ipod nano got scratches!, how to get rid of it?

TStchiaming
post Mar 19 2006, 03:05 AM, updated 20y ago

incubus
1,039 posts

how can i get rid of the scratches? rclxub.gif
can i use a polish like the ones they use for the car? sweat.gif
hehe....
pls help! icon_question.gif
RoxyMunky
post Mar 19 2006, 03:10 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

u din read mags meh??? ipod nano is prone to scratches.... sweat.gif
1zR4eL
post Mar 19 2006, 03:43 AM

1,852 posts

toss it into the dustbin then buy new one lol, i dont think you can get rid of the scrathes
RoxyMunky
post Mar 19 2006, 03:48 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(1zR4eL @ Mar 19 2006, 03:43 AM)
toss it into the dustbin then buy new one lol, i dont think you can get rid of the scrathes
that's almost 1k to throw away ipod nano.... ouch... it hurts man... tongue.gif
michaelfoo
post Mar 19 2006, 09:26 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 19 2006, 03:10 AM)
The best thing about iPod is that they produce expensive silicone case for you to "protect" your iPod, but when you insert your iPod into the silicone case and take it out, you'll notice the silicone case has added many scratches on your iPod, cool, isn't it? rclxms.gif

That's what happened to my Nano whistling.gif
geejun2
post Mar 19 2006, 10:46 AM

ipod-freak
951 posts

erm.. if u go thru some old post, there was a thread teaching u guys to clear the scratches... one will be using brasso..
hehehe

protect it with a good protective cover then it is SAFE

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by geejun2: Mar 19 2006, 10:47 AM
geejun2
post Mar 19 2006, 10:47 AM

ipod-freak
951 posts

QUOTE(michaelfoo @ Mar 19 2006, 09:26 AM)
The best thing about iPod is that they produce expensive silicone case for you to "protect" your iPod, but when you insert your iPod into the silicone case and take it out, you'll notice the silicone case has added many scratches on your iPod, cool, isn't it?  rclxms.gif

That's what happened to my Nano  whistling.gif
erm... wad case u use? so far the iskin has been fantastic!!
kb2005
post Mar 19 2006, 10:48 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 19 2006, 03:10 AM)
I think that is very very deep scratch. doh.gif
geejun2
post Mar 19 2006, 10:51 AM

ipod-freak
951 posts

deep scratches????
on urs?
TStchiaming
post Mar 19 2006, 11:15 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

i've read the forum b4... i know can get scratches easily... but somehow also will kena wan mah... damn heart pain when i saw the scratches...
so i wanna get rid of it la... but i don't know how... that's y i'm asking around loh! haha...
btw, i did use the silicon case... but it's the screen that's been scratched!
lgs
post Mar 19 2006, 01:22 PM

Certified Noob
2,374 posts

screen??

buy screen protector lah ..yoh.
geejun2
post Mar 19 2006, 01:23 PM

ipod-freak
951 posts

huh.. use silicone case n kena scratched? omg wad case u use?

THTgadgets.com
post Mar 19 2006, 01:43 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(geejun2 @ Mar 19 2006, 01:23 PM)
huh.. use silicone case n kena scratched? omg wad case u use?
Must be due to massive drop or something like that... The best thing to do is to change the casing and get something more durable, like the rubber casing that i got for my pink iPod mini (the previous one)... As for my current silver mini, its protected by the plastic, transparent casing that came with the unit (second-hand, btw)...

Btw, u should see my pink one... The scratches are lagi kau-kau and most obvious on the back of the unit! But not to worry, despite the scratches, quality matters and if the sound/display/playability is not affected, the unit is still considered fine!
michaelfoo
post Mar 19 2006, 09:55 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(geejun2 @ Mar 19 2006, 10:47 AM)
erm... wad case u use? so far the iskin has been fantastic!!
Can't recall what brand is that but I bought it for RM89 at the Mac Centre in Midvalley.

