Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative (Home Networking)

views
     
eauyong
post Apr 24 2014, 07:44 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Hi Asus Support,

Can you please let me know the link, if any for the latest FW for Router DSL-N12U to enable the 4G Wimax usb dongle from YES.

Thank you.
Ed. smile.gif
eauyong
post Apr 25 2014, 07:13 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Apr 25 2014, 12:39 PM)
Hi eauyong,

DSL-N12U unable to support the YES 4G GO dongle.

For DSL model, at least need DSL-N55U and above.

Thank you
*
Thank you for the reply.

Please advise whether RT-N15U can support YES 4G?
eauyong
post May 3 2014, 07:40 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Hi ASUSmy,

I got the RT-N66U and flashed with the latest firmware. Please advise the steps to configure the router with YES Go usb dongle.

Thanks,
eauyong smile.gif
eauyong
post May 5 2014, 12:13 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(aneip @ May 4 2014, 07:34 PM)
Does Asus DSL-N12U B1 Wireless-N 300 ADSL Modem Router support YES dongle?
*
Previous answer to my query was it do not support YES usb dongle but that was DSL-N12U version 1.
eauyong
post May 6 2014, 01:07 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 5 2014, 02:12 PM)
Hi eauyong,

You can have a look at the youtube below to do the setup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKqByjdmv1U

Thank you
*
Thank you.

It was setup under the second wan and running fine. smile.gif

eauyong
post May 7 2014, 04:30 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Hi ASUSmy,

Upon re-logging in again after one session, I have to do the whole log in process which takes 3 minutes. This is under router mode (default). It is a bit troublesome.

Is there another way to make re-logging in to Yes Lan network automatic upon switching on the router or plugging in the usb dongle?



eauyong
post May 7 2014, 06:40 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Hi ASUSmy,

I only have one Internet connection, that is the YES usb dongle attached to the N66U. I will establish the connection through the webgui interface after logging into the router.

Upon finishing, I switch off the router to conserve quota.

Later, when I need the internet, I will switch on the router, the usb dongle still attached to the router and it will flash for awhile the only remain the red LED,not establishing a connection.

So, I have to log into the router and do the connection to the YES LAN network again which takes about 3 minutes and it is not convenient.

Is there an easier config to do this connection seamlessly?
eauyong
post Jul 14 2014, 01:24 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
If you use usb3 thumb drives between computers for large files like 4gb transfer, then no need for AC, 100/1000 is also good enough.
eauyong
post Sep 9 2014, 09:04 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(audiocool @ Sep 8 2014, 11:45 PM)
Any sifu here can try to help me?
I encounter my Asus router RT-N66 WIFI it can be suddenly become very slow...
If I use cable, I don't have any issue..

Any setting can cause this happened?
*
Try set another channel. Do not use 'auto'.
eauyong
post Dec 22 2014, 12:50 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 22 2014, 12:15 PM)
Just to update on another Asus wifi product that I bought recently from Lazada. It is the USB WiFi adapter USB-N14. Got it cheap since I used some coupon code and end up only paying RM40 for it.

The device is really slim, with a micro usb cable and two 5dBi antenna. I think maybe Asus should include a piece of double sided tape to secure the base station since it is a little light and without rubber feet. I would prefer a longer USB cable so that I can tape the station on my table instead of having it on the CPU casing.

Back to the performance, it was able to detect much more routers than before. On my phone, ipad or Dlink DWA-140, I was only able to detect 3-4 of my closest neighbours routers, but now it can detect about 15 routers. Pretty impressive. Not to mention one of them was a petrol station which is about 200m away from my home.

Did some speed test with my FTTH 10Mbps. Downloads were max but I find it surprising the upload is a bit slower than expected. It was fluctuating a lot around 5-8Mbps and the wifi adapter is basically just beside the router. I even tried streaming movies from my Nexus 10 and it is indeed very not stable. It would stream fine for few minutes and then stuck forever.

I thought this would be a 2T2R but I could be wrong here.
*
From your experience, I think transmitting (as opposed to receiving) is a totally different ball game. And, if the two, i.e. transmitting & receiving is not uniform, eventually have the lag that you have experienced. So, one lesson learned is that up and down is crucial.

This post has been edited by eauyong: Dec 22 2014, 12:51 PM
eauyong
post Feb 15 2015, 08:27 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(gewek @ Feb 15 2015, 02:58 PM)
May i know which on are cheapest router compatible for Yes 4 Dongle?
*
I have pondered on this at that time when I needed the service.
I got a used ASUS RT-N16.

