14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing thread v11, fish fish fish

rorytate
post Jan 24 2013, 04:47 PM

The groupon deal is without LM (Lifetime Map) support...
rorytate
post Jan 26 2013, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Jan 24 2013, 05:40 PM)
yeah bro .. still at work
getting off in half an hour ... family needs to get out of the house

thanks, rory ... what is LM support?
does MFM/MSM qualify as evildonkey mentioned?
as far as i can from gloming forums, any compatible hardware will do and MFM is updated regularly .. just depends on individual needs
that seems to be the entry level unit ... nuvi 40/40LM
would love to get the one with the in-car cam ... but $$$$
Bro ED and Bro Cheong,

Yes it is true that MFM/MSM does provide the map support to Garmin. But to many end user who does not do the update themselves, then it is difficult to learn or less computer literate type smile.gif

Another angle to look at, MSM/MFM one day may close down, but not likely Garmin rite? biggrin.gif

The in car cam, i would not recommend. Tho it has awesome features on GPS recording, but it's like buying a cow for a pint of milk smile.gif

I rather you guys get the Montana series... lagi powerful. Can use on road, off road, in marine, 4x4, cycling, super bikes, ATV and mostly all outdoors... the only set back is - tarak fishfinder...!!
rorytate
post Jan 26 2013, 09:56 AM

Bro Kelvin,
fit curado G series?

care to bring tomorrow? I'll give it a test
rorytate
post Jan 26 2013, 10:15 AM

Which model are you referring to bro?
rorytate
post Jan 28 2013, 10:27 PM

Hi all Anglers,

Obtained the bearing from Bro WWW today. The bearing is rated at ABEC7 SiC bearings in short, ceramic bearings.

Below are my test and review.

Reel: Shimano Curado 200G6
Spool: with 15lb line approx 100-m
Modification: Fine tuning and drag upgraded

Standard bearing: 30 seconds
Boka bearing with rubber: 34 seconds
Boka bearing without rubber: 40 seconds
Boka bearing without rubber + lube: 27 seconds

Finding the time kind of interesting tho. The orange rubber seal actually touches the inner roller and how come it's faster versus without orange rubber seal,it became slower.

Funnily enough, i realised that the Boka bearing without rubber and lubricated can sustain a high RPM within 10 seconds. Once it's reaching 10 seconds, i could hear the spool slowing down as if there is certain light resistance on the shaft.

My conclusion:
I could not explain why the bearing is slower, particularly when it's basically skeletal.

The bearing sustaining at high RPM for the first 10 seconds probably due to the weight of the bearing which is actually lighter compared to stainless steel bearings. Which also explains the quick start/ease of starting the bearing rotation, instead of a heavier bearing.

Looking at the bright side, how often or who can actually cast for 10 seconds before the lure drops into the H2O? Having such sustain of high RPM for the first 10 seconds, could actually explains why we are able to hit further distance with such bearing upgrade! For a RM40 upgrade parts, it is easily upgraded and inexpensive to replace smile.gif

Well, that's my take... what's your take or comments? smile.gif
rorytate
post Jan 29 2013, 09:56 AM

Daiwa oil... RUle of Thumb: Bearing--> Oil, Gears-->grease

there's few types you can consider

Shimano oil, abu oil, zpi F0, Qplus silicone treated....

Many types tho, i usually depends on the method i'm gonna fish and lube accordingly.

If i'm gonna be doing jigging where casting are not required, mostly, i'll be greasing either with QPlus gel grease or slap it with Yamaha blue grease(which is meant for outboard engine)

If casting is required in saltwater, i'll be lightly greasing similar to above. Only that above would be lots more where i'll remove the bearing shield and slap the a whole content in.

If fresh water casting, then oiling as usual. If you may fish in rapids and arsenals may get wet, then i'll oil it slightly more, rather than a drop.

Well, that's just my preference.

