Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V4, Strictly for Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 09:26 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Jan 7 2013, 03:52 AM)
I finally decide to get I5 even after reading a lot of negative comments bcs my 3gs got problem that why i have no choice to get it. I just want to confirm when i go into Maxis tmw to get a set if i see the set have scuff and not happy with it i can just reject that set, right?No problems???Maxis wont force me to take it.
I had to sign the agreement form that indicated that I received the phone in good condition at the payment counter. After that, I had to go to another counter to get the nano sim card. While I was there, the person told me that if there were minor scratches, no replacement would be made on the spot unless it affected functionality. Just pray hard that you get a near to perfect set! smile.gif
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 11:39 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 7 2013, 11:20 AM)
I don't really see an issue to be worried. It's just a commonly reported problem.

Besides, you said you are on Celcom, this is a Maxis discussion thread. I'm telling you its normal for a Maxis user to feel such minor problem. Even my fren on digi has to restart his phone occasionally when the 3G icon disappear when he drives.

Besides, it's not really something major to fuss with. When the next iOS update comes and it disappears, it proves the point. If not, let's all go exchange our sim cards and phones and see whether it changes or not.
Have you ever lost the 3G signal when you enter into a lift and after exiting the lift, it does not automatically come back and you need to restart the phone to get it back?
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 11:44 AM

63 posts

I agree with you. I did call 123 earlier, and they said I've got to wait a little longer before the signal gets locked down. It's something intermittent, hope its addressed in the future! smile.gif
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 12:19 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(tartputat @ Jan 7 2013, 12:07 PM)
I would like to share my experience in resolving 3G signal lost using Maxis latest carrier update 13.2

I have this irritating issue which even after network reset is also not consistent. Then, after reading few feedback in MacRumors with regards to this issue, I have decided to restore my phone via iTunes as a fresh new phone. I get all the contact back up from iCloud.

Now, it has been a week since I performed the recommendation approach and I could say it is perfect. I dont have to toggle the airplane mode or restart or hard reboot the phone anymore.

Anyone of you may want to consider this approach which perhaps working fine to solve your issues. It is not a guarantee it will 100% resolved the issue but at least it did to me.

Hope this helps.

Futhermore, I cant confirmed should it is iOS bug or Maxis as both of my iPhone 5 which are using Maxis have the same trait of issue.

I am now happy without the hassle of lost 3G connection.
Thank you for sharing. What version of IOS are you on? My carrier version is 13.1. How did you get 13.2?
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 02:14 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Jan 7 2013, 02:01 PM)
But if i'm not happy with the set can Maxis return my money or give me new set b4 i sign that paper???
I asked the staff at the payment counter nicely if I could sign the paper after I opened the box and checked the phone for any issues, but he told me that I had to sign first before I could do that. I did not want to make any hassle with him, so I signed it, and when to the other counter to get the nano sim card and also prayed super hard there wouldn't be any scuffs. However, mine does have a slight rattling sound when you shake the phone real hard, I have no qualms with that however.

Maybe you could get your way if you were to be much more persistent/insistent than I was? tongue.gif
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 03:55 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Jan 7 2013, 02:31 PM)
I was put on reservation list last Sat at Maxis TTDI. I was told it would be faster if I call 123 and ask for availability straight.

Is this true?
Depends on luck I guess? I just walked into the maxis centre last Saturday and asked if there was stock, and they did, so yeah, I got it. You could try that, no harm.. smile.gif
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 05:11 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(BroNz- @ Jan 7 2013, 04:04 PM)
They don't allow us to open the box and check first before signing? That's ridiculous  doh.gif  Anyway may I know you bought your Iphone from which maxis center?
I thought the same as well, but as I looked at another payment counter, I saw another guy opening the box at the payment counter, so I may have just been silly not to open it at the payment counter or the other staff member at the other payment counter was kind enough to let that customer open it. I walked in into Northam Tower last Saturday at 10 AM. They had stock for 16GB black which was that I wanted. I did ask if they had 32GB, and they said no.

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Jan 7 2013, 04:21 PM)
Ic thanks for ur info, i'm not gonna sign anything till i know my phone is scuff free. Btw which Maxis outlet is this? When did you buy it ur a early bird & what color urs?
Walked into Northam Tower last Saturday at 10 AM and got it. I did a booking the day before at QB, but still no call from them till now (and thats including tweeting @MaxisListens to book one for me at QB). It's 16GB black. I was rushing a bit for time as I had to be else where so I did not make a fuss about signing it first, but like I said, being insistent could get your way hehe.
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 05:21 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Thorin @ Jan 7 2013, 05:13 PM)
Is bcos u are desperate and no longer rational.

Normally in a decent restaurant we pay only after we finish the food. Unless u r in cheap kopitiam, fast food or hawker center. Those are android territory.
Normally, I wouldn't single out incompetent posters, but you definitely come across as a little napoleon. I come from Android and I have no qualms with it nor IOS.
systemX
post Jan 7 2013, 07:27 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 7 2013, 07:15 PM)
Hey bro you got ur set at northern tower Penang. So ur set no scuff just a little rattle when shake? Bcs I will be getting a set from there too soon.
Larry, yes I got it from Northam Tower (walk in). No scuffs, and I only hear a slight miniscule rattling sound when I shake it hard. Picking up the phone from the table or taking it out from my pocket and making a call does not produce that sound. The "shake" isn't hard enough, so I wouldn't worry about it smile.gif

This post has been edited by systemX: Jan 7 2013, 07:28 PM
systemX
post Jan 8 2013, 09:23 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ Jan 8 2013, 02:47 AM)
You mean you need to sign agreement form before open the sealed iPhone 5 set or after open the set?
The staff at the payment counter I was at told me that I had to sign it first before I could open the box. However, I saw another customer at another payment counter opening his set.
systemX
post Jan 8 2013, 11:39 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(cmy1612 @ Jan 8 2013, 10:47 AM)
I prayed before going to Maxis. Hahaha. The sales consultant gave me the first set after I signed the agreement paper, then she opened the box for me. I realized there was this quite obvious scuffgate. Then I told her, she took another set for me. Hehe. A very small scratch at the side but it can't be seen, not so obvious as the first set. So all it's good. Applied the screen protector & put on the casing on the spot. Happy customer! smile.gif
Prayer actually works! What model and plan did you get and which branch?

0.0447sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:32 PM