Google Nexus 4 - V5, >150 proud owners

basSist
post Jan 28 2013, 11:20 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(Norameen @ Jan 28 2013, 07:32 AM)
really want to check..but it is for rooted user only right?
rooted only. need to download terminal to key in some code to check.
basSist
post Jan 28 2013, 11:24 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Jan 28 2013, 09:53 AM)
guys any to solve "msm_hsic_host"? This is highest in my bbs
i got this as highest in my bbs as well. will upload a complete screen shot for sifu to help check here.

please check here..

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 28 2013, 11:27 AM
basSist
post Jan 28 2013, 01:30 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

azrash

here is my dump file.. could you help me to check it out?

Attached File  BetterBatteryStats_2013_01_28_022040946.txt ( 13.29k ) Number of downloads: 11

basSist
post Jan 28 2013, 08:40 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

azrash

thanks for suggestions about the kernel, will try it.

about the GoSMS, maybe i accidently enable the GoChat last night before went to bed.. bout the eBay.. for my previous G.Nexus i also had ebay on my phone but it didnt drain that much battery %. the hsic host really a culprit there.
basSist
post Jan 29 2013, 12:16 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

azrash

this is my today's BBS dump file. the ebay and GoSMS seems pretty okay now. (i used autorun manager (free) to disable all the ebay app's receivers and log off the GoChat)

but the battery still maintain at roughly 1.2-1.4%drain/hour. Can see that the hsci host wakelock really give trouble to N4 now.

Attached File  BetterBatteryStats_2013_01_29_021656453.txt ( 12.57k ) Number of downloads: 12

basSist
post Jan 29 2013, 10:47 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

azrash

i am using a apps that can auto disable data and wifi in midnight. so based on the dump file for previous day and today, the data/wifi are off for both days. the app is 2x battery

so i think tonight i will disable the app and put wifi-ON for another testing. wink.gif

thanks for your advices ~
basSist
post Jan 30 2013, 10:35 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

azrash

today bbs dump file goes weird..

rooted, unlocked. same apps same setting for the below scene:

29-1-2013 (WIFI-OFF, DATA-OFF)
Battery Info
============
Level lost [%]: 10 Bat.: 10% (88% to 78%) [1.5%/h]
Voltage lost [mV]: 91 (4142-4051) [13.4%/h]

30-1-2013 (WIFI-ON, DATA-ON) -- see attachment for dump file
Battery Info
============
Level lost [%]: 13 Bat.: 13% (100% to 87%) [1.8%/h]
Voltage lost [mV]: 41 (4238-4197) [5.7%/h]

previously 1.5% drain/h with 91mV lost

today 1.8% drain/h with 42mV lost

how come lesser mV lost but higher battery % drained?

Attached File  BetterBatteryStats_2013_01_30_081347237.txt ( 13.96k ) Number of downloads: 0

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 30 2013, 10:35 AM
basSist
post Jan 30 2013, 09:46 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

to compare US play store price vs MY price...

IF you can get the SKMM rebate RM200 then definitely MY set.. wink.gif
basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 12:31 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Jan 31 2013, 12:14 AM)
did u guys think worthy buying outside from US as the price wont be too different after convert plus include sirim compare to MY..then if face any problem you cannot claim with LG malaysia..
some people just dont feel like letting people to earn from them so they try their best to get the cheapest one for themselves.

some ppl just dont feel like doing research where is the cheapest and instead of getting from local store which provide warranty and services.

blush.gif

for me, I know the way to buy the cheapest but I went to the most convenient way to buy from local (DiGi) which I can get it immediately + local warranty. if i were to buy a dozen, i will try my best to grab from US, but 1unit... aiya.. let ppl earn la. ppl cari makan also blush.gif **somemore i can get SKMM rebate RM200.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 31 2013, 12:33 AM
basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 02:12 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

just flashed motley exp b31 kernel biggrin.gif

any other thing to play with? first time flashing kernel,, for the sake of battery life.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 31 2013, 02:12 AM
basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 11:14 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(sophan @ Jan 31 2013, 09:04 AM)
i am thinking of that too.. haha but last night went to bed first.

azrash
ok.. last night before went to bed i flashed motley exp b31 kernel.. the battery drain is superme good!! you guys should try it yourself.