Regular casting, be it lightly oiled or slightly more - it does not effect much on my distance anyway....
rorytate
post Jan 29 2013, 10:06 AM

Let's see if Bro WWW would be bringing in the other sizes or not... smile.gif

Bro WWW,
The size for MGX is at 3x10x4 (sideplate) : 5x11x4 (spool)

The size for Daiwa is at 3x8x4 (sideplate) : 5x11x4 (spool)

I reckon to get 10x of 5x11x4 (which can be paired with your current bearing inventory) and 5x of 3x8x4 (which could be paired with the 5x11x4)

What say you? smile.gif

Am quite sure a few of the MasterBaiter(caster) here would not mind to give it a try.. biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Jan 29 2013, 01:22 PM

Many thanks Bro WWW,
Looking forward to the parts!! biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Feb 7 2013, 10:54 AM

nice one
rorytate
post Feb 7 2013, 11:04 AM

anyone interested in building their own rods??

Just got a blank for myself, just thinking if anyone would like to learn, i dont mind to guide.. smile.gif
rorytate
post Feb 8 2013, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(vince316 @ Feb 7 2013, 11:18 AM)
When are you having classes..... how much does a normal one costs ?
Practically it would be at my place ler... and there's no charges involved. More towards the knowledge nia.
rorytate
post Feb 8 2013, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Feb 7 2013, 12:17 PM)
'normal' is very subjective given there are categories
eg purpose, brand, material, range, strength, length, type
as in luring, cranking, bottom, casting, trolling, fly
yamaga, mudhole, daiwa, shimano, etc, etc, etc
fibreglass, composite, graphite, resin formulae
PE or lb range, max or best drag rating ... take your pick
1pc, 2pc, multi pc ... the list goes on ... you get the idea

so, what is 'normal' ? biggrin.gif
Bro Acheong,
you are right on the spot!! biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Feb 8 2013, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(chun @ Feb 7 2013, 02:04 PM)
p. indah?  not sure ler... somewhere in bangi got ler... not sure if u referring to this?

http://www.fishingkopitiam.com/index.php?topic=135.0
Heard someone told me to go there, but deploy boat and thruster then cruise, casting trolling along the banks.. smile.gif
rorytate
post Feb 8 2013, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Feb 7 2013, 12:23 PM)
thank you very much, rory
would love to take you up on the offer

time ... and i'm all thumbs when it comes to finer stuff
Great!!

I was just hoping to share and show to fellow anglers how a rod is being built and of course with all the consideration in hand... smile.gif

Fellow anglers,
These are the questions that you may need to answer TO YOURSELF before building a rod smile.gif

1. What type of rod? Casting/jigging/surf/spinning
- Casting rod: Graphite construction, thin wall, light weighted, length, type of action, fast, slow, mid
- Jigging rod: what is the PE that is required, length, type of jigging performed, long stroke, short, speed, size of reel
etc...etc...etc...
2. What is your budget for the rod blank?
3. How much time can you spare for making this blank on daily basis.
4. Then the rest flow of step by step would be varied due to personal requirements

As for the accessories, it's not ex too.
EVA handle: RM25 1strip of 1.5ft as i recalled
Reel seat: RM25
Guides: Taiwan SIC RM100 Fuji SIC RM350 Fuji LowRider SIC RM450+
Wrapping thread: RM15~20 each color
Epoxy: RM75 but i reckon sharing as you dont use much of the epoxy

The prices above are for reference only.

Tools required:
1. Drill
2. Sand paper
3. Empty box
4. Dictionary/phone book
5.10cc Syringe x2

DISCLAIMER: This method is not the best method and it would be a spinning hand tired spinning the threads onto the guides. There are no automation parts here, except for the drill and drying motor. This is the most basic way of rod building. smile.gif

rorytate
post Feb 8 2013, 03:38 PM

Bro 1D,
Bring this lure in please...... biggrin.gif rclxms.gif drool.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

rorytate
post Feb 14 2013, 01:15 PM

nice...

caught where? smile.gif
rorytate
post Feb 15 2013, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(chun @ Feb 14 2013, 02:59 PM)
Here's more poison... tongue.gif  back in Dec 2011... the last I went cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  last year whole year didn't go liao...

Heard rumors that they might be closing soon cry.gif  cry.gif .... dunno how true.... better quick quick plan plan liao

Quick quick plan bro!!

The next round i'm heading north would be cheng beng...
rorytate
post Feb 15 2013, 12:22 PM

satu kali kasi trip loh... biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Feb 18 2013, 09:59 AM

RM0.60 leader line... tongue.gif
rorytate
post Feb 18 2013, 11:18 AM

There's this Okamoto brand one... Alpha(as in alpha logo)-Ex...

Not too bad and soft.. smile.gif

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:10 PM