Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

ntw
post Apr 6 2020, 06:59 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

Hi I'm have the following setup using the RT-AC67U (AiMesh) but having frequent disconnection to stream from PC to TV box. The AiMesh nodes are connected via WiFi.

First floor: Modem<->AC67u<->TV Box (lan)
Second floor: AC67u<-->PC (lan)

I am streaming files about 1GB in size and it stopped playing every 5-10min. Any possible root cause and how to troubleshoot?

This post has been edited by ntw: Apr 6 2020, 07:13 PM
ntw
post Apr 7 2020, 10:45 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Apr 7 2020, 09:55 AM)
Hi ntw,

The problem only happen when streaming from PC? If streaming online, will this problem occur?

Is the Internet still working when the TV stop streaming?

And may I know what is your firmware version?

Thank you
Thanks for the quick response.

Streaming online no issue. Internet is still working on both the PC and the TV box, just streaming content from PC to the TV box will disconnect after a few minutes. Firmware version 3.0.0.4.385_20253
ntw
post Apr 7 2020, 02:37 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Apr 7 2020, 11:16 AM)
Hi ntw,

With the same setup, instead of the TV box, if you use other PC or laptop to stream the video from the PC, will the problem happen?

Thank you
I connected phone, laptop, and TV box to First Floor AiMesh node using WiFi and seems like no issue to stream from Second Floor PC. Only encounter dropping packets when laptop/TV box using LAN hmm.gif
ntw
post Apr 8 2020, 12:43 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Apr 7 2020, 05:44 PM)
Hi ntw,

Can you check the signal strength of the node using the router GUI?

Thank you
Is this how to show the signal strength of the node?

ntw
post Nov 11 2020, 12:50 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

I'm using 2x AC67U in a double storey house. Primary node at ground floor connected to secondary node at first floor via wireless AiMesh.

My secondary node will often lose its connectivity (2.4Ghz, 5Ghz and LAN) and have to restart once every week. The primary node is stable, once the secondary node becomes unresponsive, my phone/laptop will automatically switch over to the WiFi from the primary node with lower connection strength.

Is this a common issue when connecting AiMesh node 1 and node 2 using WiFi? How can this be resolved?
ntw
post Mar 24 2021, 05:29 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

I'm using RT-A67U and planning to connect Epson L3110 printer to the network. Can I ask the sifu here this setup will work?
ntw
post Oct 24 2021, 10:53 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

where can I buy power adapter for RT-AC67U router?

update: found replacement from shopee

This post has been edited by ntw: Oct 25 2021, 03:11 AM
ntw
post Feb 28 2022, 12:12 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

hi ASUSmy, I have been having issue on my RT-AX56U for the past few days. My devices show "No Internet" when I'm connected to the 5Ghz wifi on the mesh node, no issue with 2.4Ghz. When I turn off wifi, then move next to the main router and try connect to 5Ghz wifi again, its working fine.

Both my main router and mesh router are connected via ethernet, and both are on the latest firmware - 3.0.0.4.386_45934-gb23bdac

I have also tried to reset the mesh node, following this Support Page but it is still having problem with 5Ghz wifi.

Do you have any suggestion to fix this issue.
ntw
post Feb 28 2022, 03:29 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Feb 28 2022, 03:23 PM)
Hi ntw,

I assume both router is RT-AX56U as they having the same firmware.

Do you mean the main router is RT-AX56U and the mesh router is another RT-AX56U?

Is all the devices are having the same problem or some devices only?

Thank you
Both are AX56U. No problem with the main router, only when I connect to the 5Ghz wifi on the mesh router I'll face the "no internet" issue.
ntw
post Feb 28 2022, 03:57 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Feb 28 2022, 03:31 PM)
Hi ntw,

Is all the devices are having the same problem or some devices only?

Thank you
All the devices having same issue when connecting to the 5Ghz wifi on the mesh router.
ntw
post Feb 28 2022, 07:26 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Feb 28 2022, 04:04 PM)
Hi ntw,

May I know is the node has been remove from the AiMesh topology when you reset the node? If no, can you try remove the node from the topology can add the node again from the AiMesh section.

Thank you
ASUSmy I have just tried your recommendation, and the 5Ghz wifi is working again. Thank you so much for that.

I removed it from the topology, hard reset the mesh router, then reconnect it. Will keep it under monitoring for a few days. What could be causing this issue?

