Critiques on Notebook Model, list brand, list model, list critiques

williamngwl
post Mar 24 2006, 03:51 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Mar 23 2006, 10:32 PM)
shocking thing i found out is , for the same size

dell with fujitsu and sony, dell give max specs which is 3 times better than fujitsu and sony, but yet dell is half the price of these 2 laptop..why ah? (the ultra lightweight 1.**kg versions, with 12" screens)
u dont have to compare proton with daimlerchrysler
williamngwl
post Mar 24 2006, 03:57 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 23 2006, 11:12 PM)
easy. dell is made-in-penang

while fujitsu and sony is made-in-japan with penang made proc, singaporean made hdd, taiwane mobo and ram and koren lcd.

once it goes to japan, suma naik harega

dell is famous for it value price
i think most of the ppl dint realise why fujitsu is more expensive that others.

lazy to explain here cause after that u all wont listen too.

TSAbangCorp
post Mar 24 2006, 06:39 PM

233 posts

Hey guys, dont get confuse. That is their claim for good product of theirs

i just want to pinpoint the product available, then we critiques on the group of model or maybe by model. i agree some model are good and some are not even do came from the same company. Some are dedicated for excellent production, some just for the sake of mass production and cut cost down.

Sorry, ill write short next time. IBM as lenovo, message received.

Common guys, critiques, we must do it a lot to guide buyers out there including us
voodiee
post Mar 24 2006, 07:17 PM

63 posts

BenQ, Joybook 7000 is beli beli beli beli goooooooooooood!
trust me! smile.gif
charger
post Mar 24 2006, 07:29 PM

237 posts

hey guys wat about samsung laptop any review ?

This post has been edited by charger: Mar 24 2006, 07:29 PM
lucifah
post Mar 24 2006, 09:41 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Mar 24 2006, 03:57 PM)
i think most of the ppl dint realise why fujitsu is more expensive that others.

lazy to explain here cause after that u all wont listen too.
ple englighten me then...

As far as i concern, fujitsu, sony and toshiba is only good for their very high-end models, which are the ultra-portable with 10" screens and pentium-m ULV

that said, DELL offerings is 3/4 their price and has better design

and if u wanna say physical design wise, i.e. stability as not in falling down, good components and stuff, Dell Latitude Series has all that. that's why it's more expensive than Inspiron but still much cheaper than those made-in-japan counterparts...

and if u haven't even use them, pls, try it
williamngwl
post Mar 25 2006, 12:22 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 24 2006, 09:41 PM)

As far as i concern, fujitsu, sony and toshiba is only good for their very high-end models, which are the ultra-portable with 10" screens and pentium-m ULV

and if u wanna say physical design wise, i.e. stability as not in falling down, good components and stuff, Dell Latitude Series has all that. that's why it's more expensive than Inspiron but still much cheaper than those made-in-japan counterparts...

brother,i am selling notebook la
jamezco
post Mar 25 2006, 03:59 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

william ... you only sell fujitsu ?
lucifah
post Mar 25 2006, 06:02 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Mar 25 2006, 12:22 AM)
brother,i am selling notebook la
yes you are...

and i'm a longtime lappie user

as a seller, u may recommend laptops that will give u the most profit margin. and acer doesn't give good margin. dell? direct from the manufacturer wink.gif so i know why fujitsu is expensive. wink.gif
Tainted
post Mar 25 2006, 07:58 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 24 2006, 10:41 PM)

Yes.Latitude series is better than inspiron.
julchin_09
post Mar 26 2006, 02:23 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Lattitude also more pricey. Anyway I have a critique on DELL Inspiron 700/710 model. = Keyboard too small and too near touchpad, few USB 2.0 ports, port arrangements could have been better.
Wolfgard
post Mar 26 2006, 02:35 PM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

Personally, I think the only two cost effective (without compromising performance or quality *cough* Ftec *cough*) are Dells and Acers. For the same performance spec, low/mid end Acers are cheaper but as you move to the higher spec'd lappies, Dell beats it.

Although there are some flaws or minor niggles with certain Dell models like trackpad issues, light leakage on LCDs, etc, I think they're worth buying especially if you intend to use your laptop for a long time. Dell's customer service just kicks ass. I couldn't believe it when Dell called me twice just to double check if the laptop I ordered was received in good condition. NOW that's what I call customer service.
julchin_09
post Mar 26 2006, 07:29 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Totally agree with Wolfsgard. They will call you to double check if you complain or request for anything....
kenny_nd
post Mar 26 2006, 08:58 PM

33 posts

IMHO,

Acer
Pros: For a branded lappie it's extremely cheap. The best price against specs comparing other branded lappies.

Cons: Terrible after-sales service. Might wait for weeks for parts to be ordered. Low cost material and components used.

Summary: If you hold an Acer pricelist and go around low yat comparing the price with what you get in Acer against other international brands. I'd say you'll waste your time. But eventually if you've decided to buy an Acer, hope that it doesn't breakdown. Bcoz once sent in to service center, more problems are expected after the service. The casing of an Acer Lappie are prone to cracks after couple of years bcoz of low quality material used. That's how an Acer's price is lower than others coz Acer chooses the lowest cost components. Anyhow depends if you just wanna get a lappie for a period of 3-4 yrs than Acer will give you the most out of your monies worth.

HP/CPQ
Pros: Affordable and reliable. Price against quality. Carries almost full range office setup.

Cons: Breakdown rate considerably high for such a brand. Return time for service still reasonable (around 1-2 weeks).

Summary: The consumer series are almost as affordable as Acer and commercial series are very reliable and robust. If you're setting up a new office or planning to upgrade the office, HP's your choice. They carry notebooks, desktops, printers, scanners, PDAs, Inks, Laserjets, Servers etc etc.

