagerly waiting for standalone too biggrin.gif
Dharcness
post Feb 6 2013, 08:30 PM

27 posts

Gameplay still the same though - K.O.S
t3quila
post Feb 8 2013, 01:51 AM

Meanwhile in mod version 1.7.5.1:

Lance8000
post Feb 19 2013, 04:10 AM

how do you guys play this game in malaysia? is there a server hosting in malaysia for this upcoming standalone?
Btw im a newbie thinking of getting the standalone.
Can some1 kindly explain everthing to me ? tnx
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Feb 19 2013, 07:38 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

this will be much better than war z rite.
gbwedward
post Feb 19 2013, 09:48 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 19 2013, 07:38 AM)
this will be much better than war z rite.
it'd be stupid not to be better, since the devs for DayZ know what's happening to WarZ
hopefully they'll be able to sort out the PvP issue, really a game killer
TSMr.Beanster
post Feb 19 2013, 12:25 PM

1,267 posts

DayZ standalone gets new screenshots and progress report: “everything has been redone”

Development on the standalone version of the DayZ mod has snowballed into more intense territory than anticipated. DayZ creator Dean Hall has posted an update on the DayZ blog to say that “The experience will be entirely new. There is virtually nothing that has been directly ported from the mod, everything has been redone. This wasn’t our original intention (hence the December deadline) – but it has evolved this way. We’re all glad it has!” Read on to find out what the team’s been tinkering with.

Hall says that character development is “the absolute core of our current design efforts.” New models for ethnic female characters have been added, and there’s more to come. “Until initial release, the vast majority of our efforts will be with expanding options for developing and customizing your character.”

Meanwhile, DayZ’s lead programmer is shifting the multiplayer engine to a “server-client MMO mode,” which will add a bit of much-needed stability. If you want to run games for your community, good news: “Private servers will be supported.”

Designer Ivan Buchta has also rejoined the team after the Greece ordeal, and is working on renovating the DayZ’s island. You can see the results in the latest DayZ screenshots below, spotted by Kotaku

Source: Pcgamer
t3quila
post Feb 19 2013, 05:38 PM

Owait, it's a new part of Cherno by the looks of it.

This post has been edited by t3quila: Feb 19 2013, 05:49 PM
TSMr.Beanster
post Feb 23 2013, 01:57 PM

1,267 posts

DayZ Standalone’s latest development update shows the finest in zombie acting

The latest DayZ Standalone update dispenses with the technical round-ups of recent posts, and instead focuses on creator Dean “Rocket” Hall having violent and unnatural spasms. Because he’s doing motion capture work for the game. Not because he’s possessed or anything. Probably.

The twenty minute video takes you through the mo-capping process, and features select interviews with DayZ’s animation team. In it, you can learn Bohemia animator Martin Michalik’s favourite mo-capped animation for DayZ. Spoiler: it’s “defecation”. Wait, what?

Don’t expect a huge splurge of information about the status of the project. Still, it’s an interesting look at a particular aspect of development and, at the very least, is good for a cheap laugh or two.

Pcgamer

Aha Dayz devblog video is uploaded on first post biggrin.gif
arecheese
post Feb 23 2013, 05:45 PM

309 posts

hopefully they dont make the same mistakes as war z, to think that i nearly bought the alpha version of war z. phew, saved me some money!

85 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:15 PM