Solar Power (FIT, Self-Consumption, Net-Metering), Business and Investment

ls71
post Sep 13 2013, 03:30 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 13 2013, 08:11 AM)
I'm quite poor in mathematics bro..  I am making an assumption that all I have now is 40K.  So, which one gives me more flexibility in 20 years when I need my money back..  And to top that out, my bond fund is generating a compound interests of 6% a year..so I'm sure you can get the total worth in 20 years..  Even for a short term like 10 years time, my total worth of my bond funds would be many times worth more that what I have recovered back from RE.  Yes I use the word 'recover' that is because my whole 40K is one way out and no means of terminating, purely waiting for the 8K+ a year to slowly recover back.

Investment to me is about liquidity too.. I have joint too much of those lumpsum investment that locks you in for 10, 20 years , and I have came to a conclusion that they are not worthy especially for someone that needs liquidity to his investment.  I want a to have a solid control to my investment and RE has failed on that aspect.  Tks bro for deliberating.
For me my preliminary motive of installing this solar pv system is to reduce my carbon foot print ... In view of huge cost of investment, now this FIT came at the right time to subsidy us, thus the ROI is secondary, as long having 10 - 12% p.a I'm more than happy ...

Waiting the installation of mine which shall happen in next 2 weeks time ...
ls71
post Oct 1 2013, 10:23 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Oct 1 2013, 10:09 PM)
My system

Capacity:  2.5kWp
Panels: 10 x Bosch Monocrystalline 245W
Inverter: SMA 3000TL
Remote monitoing: Sunny Webbox
Commissioning date: 09 July 2013

Online viewing: https://www.sunnyportal.com/Templates/Publi...dc&splang=en-US
I just installed 4kWP system last week. Now waiting commissioning by TNB

My system

Capacity: 4.00kWp
Panel: BYD poly 250W
No of panel: 16 pcs
Orientation: 8 pieces North + 8 pieces East
Inverter: 1 pc PowerOne PVI-4.2

very curious now of the potential output ... would update after it is commission ....

ls71
post Oct 1 2013, 10:23 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Oct 1 2013, 10:09 PM)
My system

Capacity:  2.5kWp
Panels: 10 x Bosch Monocrystalline 245W
Inverter: SMA 3000TL
Remote monitoing: Sunny Webbox
Commissioning date: 09 July 2013

Online viewing: https://www.sunnyportal.com/Templates/Publi...dc&splang=en-US
I just installed 4kWP system last week. Now waiting commissioning by TNB

My system

Capacity: 4.00kWp
Panel: BYD poly 250W
No of panel: 16 pcs
Orientation: 8 pieces North + 8 pieces East
Inverter: 1 pc PowerOne PVI-4.2

very curious now of the potential output ... would update after it is commission ....

ls71
post Oct 2 2013, 11:08 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Oct 2 2013, 12:57 PM)
where is your location?  Seaside areas are better than inland places in Malaysia.  Solar irradiance is higher near seaside.
My house located in Seri Kembangan, just beside Ayer Hitam Reserved Forest ... just wish to have average 400 kw averagw output pm from my system ...
ls71
post Oct 5 2013, 10:49 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Oct 3 2013, 12:47 PM)
Kaco is a good German manufacturer.  For monitoring apps, each inverter manufacturer have their own monitoring equipment at extra cost.  I think a monitoring system is essential.  If you don't install one, you may never know how your system is performing, or even worse, you are not aware of a faulty system.

I monitor mine on a daily basis to know how much RM I get each day :-)  for the next 21 years.
Hi, how u install your monitoring tools? Sorry on my ignorance ya ...
ls71
post Oct 11 2013, 08:48 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Oct 6 2013, 11:13 PM)
Short answer:

1. install a hardware such as SMA WebbBox monitoring equipment
2. register monitoring software at SMA Sunny Portal

http://www.sma.de/en/products/monitoring-systems.html

Further reading:

http://www.pvresources.com/pvsystems/monitoring.aspx
Thanks, I would figure it out later rclxms.gif
ls71
post Dec 16 2013, 04:21 PM

40 posts

My 4kwp system which cost me of RM40k just completed the T&C 2 weeks ago.

My family and another of my friends are now considering to install this system early next year with 2014 quota.

