Credit Cards Hong Leong Bank Wise CC 10% Cash Back, up to RM100

tbheng
post Feb 2 2013, 08:36 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 2 2013, 01:30 AM)
Teller might give out wrong info,just like those supermarket card counter personal always give wrong info about free this free that.
Yesterday was quite crowded in the branch. The branch manager was at the desk handling my cc application. Besides, she also made a few calls for some clarification.
I also remember reading from news that the free AF/GST is part of the launching offer. Like this one.
Let see what will happen. smile.gif
tbheng
post Feb 2 2013, 05:55 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 2 2013, 02:11 PM)
a bit confused now,
let's say i choose Utilities,
I swiped my card on petrol for 9 times, all over RM50
and swipe one time on Tenaga, RM1000
by the end of the month, do I get RM100 rebate?
My understanding as per TnC is yes, you'll get RM100 cb, but only on 28th of the following month and not by end month.
tbheng
post Feb 2 2013, 09:42 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 2 2013, 06:00 PM)
Thanks tbheng, how about EX Hlb user? 3 years ago i have hlb Mtv card ,will i entitle this free 1st year annual fee thing?
Like that not sure...maybe you can call their cs and find out.
My thinking is, if it is free I'll gain more; if got to pay, still gain, but lesser. nod.gif
It is their TnC, we can't do much.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 2 2013, 09:43 PM
tbheng
post Feb 16 2013, 04:26 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 8 2013, 01:15 AM)
i aslo received my card today. Statement date 31st, so this CNY when i travel can easily get petrol RM50 x 4 already. Balance 6 swipes go for grocery from now till end of month should be able to get max CB RM100.

And came with the card is stated:
AF waived and GST rebate RM50 guaranteed after swipe 1x withinn 45 days. but only to new to bank card holder??

I called CS, she said AF is waived also for existing HLB card holder, but GST must pay.
Applied on 1st Feb and received the card on 14th Feb.
GST already charged into the acct.
Will keep the card and start using only from 1st March.
Anyone know if HL has the sms alert upon using the card? Can set limit to RM1?

Update: Called CS, the agent said the sms alert is there for all transaction regardless of amount.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 16 2013, 04:34 PM
tbheng
post Feb 17 2013, 11:08 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 17 2013, 03:36 PM)
Doesn't matter on the outlook of the card.
More important how much cashback we get back !!
+100
Need a good plan (and convenient enough) to maximize the RM100 CB per month... drool.gif
tbheng
post Feb 23 2013, 10:32 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 22 2013, 11:33 AM)
I would expect a one stop bill payment gateway with preregistered billers for ease of payments from HLB connect.
You still can't pay TNB online using WC, not sure about Digi, Celcom and Umobile though.
I have tried, when choose Maxis/Celcom/Digi under pay bill Telco&Internet, no option to select Wise card. Same for TNB under Utilities.
Unifi does support paying using Wise card, but there is no rewards to pay Unifi using Wise card.
Probably to use Wise to pay telco bill is as per some suggested to pay at telco website or maybe register Wise card at m2u. I have seen the feature but never get to try it. Anyone tried before? Or maybe payonline or portal that support thirdparty cc.

Called CS today and found out the following for sharing:
1. SMS alert for using Wise card - if online with OTP, no SMS alert; if online w/o OTP, sms alert for any amount. If retails swipes, sms alert for > RM1k. (The last CS reps told me any mount. rclxub.gif ) To change the threshold amount, need to fill form at branch. shakehead.gif Anyone has any experience in changing the threshold amount for Wise card?

2. Wise card transaction at HL connect - currently only can see principal card transactions but not supp card transactions. mad.gif (This apply to all HL cc not just Wise. The last CS reps said can see. rclxub.gif ) One can check supp trans from hardcopy statement or call CS. What a low tech bank. doh.gif This cause inconveniences in tracking our 10x swipes thingie.

3. Statement date - can change to any of the following day of the month: 1,3,4,11,15,17,19,21,24,25,26,27,29.

Disclaimer: Don't quote me, these were told to me, as you know we do get different answers from different CS reps. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 23 2013, 10:42 AM
tbheng
post Feb 23 2013, 10:51 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 16 2013, 07:14 PM)
I had to submit a form (send by snail mail) to get SMS Transaction Alert for my HLB Essential activated for transactions >RM1.
Hi ronnie, mind to share the form u used? Any link? Work for Wise card? Thanks notworthy.gif

