Google Nexus 4 - V5, >150 proud owners

miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 07:46 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 27 2013, 11:29 PM)
My highest Antutu score: 23647

- 1.7ghz
- vdd=1150000 (same as stock kernel vdd at 1.5ghz for "Fast" and "Faster" CPU)
- noop IO scheduler
- everything else, default, including fsync. for me, not worth to disable fsync just to get some extra speed. it is risky.

Even at default 1.5ghz, managed to get: 20741

At this freq, it's only using 100000vdd, phone runs extra cool and save more battery.  laugh.gif

Galaxy Note 2 benchmark? LOL... eat my dusk! (yeah, i like to pick on Note II, coz most clueless people call it the best Android phone)
Samsung, sony n apple strong point is the after sales support lol

Samsung sarawak service is fast. Send note2 in the morning and i get it back in the afternoon. Same case with my and my fren s3.

miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 11:42 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 28 2013, 09:12 AM)
Can't comment on after sales support from LG. I am not planning of sending my Nexus 4 for any support from them even though I mess with the phone so much; unlock, rooted, overclock, undervolting, etc... Phone still work! May be others are doing better, if so, shame on you LG!!! And I don't buy stuff based on brand. If it's good, it's good.

That does not change the fact that Nexus 4 is still the best Android phone. If just comparing hardware, iPhone5 is the best phone there is (then Nexus 4, then all S4 Pro CPU phones, then xxxx, then Note 2) but I really like Nexus 4 because of Android. The experience of able to customize everything in your phone is amazing. Compiling the kernel and actually see it work on my phone is... intoxicating!

So, if you talk about Android, all you S3 and Note 2 users; be prepared for major disappointment when Google announce Android 5.0 Key Lime Pie in May later. Nexus 4 users, rejoice! S3 and Note 2 users? Wait a year or 2, or buy a new phone. Faster (in months?) if you use custom ROM.

If Nexus 5 going to use Tegra 4, watch how my Nexus 4 going to beat the new Nexus.  thumbup.gif

Nexus 4 - This piece of device comes with among the best hardware there is in the market, and with best software support for Android ever, from Google directly. Y U NO BUY N4?!

OK OK, not everyone buy a phone because of it's superior hardware and software. Some buy it for it's brand. Some buy it for it's local support, screen size, slightly better camera, etc... whatever. It's cool if you know what you want. But if you want the best Android phone there is in the market, no phone beat Nexus 4.
Well for me due nexus is from LG, thats why it worry me for after sales support pov. If its come from Samsung, sony maybe its ok for me. :-P
miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 02:01 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 28 2013, 01:28 PM)
Got to agree with this one on bold points. Some of my friend bought the phone and totally have zero knowledge on basic troubleshooting / etc. Couldn't even do a factory reset and just send it to service centre doh.gif
Well that what sc for. We paid them when they buying the device lol.
miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 02:41 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 28 2013, 02:26 PM)
Couldn't care less. If it will crack, it will crack.

The only way to avoid heating up the device is to not using it, which defeats the purpose of me buying it.  sweat.gif

So I'll use it, let it heats up, if the rear glass wanna crack, there's nothing I can do about it. The only thing is, if I could only safely lift the thermal throttle thing without risking the CPU burned.  hmm.gif

Anyway, having rear glass does help to dissipate the heat faster.
Design flow or manufacturer prob?
miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 05:14 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jan 28 2013, 03:37 PM)
Can't agree more on that. Let just keep this thread forum as a way for us to improve our beloved Nexus 4 & stop comparing with others.it would never end.
Well, some people like to compare n mention yada2 phone pawn other hp brand or model. Every phone have their own pro n cons. Nothing is perfect lol

My cousin using one. So far the only complaint so far is the battery life compare to her motorola razr maxx which mia previously.

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Jan 28 2013, 05:15 PM
miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 05:18 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(eetony @ Jan 28 2013, 05:07 PM)
for me it is quite uncomfortable in hand when the phone gets warm to hot. Maxis H or G connection is out of my control, i can only try to stop using it at that moment to let it cool down. my gf ask me not to use it, say radiation very high... lol. i don't think it is defect, is it? is all the n4 behave like this? the heat is noticeable even with hard case on.
If 3g mode ok but when change to h mode, my cousin n4 will turn quite warm o.o. Mybe firmware update can fix it.
miloy2k
post Jan 28 2013, 05:21 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jan 28 2013, 05:16 PM)
razor max have 3000mah battery lorh.. how to compare with nexus 4 that only have 2100mah capacity. very big different.
Well she just normal l user & want to have fast updated of the os.

Spec wise, she doesn't bother about it.

miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 07:40 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(RcykZai @ Jan 29 2013, 03:25 AM)
hi guys,i want to ask, nexus 4 advantage is that it will receive first and most updated firmware from google android right? what about future, lets say 1-2  years, will it still get updated? or it will update to max point where the firmware reached hardware specs can handle?
Yes for now n4 spec is more then sufficient.

And knowing android is "power hunger", perhaps next gen of Android os will show the age of n4 or phone that have similar spec.
miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 07:50 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 28 2013, 05:31 PM)
i did what i did because there are so many "rumours" about how N4 battery life sucks, performance lower than Optimus G, etc... and so many people buying Samsung phone regardless whatever "sucky" phone they released.. because they are Samsung or Apple for that matter. if it's good it's good, if it's not, it's not.

