Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL Official Thread, 5", 4core, 2GBram, 13mp, LTE, waterproof

mcchin
post Jan 22 2013, 07:23 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Jan 22 2013, 05:48 PM)
Look at how many times he hit lumia and 3310,totally unfair
QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 22 2013, 05:50 PM)
tis is a cut out, there is a complete version somewhere  laugh.gif
actually
if you see
the 3310 broke the hammer
what the dude is holding is just the wooden handle

the hammer head is disintegrated whistling.gif
mcchin
post Jan 28 2013, 10:41 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jan 28 2013, 08:48 PM)
i dunno why and how they rate it at ip55/ip57 ? that only two IP rating (code), is the first and second digit only, that is no IP 55 for dust and ip 57 for liquid .... is really miss leading ..
Errr...

let me try explain what you wanna say

IP Rating = Ingress Protection rating

it consist of 2 numerals

the first (5 here) means "Limited dust ingress protection"
while the second (5 or 7) means:

5 = low pressure water jets from any direction
7 = Immersion between 15cm and 1m depth

so it will means that
IP55 is a rating that will be dust resistant and resist water penetrate from low pressure source
IP57 is a rating that will be dust resistant and resist water penetrate from immersion of 0.15-1.0 meter

not really misleading
as the first numeral is a resistant to solids
while the 2nd is towards liquid
mcchin
post Jan 29 2013, 07:49 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jan 29 2013, 12:31 AM)
so what those that means of ip55/ip 57.
if ip 55 means
5=  low pressure water jets from any direction
5= Water jets  Water projected by a nozzle (6.3 mm) against enclosure from any direction shall have no harmful effects.

btw u don't see any gadget with 2 ip rating or four digit rating ....
no
you got it wrong

the first number is always means a rating for solids

so the IP55 means limited resistant to dust + low pressure water jets from any direction

and the IP57 = Limited resistant to dust (since it has passed) + immersion between 15cm and 1m depth

http://www.sensorsone.co.uk/ip-rating-checker.html

mcchin
post Jan 29 2013, 11:42 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jan 29 2013, 09:57 AM)
yah so the phone is  low pressure water jets from any direction + immersion between 15cm and 1m depth ? so when u try to claim warranty, they tell you ur phone is IP 55 (status there), so it can't be claim (base on their pressure test, It pass IP 55), how ?

u don't understand my question, there is no gadget come with two rating ....
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jan 29 2013, 10:01 AM)
issit ? show me which line showing a gadget with two rating ?
that possible they they show IP5X/IPx7 but not showing ip55/ip57, cause during warranty claim, they will do pressure test, if base on IP 55 pressure test, we all screw ...
err..
for me to claim warranty
means there is an issue with the phone (physically seen water mark or something)
so it is up to them whether the issue is product defect or user

they cant "screw" people by saying the phone passed certain test rating, and return a physically obvious defect phone to user

plus, I believe the rating means the phone passed both rating test

if I understand the test
immersion is not the same as water spray (all direction)

being passed one does not equal it will pass the other

so when sony claim both rating
it just mean the phone will pass both rating

mcchin
post Jan 31 2013, 01:01 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

this is gonna by my aim for my first smart phone

being using SE (W550 -> W595 -> W550)

but I will feel that the cons of this phone will be the batt life
however good stamina mode is, the limitation would still be 2400mAh

lucky I have a 4400mAh power pack ready
glossy black some more ... drool.gif
mcchin
post Jan 31 2013, 04:34 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 31 2013, 04:22 PM)
hehe  laugh.gif  , do it for fun, since it still about a month till the phone xperia z is launced.. biggrin.gif
a month hor...
really am a bit peeved that they don't sell it earlier

in malaysia i think, a lot of people tend to do impulse buy during cny
(i'm one of those laugh.gif )

dunno this infatuation feeling can withstand for one/two months... rclxub.gif
mcchin
post Feb 4 2013, 11:41 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

what I dun understand with ppl crying about the pricing

All i see with the HTC Butterfly (nearest HD phone comparison)
cost 2299 RRP?

so can anybody give me the cons of xperia z compared to the butterfly
since a lot of you guys seems to think that the Z should cost lower
So just list out what is lacking in the Z to warrant a lower RRP selling price'

edit : shitty keyboard

This post has been edited by mcchin: Feb 4 2013, 11:46 AM
mcchin
post Feb 4 2013, 12:25 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 4 2013, 11:46 AM)
+1
Agreed at even RM 2299 is still a good buy. Of course if the rumoured lower price of RM1.9K is true, better for potential buyers
QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2013, 11:47 AM)
Yeah, gotta agree, with the price ard RM2200++ is still a good buy, lower means superb buy edi laugh.gif
It is because the way i see it,
Samsung Note 2 RRP now is 2299 as well as HTC butterfly
They come out in plethora of good phones, and still stuck with the price