Nevertheless for the same system of 4kwp, the same vendor has quoted my friend for RM42k, ie 5% increase in term of cost despite there would be a digression rate of 8% annually, ie by next year the fix rate from TNB would be RM1.26 compared to RM1.37 this year.

The reason of my vendor provided the increased of cost is due to 2 additional processes / regulation imposed by SEDA for next year installation :

1) DC chargeman endorsement is required
2) T&C required endorsement of SEDA personnel

Is anybody aware about this additional regulation? And would this affect the cost of installation?

The original plan of digression rate applied because market foresee the reduction of cost and increase competitiveness would force the reduce of installation. But now it seem not the way forward ... cost increase but rate of return decrease, thus it make the ROI not so attractive ...

ls71
post Dec 20 2013, 04:28 PM

40 posts

Hi all Sifus,

Would like to post a question here .

Just noted if we are using local assembled solar panel, an additional rate of 3 cts per KW is entitled.

Would like to get a feedback / view on the the Q-cell solar panel which is manufactured in Malaysia with technology from Germany.

My initiate research on the net shown Q-cell is one the top brand for solar panel. Is this the case?

And how it is compared to Panasonic / BYD / Hanwha or any other solar panel?

Also appreciate feedback from forumers who has installed this Q-cell solar panel ...
ls71
post Dec 23 2013, 10:32 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Dec 21 2013, 11:10 PM)
the heavy rains we had in the last month is also not good for solar power generation.  I got my my lowest payment from TNB.  but things will pick up when the weather improves :-)
sing to the tune of Annie the Orphan musical :-)

The sun'll come out
Tomorrow
Bet your bottom dollar
That tomorrow
There'll be sun!

Just thinkin' about
Tomorrow
Clears away the cobwebs,
And the sorrow
'Til there's none!

When I'm stuck with a day
That's gray,
And lonely,
I just stick out my chin
And Grin,
And Say,
Oh

The sun'll come out
Tomorrow
So ya gotta hang on
'til tomorrow
Come what may

Tomorrow!
Tomorrow!
I love ya
Tomorrow!
You're always
A day
Away!
Hi, Sir

If u don't mind, may I know the type of solar PV that u used? Poly crystal or Thin cell? and the system capacity?

Many thanks
ls71
post Dec 23 2013, 10:42 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(abcstop @ Dec 21 2013, 11:08 PM)
q-cell is a good choice. i researched a lot of brands and providers(really!) and come to that conclusion as well. If you are interest on the contact of contractor, pm me.
Thanks, Bro. Would pm you if I need a contractor on this.
ls71
post Dec 23 2013, 10:50 AM

40 posts

To all sifus again,

I just learnt during last weekend, there few types of solar panel. Out of two are :

1) Poly crystal
2) Thin cell

Noted the thin cell panel is more sensitive to Sun light and able to generate more KW if compared to Poly Crystal type. Only disadvantage of thin cell is the output per panel is lower thus more panels is required to make up the desired KW and of course with higher cost.

Eg 4KWp system for poly crystal panel may only required 16 panels (with 250kw output per panel) while thin cell panel normally is 150kw per panel.

However, I was informed the the 4KWp of thin cell panel able to generate much higher output compared to 4KWp poly crystal panel?

Can anybody enlighten me further on my above statements?

Many thanks ya
ls71
post Dec 23 2013, 11:40 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Dec 23 2013, 11:17 AM)
You can see my system profile and performance on-line http://www.sunnyportal.com/Templates/Publi...dc&splang=en-US

Bosch monocrystalline, 2.5kWp

system integrator Gading Kencana www.gadingkencana.com
Thank you Sir.

I can always now compared with your system performance. Mine 4KWp system with BYD Poly crystalline 250kw with Aurora Power One inverter so far generated 218kw since 5 Dec 12pm till yesterday evening ...

rclxms.gif
ls71
post Dec 23 2013, 01:32 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Dec 23 2013, 12:27 PM)
good.  4kWp system can typically generate 400 kWh per month or RM548 per month or RM18/day.  assuming you also got RM1.3708 per kWh FiT.  from my experience, power output can go higher :-)
Yup, my rate is RMR1.3708, the highest output per day thus far was 17.2KW achieved on 19 Dec ... not sure during peak month what would be the highest output per day look like ...

Would share more info on my system's output in future ...