Suppose you still can get one at Amazon or Newegg.
eauyong
post May 24 2016, 03:02 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
Another model which supports YES 4G is RT-N16U selling in the States or used sets locally or in Singapore about S$20-30.
eauyong
post Mar 8 2021, 11:46 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 8 2021, 09:25 AM)
"Any" implies "All", and I don't think it's all.... You need to check the features list to make sure Download Master is on it.
*
[USB Application] How to use Download Master through GUI?
Last Update : 2020/01/08 01:21

Product:
4G-AC68U, Blue Cave, DSL-AC52U, DSL-AC55U, DSL-AC56U, DSL-AC68R, DSL-AC68U, DSL-AC87VG, DSL-N55U, DSL-N55U (VER.B1), DSL-N55U (VER.C1), DSL-N55U_C1, DSL-N55U_D1, DSL-N66U, GT-AC5300, GT-AX11000, GT-AX11000 (Call of duty 4), ROG Rapture GT-AC2900, RT-AC1200GU, RT-AC1750, RT-AC1750-B1, RT-AC1900, RT-AC1900P, RT-AC3100, RT-AC3200, RT-AC51U, RT-AC51U+, RT-AC52U, RT-AC5300, RT-AC53U, RT-AC54U, RT-AC55U, RT-AC55UHP, RT-AC56R, RT-AC56S, RT-AC56U, RT-AC66R, RT-AC66U, RT-AC66U+, RT-AC66U-B1, RT-AC66W, RT-AC68A, RT-AC68P, RT-AC68R, RT-AC68RW, RT-AC68U, RT-AC68U White, RT-AC68UF, RT-AC68W, RT-AC85U, RT-AC86U, RT-AC87R, RT-AC87U, RT-AC87W, RT-AC88U, RT-AX92U, RT-N14U, RT-N14UHP, RT-N15U, RT-N16, RT-N18U, RT-N56R, RT-N56U, RT-N56U_B1, RT-N65R, RT-N65U, RT-N66R, RT-N66W, TM-AC1900

--
eauyong
post Mar 9 2021, 11:02 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
For ref.

I am on 1Gbps Fiber, Symmetrical (achieved by LAN: DL 923.33Mbps, UL 939.23Mbps).
On Wifi with Asus AC2400 router (latest Feb 2021 firmware) and AC1200 5Ghz client, achievable around 300Mbps UL/DL symmetrical at a distant of 6M sight. dry.gif
eauyong
post Apr 5 2021, 10:59 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(hokc77 @ Apr 4 2021, 11:09 PM)
hi,

I currently have a RT-AX3000 as main and RT-AX55 as node.

As the RT-AX55 is placed in my study, I only switched it on when i'm using my PC in the room. When i'm not using the room, i switch off the PC and RT-AX55 and just leave the AX3000 on.

the issue i'm facing is that when i switched on the AX55, it appears as offline
[attachmentid=10830654]

i will need to go and reboot the AX3000 and then the AX55 will be online again
[attachmentid=10830655]

are there any settings i need to make sure the AX55 go online immediately when i switch it on? it's quite troublesome having to reboot the AX3000 everytime

the firmware for both are up to date:

RT-AX3000: 3.0.0.4.386_42095-gcd938f7
RT-AX55: 3.0.0.4.386_42350-g6c3f987
*
When switch on, auto connect to main router by AX55 use Wireless Bridge. Speed will be reduced but you need not go to reset the main router. Alternatively, keep the mesh unit connected by 24/7 ON.

To set up wireless bridge LINK
eauyong
post Apr 5 2021, 02:04 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 5 2021, 11:22 AM)
If you are just using the RT-AX55 as an external WiFi adapter for your PC over wired Ethernet LAN, I will suggest using the media bridge mode which is faster and more probably more reliable.
*
My experience of media bridge for a distance of 15M sight, speed is close to 300 Mbps. Main router RT-AC87U (5GHz CH149 at 1733.2Mbps connection) to RT-AC1200+ (ethernet 1Gbps) to Client. OS is ubuntu linux LTS.

eauyong
post Dec 6 2021, 08:47 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Dec 3 2021, 09:47 PM)

AC-86U vs AX-56U,
AX56U has more cores, but this does not impact general performance. Its only useful for very specific tasks like VPN.
AC86U has 4x4 mimo compared to 2x2 in 56u. But this doesn't really matter for general client devices that use 2x2 anyway or if you don't have too many devices connected to single AP at the same time.
Very informative. rclxms.gif

As to 4x4 mimo, it really matters if you are on the wireless backhaul between two routers with both having 4x4. The speed is so much better from my experience.

eauyong
post Dec 24 2021, 11:25 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(jackytiong @ Dec 24 2021, 10:31 AM)
How to improve wifi broadcast strength from a router?
*

Use a second router as an AP to relay the signal. Placement of the second router is of utmost importance.
Place the second router at around the mid point from the center between the Main router and half way to the end of the room.
Preferably with "line of sight" near ceiling height.
eauyong
post Jan 19 2022, 12:35 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 18 2022, 11:41 PM)
I wouldn't be surprise as the spec is enterprise grade AP territory.

Perfect product for those looking to get 1Gbps speed on wireless backhaul.
*
Possible?
eauyong
post Jan 20 2022, 04:12 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
97 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 19 2022, 10:38 PM)
High hopes on that. Hope it doesn't disappoint.

My concealed Ethernet cable is damaged so wireless backhaul is my only choice.
*
The best I can manage with wireless backhaul was DL 606.09 Mbps; UL 662.24 Mbps.
How about you?

2 Pages  1 2 >Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.2504sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd May 2022 - 09:17 AM