Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL Official Thread, 5", 4core, 2GBram, 13mp, LTE, waterproof

Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 02:13 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 01:46 AM)
i hope they update their kernel version also
the current 1 is 3.4 update 2 new one 3.7  drool.gif
That is for sure , no need to hope for it . 4.1 kernel wouldn't support 4.2 and vice versa unless Sony decided to launch " one kernel to rule them all " ........ Oh wait , Sony users wouldn't understand this term . Paiseh blush.gif
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 02:40 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 02:19 AM)
supported, nexus 7 stuck at kernel 3.0 very long liao  sad.gif
This is suppose to be stock kernel for Nex7 for 4.2.1

Kernel: Linux version 3.1.10-g22b4fcd (android-build@vpbs1.mtv.corp.google.com) (gcc version 4.6.x-google 20120106 (prerelease) (GCC) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Nov 2 10:55:26 PDT 2012

Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 03:31 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 03:06 AM)
oh i tot still 3.08 version, i'm using motley's kernel laugh.gif
latest linux is 3.7 still  sad.gif

faster reach 3.7  drool.gif
And the reason u wan 3.7 is because of ?
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 03:37 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 18 2013, 03:32 AM)
so fast know march selling already eh ?
LOL ..... u r here as well ah ?
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 02:18 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 03:37 AM)
64bit arm n new power management  laugh.gif
shocking.gif

Do u know your phone's hardware is only 32bit ARM ?

oh wait , u do know based on post #1020

yup i knw, but still want new kernel
bcauz of new multi-Rom support

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Jan 18 2013, 02:24 PM
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 02:29 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 02:23 PM)
new arm64bit is coming http://mashable.com/2012/10/30/arm-64-bit-processors/

but wat i mostly want is new power management
n new multirom support  laugh.gif
ya but it's not on Xperia Z or ZL right ? What are the possibilities of them implementing it on XperiaZ if the hardware doesn't support ?

Sorry , I'm a lurker in most threads when I'm free but this thread ........ rclxub.gif

NVM , I thought KULI_ , the green guy was bad . Guess I was wrong . At least all he does is provoke ppl but he do have his knowledge and point to do so .......
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 02:44 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jan 18 2013, 02:28 PM)
that's not what the person i was quoting was saying.

he / she said that AMOLED sucks because its black is too black

how stupid can someone get? its a desirable trait that people are striving to right? check out anandtech and they said blacker screens are better, no?

this is absurd
we r in the wrong thread bro ....... This is a thread where ppl cannot accept the flaws of Xperia series and takes the good stuff of other models and turn it into flaws so Xperia Z will look flawless . Accept it guys aka fanboys , there's no perfect flawless phones out there . When u gain some , u lose some .
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 03:32 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 03:03 PM)
i'm not talking abt official kernel
if u c most of the kernel development r based on official kernel

that mean 3rd party kernel can enable the support of multi-boot  thumbup.gif
like motley http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...5&postcount=395

those dev cannot develop a new kernel version to work with the device
bcauz they don't know the hardware specific stuff  sad.gif
Multi ROM or multi boot ? There is a different , a lot of different ....... From what I know , Motley is multi rom
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 04:23 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jan 18 2013, 04:02 PM)
Man, I wonder why you get kinky when your friend buys a Samsung  whistling.gif

I couldn't resist the remarks that others have made about your postings so I decide to vet through your stuff. Entertaining I must say, although rather tough to comprehend due to your highly truncated style.
So TS, are you confused about Multi-rom and Multi/Dual-Boot?
You clearly stated for "them" ie Sony to release a kernel that supports multi-rom. Then you replied that it is 3rd party kernels that will support multi/dual-boot.

Multi/Dual booting is available for Samsung and HTC. Multi-rom, i don't know what this means, but I conjecture it can be the use of 1 kernel across the flashing of different ROMs since the kernel is separate from the UI and app bits of the rom.

I wonder if you are speaking from the correct orifice.
Multi roms makes thing easier for users n developers . Like Nexus 7 , there is 3G and non 3G version , so developers have to make 2 different kernels that support each . Inexperienced users or worst , lazy to read users will end up flashing the wrong version if not careful . With multi roms , there's only 1 kernel that works with both version . Also u have 4.1.2 and 4.2.1 and both requires different kernel . With multi rom supported , it works for both . That's for Motley's case . IF we look at Siyah's kernel , his multi rom enable users to use his kernel and load AOSP , CM , TW based roms inside . There's is no need 2 flash individual kernels for each rom . It's easier to find a kernel that supports both CM and AOKP as they r much related .

Multi-boot or dual boot for most case , so far on stock , think only XiaoMi has it for stock phone so far . U can keep 2 roms in the phone , selecting which to use upon boot-up . for Xiaomi's case , it has to be another MIUI based rom as well since it's kernel is only for MIUI . For custom kernel , again Siyah has it 2 , keeping 2 different rom in the phone eg CM10 and AOKP . There is another developer who based his work on Siyah and made a triple boot for it . Not many developers has this features as u need a kernel that can support the different ROM based .

Not only u get confused , I also get confused . He's like asking them to update it to 3.7 as it's referring to Sony when they update their phone to 4.2.1 . If its custom kernel , I'm sure the developers will use it even if it's 4.1.2 if they see fit .

This post has been edited by Noobi3: Jan 18 2013, 04:35 PM
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 04:48 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 04:39 PM)
i think i clearly explain it ady
multi boot is not available 4 samsung/HTC at 1st, u will need multiboot recovery
thn u will need multi rom kernel also

but it u still don't get it, please do no condemn me
Are u referring to stock or custom ? Cuz u r always not clear when u make a statement hence all the flames u get .
Noobi3
post Jan 18 2013, 05:04 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 18 2013, 04:56 PM)
custom,i assume most ppl who deal with android knw  laugh.gif
if i were to make everything clear it would be waste of my time

also not every1 will read it, i even include link tat show differences of oled n lcd technology
yet still got ppl ignore it, still claim oled superior in every aspect
n try to hide his prejudice condemn by claiming he is sony fan
Yet not everyone is willing to root and flash custom kernel , I assume u know that since rooting void warranty . Why are u making assumptions for custom kernels for a device that have yet to be launched ? Also , if u r a flasher , u should notice XDA's Sony thread is not very popular with little development compared to others .

0.0184sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:14 PM