LYN Notebook Price Catalog V4, For reference/reviews/discussions
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 8 2013, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 8 2013, 10:12 PM) if for me, i could say RS will save more. if it is well taken care of, the processor and graphics card can last for more than 5 years and the current graphics card are able to play next gen games up to 3 years (IMO). then, when you wanted to upgrade the graphics card again, it just take roughly a cost of RM1500 for a board (depends on the brand you choose) per 3 years. but what i worry is, MXM connectors may outdated in no time.  Thanks for the input But the thing is gaming notebooks are often pushed to the limit one  dunno the internals can last or not (not that I'm looking down on the cooling of the RS series la haha). And of course, there's the "user problem" that gets tired of using the same notebook for some users haha.. Yalo... and there's the thing about MXM Have to wait and see lo I guess haha, like u said, things might change XD
pitpunpitlah
Jul 9 2013, 12:36 PM

Hi may I have your opinion. I'm confused whether to buy MacBook air or other laptop. I'll use it for study. I'm a Windows user but still thinking about portability which I can get from MBA. And I still can use Windows on MBA.
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 9 2013, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(pitpunpitlah @ Jul 9 2013, 12:36 PM) Hi may I have your opinion. I'm confused whether to buy MacBook air or other laptop. I'll use it for study. I'm a Windows user but still thinking about portability which I can get from MBA. And I still can use Windows on MBA. If you are familiar with installing Windows on Mac OSX, then by all means, go for it
pitpunpitlah
Jul 9 2013, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 9 2013, 12:39 PM) If you are familiar with installing Windows on Mac OSX, then by all means, go for it  but then with the price, can I have a better specs laptop with weight as same or less then MBA 13?
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 9 2013, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(pitpunpitlah @ Jul 9 2013, 12:42 PM) but then with the price, can I have a better specs laptop with weight as same or less then MBA 13? Definitely  Though whether it is "better" or not depends on your usage. It can range from better in terms of gaming performance, price etc.
pitpunpitlah
Jul 9 2013, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 9 2013, 01:57 PM) Definitely  Though whether it is "better" or not depends on your usage. It can range from better in terms of gaming performance, price etc.  ha Ha Ha ok im getting confused even more T.T
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 9 2013, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(pitpunpitlah @ Jul 9 2013, 03:18 PM) ha Ha Ha ok im getting confused even more T.T haha, in short, if you want to game on your notebooks, then definitely avoid MBA since it doesn't have a dedicated graphic card. Same goes if you are looking for touchscreen, stylus or other features. If you are using it for normal tasks, the MBA will work just fine
arslow
Jul 11 2013, 11:40 AM
haswell acer v5 still nowhere to be seen...
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 11 2013, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(arslow @ Jul 11 2013, 11:40 AM) haswell acer v5 still nowhere to be seen... Its already in the pricelist? 14" Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD can PM Beouwulf if you are looking for one
arslow
Jul 11 2013, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 11 2013, 12:00 PM) Its already in the pricelist? 14" Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD can PM Beouwulf if you are looking for oneĀ  15 inch 1080p version  sigh, all the nice ultrabooks all 13.3 inch.... This post has been edited by arslow: Jul 11 2013, 12:04 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 11 2013, 04:04 PM
Ultrabook tags removed entirely to minimize mistakes
Beouwulf
Jul 11 2013, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 11 2013, 12:00 PM) Its already in the pricelist? 14" Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD can PM Beouwulf if you are looking for oneĀ  With Haswell you need LP DDR3 RAM, it won't boot if you insert normal RAMs  . Haven't tested with other brands yet. This post has been edited by Beouwulf: Jul 11 2013, 04:13 PM
AskarPerang
Jul 11 2013, 04:17 PM
S551-LB, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x767; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8
available already? where selling?
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 11 2013, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 11 2013, 04:17 PM) S551-LB, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x767; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8 available already? where selling? Yeah, should be available already. Do check with devour, I think he got stock
nexus2238
Jul 11 2013, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(Beouwulf @ Jul 11 2013, 04:11 PM) With Haswell you need LP DDR3 RAM, it won't boot if you insert normal RAMsĀ  . Haven't tested with other brands yet. sifu, is it applicable for all Haswell, or just those ULT stuff? (can understand ultrabook want to cut down on power usage). Not easy to find LPDDR3 (some blur blur counter person don't even know what it is)  (is it even available on retail?) And man, if all Haswell use LPDDR3, the price for it will shot through the roof  Even if only ultrabook use it, it will make life difficult for owner who want to upgrade RAM aftermarket. This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 11 2013, 06:24 PM
SoraDestiny
Jul 12 2013, 12:13 AM

Why cant i find any sony sellers here???
raymondtong94
Jul 12 2013, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 11 2013, 06:09 PM) sifu, is it applicable for all Haswell, or just those ULT stuff? (can understand ultrabook want to cut down on power usage). Not easy to find LPDDR3 (some blur blur counter person don't even know what it is)  (is it even available on retail?) And man, if all Haswell use LPDDR3, the price for it will shot through the roof  Even if only ultrabook use it, it will make life difficult for owner who want to upgrade RAM aftermarket. agree. the pricing nowadays for RAM aint cheap either. RM11x for a 4GB slot, compared to RM9x from last time. if LPDDR3, perhaps RM13x or something.
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 12 2013, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jul 12 2013, 01:44 AM) agree. the pricing nowadays for RAM aint cheap either. RM11x for a 4GB slot, compared to RM9x from last time. if LPDDR3, perhaps RM13x or something.  I think they did it on purpose since current RAM prices have depreciate alot
TS[PF] T.J.
Jul 12 2013, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(SoraDestiny @ Jul 12 2013, 12:13 AM) Why cant i find any sony sellers here??? I don't think it works this way, you will have to go and buy from Sony Centres
beebee
Jul 12 2013, 08:56 AM
hi guys, who to look for Lenovo reseller in lowyat forum?