At least I produced technical details and numbers to say it otherwise.

But still, cannot stop people from saying... "regardless whatever numbers or benchmark or source code... my personal opinion is still xxx is better lar..." whatever.

and for those who coming to this thread, start recommending other phone... be prepared to defend yourself.
Well in her pov it is since she have used phone that pawn n4 in battery life aspect. She get n4 not because of the yada2 spec, but because of the fast update. Which is the key seller of n4 or any nexus phone. Motorola are slow in updates. .

Plus she just a normal user which consists of majority of smart phone users in the real world.

miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 11:24 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(G-m@n @ Jan 29 2013, 11:12 PM)
I have a question about bill date..
Let say i signed up the zero contract on 22 Jan, then my bill date will be every month of date 22?
afaik, last time yes, but now if I am not mistaken digi have a fix date. my one last time is 26, while my cousin (n4 owner) is on 30 every month rclxub.gif
miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 11:26 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 29 2013, 11:24 PM)
Another nice game on Nexus 4: Rayman Jungle Run. (Sorry, a little out of focus)

how long u play the game b4 the battery finish up sweat.gif rclxub.gif
miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 11:37 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(G-m@n @ Jan 29 2013, 11:35 PM)
imo call the digi cs is better, something digi and celcom exp is rclxub.gif

miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 11:43 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Roan-Doppel @ Jan 29 2013, 11:42 PM)
smile.gif I'll sink myself with root knowledge tomorrow.. for battery first charge? deplete until  0% and then fully charge right?
better dun let ur battery 0%, 5-10% afaik is ok
miloy2k
post Jan 29 2013, 11:59 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jan 29 2013, 11:54 PM)
Typically I got to play like 15-20 minutes of game a few sessions in a day. Sometimes, I don't even need to charge the phone at night. Although I didn't measure it yet, I'll say I probably can get 4-5 hours of continuous gameplay.

Will be able to test this whenever when I go back hometown this CYN in a long drive...
drool.gif drool.gif good enuff..
miloy2k
post Jan 31 2013, 11:35 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Jan 31 2013, 12:14 AM)
did u guys think worthy buying outside from US as the price wont be too different after convert plus include sirim compare to MY..then if face any problem you cannot claim with LG malaysia..
if you worry about after sales support better buy in Malaysia here lol ori set i mean.
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2013, 11:02 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Feb 4 2013, 09:48 AM)
anyone had their screen cracked at the speaker side? the bottom right.

seems like a weak spot. and even putting in the pocket can cause it to crack

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2053907
maybe he use thigh jeans? plus n4 back is glass sweat.gif rclxub.gif
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2013, 02:35 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Feb 4 2013, 09:41 AM)
here guys. i couldn't be more happier.  laugh.gif
over 6 hours SOT with over 2 days usage. wifi all the time. uv by -150.
PA(jan30)+franco(r62). sneak a peek. brows.gif
[attachmentid=3295582][attachmentid=3295584][attachmentid=3295586]
nice notworthy.gif
miloy2k
post Feb 4 2013, 07:06 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(cutypuppy @ Feb 4 2013, 06:40 PM)
S3 &this machine, which you prefer, I was thinking to get this as spare or replace my S3.

I need your suggestion on this, thanks.
storage and after sales support, go for s3 (Samsung SC imo their service is XD imo since my wife mobo note 2 and my s3 repaired in less then a day, same goes with my fren using samsung)

n4 for better spec and fast update (no idea n exp for after sales service)

miloy2k
post Feb 4 2013, 07:33 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2013, 07:27 PM)
+1 on this, dunno about Samsung SC in peninsular but here in Sarawak their SC is superb thumbup.gif
yeah they even stock up the mobo for s3 for sds cases notworthy.gif they got 5 tech and 1 engineer no wonder job fast finish tongue.gif

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Feb 4 2013, 09:41 AM)
here guys. i couldn't be more happier.  laugh.gif
over 6 hours SOT with over 2 days usage. wifi all the time. uv by -150.
PA(jan30)+franco(r62). sneak a peek. brows.gif
[attachmentid=3295582][attachmentid=3295584][attachmentid=3295586]
nice..

just wandering, did u do any usage of ur n4, or just let n4 screen n wifi on w.o any usage/data transaction. Coz my daughter china tablet can do the same 2-4 day plus2

miloy2k
post Feb 5 2013, 07:32 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(roboto @ Feb 5 2013, 02:10 AM)
Guys, I don't think you have to worry about the battery. The first week of general usage of 3G, WiFi, GPS and games, would only last me around 4+ hours. I've been using it for 2+ weeks now and the battery life has increased. My phone now can lasts for a about 8 hours running similar tasks. The screenshot on the left is from an app called, 'Battery Widget? Reborn!' and the one on the right is the stock battery graph. My phone is stock everything, unrooted and no custom rom.

[attachmentid=3296906] [attachmentid=3296907]

So to those who don't root their phones, no worries. smile.gif
if wifi mode, yeah no worry, but 3g mode, imo i doubt it sweat.gif heavy user who "fully urterlize the sync" like "supersaiyanmomo" i doubt it laugh.gif

0.0570sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:20 AM