This post has been edited by ntw: Feb 28 2022, 07:27 PM
ntw
post Jan 22 2023, 02:29 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

Hi, I'm having issue with AiMesh setup. Main router is RT-AC86u. After adding a RT-AC68u as an AiMesh node it shows the node as Offline. I have tried connecting the AiMesh node using WiFi and Ethernet both having same issue

ntw
post May 19 2023, 11:25 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

I had a pair of AX56U running on a wired aimesh setup for some time. Yesterday I noticed the 5G WiFi coverage become slower, then found that the aimesh node is not showing up in the web ui. So I followed these steps but the node is still not showing up in the aimesh network, instead just showing as another device:

1. Factory reset aimesh node.
2. Restarted main router.
3. Added node into the aimesh.
4. Completed the aimesh setup.

Other findings, 2.4G & 5G WiFi LED does not light up on the aimesh node. Both main router and node on firmware version 3.0.0.4.386_49380

This post has been edited by ntw: May 19 2023, 11:28 PM
ntw
post Jun 4 2023, 12:13 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 22 2023, 05:47 PM)
Hi ntw,

Can you try updating the firmware to the latest. If still fail, I would suggest to reset the main router as well and redo the setup.

Try the below method to do the factory reset.
https://www.asus.com/my/support/FAQ/1039078/

Thank you
hi, finally had time to redo the setup. yes I have to factory reset both main router and node then only able to pair them into aimesh.
ntw
post Jun 22 2023, 11:12 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

Used a few Asus router before and this is quite common. Instead I just use Nirsoft's Wireless Network Watcher to see what devices are currently connected to my network
ntw
post Dec 21 2023, 07:16 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

I have noticed my AX56U x2 mesh restarted randomly. After inspecting the syslog I saw a lot of send_redir_page:625 error to an android phone blocking play.google.com and dl.google.com. However, I didn't setup any MAC filter, URL filter, Keyword filter or Network Service filter; only Parental Control checked for Adult and P2P content category.

I suspect this spam or send_redir_page:625 error is causing the router to crash. Anyone encounter same issue before?
ntw
post Dec 22 2023, 07:41 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Dec 22 2023, 06:12 PM)
Have you tried disabling both the AIProtection and Parental Control feature and see how stable it is?

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/rt-ax58u-...xt-steps.82439/
thanks, will try that out and monitor.
ntw
post Feb 5 2024, 12:53 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

Need help adding RT-AC68U as a mesh node. Added Main router is RT-AC86U.

1.Turn off both router.
2. Performed a hard factory reset on AC86U, setup unifi internet connection
3. Connect RJ45 from LAN2 of AC86U to WAN port of AC68U.
4. Hard reset AC68U
5. Add mesh node on AC86U. Discovered AC68U connected via RJ45
6. Complete Aimesh setup, shows that AC68U connected.
7. Back to home page, AC68U is offline though it is still connected and turned on.

ntw
post Feb 5 2024, 06:02 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Feb 5 2024, 09:57 AM)
Hi ntw,

May I ask, are you using merlin firmware/third party firmware on the RT-AC68U?

If yes, please use the firmware restoration tools to restore the official firmware.

Thank you

Not aware of that myself, purchased this as a second hand unit. When I tried to restore firmware, then uploaded went to 40% then restarted again for twontimes, then show Failed to recover the system.

Using firmware restoration tool 2.1.0.3, RT-AC68U firmware 3.0.0.4.386_51668

Update:
Followed the steps on snbforum
1. Hard factory reset the RT-AC68U
2. Connect to the ASUS_F0_2G network, make sure can login to 192.168.1.1 Then power off the RT-AC68U.
3. Turn on RT-AC68U. Repeat step 2 again. Power off the RT-AC68U at least twice.
4. Connect RJ45 from RT-AC86U LAN port to RT-AC-68U WAN port.
5. Connect to WiFi from RT-AC86U. Go to AiMesh page, Add AiMesh node
6. Make sure the RT-AC68U is discovered with the Ethernet connection.
7. Add the RT-AC68U as Aimesh node.

After this RT-AC68U is able to be added as Aimesh node. While the RT-AC86U is still connected with RJ45, go to Administration> Firmware Upgrade, and perform a Manual Firmware Upload with the latest fw 3.0.0.4.386_51668. Then can disconnect the RJ45 cable, move the RT-AC68U to the intended location and reboot both routers and the Aimesh network is shown as connected.

This post has been edited by ntw: Feb 5 2024, 08:27 PM

0.0809sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:06 PM