Passive Income from Dividend

gark
post Jan 21 2013, 10:38 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 20 2013, 03:21 PM)
For dividend investing, what is the minimum number of counters one should have in the basket? Of course I know there's no hard and fast standard, just wanna hear some ideas smile.gif
According to French-Fama study (who won the nobel prize for economics) the number of stocks to substantially lower the portfolio risk is a minimum of 10 diversified stocks, and after 30 stocks there is no more increase risk reduction and the portfolio will tend to perform similar to index.

Diversified stocks means stocks diversified across industry with different beta to each other. 10 plantation stocks is NOT diversification. doh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 21 2013, 10:52 AM
gark
post Jan 21 2013, 11:03 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 21 2013, 10:59 AM)

Ok thanks smile.gif
Megasale starting today until GE.. I am in hunting mode for dividend stocks also... drool.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 21 2013, 11:04 AM
gark
post Jan 21 2013, 11:25 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jan 21 2013, 11:10 AM)
Hi gark,
can share your hunting listing?
Still look look see see, a lot of stocks is still overvalue... wait for more discount first. laugh.gif
gark
post Jan 21 2013, 12:09 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jonathan988 @ Jan 21 2013, 11:30 AM)
Gark~ how to determine whether stock is overvalue?? mind explain?? thx..
The simplest way is to look generally at PE, DY and PBV values. Also look at future growth, higher growth warrants higher PE.

My own ultra-simple layman formula for reasonable PE = (Future growth% + DY%)

For dividend stocks you need to see DY%, Payout ratio & dividend growth%. Generally DY>5% (~2x FD) with payout ratio of <50% (sustainable) and dividend growth >5% (chase inflation) is a good bet.

However that's my layman 555 formula, other investors might have different ideas...

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 21 2013, 12:13 PM
gark
post Jan 21 2013, 12:31 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 21 2013, 12:20 PM)
My criteria are very similar  nod.gif

Somebody says that for growth stocks, we look at their EPS; for mature stocks, we look at their cash flow...
Basically Free cash flow must > Dividend... otherwise the cash not enough to pay dividend. doh.gif

FCF = Operational cash flow - capex

For growth look for EPS (capital gain), dividend stock look for FCF (dividend gain).

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 21 2013, 12:32 PM
gark
post Jan 21 2013, 03:56 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jan 21 2013, 03:15 PM)
hmm anyone can advise on the Tax from SG stocks' dividends?
All dividend, capital gain and interest from SG stocks is tax fee in Sg and not taxable in Malaysia, ie. tax free. rclxms.gif
gark
post Jan 22 2013, 10:06 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 22 2013, 09:16 AM)
Point is normal divs are taxed........... 

whereas SREITs are Not taxed. 

So one cannot broadbrush with a statement like that
Dividend is single tier in SG, which is taxed at corporate level. You are not taxed by SG govt as part of your income declaration. Also you are not taxed by MY Govt as it is foreign income. So you buying SG for dividend you get net amount (as declared) same as Singaporeans, so level playing field.

This is opposed to US dividend, in which it is taxed at corporate level AND as a foreigner you get taxed another 30% withholding tax even for REITs.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2013, 10:08 AM
gark
post Jan 22 2013, 11:50 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 22 2013, 11:23 AM)
Singapore has signed a Double Tax ( avoidance )Treaty with Malaysia, so taxed only  once at either country.......

Malaysia does not have this treaty ( on dividends )  with US, I presumed....

BTW, Single Tier Tax is not Tax Free, just we as the  individuals , pay the same rates as the Corporates .....aka Tax at source if u like

Only time it is tax  free when Corporates pay tax Exempt Div out of Tax exempt incomes .

U confuse me, so time for me to confuse u back lah.
No need for tax treaty, all FOREIGN income not originating from Malaysia is tax free. laugh.gif (This law to help the crony hide their money is swiss bank account and park their money out of Malaysia. Why you think MY has the highest fund outflow compared to other countries? brows.gif )

US is withholding tax, means even though you have tax treaty still TAX you kau kau. .. tongue.gif Unless you declare US income tax, then you can reclaim some of it.