Never mind, since the scratch is already there, there is no use for me to change to another protector. Best of all, just wrap it with the silicone case 24x7 and don't take it out so I can't see the scratches afterall, lol thumbup.gif

knumskul
post Mar 20 2006, 12:54 AM

784 posts

scratch the whole layer off. then won't have anymore scratches, only the screen will be thinner. tongue.gif
TStchiaming
post Mar 20 2006, 11:04 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

huh? scratch the whole layer off? wat u talking? then got more scratches rite???
wat u use to remove the layer so nicely?
INFeRNO
post Mar 21 2006, 01:23 AM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

I don't know why so many people complain about scratches on their nano. God knows what the hell they're doing to it. My nano has 0 scratches on it, and I've never applied any sort of proctection. It usually lives in my jeans pocket.
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 22 2006, 01:47 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Not bad lah u inferno... U really know how to take good care of your ipod, my man! smile.gif
TStchiaming
post Mar 22 2006, 06:17 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

doh.gif
i need help here la guys... pls stop posting if u're not helping... thanks! biggrin.gif

THTgadgets.com
post Mar 23 2006, 11:06 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Tchiaming, i think you'd better find out more info from the guys at the applecenter... At least they can help you with suggestions or products to remove the scratches...
eusioxn
post Mar 24 2006, 01:51 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

Watch this baby!

oh yea!
TStchiaming
post Mar 24 2006, 09:56 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

holy shit! u drill ur nano or wat la??? shakehead.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif

and i presume u dun give a shit on how to clear those scratches?

damn power wei u.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Keinn
post Mar 25 2006, 12:10 AM

123 posts

omg..... tht is a wasteeee
eusioxn
post Mar 25 2006, 12:19 AM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

err.......another pics of this ipod nano!

oh yea baby!
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 25 2006, 12:24 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wah lau eh shocking.gif ! How come the condition of these two iPods are so cham 1?

Like dat means both units are virtually condemned in terms of appearance lah... shakehead.gif
Enigmatic
post Mar 25 2006, 12:28 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Oh GOD NO!!!! WHAT HAPPENED?? NO MAN!! I AM GONNA HAVE NIGHTMARES!!
Your nano dude? Or just some pics on the net?
TStchiaming
post Mar 25 2006, 12:39 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

eh! that nano still working ar? looks like rosak d la!
tifosi
post Mar 25 2006, 12:51 AM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

is some pic from net..saw it sometimg ago where this bunch of ppl do a durability test on it...
eusioxn
post Mar 25 2006, 02:16 AM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

ya from net, review say quite good. wanna see the review on ipod nano?

here:
http://arstechnica.com/reviews/hardware/nano.ars/1

i think it's on page 3 or 2, try see the review, test for durability, good, they even open and see whats inside ipod nano, interesting! the most funny things is, they use car go over ipod nano, lolz. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by eusioxn: Mar 25 2006, 02:19 AM
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 25 2006, 02:44 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wah... That must be amongst the toughest durability test undertaken on any gadget!
eusioxn
post Mar 26 2006, 01:27 AM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Mar 25 2006, 02:44 PM)
Wah... That must be amongst the toughest durability test undertaken on any gadget!
indeed yes, they tested almost everything even open it. great job. rclxms.gif
TStchiaming
post Mar 26 2006, 01:38 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

yup... great job!

but did they say anything that might clean those scratches??? hehe...
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 26 2006, 11:47 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wow, that means the iPod is such a small gadget but with superb durability! thumbup.gif

But just like what tchiaming asked, are there any products that can remove scratches, not just from ipods but also things like laptops, PDAs, cellphones etc?
eusioxn
post Mar 27 2006, 05:06 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

still have no idea yet, hopefully there's a solution to remove the scratches~
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 28 2006, 12:07 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Yup, if such a product were to really be avail. in the market, it will be one of the most sought-after items!
eusioxn
post Mar 28 2006, 12:26 AM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Mar 28 2006, 12:07 AM)
Yup, if such a product were to really be avail. in the market, it will be one of the most sought-after items!
agree!
techdroid
post Apr 2 2006, 11:34 PM