Wish to have some knowledge sharing on 'thin film' vs 'crystalline' from forumers here .... thanks
ls71
post Dec 23 2013, 02:05 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Dec 23 2013, 01:36 PM)
bro,

May I know how many solar panel required for 4kwp system (assume 300watt panel) ?

Bro, simple calculation - 4000w / 300W = 13 panels give u 3900W / 3.9KW ...
ls71
post Dec 26 2013, 09:39 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(avereng @ Dec 25 2013, 09:52 AM)
Your system still 'young'. After few months, you will know your system performance. It will be comparable to other system near to your area.

For thin film vs crystalline, thin film has lower 'Temperature coefficient of Pmax' than crystalline. It is better choice for hot Malaysia weather.
Before 2012, thin film panel is cheaper than crystalline but since crystalline panel price dropped, thin film panel loss its pricing attractive.
Thin film required more roof space for equivalent crystalline panel. So, more costing for mounting required. Mounting required both material and install cost. This factor again caused thin film panel loss its advantage.
Thanks Bro, for your very informative info.

I also did a research myself over the web. As mentioned the thin film panel perhaps are much better for 'Hot weather country' like Malaysia. But I also read few articles saying the thin film panel degrade faster than crystalline panel?

And also noted the installation cost of thin film are at least 20% higher too in Malaysia compared to crystalline panel mean lower cost efficiency?

With these shall we make a conclusion for time being installation of crystalline panel are better choice compare to tihn film especially the crystalline technology has been proven for the past 40-50 years?

Appreciate other's view on this ...
ls71
post Mar 6 2014, 07:07 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(kd8800 @ Mar 3 2014, 05:15 PM)
reading at 28/11/2013 =4291kwh
reading at 27/2/2014   =8629kwh
amount get is (8629-4291) = 4338kwh for 91 days.
4338/91 = 47.67kwh per day.
47.67kwh/11.25kwp =4.23kwh/kwp.

I think this is not the highest rate I get, according to my last year record, the highest kwh/kwp I get is 5.4 for March and April.
Wait until then and see.
My 4KwP system was commission on 6 Dec (12pm). Exactly 3 months 1/2 day as of now :

Current reading (7pm of 6 March) = 1267 ( 1285 from Inverter reading), ie around 1.5% variant btw TNB and Inverter reading which should be a norm according to installer ...

1267 / 90.5 days = 14 kwh per day = 3.5 kwh / kwp ...

seem performance is poor for mine compared to you guys... despite it exactly tally with what my installer forecast earlier, ie 3.5 kwh / kwp average per day ... sad.gif

And despite my system is 4000W, the max of day only reached around 3100 kw around 12-2 pm ... is this abnormal?

But for past 1 month after CNY, every performance is average at 17kwh per day / 4KwP = 4.25 kwh / kwp ... let hope later of the year would be better ...

This post has been edited by ls71: Mar 6 2014, 07:12 PM
ls71
post Mar 6 2014, 08:27 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(andrewsh @ Mar 6 2014, 08:12 PM)
Where is your system located.  Our systems are located in Penang and Kedah.
My system located at Seri Kembangan ... Noted northern hvg higher irradiance but the different should not more than 5% ... the different perhaps due to other factors ... as I noted my area used to hv big cloud after lunch ...

ls71
post May 10 2014, 02:06 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ May 10 2014, 01:48 PM)
Done all the reading since yesterday.

Very very interested, but I bet I can't make it for the deadline, even if it has extended to 13 May 2014.

Gonna keep a close watch for the next quota.

Do you guys think I should start calling Service Providers to take a look at my house now?
You should seem u re convinced with ...
ls71
post May 26 2014, 07:03 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Screwu829 @ May 26 2014, 12:53 AM)
Yup...same here. So far so good
The only concern is the invoices that I received is without indication of units ...
ls71
post May 27 2014, 09:23 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Screwu829 @ May 26 2014, 09:31 AM)
Mebe you shud use tnb e-services where all the readings n payment advice documents are there...hv to do a simple registration online
Yup, just got e services done for my solar system, and it seem we need to call TNB hotline to obtain the account number of solar system before able to register e services as the invoices posted to us do not indicate the account number ...

and 2 different ID is required for e services if we also would like to link our normal consumption meter to e services ...

This is how TNB e services operated ...

0.0588sec    1.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:35 AM