Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

pikacu
post Sep 25 2020, 04:19 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 7 2020, 12:46 PM)
No. The issue with my father's AX56U is about not being able to get an IP address when you are trying to connect to 5GHz. And I'm not the only one having this issue. Tons of complaints all over the internet

yo. i have Ax56u and I do have this problem. not even merlin know wtf im talking about. disabling WDS didn't do anything apparently.

now im using AX86u and made ax56u as wifi mesh member.

EDIT: LOL its happening also even as ai mesh member, but very less frequent compared when it is as main router. trying out the beta now

This post has been edited by pikacu: Sep 25 2020, 11:16 PM
pikacu
post Sep 25 2020, 04:22 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 25 2020, 10:09 AM)
Hi tudor_kg,

You may try the beta firmware below and feedback to us if you still got the WiFi disconnection.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BlAehhTnXO...rqd09p2iDw/view

Thank you
If my AX56u is a member of wifi mesh, can i use this firmware also?
pikacu
post Sep 25 2020, 11:11 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(thomas1983 @ Sep 25 2020, 07:48 PM)
Dear all sifu ,
Can a Singapore set of Ac88u use as unifi router ?
Afraid the setting is not compatible with msia one
dont think any issue of this. just set vlan id properly under LAN>iptv
pikacu
post Sep 25 2020, 11:37 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(thomas1983 @ Sep 25 2020, 11:27 PM)
You mean setting for the unifi playTV?

this is my setting for Maxis FTTH. should be no difference on Unifi (if on manual).

If your SG set have this preset, maybe can try..never tried it.

pikacu
post Oct 2 2020, 01:58 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(tharmaraj @ Sep 30 2020, 09:36 AM)
I'm also using the same beta and so far no issues. Previously I have reported I'm loosing connection to my 5G connection and my WIFI is setup as smart connect.
better disable Smart Connect. switching bands from 5Ghz <> 2.4Ghz is like connecting to new ssid..hence connection will drop and connect back again.
pikacu
post Oct 19 2020, 10:18 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Oct 19 2020, 02:40 PM)
thank ASUSmy.

this firmware did solved the connection issue.
However, now I can't watch Hypptv. it says can't find network.
i am sure the port 4 is connected as it showed speed from asus router page.
this seems like vlan tagging not working
pikacu
post Nov 9 2020, 08:59 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

ASUSmy any timeline when new fw for AX56u gonna release?
pikacu
post Nov 21 2020, 06:14 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 19 2020, 03:44 PM)
hi asus, recently i bought a new RT-AX55, and went thru the setup for my unifi home. Everything works fine, except for the hypptv. I tried selecting the preset "unifi home", "unifi business", both also doesn't seems to work. I also tried manual vlan id 600, and still doesn't seems to work, can you assist me on the mentioned matter?
isnt unifi vlan 500?
pikacu
post Dec 24 2023, 03:06 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

gonna give a shot here

i am using Asus RT AX86U and having problem exactly described here; intermittent packet loss: https://www.reddit.com/r/HomeNetworking/com...n_asus_rtax86u/

I compared this with unifi stock wifi6 router, there are no intermittent packet loss (but the wifi strength..is bad)

there a suggestion on parting away between power cable and network cable due to suspicion of interference. my power cable and network cable are away between each other.
pikacu
post Dec 24 2023, 01:53 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 24 2023, 11:38 AM)
Saw a comment similar to this on my portal and I'll just reply to it here

RT-AX86U is a very stable ASUS model and things like this shouldn't happen. Anyways, try changing your MTU / MRU to 1480.

ASUS default MTU/MRU is 1492 and might not play well with some TM modem.

Have you tried to perform a hard reset of your router?
https://www.asus.com/my/support/FAQ/1039074
yup that was me. thanks for replying here!

I;ve already change MTU/MRU to 1452 on my AX86u, still same symptom as 1492 MTU/MRU.
is hardware defect is a possibility? I've swapped WAN port from default to 2.5Gb port but the result still the same..

hard reset, no I never do that yet. Should I do it?
pikacu
post Dec 26 2023, 02:07 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 25 2023, 11:51 AM)
MTU 1452 is kinda low though althought it should cause your issue as well.

Try the hard reset method and do a basic initial setup without anything else enbaled on the router and see if the issue is still hapening
done hard reset and did minimum setup (vpn+adguard dns+hdcp reserve).

for 3 hours monitoring on pingplotter, it looks good (not at home, so cant do intensive test yet)

will perform full test later tonight before adding in wifi-imesh
pikacu
post Dec 26 2023, 11:09 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

to my shock, rock stable even after wifi0mesh added in. what the heck happened lol..

glad it is solved without buying new wifi router sweat.gif
pikacu
post Dec 29 2023, 05:40 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 28 2023, 10:30 PM)
Okay so yesterday i set the AC86U wifi channel to fixed (see youtube says setup aimesh need fixed channel?) and then suspected that might caused the router to crash so i set it back to auto channel.
Until now its 1 day uptime no crash anymore.

But another weird thing is my phone sometimes only get IPv6 from the AC55 node and internet does not work when that happen.
Is it turn off IPv6 from the AC86U? I did not setup anything in AC55 during aimesh setup.
this seems like there are 2 dhcp provider in your network

0.0939sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:38 AM