Solar Power (FIT, Self-Consumption, Net-Metering), Business and Investment

dummies
post Apr 3 2013, 01:45 PM

268 posts

I am interested in this, does anyone know any SI or installer in Penang that participate in this Solar PV Feed in Tariff (FIT) ? I need someone to do a study for my house to see how much investment i have to make and whether it is worth to invest or not. thanks

dummies
post Dec 28 2015, 04:18 PM

268 posts

all the sifu here, i am from penang, may i know any good SP to introduce if i want to participate in the FiT program? since the closing date is 8 Jan so i have no time to compare each SP :-(

I prefer a SP with reliable after sales service, charge reasonable price and no hidden cost. thanks
dummies
post Dec 29 2015, 11:00 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(shagalot @ Dec 28 2015, 08:25 PM)
its too little time for you to do survey liau...
ya, time is really running out for me, i tried to submit the online application first then only find the SP but i can't, the form mentioned i need to have the SP identified first before i can submit the form online.

any advice here on penang good SP?

dummies
post Jan 26 2016, 01:16 PM

268 posts

Anyone has received the entry ID for the e-balloting this thursday ?

i still have not got it yet :-(
dummies
post Feb 1 2016, 07:19 AM

268 posts

too bad, i don't get it :-(

i login to the seda page, my application status shows "qualified" and not "approved"

is it confirmed no more quota for Fit 2017 so i can apply again?

dummies
post Mar 3 2016, 03:02 PM

268 posts

for those who did not get the 2016 quota, did your SP tell you that you will get 2017 quota?

my SP told me i failed to get 2016 quota but i will get 2017 quota, but he failed to show me any proof from SEDA that I got it. He told me there are 4425 applicants in total, for 2016 quota (15 MW), the queue number run until around 2045 , my queue number is 335x, so from there he concluded i will get the 2017 quota. How he knows 2016 quota run until 2045 is because his company has a customer whose queue number is 2045 got the 2016 quota.

i am interested to hear what your SP told you here.
dummies
post Mar 4 2016, 09:32 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(sciguy @ Mar 3 2016, 09:10 PM)
Please go SEDA website, look in statistics and monitoring tab, then EOI applications in Queue. If you can find your name there, then you will get your quota on 2017.

There is a list of applicants who got the quota via balloting, hence SP knows how many applicants got 2016 quota
I thought the "EOI applications in Queue" list consists of ALL the applicants (4425 of them) that have applied the 2016 and 2017 quota so not all of those listed there are getting the quota OR it only lists those successful candidate that has obtained the quota both in 2016 and 2017? if it is the latter then i get the 2017 quota :-)

my SP know how many of his customers got the 2016 quota which i am not in the list but what they can't tell now is who is getting the 2017 quota.

I called the SEDA FiT people, they also blur blur and can't give me the exact answer, this is already expected :-)

The reason why i asked this if it is confirmed i can't get the 2017 quota then i will use the money i have reserved for this solar Fit installation in other investment and move on.
dummies
post Dec 12 2016, 05:20 PM

268 posts

finally, i got the 2017 quota and now waiting for my SP to process the paper work and get the cert, plan to install in Feb or march 2017.

my SP provides two types of inverter for me to choose, ABB or GoodWe. Goodwe is from china and has a built in wireless status checking feature but it has no local office. ABB is from italy and has local office in malaysia but no wireless status checking (need to pay extra to install)

Any sifu can advice me which inverter to pick so i can have a peace of mind here? both offer only 5 years warranty.
dummies
post Dec 16 2016, 01:41 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Icona Pop @ Dec 15 2016, 02:08 PM)
Personally using ABB aurora. 2 years already all good but bad point like u say no wireless checking.. hmm.. 2017 still got quota? wondering how much tariff they paying you?
thanks. the rate is 10% lower than 2016, i think it is around 0.9138 with local manufactured panel, i need to double check with my SP.
dummies
post Jan 19 2017, 06:28 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(wenhan81 @ Jan 18 2017, 01:46 AM)
so what is your final decision with your SP ?
  thumbup.gif
with some advice from the sifu here,. i will take ABB, no confident in GoodWe since it is a china made product.

BTW, is it true that someone mentioned above that the package cost for panel+inverter will drop 10% YoY? The quote i got from my SP was from last year (i did not get the 2016 quota), since i only got the quota in 2017, my SP still use back the same quote he quoted me early last year, i asked for 10% discount from him because i argued with him that like h/p or computer, i do expect the overall solar panel+inverter cost should drop YoY but he told me it is not true, he said our RM has dropped so much (most of the things used in solar installation are imported) and labor cost also already increased, so he said he is not increasing the package price is already considered good to me biggrin.gif , i am not sure how true is that...

0.0196sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:47 AM