Toshiba
Pros: Experienced. Reliable. Recently considered affordable.

Cons: Toshiba lowered their quality control as to cut cost in order to compete in the price war.

Summary: Not as good as it used to be but still it's a Toshiba. They go back to as far as 386 processor in a lappie! Toshiba new objective is to produce successfull gaming, high end multimedia and Audio Video notebooks.

Fujitsu
Pros: Maintain excellent quality. 1 of the 2 brand that are "made in Japan"

Cons: Prices are steep. Parts are steep. Few service center locations around the globe.

Summary: Highly recommended for middle and top level mangement. Cost of maintenance very high (If after warranty). Very low breakdown rate. Some call Fujitsu "the Mercedes of Notebooks". Executive Design and look.

IBM/Lenovo
Pros: Extremely reliable and durable.

Cons: Terrible style and design.

Summary: IBM/Lenovo takes away all the fancy stuff in their notebooks in order to keep problems to a minimal. Less gadgets/features = Less Failure. Tough rugged material used therefore recommended to ppl who work off-shore, industrial area and etc.

What do you guys think?

patt_sue
post Mar 26 2006, 09:43 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(kenny_nd @ Mar 26 2006, 08:58 PM)
IMHO,

Acer
Pros: For a branded lappie it's extremely cheap. The best price against specs comparing other branded lappies.

Cons: Terrible after-sales service. Might wait for weeks for parts to be ordered. Low cost material and components used.

Summary: If you hold an Acer pricelist and go around low yat comparing the price with what you get in Acer against other international brands. I'd say you'll waste your time. But eventually if you've decided to buy an Acer, hope that it doesn't breakdown. Bcoz once sent in to service center, more problems are expected after the service. The casing of an Acer Lappie are prone to cracks after couple of years bcoz of low quality material used. That's how an Acer's price is lower than others coz Acer chooses the lowest cost components. Anyhow depends if you just wanna get a lappie for a period of 3-4 yrs than Acer will give you the most out of your monies worth.

HP/CPQ
Pros: Affordable and reliable. Price against quality. Carries almost full range office setup.

Cons: Breakdown rate considerably high for such a brand. Return time for service still reasonable (around 1-2 weeks).

Summary: The consumer series are almost as affordable as Acer and commercial series are very reliable and robust. If you're setting up a new office or planning to upgrade the office, HP's your choice. They carry notebooks, desktops, printers, scanners, PDAs, Inks, Laserjets, Servers etc etc.

Toshiba
Pros: Experienced. Reliable. Recently considered affordable.

Cons: Toshiba lowered their quality control as to cut cost in order to compete in the price war.

Summary: Not as good as it used to be but still it's a Toshiba. They go back to as far as 386 processor in a lappie! Toshiba new objective is to produce successfull gaming, high end multimedia and Audio Video notebooks.

Fujitsu

Cons: Prices are steep. Parts are steep. Few service center locations around the globe.

Summary: Highly recommended for middle and top level mangement. Cost of maintenance very high (If after warranty). Very low breakdown rate. Some call Fujitsu "the Mercedes of Notebooks". Executive Design and look.

IBM/Lenovo
Pros: Extremely reliable and durable.

Cons: Terrible style and design.

Summary: IBM/Lenovo takes away all the fancy stuff in their notebooks in order to keep problems to a minimal. Less gadgets/features = Less Failure. Tough rugged material used therefore recommended to ppl who work off-shore, industrial area and etc.

What do you guys think?
great post
well done
madstone
post Mar 26 2006, 09:47 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

kenny
agreed wif ya

so guys, there u are
go get yourself a lappie for those who don't have one
try it test it and feel it

i heard SENQ offered cheaper price oso, check it out la
Tainted
post Mar 26 2006, 10:00 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(kenny_nd @ Mar 26 2006, 09:58 PM)
Fujitsu

What is the other one that is made in Japan?

This post has been edited by Tainted: Mar 26 2006, 10:01 PM
williamngwl
post Mar 26 2006, 11:12 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Mar 26 2006, 10:00 PM)
What is the other one that is made in Japan?
actually few brand is assembly in japan like fujitsu,toshiba,sony,panasonic,nec..and selling in japanese market.normally we will get only china assembly machine like toshiba,nec due to the local market.but for fujitsu,sony,panasonic they will still import from japan cause of the brand well known with the quaility.so they will rather import from japan instead of china.
TSAbangCorp
post Mar 27 2006, 11:13 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Mar 26 2006, 11:12 PM)
actually few brand is assembly in japan like fujitsu,toshiba,sony,panasonic,nec..and selling in japanese market.normally we will get only china assembly machine like toshiba,nec due to the local market.but for fujitsu,sony,panasonic they will still import from japan cause of the brand well known with the quaility.so they will rather import from japan instead of china.
i worked at electrical appliances shop before

quality is also affected by where the unit/notebook built and the labour motivation to fully commit on their work.

In china, the product quality was the worst except sony. looks like sony have stringent their qc qa so the low wages labour would maintain within their expectation and yes they acheived it.

In malaysia, very2 good in quality such as samsung, panasonic, pensonic

in korea and japan also shows a very good reputation on qc and qa. Namely samsung (some), LG

so if u want to buy something, please check made in _____
dont be lied by designed in _______

not all places have good product quality assurance even in popular places across the globe

This post has been edited by AbangCorp: Mar 27 2006, 01:18 PM
jamezco
post Mar 27 2006, 02:38 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

so toshiba is made in china yeh ? die la like tat ....

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0171sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:44 AM