Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V4, Strictly for Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY
ftan
Jan 18 2013, 08:12 AM
Guys/gals,
What do you think about the new i5 plan with surfmore 75? 24 months contract and device price for i5 16GB is $1188.
I like being able to surf 5GB but I know my usage is way much much lesser. I don't like being tied with 24 months contract though.
ftan
Jan 18 2013, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(goliath @ Jan 18 2013, 11:31 AM) What's your current usage? If it's around 2GB, perhaps go for outright unit and subscribe for SurfMore 50. I just started subscribing to data plan (prepaid). My usage is very low. Should be less than 1GB. Sigh, I guess this plan is too much for me. The i5 device price is attractive though.
ftan
Jan 18 2013, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(dr0olingb0at @ Jan 18 2013, 11:50 AM) If you don't spend so much in calls and SMS, SurfMore 75 should fit as you only pay-per-use. Unlike the iValue plans with bundled message/calls at higher monthly commitment fees. For me, I don't mind 5GB at RM75, and since I rarely exceed phone bills at RM30/month, my monthly usage would be roughly like iValue RM100, but with much higher internet quota. But 5GB.. Can you finish it? :/ Hello. Thanks for the feedback. I don't spend much on calls or SMS. So I think the Surfmore (SM50 more suited than SM75) is ok. Unfortunately, maxis only offer i5 at a discounted price with SurfMore75. I doubt I can finish 5GB.  I just want to get the device at a discounted price. Already bought one i5 outright with prepaid plan (another telco). Thinking to get another i5.
ftan
Jan 18 2013, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(bosco1314 @ Jan 18 2013, 05:05 PM) Ya very true, maxis ip5 price is attractive especially if u r maxis one club , can waive, is like just RM 999 for phone itself but high commitment fees Found out the surfmore75 plan is for postpaid customers only (maxis or other telco). Oh well.
ftan
Jan 20 2013, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(trumpfnx @ Jan 20 2013, 12:27 AM) Hi all, I just sign up the iPhone5 at Sunway Pyramid Maxis centre. BEWARE!! There DO NOT allow you to exchange the iPhone5 if you found your unit has defect. They only offer to send in for warranty and ask you to leave without your phone. They asked you to sign the paper during making payment that you have received the unit in good conditions BUT don't allow you open and check the unit. The Sunway centre is full of people, not recommended if you want to sign up and check the unit before leaving the place. This is bad. I would have chosen this maxis center if I opt to sign up a postpaid plan. Thanks for letting us know. Your unit is ok?
ftan
Feb 23 2013, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(INGfusion @ Feb 23 2013, 01:47 AM) Can maxis or police track imei and then find out location ? Cos my iPhone been stolen !! Sorry to hear that. How did it happen?
ftan
May 12 2013, 05:58 PM
Hi, finally signed up for surf more 50 plan for my i5. Here's what I noticed: - didn't get full bars signal. Usually 3-4 bars. On my old nokia hp, I get full bars signal for maxis hotlink. - no lte at home. But work place should have. Will test it out soon. I did get lte at ss14 area. So I know it works. - plan to monitor my usage coz don't want any unwanted charges (ex: itemized paper billing, phone calls, SMS) So far so good. No issues with maxis cs as of now.
ftan
May 12 2013, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 12 2013, 06:09 PM) https://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...s-one-club.htmlNot sure about this time cause i cant seem to find the iphone 5 offer now  Perhaps a call to 123 is a better approach It is widely known that iPhone 5 has weaker 3G signal compared to other smartphone  My N8 got full bar 3G whereas my iPhone 5 stucked at 3/4 bars -.- Noted. I was using umobile prepaid and I had full bars then. I switched coz of lte and needed more data. Anyway, it doesn't seem to be a hindrance so i guess it's ok.
ftan
May 15 2013, 07:52 AM
Good morning. This is weird. I checked my unbilled amount just now via online and *100#. It showed $164.88. That was a shocker for me. I proceeded to call the Maxis CS. I wanted to know if there was any leakages. While on hold, I checked again and my unbilled amount is $0.48 cents. Will keep monitoring. This is the second time in a week when I was on hold and waiting for the CS, that the issues resolved by itself.
ftan
May 15 2013, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(aliluya @ May 15 2013, 02:04 PM) dear all, wondering maxis do have easy payment if i'm to buy iphone5 with the 4g lte 100 monthly commmitment? anyone cna provide fast revert? Thanks and appreciate Yes, they do have easy payment. Scroll down and see the 0% cc payment with selected banks. http://new.maxis.com.my/content/maxis/en/p...le/iphone5.html
ftan
May 16 2013, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(christcwl9 @ May 15 2013, 04:34 PM) Yea, Apple policy in Malaysia is the same like in other region, which is to provide those who claimed for warranty a refurbished set. I heard from my friend who claimed his iPhone 5 in Penang, it took 2 weeks time for them to inspect before they issue a refurbished iPhone 5 to him. I also heard that if you don't want to wait, better you bring it to KLCC Maxis Center or TTDI Maxis Center. These 2 are the main branch of Maxis in Malaysia. But i am not sure whether you can get a brand new 1 or not I think unbilled amount is subjec to change, so you need not to check it every day  Hehe, can't help it. Read too much horror stories on Maxis billshock from lyn forum. But to be fair, I think Maxis is better now that they throttle data after exceeding quota.
ftan
Nov 2 2013, 04:48 PM
Same here.
What colors did you order?
ftan
Nov 4 2013, 11:30 AM
Maxis sunway pyramid put a big sign say no stock but can put your name to book. I didn't bother to ask. Saw some ppl in queue to sign up booking.
Anyway, I already put my name for Maxis eCurve. But won't hope so much.
ftan
Nov 4 2013, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(XiaoTau @ Nov 4 2013, 11:48 AM) Yesterday got bout 10 today only 1 im the second New list every day? I was first on Friday. But I won't hope so much on it.
ftan
Nov 4 2013, 08:34 PM
Ai, I got a missed call from Maxis (123) just now. Don't know what it is.  I called Maxis but the cs said their system is down and they can't check for me. Apparently, they will sms if got stock.
ftan
Nov 5 2013, 02:48 AM
QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Nov 4 2013, 09:35 PM) SweetPuff, how can I check if Maxis successfully booked one gold i5s for me? I called twice and they can't tell me what the earlier missed call (from Maxis) was about. And thanks for helping us in this forum, ya.
ftan
Nov 5 2013, 01:20 PM
I went to the Curve to enquire about my pre-booking status and see if they have stock available. They said need to wait 2-3 weeks. By that time, I'd have received my i5s gold from Apple Store online. If this is so, then I would opt for getting my i5s from Apple store.
ftan
Nov 5 2013, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Nov 5 2013, 01:37 PM) I'm willing to take on your behalf... Lol. I thought you pre-book also? You should be getting it around the same time or earlier than me.
ftan
Nov 5 2013, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(jiro1986 @ Nov 5 2013, 01:30 PM) It's same as situation in Singapore I think. Telco will keep have stock coming in and apple store no. So u can keep try ur luck go there everyday. Just Singapore will more systematic in pre booking. Malaysia is boleh land. Wat also will happen Why apple store "no"? From what I've seen MY store says 2-3 weeks delivery. SG store shows unavailable. Not sure why the difference.
ftan
Nov 7 2013, 12:08 PM
I'll be receiving my i5s gold from Apple online store soon. So, it's a "no go" with Maxis now.
Nevertheless, really appreciate SweetPuff for updating this thread on the stock availability.