16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V14, Selling hotcakes worldwide! 4.1.2 OTA!

joytest
post Jan 9 2013, 11:47 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

More wireless charging:
http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/20130109/ib...laxy-s3-note-2/

For more awesomeness:
http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/20130109/pl...portable-power/

joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 12:03 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(simonlai61 @ Jan 9 2013, 11:59 PM)
May I know this redpil software is for what purpose? Sorry I'm new in Android...
If you saw the film "The MAtrix", you know that taking the Red Pill shows you a whole new world.

Read post #4 on page 1 about Rooting.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 12:21 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(simonlai61 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:17 AM)
Thanks for your explain and link. For my understanding, the redpil is the software that make Note II os run more smooth and battery life even last longer. Am I right?
A kernel is something like an engine for your Note2. You can change to whatever engine the developers have made, there are a few...Perseus, Redpill,Note2Core
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 12:26 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(simonlai61 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:24 AM)
Waaa...so advance and technical terms..i think i really need to google and study first. Also, i read the previous thread, see a lot people talking 'rooted after unboxing' what is this?
Please read more then....
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 12:39 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:29 AM)
I rather link it to a computer box bro . Engine as the component of the car or in our case , the firmware. Computer box is the brain behind or kernel . Both cases cant function if u dont have a computer box or kernel . Different kernel gives different performance , battery saving ( not vey obvious on Note2 except for a few ROMs ) which is what we get if u tune our computer box .
Haha ok, "computer box" ie the Engine Control Unit (ECU) as the proper term rite?
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 12:48 AM

13,188 posts

Some stuff I posted in V4 thread:

A custom rom is basically the OS that has been modified, sometimes with special tweaks or additional apps. Since Android is based on Linux (ie Unix), there are 2 major pieces, Kernel and Userland.

You can change either or both. That is the beauty of a proper OS. Some features need stuff enabled in kernel, some features need other userland pieces and/or stuff enabled in kernel.

CWM is a method of loading both the kernel and userland, which comes after you've changed to a kernel that has CWM support.

CWM itself is a third part for phones called the "recovery" which I won't go into now.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 12:58 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:54 AM)
Root = car key means if a phone is unroot then can't start ? rclxub.gif
Get a brick without root? whistling.gif
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 01:03 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jan 10 2013, 01:02 AM)
or maybe u can say, the phone is meaningless without root as it opens so many possibilities  brows.gif
Then plenty of smartphone users have a meaningless phone leh. That is the practical reality....eh,....so many people getting on without knowing the meaning of root....life....possibilities to be unlocked...
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 01:12 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jan 10 2013, 01:09 AM)
most smartphone users are missing out on so much sad.gif
but as long as they are happy with the phone and can tell the whole world that they are currently on the loo at One Utama Shopping Centre with all sort of check in app, I guess its fine tongue.gif
Mass Narcissism I say. Meaningless.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 01:14 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(ahchong5131 @ Jan 10 2013, 01:13 AM)
hi,

can recommend me a free powerful APP for playing APE CUE, FLAC and WAV song??  thx~
Uncle Google knows the answer !!!
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 01:28 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 10 2013, 01:27 AM)
normally
8 cores
shakehead.gif
4 big, 4 small
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 01:46 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 10 2013, 01:38 AM)
wonder the exynos 5 octa will drain battery or not although it stated lowest power consumption, but 8 cores shakehead.gif
samsung version intel core i7 on phone and tablet ??
I read some article yesterday that was pretty heavy into testing and graphs of power consumption. The conclusion was that Intel has managed to squeeze real good power efficiency into its new 22nm chips, and is actually giving ARM(Exynos,Krait etc) a run for its money.

If Intel gets the game together, we can all have Core i5++ in our phones 3 years down the road.

BTW did you mean "versus" instead of "version" ?

8 cores in ARM is not equal to 8 cores in Intel.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 01:54 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 10 2013, 01:48 AM)
joytest
now the intel core i7 in computer is 8 cores mar
and the exynos 5 octa also got 8 cores
that why I said samsung version <of> core i7 for mobile (phone and tablet)
get it ?

btw now talking about ssd, can go sleep already
There...you needed a preposition...
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 05:09 PM

13,188 posts

Been a bzbz day.

QUOTE(komputer @ Jan 10 2013, 02:56 PM)
I bought my Grey AP at RM1700 from direct D xD

Btw in regards to the battery issue i found this

Found out via BBS that fast dormancy is causing alot of kernal wake locks

Dug further and found this
http://eng.samaanetwork.com/?p=18517

this poor soul (malaysian s3 owner) tried 7+ diff methods to trouble shoot his battery woes. But its a good read.

1) use *#0011#
2) look at  UMTS RCC stats
3) see if it switches rapidly between idle, dch, patch

if it does fast dormancy isnt working

Our Note 2 support fast dormancy; and our telco's do as well. He basically enabled data roaming and he says it has sorted his battery and wakelock issues.

Me on the other hand, I just disable my data roaming instead and the switching stopped. Will monitor and report back!
Nice, I set FD with Gokhanmoral's app about 1 month ago, I think that helped my batt life as I've been having pretty good battey life apart from the monx episode on DLL4.

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 10 2013, 03:42 PM)
Wakelock persist. I read somewhere the toggle shows it is turn off as the code is written but the location of the code is wrong or not implemented. Something like that.
I've tested the service code komputer provided, IDLE is staying unchanged.

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jan 10 2013, 04:28 PM)
just back from maxis center the garden, now my speed 11mbps together with my multisim. Nice... use dxdlk5, personally I think this is the best modem so far
Was it a setting they did on your phone? Or they unblocked some VAS on the system?

joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 05:15 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Steev29 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:11 PM)
Anyone able to help me on this?
I mentioned I have a similar problem that the data connection goes off and comes back after an airplane mode switch. But I can still make calls and sms.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 05:16 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:13 PM)
Typical day.
[attachmentid=3254802]
Don't think anyone's found out more about L2_hsic since Note 1 days.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 05:29 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:20 PM)
I get similar wakelock with fast dormancy app by gokhan ON or OFF hence why i dun think it actually work.  tongue.gif  But seriously i still can get 5 - 6 hrs SOT daily so its not an issue for me.
Actually if we get at least 5hrs SOT it should be good enough, you are already using 5/8 of your work day. I wonder what kind of workday lets you have 5hrs SOT with your phone ? rclxub.gif
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 06:04 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(neome @ Jan 10 2013, 06:00 PM)
I wonder when will smartphones use sapphire crystal as the screen, is it possible? brows.gif
It's here already ... Vertu.

RM20k +++++ depending on your accessories and requested materials.

They had a booth in KLIA IINM, or was it HK airport?

This post has been edited by joytest: Jan 10 2013, 06:05 PM
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 06:06 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(tanlipseong @ Jan 10 2013, 06:05 PM)
I have 2 experience with my Galaxy Nexus (with screen Protector, Not Gorilla glass).

first is without screen protector, it develop very fine scratch (i suspect i wipe it with cloth that are not clean)
second is when i have screen protector on, i drop USB connector on the screen and develop a dimple on the screen protector (may hurt the screen if no protector on).

with note 2 gorilla glass 2, will it withstand things like that?
Dude if you are worried, just use a screen protector. Or apply some of those nano-coatings like Liquid Armor.

Then no more worry.
joytest
post Jan 10 2013, 06:10 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(yara @ Jan 10 2013, 06:07 PM)
Anybody knows when would be Sme LTE coming out?
SME hasn't given a straight answer, so nobody knows for now.

16 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:41 PM