62 posts

hey guys, what kind of screen protector you use on your nano huh? where to get? just got my nano, so kinda new to this.
aaronchin
post Apr 3 2006, 08:12 AM

251 posts

I've been using iPods since the very first generation and I've never used a case to protect any of my babies. I say just enjoy the damn thing and don't worry about getting scratches. You're not gonna use it forever anyway.

But if you really get so freaked out with scratches and all, you might want to check out the iCleaner. And for those of you who've been thinking about getting a nano but kind of worried about the scratch proneness, you might want to get the iPod nano from JR.com, it's painted with X2 scratch-resistant liquid plastic coating.

Cheers.
eusioxn
post Apr 3 2006, 06:18 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

QUOTE(aaronchin @ Apr 3 2006, 08:12 AM)
I've been using iPods since the very first generation and I've never used a case to protect any of my babies. I say just enjoy the damn thing and don't worry about getting scratches. You're not gonna use it forever anyway.

But if you really get so freaked out with scratches and all, you might want to check out the iCleaner. And for those of you who've been thinking about getting a nano but kind of worried about the scratch proneness, you might want to get the iPod nano from JR.com, it's painted with X2 scratch-resistant liquid plastic coating.

Cheers.
hmmmm where can i get icleaner?
TStchiaming
post Apr 4 2006, 01:30 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(eusioxn @ Apr 3 2006, 06:18 PM)
hmmmm where can i get icleaner?
yeah... where can we get that? is it available in malaysia?
geejun2
post Apr 4 2006, 08:33 AM

ipod-freak
951 posts

erm..
icleaner ar.. hahahah
some spark jus went offf
eusioxn
post Apr 4 2006, 06:52 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

where can get icleaner??? blink.gif
rayzrblade
post Apr 4 2006, 07:35 PM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

y dont u guys just put it in a silicon case or any other protective case and dont even take it out anymore. then u wont know whether its scratched or not. Or just go and skin ur nano. that should do it.

last time i used to protect my ipod 20g 4G with the silicon thing for almost a year..that thing makes it looks and feels fatter of course. so one day i wasnt happy with it and i just remove it and never to use again. today my ipod 4G is filled with scratches and i dont care coz i got my nano.hehe
geejun2
post Apr 5 2006, 09:37 PM

ipod-freak
951 posts

QUOTE(eusioxn @ Apr 4 2006, 06:52 PM)
where can get icleaner??? blink.gif
look at www.icleaner.com
rather expensive though...

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Apr 4 2006, 07:35 PM)
y dont u guys just put it in a silicon case or any other protective case and dont even take it out anymore. then u wont know whether its scratched or not. Or just go and skin ur nano. that should do it.

last time i used to protect my ipod 20g 4G with the silicon thing for almost a year..that thing makes it looks and feels fatter of course. so one day i wasnt happy with it and i just remove it and never to use again. today my ipod 4G is filled with scratches and i dont care coz i got my nano.hehe
hahaha.. poor ipod... u dun wan then giv me mah... ipod 4g=collectors item liau.. dun need torture it.. so cruel....
anyway, the silicone skin really protects... as for it being fat.. I dun really mind cos it is my precious...
hhehee .. anyway, the nano skins now are really slimm... 1mm nia
eBola
post Apr 6 2006, 04:45 PM

blah
1,928 posts

sandpaper it. go from low grit to high grit. finish off with car polish or soemthing.

if you really need to ask about things like these, which can easily be googled, you shouldnt even own a nano (or any other ipod for that matter) in the first place. heh.
=o.0=/kua/11
post Apr 6 2006, 04:52 PM

834 posts

LOL sand paper meh ? didnt scratch the ipod mer ?
eBola
post Apr 6 2006, 05:22 PM

blah
1,928 posts

i guess you cant understand the term 'sarcasm' very well, ey?
geejun2
post Apr 8 2006, 02:49 AM

ipod-freak
951 posts

ermm...
do u really need to be tht sarcastic?
LOL....

