Planted Aquarium V11

arrow
post Feb 19 2013, 11:14 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 19 2013, 09:53 PM)
We have the same filter! thumbup.gif

I put the bio ring onto my the other smaller filter together with the sponge like thing. That sponge like thing is supposed to house the bacteria from the bio ring or something right? At least that's what the salesperson told me. I also added in some live bacteria into the bio ring there.. hmm.gif

[attachmentid=3312378]

Btw, I might just end up with an empty tank tomorrow cry.gif Had 6 goldfish cramped up in a 3 gallon tank since Day 1. One by one started dying and now left with 2. One of the fish don't look good, keep wobbling around sideways and sometimes 360degrees sad.gif

Sigh, blame it all on my inexperience. Just pray that both fish survive...
The sponge like thing act to filter out solid waste and house bacteria but capacity alot much lesser compare with bio-ring.
Your tank not cycled... high ammonia & nitrite will kill your fish. Keep dosing those Live bacteria daily, don't restock the dead goldfish,
the tank this size, 2 poo-maker(goldfish) is enough to turn it into septic tank.

arrow
post Feb 19 2013, 11:24 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 19 2013, 11:08 PM)
Ahh I see, I also read it could be due to water being too cold right? That's will make their swim bladder shrink or something?
Got an exact measure just now, 13"X 6.5"X 7.5" which is around 2.7 gallons or 10.7 Litres. Quite small right?

Reason why I got 2 filters was because when I had 6 goldfish, it seems that goldfish produce A LOT of waste and tons of ammonia into the water. The filter I was having (on the left in the pic) was horrible, so I was guessing it can't keep up with the rate of the fish are excreting those wastes. The water become quite cloudy also. I then got a 2nd filter, roughly about the same type but it's a biological filter type BUT it's so damn noisy and it's quite unbearable, so I'm not using it. And now it's the current one from Jeneca, and it's just awesome man.

Ya, my mistake to put in 6 pearlscale goldfish to start it off with doh.gif sweat.gif

I do know the 1 inch of fish per gallon rule. So which means I can only keep three 1 inch sized fish?

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_di...049&pcatid=1049

This fish looks nice but it says minimum needs 20 gallons doh.gif doh.gif

Was also thinking to upgrade to a bigger tank sad.gif I think my parents might kill me since I cannot even manage a small tank like this, what more a big tank? But LuQEE did mention it will be cheaper in the long run for a bigger tank hmm.gif
why limit yourself to just goldfish & guppy , there are many nice dwarf fish to keep like Tetra , galaxy rasbora & other rasbora type etc.

This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 19 2013, 11:25 PM
arrow
post Feb 19 2013, 11:30 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 19 2013, 11:23 PM)
Thank you so much. I do frequently add in bacteria into my tank, and after your post, I went and added in more tongue.gif

Btw, how could you tell that the high ammonia/nitrate is killing my fish? I highly suspect that it's the overcrowding issue instead since I read that goldfish needs at least 6-10 gallons of water for 1 fish BUT I have like 6 fish in 3 gallons initially doh.gif

Here's a pic I just taken:

[attachmentid=3312492]

I'm thinking of getting those test for ammonia/nitrate. What do you recommend?
for you and those newcomer to fish keeping/aquascaping with fauna , read those first about tank cycling.
http://fins.actwin.com/mirror/begin-cycling.html
http://www.firsttankguide.net/cycle.php
http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles_51/f...ing-article.htm

If you are serious and for long term usage then i would like to recommend to you API freshwater master test kit(cost around rm100++)
if not you can just save cost by getting the ammonia & nitrite tester separately.
You read the above link and you will know how ammonia & nitrite kill your fish.

below is 20L tank, previously housing shrimps, now temporary keep total 10 blue & galaxy rasbora.

below is 27L clam tank but filled 2/3 water using jeneca filter. have 6 tetra inside

This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 20 2013, 12:38 AM
arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 01:16 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 01:07 AM)
Thank you so much. You are of great help thumbup.gif

Those are really good links, especially the first one!

Unfortunately, my last goldfish just died just now. Now my tank is empty. It's Day 5 cry.gif

I think I will just get the ammonia and nitrite/nitrate tester kit and maybe a ph meter tomorrow.

"why limit yourself to just goldfish & guppy , there are many nice dwarf fish to keep like Tetra , galaxy rasbora & other rasbora type etc."

