Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL Official Thread, 5", 4core, 2GBram, 13mp, LTE, waterproof

teckyang97
post Jan 17 2013, 11:10 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 17 2013, 11:01 PM)
Cracking is a form of breakage which in short it's damaged. And overheating of phone will never break/crack the glass. Burning it which causes intense heat is another story.

Now, I hope I have been more explicit.
So that was nexus 4 problem right?
teckyang97
post Jan 17 2013, 11:16 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 17 2013, 11:13 PM)
You are asking me? I don't know as I have never looked at Nexus at all thus never gathered any intelligence on it.
Well,at least give your opinion
teckyang97
post Jan 17 2013, 11:40 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jan 17 2013, 11:36 PM)
just take it this way. at the end of the day, glass is still glass which will still break if got hit hard enough or heat or whatever, comparing to other material like plastic. especially if you think about how thin that layer of glass used in handphone... i mean, don't expect it to be unbreakable. as long as it's glass, chances of breakage/cracking will be higher than other material.

so, regardless of what the manufacturer claims on how durable the glass is, always take it with a pinch of salt and handle it with care

just my 2 cents.

ps. bulletproof glass exception la. i think bulletproof glass will not be as thin as in handphone glass..
I mean caused by sudden temperature change like nexus 4,I'm not saying like glass is glass,but just will it break as easily as nexus 4 with sudden temperature change
teckyang97
post Jan 18 2013, 12:12 AM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jan 17 2013, 11:56 PM)
both ckchan and PeeEl have answered your question.
Let me give my attempt to summarize what both of them trying to say, correct me if I am wrong.

Glass is glass, any glass, no matter gorilla, dragontrail, will break.
Bulletproof glass is another matter, but they could break, too.
When you ask about sudden temperature change, think of it like this, when you heat something, and then you pour cold freezing water to it, it will change it's shape right?
same applies to what you're asking.
If both of them or me cannot explain what are you asking, then we are already out of explanation as your question regarding nexus 4, which you really push about the sudden temperature case, carry no story.
Please paste a link of what sudden temperature issue you are talking about.
As we are not using nexus 4, we don't have any hands on, review, news, or even an opinion as to whether or not it is nexus fault, nature's fault or even the user's fault.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Heres-one-more-way-to-crack-the-glass-back-on-the-Google-Nexus-4_id37141
teckyang97
post Jan 20 2013, 09:09 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 20 2013, 09:05 PM)
actually for me, even with Z got that waterproof feature, i wont dare to purposely wash the phone or drop it in a bowl of water for fun.. tongue.gif
Did that with my acro s,why scare?its IMPOSSIBLE for the water to went in if you close tightly
teckyang97
post Jan 20 2013, 10:50 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 20 2013, 10:30 PM)
maybe ur hand too big, i got s3 totally too big 4 me 2 operate it using 1 hand
4.3" even the xperia S, sometime will be a little hard 2 do so
HOW SMALL IS YOUR HAND?
teckyang97
post Jan 20 2013, 11:35 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 20 2013, 11:33 PM)
Bigger than mine,but just don't understand,HOW IS IT TOO BIG,even xperia s also
teckyang97
post Jan 21 2013, 06:43 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jan 21 2013, 06:40 PM)
wow... in terms of technical specification, i have to give samsung credit la. their flagship device always push the current tech to its limits  notworthy.gif

if only they improve on their built quality and design... well, we can't have the best of everything
I don't see anything wrong with built quality and I hate Samsung design too
teckyang97
post Jan 22 2013, 05:48 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 22 2013, 05:44 PM)
inb4 nokia 3310  laugh.gif

Look at how many times he hit lumia and 3310,totally unfair
teckyang97
post Jan 22 2013, 06:26 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jan 22 2013, 06:03 PM)
Definitely ZL hehe. Dont need whatever proofing as all those flaps are annoying lol, and matte back much nicer than glass back imo. Bezel also barely there which makes the phone even smaller than s3!!2MP vs 2.2MP front facing camera is not really a strong point to argue about lol. But this is me la, others might like Z if they want the IP57 rating smile.gif
ZL front camera easily blocked by hand,that's why I don't like
teckyang97
post Jan 28 2013, 03:08 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 28 2013, 10:16 AM)
It will work. My sister tried it with the Xperia Go. The screen is still responsive in water.