Update: Is this the form? Hmmm, why no place to put in the card no (Pricipal + supp)? Is it meant to set for all cc one held with HLB? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 23 2013, 11:04 AM
tbheng
post Feb 25 2013, 07:29 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Feb 25 2013, 01:43 AM)
Btw, you guys know whether the RM50 x 10 transactions has to be done within a calender month, or within the statement month?
As per TnC 2(b) below, calendar month.
2. Eligibility & Participation
(a)  Participation in the Programme is subject to the following terms and conditions, the terms and
conditions in the Credit Card Agreement and the terms and conditions in the General Account Terms
and Conditions.
(b)  To be eligible to earn Cash-Back for the month, the Cardholder must have a minimum of any Ten (10)
retail transactions (the “Transaction”) in the same calendar month and each with a minimum amount
of Ringgit Malaysia Fifty (RM50).  
© Further, to be eligible to earn Cash-Back, the Cardholder’s Card Account(s) must be valid and in
good standing, not overdue in payment and the Card Account(s), must not be closed or terminated by
either the Cardholder or HLB.
This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 25 2013, 07:30 AM
tbheng
post Feb 26 2013, 11:39 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Vieri777 @ Feb 26 2013, 06:02 PM)
Interest is 15% pa at best and 18%pa at worst. Since HLB only rebate 28th following month, means, you will be charged interest first...right? But still nett, assuming best case scenario...you win by 10% ie only pay 5%-8% interest.

How does WISE compare to MBB2 card with 8.88% interest and sumore give 5% cashback?
+ 5x points
+ Free for life

Or any other cards with lower interest with cashback?

I think we should also take the interest into consideration...no? As well as all/any fees etc to better compare with other cards.
Not for me.
I will take all their cashback and will not let them charge me any interest. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Feb 26 2013, 11:41 PM
tbheng
post Mar 10 2013, 10:05 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 10 2013, 09:19 PM)
It will be counted as 4 times but the problem is there is no way to break it to 4 payments. You must pay the full amount.
Huh? Why cannot? blink.gif
Do you mean in the Maxis portal or from bill payment in HL connect?
And I remember we can even overpay. I did that a few times during the ocbc bill payment promo.

Update: As tested before, can't choose Wise to pay for Maxis bill in HL Connect. What a disappointment. Then got to pay in Maxis portal. sad.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Mar 10 2013, 10:56 PM
tbheng
post Mar 30 2013, 12:29 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 29 2013, 02:48 PM)
Got my 10% CB too, paid precisely on 28th March.

Maxis Home Fibre payment also considered as mobile category and entitle to 10% CB.

Petrol transactions swiped at the cashier's CC terminals not entitle to CB. Only swiped at the pump entitle to CB.

Giant hypermarket, yes 10% CB under grocery category.

AEON BIG formerly Carrefour, any one tested it ? should be entitled CB under grocery category even thought the name changed. AEON formerly Jusco is under department store though.
QUOTE(one leg kicking @ Mar 29 2013, 10:41 PM)
Maxis Online Payment                      RM50 x 4
Jusco Department Store for Voucher  RM50 x 6
Yes.
First month just spent ngam ngam RM50 x 10 to test water.

Since March already wasted to wait for Cash Back confirmation, will give full force to get RM100 monthly cash back from April onwards smile.gif
Hi guys, thanks for being the forerunners. tongue.gif
So you guys saw the CB in your statement or at HL connect on 28 March itself?
I have started using only in March, hence got to wait till 28th April. yawn.gif
But at least there are success cases.
Eagerly awaiting for my first 10% CB... laugh.gif
tbheng
post Apr 3 2013, 07:46 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 2 2013, 10:53 PM)
OCBC Titanium also based on posting date too.
I remember the WISE card TnC did mentioned clearly POSTED RETAIL TRANSACTIONS and my understanding is it must be a posted transactions.
Anyway, your three transactions on 27th feb will be treated as Posted transactions in March, so you are still getting the CB if you qualify for it in March.

Just swipe the 10x >rm50 tranx as early as possible in order to avoid the tranx and posting date delay.
Ooo....I am a little surprise to see this, even the TnC would say "Posted Transactions"...
I am having the impression that they will count all transaction with transaction date within the calendar month and posted within 28 days, since they only post the CB on 28th of the following month....hence they have 28 days for those transactions to be posted.

For MB2 Amex, since CB is posted on 1st of following month, hence can only count "posted" transaction before end of last month.
For OCBC, since CB is posted on statement date, again can only count posted transaction within statement cycle.

Do you also see any of your transactions near Feb end and not counted on CB posted on 28 March?

Allow me to ask another question to those who have receive CB...
Must the first 10 transactions be > RM50? (See, this is different than at least 10x RM50 within the month).
Says I swipe 5x > RM50, then 3x < RM50, then 5x > RM50, then 4x < RM50. (says all 17 transactions within the categories and posted within the month.)
The "3x < RM50" should get CB as well right? Hence all 17 transactions get CB, right?

I did swiped on 30 and 31 Mar, shall see what goes into my CB on 28th Apr. sweat.gif

0.0257sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:40 PM