Let's just say I keep using my 3 gallon tank for now, how many of those fish I can keep in the tank? I have some sand at the bottom and 2 potted plants.
3 gallon tank can fit 4 guppy fish? I'm really really scared of overcrowding liao >_<
45cm length? What are the exact dimensions ah? Care to share link? smile.gif

Looking for maybe a 10gallon tank or something hmm.gif
Goto more local fish shop like 88 petsmart in cheras or sunwaymas & Fish depot in sunwaymas , east aqua in sg.besi , ikano , mid-valley , NPA in cheras , NA in subang SS19,
all of them sell standalone fish tank, cube tank size 30cmx30cmx30cm may suit you with 27L water or opt for bigger like dophlin brand got one
55cmx34cmx34cm - 57L tank, cost around rm70++.
You can also go look for tank in Alive aquarium in pudu or their new outlet near leisure mall(cheras), they sell at cheaper price(can bargain somemore).
You already bought light and filter if not i recommend you to get Eheim tank set at RM300++ (with eheim filter, light and 36L tank)(can be found at Alive aquarium in pudu , model is Eheim aquacompact 60 tank set).
Below is the Eheim Aquacompact 40 set but look similar to the Aquacompact 60 set , just smaller.

This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 20 2013, 02:26 PM
arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 02:42 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Feb 20 2013, 02:06 AM)
what type of light do they provide, and do you have more info on the eheim filter (model number)? seems like a good bargain man!
Filter is eheim aquacompact 60 . with 30cm T5HO light set and 36L tank, Alive aquarium sell the cheapest.
http://www.eheim.com/en_GB/products/techno.../aquacompact-60
arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 12:06 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 05:30 AM)
Btw, EmilyEmily arrow You guys put your bio rings behind the filter cartridge ya? I put mine here, just above the intake pump, because behind the filter cartridge there is tight, and if wanna clean it will have to always position it back. Would this be ok? I have 5 pieces of ceramic rings...

you can remove one of the white wool filter(the left one) and keep it to replace the other one when it get wore out,
then you will have more space to put more bio-ring.
Tetra need to be in school of 6 and above to stay happy.
arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 03:27 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 03:06 PM)
eh where to get this test kit? pets mart 88 got ar?
yes, saw it there before, beside 88 petsmart , East Aqua in Ikano , Sg.Besi , Great Eastern mall & Mid-valley outlet
may have it as well if not sold-out, make sure to check the expire date if any.
Call them to check first. and make sure you buy the one for Freshwater not marine type.
east aqua ikano 03-77287571 ask them for others outlet tel.
88 petsmart cheras 03-42959160, sunwaymas 03-78054478/4479
arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 04:57 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 03:56 PM)
woah..many thanks bro..gonna get a set..btw which one is better? the strip or liquid system for testing?
very subjective, alot said strip not accurate and some said liquid hard to read the result which are quite truth,
i'm using liquid type and only having hard time with the PH and nitrate reading, cos to me any reading rather then zero
in ammonia & nitrite test is bad and not acceptable so it doesn't matters whether it is low or high, cos both still kill my shrimps at tiniest lvl.

This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 20 2013, 04:57 PM
arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 05:05 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 04:53 PM)
Awesome idea, never thought of that at all. Just a few questions here:

1) The Jeneca filter cartridges, where to get the replacements?

2) Should I fill the left part of the Jeneca filter with just all bio ceramic rings or 50% rings, 50% sponge (sponge is the course type like this:)

[attachmentid=3313362]
For Q1:
ask LFS, some do carry compatible replacement part, bring the part to show them, but frankly i just throw them out
and replace it with just filter wool.
filter wool ->Attached Image

For Q2:
Yes , you can, put the bio-ring on the bottom and the black sponge on top or use filter wool instead of the black cheese sponge.

arrow
post Feb 20 2013, 05:27 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 05:13 PM)
where can i get otto aaa? how much each? rm2-3?
Last saw at east aqua mid-valley and 88petsmart & NA SS19 , price rm4 -5.
arrow
post Feb 21 2013, 02:33 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
found this today.. anyone tried this before? any reviews?
this fan is noisy and underpower, get the Dymax fan better or the UP aqua fan.
arrow
post Feb 21 2013, 04:26 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 21 2013, 04:19 PM)
im thinking the thing also. hahah!
thats what im doing to test baseline water temp at both places *without fan cause i dont have a fan yet* (standing fan is too rediculous)
the problem is the container that im using is not the same size as compared to my aquarium.. = diff water volume = might effect water temp right? i think
why all the trouble, as its proven fan power can only drop 2'c to max 4'c from room temp, just measure your room temp. will do.
There is the limit of fan, else no one gonna buy chiller.
Rules is bigger tank need bigger fan like bigger tank need bigger chiller to perform effectively.
arrow
post Feb 21 2013, 04:53 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 21 2013, 04:40 PM)
i tried that & found out that my water temp & room temp is of different value.. :/
haha! no harm learning & trying my best ma tongue.gif
Then easy, just measure the water temp, using 2'c to max 4'c rule , you can determine the min and max temp for your tank while using fan cooling.

arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 01:46 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 23 2013, 12:16 AM)
haha.. no need la.. smile.gif

btw, what chemicals in plants kills amano shrimps?
last time i bought hornwort from ikano, my amano shrimps died. then i read online only found out that maybe ikano used some kind of ferts/chemical for plant growth not surtable for amano shrimps
so today i asked the shop worker, he said didnt dose anything but my amano shrimps died in 2 hrs sad.gif
haha, the NA ss19 worker didn't lied, they didn't dose anythings but their SUPPLIER DID, pesticide(esp those contain copper to kill snails) & fert. is be dose like mad to the plants in the farm esp during CNY months.
Rule of shrimps keeping, Never put any new plants/stuff in your tank before testing it with few ghost shrimps or cheap cherry in a bucket first.
if you want plants that is free from pesticide, get from forumer direct from their tank like mr.Jason(Deric79k).

arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 02:05 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 22 2013, 06:21 PM)
Hai, it's me again. I'm a total n00b, so please bare with me biggrin.gif

I hope I can get it right this time round. My aquarium is totally empty now, cleaned it and the filters liao.

Here's my 3 gallon [30X17X16 cm] tank. Some inspiration to get a super nano tank here tongue.gif http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumap...-iwagumi-9.html

So here's my plan:

Any comments?

Got a few questions here:

1) If I start setting up my hardscape already and then added in water and CO2 for the plants to grow. Should I just leave it like that for 1 month first maybe? How long before I can add in fish to start cycling my tank?

2) If I were to use 2-3 golden zebra/cardinal tetra to cycle my tank, how to test for ammonia if I don't get any test kits? http://www.firsttankguide.net/cycle.php did mention about bringing the water to a pet shop for testing lol. What do you guys recommend biggrin.gif

3) What type of soil to use for the short and long grass? ADA soil? My LFS has this type of soil it seems. Tomorrow, they'll stock up some grass, so I might go over to take a look smile.gif

4) How long would it take for the grass to grow?

5) Do you guys use a vacumn to suck out fish waste/food like this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3igqdgKHXDE

6) What sort of CO2 system do you guys use?
The foreground plants in nano tank of http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumap...-iwagumi-9.html
look more like mini pelia (a type of moss) not HC or glosso, think someone point it out before. HC & glosso seem to need cooler water to growth healthy,
may not achievable in your nano tank unless tank setup in 24 hrs AC room.

2) & 3), just use ADA new amazonia, with this there is more then enough ammonia leeched from the soil to kick start tank cycle till the end.
(test kit, for me i will just test for nitrite after 2 weeks or more, no need to test ammonia cos it guarantee present with amazonia unless be convert to nitrite. so testing for nitrite will also determine whether BB have ammonia under control or not)
4) very subjective and depend on tank condition
5) Pls don't do that in planted tank unless you want to uproot your carpet plants, a well establish beneficial bacteria system will take care of them.
and Goldfish is banned in planted tank cos they will eat all everything's eatable in the tank.
6) For your nano tank either use disposable co2 or invest more for a solenoid controlled compressed C02 system.

This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 23 2013, 02:36 AM
arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 02:14 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 23 2013, 01:48 AM)
owh.. nowonder.. i dont haveghost shrimps / cherry shrimps to test with yet cause my shamp tank is still cycling.. haha
actually i soaked the plant for a while but oh well now i know who to get from..

thank you smile.gif
soaking plants with plain water can just remove dirts or some hitchhikers, to remove pesticide & fert, use Activated carbon.
arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 11:05 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Feb 23 2013, 07:45 AM)
i hope ghost shrimp wouldnt take a role as gardener to my grass. they like to play there.
ghost shrimps won't eat plants, only red nose shrimps known to do that but ghost shrimps will attack dwarf shrimps(cherry etc)
if not enough to eat. They are good hair algae eater if you starve them.
arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 12:07 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 23 2013, 11:19 AM)
compatibility between cherry shrimps, ghost & amano shrimps?
Ghost and amano shrimps.both are quite aggressive shrimps. Not friendly to dwarf shrimps. Sooner or later if you put them together you will discover their cruelty and regret for the death of your dwarf shrimps.
You can put both ghost and amano together and fun to see them fight/ steal from each others food.
arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 12:10 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Feb 23 2013, 11:41 AM)
owh thanks.

btw why my shrimp always move up and down. but not till the water surface. then mive like that again. but fish is relax. so its not bout oxygen rite?
They move like that after you do changes to your tank like adding new plants? Or some of them just molt? male are known to chase after female to mate after female molted.

This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 23 2013, 12:11 PM
arrow
post Feb 23 2013, 01:26 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Feb 23 2013, 12:59 PM)
both maybe. i plant hc n grass yesterday. they not chasing each other but look like playing with themself. owh maybe they playing with the stream from the filter or something come out from it

i cant be so sure about if they act like that when im at work or not
maybe pesticide in new plants , fast put in activated carbon into filter.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0469sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:05 PM