TStchiaming
post Apr 10 2006, 05:54 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

btw, i did some checking d... i don;t think we can find icleaner in malaysia!
eusioxn
post Apr 10 2006, 06:59 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

QUOTE(tchiaming @ Apr 10 2006, 05:54 PM)
btw, i did some checking d... i don;t think we can find icleaner in malaysia!
indeed.
satish87
post Apr 10 2006, 08:52 PM

96 posts

haha....i just got my iskin...so i decided to try to remove some of the scratches on my nano before i but the skin on....

i tried a few products on a cd.....toothpaste, brasso, and some car polish

the brasso seemed to work the best on the cds...so i decided to give it a go on my nano

i started on the back...well it made the shinney metal shine more....i then applied it on the front....

i look at it now and think that i made it a little worst...lol...but its hard to see
TStchiaming
post Apr 10 2006, 09:53 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(satish87 @ Apr 10 2006, 08:52 PM)
haha....i just got my iskin...so i decided to try to remove some of the scratches on my nano before i but the skin on....

i tried a few products on a cd.....toothpaste, brasso, and some car polish

the brasso seemed to work the best on the cds...so i decided to give it a go on my nano

i started on the back...well it made the shinney metal shine more....i then applied it on the front....

i look at it now and think that i made it a little worst...lol...but its hard to see
holy crap! thanks for this post man! haha.. i wanted to try that myself! thank god i didnt! laugh.gif

eusioxn
post Apr 10 2006, 10:23 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

wowowo,,,,that a good sharing. don do it on ur ipod!!
bartimaeus
post Apr 11 2006, 10:05 PM

20 posts

i dont have an ipod but here are some links from digg.com that might help som of u
http://www.angelfire.com/planet/pod/
http://todd.dailey.info/archives/2005/09/2...-can-of-brasso/
TStchiaming
post Apr 11 2006, 11:55 PM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(bartimaeus @ Apr 11 2006, 10:05 PM)
i dont have an ipod but here are some links from digg.com that might help som of u
http://www.angelfire.com/planet/pod/
http://todd.dailey.info/archives/2005/09/2...-can-of-brasso/
hey! thanks for the info man.. very good read...
but according to satish87, he used a brasso but he didnt manage to clear the scratches!
n btw, wat is iklear? can we get it? according to that article.. he used iklear to clean his ipods... smile.gif
earthkid
post Apr 13 2006, 02:59 PM

muggs rocks
970 posts

ei gee jun...bring in something dat can get rid of scratches...i'm a rough user..my ipod is like me...full of scratches all around...i was thinking since it's that cacated already..maybe i should consider doing some scratch metal effect on its back...so it won't look that ugly...
Voonz
post Apr 14 2006, 09:18 PM

701 posts

hi huys
may i know where did u all bought ur brasos?
i tried harvey norman, ace hardware and OU but still coundt find it
Criptonox89
post Apr 16 2006, 04:29 PM

2,792 posts

haha...now the iskin is ON.....ntg to scare.....every ipod user get the iskin~!! u won't regret with that~!
THTgadgets.com
post Apr 18 2006, 02:17 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hmmm, the brasso thingy is interesting as a CD-protector... Where can i get it and how much does it cost?

But i think the iSkin is cool... It should be like an outer layer to the iPod that helps absorb hard landings and scratches, don't u think?

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Apr 18 2006, 02:18 PM
satish87
post Apr 18 2006, 08:55 PM

96 posts

brasso is a common thing...i think if u go to any hardware shop can find
eusioxn
post Apr 20 2006, 02:06 PM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

brasso, great review there. thanks.