I see no way Sony will go down that price range
when the Z bring features yet to be common on the market
- 13MPX cam with HDR video
- Water/Dust resistance
- 1080 display

others can be consider equivalent to the other brand flagship

I can have wishful thinking
but my money keep on staying in the realistic world
so a month or so to reduce spending should helps bump up my savings
mcchin
post Feb 5 2013, 12:48 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(kingvui78 @ Feb 5 2013, 07:26 AM)
open box for pre sale unit from taiwan website
http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/4551/...-z-l36h-review/
QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Feb 5 2013, 09:26 AM)
Even the box size is different from the previous unboxing..

if you scour youtube for the review done by the tech website
the package is exactly what the e-price website shows
simple packaging

i dunno how they obtained and try to sell it
but caveat emptor
mcchin
post Feb 7 2013, 06:17 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Feb 7 2013, 06:05 PM)
Even bullet can't shatter bullet proof glass,how can sand scratch bullet proof glass?
technically a bulletproof (or rather bullet resistant glass) is strong against bullet because of the lamination process
glass is still glass
and with similar composition (SiO2) scratch will happen

anyway
too bad the phone did not released before CNY
no new fon for the new year, stuck with a SE W550i

still

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR LYN forumers icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Feb 7 2013, 06:20 PM
mcchin
post Feb 10 2013, 01:02 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Feb 9 2013, 10:43 PM)
Yup,I do agree that nexus products built quality is not as good as other brand,even nexus 4 compared to iPhone 4s built quality,the iPhone also win in terms of quality,"glass" just make you feel high quality,but actually polycarbonate(not plastic) also can win glass in terms of quality,people said s3 is made of PLASTIC and say its low quality,but I don't understand them
errr
polycarbonate IS a plastic

i think what to properly say is PC is an engineering plastic
while normal people perceived plastic is General purpose like PE, PP or PS

ppl can complain because plastic like PC still exuded plasticky feel
with sg/density of 1.2-1.5 it is still far away from glass 2.4+
thus it is all down to the feel

glass will always exudes a feel of solid/delicate/classy
and to those that say plastic can break easier than glass back
L-o-L ... PC can be less rigid, but a impact from fall does not rely on the rigidness
but rather the toughness of the material, in this case glass does not have
Gorilla glass?, Dragontail? still glass and brittleness better than glass but not going to be equal, much less better than that of Enginnering Plastic compound

QUOTE(Ninja @ Feb 10 2013, 11:24 AM)
NTT Docomo Xperia Z(SO-02E) unboxing:

THIS .....THIS I WANT!!!!!
A box with the dock included, white colour some more drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(lord14383 @ Feb 10 2013, 12:22 PM)
Is it possible to buy Xperia Z japan version in Malaysia?
Irda>.< Even i don't really need that, but it is good to have^^
Have IrDA at the expense of losing LTE support?
not a good trade of I think shakehead.gif

mcchin
post Feb 10 2013, 11:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Feb 10 2013, 10:47 PM)
Meaning this xz got infrared?
Y not using Bluetooth connectivity or wifi ?
i think only japan zperia z have the hardware
mcchin
post Feb 13 2013, 06:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Feb 13 2013, 06:19 PM)

Z's screen looks quite dull.
some say it is because the xperia z using the tft that it will seem washed out in video cam
while samsung with amoled excel there

in real life is different

maybe later when i go, i can see it for my own
a compare between my bother note 2 and the z

mcchin
post Feb 14 2013, 01:43 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

ARRRGGGGHHHHHHH

still 1/2 month to go....

vmad.gif
mcchin
post Feb 17 2013, 03:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Feb 17 2013, 03:23 PM)
Just my 2 cents. You hate programming and maths (your own words), therefore I suppose you find it hard to form a structured search term, so you can't be arsed to perform a proper search and grep or whatever and review and refine your search. So when others tell you to find your own solution and you know you can't find it, you blame others?

If you were paying attention in NON-programming class, you should still understand in general how IT stuff works, and make an educated guess. Well, samsung users talk about custom roms because we have so many. It's like house renovation. We can renovate once a week or whenever new roms come out.

A little reading of some of Freud's key concepts can be somewhat enlightening.

Oh, and sony does not produce the iphone. And jeff10012003 is correct about the search as well.

[attachmentid=3309397]
yes..
but i have to disagree one point there
My brother just got a note two

going into the lyn and try to participate can be daunting

i do wish there is a thread for first beginners like what to do with new set, what apps to install
or how/why/when to use custom roms etc

this kind of info was not on the 1st page
so to search can be laborious

0.0575sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:44 PM