I thought you would have seen the demo when Xperia Z was in water?
Are you sure?my acro s screen will never work on water no matter how hard I touch
teckyang97
post Jan 28 2013, 06:53 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 28 2013, 06:48 PM)
Yeap. Not sure what's wrong with your acro s..
ALL capacitive touchscreen will not work under water and already proven,
Source:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitive_sensing
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touchscreen
teckyang97
post Jan 31 2013, 10:32 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Jan 31 2013, 10:17 PM)
Just got back from Queensbay Mall..
Got a bit of Good News...
I went snooping around for information regarding the almighty Z(bear with me on this, I'm currently so happy I'm praising everything) and I went to several shop asking aboiut it..

First is our dear shop, Sony Center.. they tell me, no news, nothing..
Second, I went to Harvey Norman, they tell me it all depend on the purchaser whether they will take this product or not..
3rd,4th,5th,6th is Celcom, Digi, Maxis and SenQ.. all saying nothing..
So almost giving up, I went to buy a 16gb pendrive at a pc shop, and saw they are also selling phones..
I just ask them.. XZ got? they say they don't but why don't u try another shop located somewhere opposite them..
So I went there, the shop name M-Fone and randomly asked the salesman.. firstly he said there are almost no news yet, and he seemed to also want to buy the phone, so I told him of the story of my own addiction to the phone for a while, we chatted, and then he said, have my num card, and give me your num in case if there is any pre-order or news that we have, I will know first..
He gave me his name card , I gave him my number and be on my way..
As I was walking to pay at  autopay, I received a text..
A text that made me jizz my brain...(See Spoiler)

I straight away went back to the shop and met his boss, a chick who actually went to the Sony Training session for XZ..
She showed me A LOT of pic of her and the phone.. I was actually jealous and ask her why didn't she stole the prototype unit and bring back.. she only say she cannot take back, however, she already ask questions which some is already answered in the spoiler image above..
Then I ask, you already know the news,why didn't sony center know? She said, They are merely workers there, and the shop is linked with them..
And the best part, while I was talking with her, she showed me one guy behind her and simply said, this guy is from Sony... I put out my arm and ask for the phone.. tongue.gif
Back to topic...
Things to put in your notification guys!!

1. The phone MIGHT arrive any date in the third week of February
2. The phone WOULD be priced between 1999-2199
3. EXPECTED prototype/demo unit to arrive in to all store in Malaysia is on the 18 or 19

I already place my pre -order with them.. biggrin.gif

Penangites here, let's place our order..  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Nanti kena tipu whistling.gif
teckyang97
post Feb 1 2013, 08:41 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

This or nexus 4?
teckyang97
post Feb 3 2013, 10:52 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Feb 3 2013, 10:28 PM)
By the time this phone launch here, they will be already news on M7 and S4 just around the corner. Will consider after seeing all 3 and decide.
Sure overpriced one la Samsung phones,s3 now still rm1699++
teckyang97
post Feb 4 2013, 12:11 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Feb 4 2013, 11:21 AM)
u pay for the phone+after sales support mar tongue.gif

what for "cheap phone" but after sales service is doh.gif
LYN anything also possible to sell one mah,fake s3 also got people buy
teckyang97
post Feb 5 2013, 07:07 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

Guys,after CNY I will bring in xperia z sp and case
teckyang97
post Feb 5 2013, 07:29 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Feb 5 2013, 07:20 PM)
notworthy.gif
been looking at xda's accesories thread and still could not decide which one i want to buy, there's so much!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2124065
Some of the case is the case I wanted to order
teckyang97
post Feb 7 2013, 06:05 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Feb 7 2013, 05:58 PM)
no lar i mean, no matter how strong is the glass
it will scratched easily with sand, either screen protector or be cautious lor
bcauz once it is scratched dono y 1, my eyes everytime will keep look at the scratch,
it annoy me  laugh.gif like last time with nokia phone

motorola razr is very gooding ler, i like the supreme quality  thumbup.gif
especially the back cover is made of carbon fibre  laugh.gif
Even bullet can't shatter bullet proof glass,how can sand scratch bullet proof glass?
teckyang97
post Feb 9 2013, 04:05 PM

RIP NEXUS 2010-2016
3,516 posts

I think z would be my next phone

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0578sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:53 PM