So single tier div from Malaysia = single tier div from SG = whats the problem? tongue.gif
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 11:06 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Feb 20 2013, 03:08 AM)
historically it is better to invest in growth oriented stocks and not income based stocks/funds. we are in for profit in stocks. for example if stock A gives you 6% dividend each year, but falling 10% each year, it negates the purpose of 'investing' in the stock. as for more reliable passive income, real estate is a better option. the safest is fixed deposit for sure..
For dividend stocks.. you need to look for dividend growth.. & dividend raise consistency. No point investing in a stock which gives higher then lower dividend each year, and the share price will reflect the disappointment. Also if dividend is more or less the same year after year, you are not beating inflation. If a stock can consistently raise dividend year after year, there will be no worries on the stock price as it will follow suit. Usually these are very strong, cash rich companies, which can withstand any recession and can still pay out good dividend.

Dividend growth investing - best combination of dividend and growth stocks investment. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 20 2013, 11:09 AM
gark
post Feb 20 2013, 02:09 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(paintballtao @ Feb 20 2013, 01:15 PM)
usually companies which give out high dividend do so to sustain the stock price, but we are in the stock market to make better profits, and growth stocks are better. as for dividend rate, usually it should be capped at buying dividend rates at or below 3%.

I think you might not understand the term dividend growth. Lets say you buy a company share at RM 1 with dividend of 4c per year, that's 4% DY right?

The company continue to increase the dividend rate by 1c per year (dividend growth) at end of year 6 the dividend is now 10c/share. So your yieldbased purchase cost is now 10%.

But since the market sees increased dividend and revalue to share at 4% DY (based on current yield), then the share will be worth RM 2.50 to justify this yield.

Even if the share price drop temporary during recession, as long as these company continue to increase dividend year on year, the share price will be reflected sooner or later. While you sit it out, just collect the dividend lar. tongue.gif

Of course all the above is just an example, but there are lots of real life examples of the above such as dutch lady, nestle, GAB, Digi etc etc Internationally will be coca cola, J&J, etc

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 20 2013, 02:11 PM
gark
post Feb 27 2013, 08:05 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(rivacordex @ Feb 27 2013, 06:36 PM)
Some pretty top dividend stocks in Malaysia

Company | Ticker | Sector | Marke Cap (RM '000) | Gross Div Payut Ratio (%) | Price as at Feb 8 2013 | Rolling 4 Qs Div Yield (%)
NCB Holding Bhd |  NCB | Port services and port logsitics | 2,116,139 | 174.60 | 4.5 | 16.22
JT International Bhd | JTINTER | Tobacco | 1,687,907 | 188.76 | 6.45 | 13.02
CYL Corporation Bhd | CYL | Packaging, canning and bottling | 47,500 | 163.04 | 0.48 | 12.63

NCB seems to be a very interesting thing company. And they're paying out 42% of profit, and seems to be relatively lucrative. And they've been paying for 10 continuous years, so any reviews on this from anybody else?
NCB's dividend is not sustainable, sooner or later the dividend is going to be lowered... payout ratio is 174.6%.. where did you get the 42%

4QEPS =39.1 cent
4QDIV = 73 cent

How to be sustainable? Also these high dividend is only for 2011 and 2012 only...before that the dividend is in the range of 30 sen. Don't just look at yield, look at other factors as well...

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 27 2013, 08:06 PM
gark
post Feb 28 2013, 09:56 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(rivacordex @ Feb 27 2013, 11:46 PM)
42% of what?

In regards to the main statement, I agree with what you're trying to say, that the company will definitely not be able to sustain the very high dividends for the past couple of years, but looking into history, if the management remains the same and plans to run the company trying to return their profits to investors with such special dividends, coupled with no loss of their fundamentals, then, I think, why not? smile.gif
If a company pay off all their earnings and remaining cash bank as dividends, it mean they will not have much leftover for additional expansion or they think that the future prospects is not good hence returning money to shareholders. Usually these are sunset industries (ie. tobacco) or industries which have regulated and can not expand further (NCB) as an example.