1% drain for 6.5hours (Wifi-OFF, Data-OFF by 2x Battery (Paid))
Previously with stock kernel around 8-10% drain for 6hours++

so it is very significant improved.. for me!

some screen shot and BBS dump file for reference.

Attached File  BetterBatteryStats_2013_01_31_094529739.txt ( 12.05k ) Number of downloads: 15

basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 11:39 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

photosphere testing.. not really good on taking it.. missing some corner shots and also blurry part of the images. blush.gif

directly from phone, no edit, no photoshopped, just resized to 30%.

basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 11:45 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Jan 31 2013, 11:44 AM)
how many % bat drop?xD
hehe this testing i took it last weekend, not on today la brother blush.gif
basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 12:05 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

NightFelix

yeap, stock rom + motley exp b31

basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 12:26 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Jan 31 2013, 12:11 PM)
gt any apps running background?
you can check my BBS's dump file at my previous post.

i got GoSMS, Whatsapp, facebook, facebook messenger, instagram, ebay Apps etc

basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 12:35 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jan 31 2013, 12:33 PM)
Hmm.. going to learn flashing this weekend.  sweat.gif
actually it is very simple..

**do nandaroid backup first and back up all your media storage files.. incase anything happen you still can restore back to the previous ROM that you currently using.

put the kernel zip file under /sdcard
then clean cache/d.cache using custom recovery (i used TWRP)
then install the kernel zip file..
reboot and wait for OS updating.. dah dah~ kawtim! rclxms.gif

P/S: please do it at your own risk, i am not responsible for data lost or whatever might happen on your phone smile.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Jan 31 2013, 12:39 PM
basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 07:51 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(anarchy2cruo @ Jan 31 2013, 07:49 PM)
Not so much details i can provide. R62 is only test version. On this r62 only 2 cores will be active once the screen turned on. Booting up also noticable faster. So u can imagine how much battery will be save? The performance flawlessly smooth. For those with fast n faster cpu binning can gain more benefit where u can uv with -100 to -150 but with same performance and lower temperature. So much win. icon_idea.gif
then buying quadcore kinda waste lo, if only 2cores in usage blush.gif
basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 08:47 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Jan 31 2013, 08:45 PM)
nothing to waste bro. this is custom kernel. in stock kernel, 4 core is running when in deep sleep. so the developer custom it to make more battery friendly, developer set it only one core running when in sleep more. the second core will run to make phone faster response after u unlock the phone. the other 2core is on standby waiting and will run if the app or phone need more speed.
u cannot customize it. only kernel developer can do it.
hm.. currently using _motley kernel.. anyone can compare between motley vs franco?

basSist
post Jan 31 2013, 09:31 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Jan 31 2013, 09:00 PM)
actually most kernels are smart enough with the cpu usage. Most kernels already have different UV table that changes based on the cpu binned on your phone, so you'll gain the UV advantage straight away.

The cpu also scale pretty good by it self, on light usage like reading articles from Pocket etc, some might leave just one turned on. The kernels are doing these for you by itself. So i won't worry much on that. You can check this from a cpu stats app etc.

Again, kernel choice is very subjective, just try them out and see which one that play nice with your setup. Just remember to follow the installation instructions given by the kernel dev, switching from franco to another kernel requires you to flash a stock kernel reset zip first, or dirty flash the current custom ROM you are using.
noted. since my battery issue is improved nicely,, not going to flash other kernel first unless got something interested me. the responsive of motley is better than stock.. much smoother much faster.

i will test on-3G tonight to see how's the battery drain.

currently 16hour on battery - left 54% battery - screen time on 1hour 20min

basSist
post Feb 1 2013, 11:43 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

last night before sleep battery still left 40% so i didn't charge it. this morning woke up played with the phone and open the Antutu's Stability test.. 40minutes burn 10%+ (temperature up to 41.6c)

most of the time on-WiFi and having 2x battery setting for day mode 15minutes interval + night mode off all wifi/data.
before charging, screen shot as below:

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0544sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:44 PM