Passive Income from Dividend

gark
post Mar 4 2013, 10:11 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 3 2013, 10:47 AM)
Morning gark,

Do you come acros where to download the EPS, PE, DPS, gearing, Revenue, Libilities ?  Do you formula ?

I came across this websites ... site to download the data

http://klse.neobie.net/quote.php
You can count yourself by reading the financial reports... now don't be lazy. tongue.gif

Otherwise you can get a nice 10 year summary from the Malaysian Stock Performance book - published every 6 months - RM 70.

There is a better screener than the one you posted...http://markets.ft.com/screener/customScreen.asp

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 4 2013, 10:12 AM
gark
post Mar 13 2013, 05:05 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Mar 13 2013, 03:55 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

"Be Fearful When Others Are Greedy and Greedy When Others Are Fearful" - Warren Buffett
WB also teach you NEVER to use leverage... tongue.gif
gark
post Mar 13 2013, 05:11 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 13 2013, 05:09 PM)
I just printed the analyst report and latest financial announcement by TopGlove using company resources

Tonite go home read tongue.gif
Why print? Read the pdf online lar...save paper. tongue.gif

IMHO topglove is too expensive in terms of PE, I prefer Kossan with it's good poduct mix, latex, nitrile and technical rubber.
gark
post Apr 17 2013, 09:58 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(marketstore @ Apr 17 2013, 09:38 PM)
just a question....
do people buy the stock before ex date and wait for the dividend to come in then sell the stock same price or more than the buying price...can it be done....make a quick 4-6% on dividend then cabut...
It depends, the stock price will be adjusted ex dividend. Wether it go up further or lower will depend on market sentiments.
Most of the time the dividend is already priced in so its a zero sum game.
gark
post Apr 22 2013, 12:48 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 22 2013, 12:00 PM)
Dear Venerable Sir Dividend Warrior notworthy.gif

What if the dividend stock that u bought rallied to the point that the yield is no longer attractive? Would u sell to take profit?
For me, there are two ways to count dividend yield.

1. Yield on price
2. Yield on cost

If the yield on price is no longer attractive, i will see the overall business/growth if it is still doing rather well, AND my yield on cost is still good. Why sell? laugh.gif

Otherwise yield on price is no good, business is declining & not doing well, then i will consider to let go EVEN with good yield on cost.

If yield on price is still attractive, and business/growth doing well, i will add more. whistling.gif

If sometimes a company reduce/cut dividend and my yield on cost is no longer attractive, then i will sell

Well that is my 2 sen, others may have different perspective. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 22 2013, 12:50 PM
gark
post Apr 22 2013, 06:23 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 22 2013, 06:02 PM)
Pinky, don't scare away all the newbies lar....

We were all once newbies too? No? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 22 2013, 06:24 PM
gark
post Apr 22 2013, 10:56 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 22 2013, 09:31 PM)
You behave like a big shark  laugh.gif
Hehe no lar.. joking only mar. tongue.gif
gark
post Apr 24 2013, 05:01 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(marketstore @ Apr 23 2013, 08:04 PM)
mine to elaborate how you calculate yield on price and yield on cost..sorry newbie here.... icon_question.gif
i understand now that to get passive income from dividend..i need to keep it for long term......do people do DCA on dividend stock?
i will be investing post GE although i know it wont make much difference as it is for long term....from the few stocks i saw....... i decided on this strategy...can any sifu comment...

i just want a dividend better than FD rate around 4-6%
so i ll buy stocks which has good dividend history for many years which has been giving at least 4 % dividend per year. then i ll choose from these based on the upwards movement of the stock price..ie graph inclining not declining for the past 3-5 years.....to further consolidate i ll choose stocks which has potential to reach higher ground based on their investment and news headlines...

apa macam my plan sifu??
total dividend/current share price = yield on price
total dividend/cost price bought = yield on cost

Yes there are people dca on dividend stocks, but mostly prefer to buy on dips.

Investing post/pre GE does not matter, what matter is the yield acceptable for you

for higher dividend you need to search out lower ranked stocks, blue chips have very less dividend nowadays

You cannot count 4% per year historically as you have no basis to count as the share price will fluctuate. You have to count at current yield. Then you choose those who has maintained or raised dividend over the years.

Looking at past graph is useless in stock investing. You need to look into the future and gauge if the business will be improving. Investing based on headlines and rumors is another surefire way to end up with the wrong stocks, especially you are into dividend investing and not capital gain.

Since you are so 'green' come back later when you have read some of the following books :-

'The intelligent Investor' by Benjamin Graham.
'One up on wall street' by Peter Lynch
'The little book of investment' by Joey Greenblatt

Otherwise you have zero knowledge and will end up with disappointing results. Investing is not easy, it takes a lot of hard work. So work on it. If you are not even willing to invest 'time' in reading further.. perhaps stock investing is not your cup of tea.

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 24 2013, 05:03 PM
gark
post Apr 24 2013, 05:45 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 24 2013, 05:18 PM)
Unker, I only invest based on my ACCA textbook finance knowledge sweat.gif
ACCA texttbook teach stock investing meh? hmm.gif
gark
post Apr 24 2013, 05:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 24 2013, 05:40 PM)
7 years experience already. I lazy to fill up the forms to submit to ACCA, not important to me since I'm not working in audit/tax firm. Hence "unlicensed" laugh.gif
'license' can get more gaji than 'unlicensed'.. cepat2 go get your 'pangkat', then threaten your boss... tongue.gif

0.6481sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:25 AM