For me dividend investing we must look at dividend growth and dividend sustainability as a good criteria to ensure that the dividend increase will outstrip inflation and also the company is capable to continuously invest to grow earnings. For me a company with dividend growth of minimum 5% y-on-y and payout ratio not exceeding 50% is what i am looking for. History shows that company which is continuously growing the dividend will have the best of both dividend and capital gain (ie. Nestle, Dutch Lady, GAb...)

US have a good list of dividend aristocrats (increasing dividend for 25 years continuously) and dividend achievers (increasing 10 years)... anyone have the time to compile this list for Malaysia? drool.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 28 2013, 10:02 AM
gark
post Feb 28 2013, 10:04 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Feb 28 2013, 12:50 AM)
Dividends are normally from their cash-flow. As long as the dividends are below their cash-generation ability. It's sustainable.

And JTI is generating a lot of excess cash. Which is why the paid the special dividend last year. Their normal dividends are still below their cash from operations.

EPS is not an accurate indicator of a company's ability to distribute dividend, although it is still an important factor. The cash generation from operations is a much more important data.
Not just cashflow... but FREE cashflow.

Ie. Cashflow from Operations - Capex = FCF
gark
post Feb 28 2013, 10:05 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 28 2013, 10:04 AM)
That is only 3 years.... you free to compile the 10 year list? laugh.gif Will be a great list for all dividend investors...

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 28 2013, 10:06 AM
gark
post Feb 28 2013, 10:18 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 28 2013, 10:09 AM)
But difference cash flows and accounting earnings will even out over time.

Buy plant and equipment > cash out in 1 shot, but accounting will depreciate over years
But over the years, the difference will zero
Ini accountant say one must be true.. hahaha. That's why we look at operating cash flow - capex... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 28 2013, 10:19 AM
gark
post Feb 28 2013, 07:19 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 28 2013, 05:34 PM)

From Y2 to Y5, cash flow is more than earning, so payout ratio of over 100% is possible. Still, if it is 174%, I will be skeptical.
Y6 onward, payout ratio cannot be over 100%.
There are some companies paying dividend higher than cashflow. This are mostly from cash in hand (Amway, Tasek to name a few...) and the worst bunch are those taking loans to pay dividends... ( vmad.gif ).
gark
post Feb 28 2013, 07:45 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 28 2013, 05:05 PM)
In this case, it would be just a matter of time before their auditors spot this and ask them to revise their accounting estimates tongue.gif  ("change your depreciation policy!!!" mad.gif )
Are you familiar with a company called Lindt.. the chocolate maker, traded in the swiss exchange, they depreciated machines and buildings in matter of months... brows.gif Those that caught on this early were richly rewarded... as it was selling wayyyy below value. Super conservative company...actually hiding earnings. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 28 2013, 07:46 PM
gark
post Mar 1 2013, 11:05 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(rivacordex @ Mar 1 2013, 09:02 AM)
Speaking of NCB which we're talking about earlier:

NCB HOLDINGS BHD [] reported a 47% drop in net profit to RM23.48 million in the fourth quarter ended December 31, 2012 (4QFY12 ), from RM44.6 million a year earlier as the port operator handled less cargo during the period.

NCB said "lower container throughput handled by Northport for the quarter" had led to a slight decline in NCB's revenue to RM236.22 million.

NCB is paying a final dividend of 2.5 sen a share.

It said its port operations are expected to encounter challenges amid a competitive environment and uncertainties in global container trade.

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...aritim-ncb.html
Wow.. dividend investors must be disappointing with the smaller dividend after gorging on the high dividend in 2010/2011.. today the share lost 23 cents/share... laugh.gif
gark
post Mar 2 2013, 11:58 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Mar 2 2013, 12:33 AM)
thank u..so meaning i don only look for consistency in paying out, but also paying more and more years after years? Hmm not easy to find 1 in Bursa i think...
There are quite a few of them... with increasing dividend payout over the years, but they don't come cheap. laugh.gif

Look harder... wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 2 2013, 12:02 PM
gark
post Mar 2 2013, 04:42 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 2 2013, 04:30 PM)
By "cheap" u meant P/E valuation-wise, or RM-wise?
P/E & P/BV wise lar.. RM-wise is not a valuation factor. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 2 2013, 04:43 PM

0.0469sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:42 PM