Most beautiful/ugly zone in WOW

TSArwenz
post Jan 14 2013, 06:00 PM, updated 13y ago

Guys, let's have some discussion on your personal taste for the most beautiful/ugly zone in wow.

Throughout leveling most of you might came accross all continents (Eastern Kingdom, Kalimdor, Outland, Northrend, Pandaria (For the 90's)), which place do you think has the best scenery and which place is the worst.

It can be city/town/dungeon/raid area/leveling area, anything.

Maybe some of us will have common taste.

For me the top 3 are:
Most Beautiful Zone - Dragonblight, Northrend; Eversong Woods, Eastern Kingdom and Mount Hyjal, Kalimdor
Most Ugly Zone - Blade's Edge Mountain, Outland; Blasted Land, Kalimdor and Undercity, Eastern Kingdom

My personal criteria for the selection are based on the terrain, skyline, flora/fauna and also the background music.

pulautikus
post Jan 14 2013, 07:09 PM

288 posts

For me i like to be in nagrand. Thats a damn beautiful place.

The most disgusting place for me is the plaguelands of course. So damn boring.
radzy82
post Jan 15 2013, 08:52 PM

19 posts

nagrand.nuff said

Kravo
post Jan 22 2013, 01:08 PM

1,230 posts

generally, zone with ally are nice,
zone with horde not nice,
zone with common enemies definitely worst.

horde tends to convert natural resouces to building, in short tree-eaters, especially horde and goblin.

the enemy zone, typically roaming with undead, diseases, bla bla bla
PirateKing
post Jan 23 2013, 01:27 PM

179 posts

Most beautiful : Terrace of Endless Spring
Most ugly : Naxxramas
hyperyouth_firepower
post Jan 24 2013, 08:34 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

I'll go for Loch Modan as the most beautiful place. For IRONFORGE!

The worse place ever? Plaguelands, both easteran and western. Even the Blackrock Depths fare better. That place is just filled with death and decay. Worse still when we Alliance lost the war of Andorhal, to Forsaken no less!

All the Horde cities are better designed aesthethically compared to Allied cities.

Blizzard Gods just love Horde. /FML
TSArwenz
post Jan 28 2013, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Jan 24 2013, 08:34 PM)
I'll go for Loch Modan as the most beautiful place. For IRONFORGE!

The worse place ever? Plaguelands, both easteran and western.  Even the Blackrock Depths fare better. That place is just filled with death and decay. Worse still when we Alliance lost the war of Andorhal, to Forsaken no less!

All the Horde cities are better designed aesthethically compared to Allied cities.

Blizzard Gods just love Horde. /FML
Well about the Horde city, the only city that is truely beautiful is Silvermoon City, as for the rest, Undercity stinks with deaths, plagues, genetic experiments; orgrimmar looks like a butcher house to me; thunderbluff is the most decent after Silvermoon but looks like kampung.

Personally I praise Stormwind for the magnificent city planning and buildings, Ironforge looks like sub-way station to me and I never been to Darmassus so no comment.
_wins_
post Jan 28 2013, 11:36 PM

44 posts

Please see my sig D:
areix
post Feb 13 2013, 03:18 PM

Most serene - mountain peaks, regardless where you are either Storm peaks, IronForge, Skyrange, Shrine of Friendship, Kun Lai Summit
Most chaotic/ugly - where ever there are tiny shas and undead/scourge (yes, the undead had turned Southshore into a chaotic place with those green gassy chemical carts)
Architecturally beautiful - Dalaran, elven cities (high, night and blood) including places in Outlands, Stormwind
Naturally beautiful - Zangarmarsh, Vashjr, Nagrand (dull places but beyond the creatures and quests, they are actually beautiful)

Well, Thunderbluff is actually based on the red indian concept of culture, you basically see totems, tents/tepees almost everywhere in thunderbluff and mulgore, kampung it might be but it is also the most serene and nature friendly of all the Horde cities.

Loch Modan tho, is a very disturbing place after Neltharion clawed his way out of the earth core. the lake's water is dried up, dam is broken, the same also goes to darkshore, both used to be quite interesting places.
SUSspwnc64
post Feb 18 2013, 01:37 AM

pandaria looks really nice
the ones in tbc and vanilla
not so good, maybe because in the past graphics cards are not so good at handling heavy graphics

btw, the ones that constantly ugly are the armor design
damn, Stormwind Guards' armor looks cooler

damn blizz
bazet
post Feb 19 2013, 07:59 PM

469 posts

I still like vanilla Tauren starting area, Bloodhuf Village ..since my main was a tauren ( now a troll )
ashwin988
post Mar 26 2013, 08:47 AM

916 posts

I think my fav starting: Tauren.. so bloody peaceful honestly.

Favzone: I forgot the name, but the level 63+ zone at the BC area. Love that zone, its so blue and nice and reminds me of the avatar.

Hated zone: Hmm i cant recall the name, but there were a few.
kEazYc
post Mar 26 2013, 01:24 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Mar 26 2013, 08:47 AM)
I think my fav starting: Tauren.. so bloody peaceful honestly.

Favzone: I forgot the name, but the level 63+ zone at the BC area. Love that zone, its so blue and nice and reminds me of the avatar.

Hated zone: Hmm i cant recall the name, but there were a few.
Zangarmash.
ashwin988
post Mar 26 2013, 04:09 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Mar 26 2013, 01:24 PM)
Zangarmash.
Yeah thanks.. its really too bad that when most of us level these days.. we would be 64-65+ at the first area and will never even need to bother to level up there.
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Mar 26 2013, 09:33 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(spwnc64 @ Feb 18 2013, 01:37 AM)
pandaria looks really nice
the ones in tbc and vanilla
not so good, maybe because in the past graphics cards are not so good at handling heavy graphics

btw, the ones that constantly ugly are the armor design
damn, Stormwind Guards' armor looks cooler

damn blizz
I think the Winged helm of argent daw guard look cool.

The most beautiful i think is Nagrand. I often fly up to one of those floating rock and sit there. I thnk Elwynn forest is pretty too. The zone i hate is burning steppes and Searing gorge. I feel depressed somehow whenever i'm there.
zoldane
post May 3 2013, 10:51 PM

231 posts

ugly: orgrimmaR
NICE: NAGRAND
seaforium
post Jun 6 2013, 08:58 AM

Just on city design alone, orgrimmar may not look as grand as stormwind but it's the best designed. Its so efficient. No maze of streets to deal with.
TSArwenz
post Jun 6 2013, 03:58 PM

Bump, some new updates for me:

Most beautiful - Added in Darnassus (After I managed to pay an unwelcomed visit there) ,

Most ugly - Added in Isle of Thunder and all the new isle that comes with it (Somehow I felt depressed doing dailies or killing world boss there)

0.0236sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:48 PM