Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative
St. Teh
Oct 3 2018, 05:33 PM

Hi Sifus
I stayed in a 3 storey house, currently using AC86U at ground floor, able to achieve >500mbps with LAN and 480mbps with wireless. Due to my major activities in 3rd floor, i using an old Asus router (RC12N) as a repeater, which not support AiMesh, speed test barely hit 45mbps.
Would it be a better i buy an AC68U which support AiMesh in order to boost up the speed, not looking forward to 400mbps but at least 300mbps+-
Thank you in advance
St. Teh
Oct 4 2018, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(pokchik @ Oct 3 2018, 05:41 PM) So your take: Current:-RC12N @ 3rd Floor (Repeater) ----------------- N/A @ 2nd Floor ----------------- AC86U @ Ground Floor (Main Router)Your Proposal:-AC86U @ 3rd Floor (Mesh Node) ----------------- N/A @ 2nd Floor ----------------- AC86U @ Ground Floor (Main Router)
- Not sure how effective it will be since I'm imagining that the distance between main router to mesh node is quite far (with 1-floor gap in-between). - You probably need something on the 2nd Floor as an intermediate Mesh node instead? How about: AC68U @ 3rd Floor (Mesh Node) ----------------- AC68U @ 2nd Floor (Mesh Node) ----------------- AC86U @ Ground Floor (Main Router)Not sure if this can deliver at least 300Mbps to 3rd floor, though (theoretically it should). My proposal is to put 2x AC68U since it's sufficient to deliver your speed with lower cost compared to 2x AC86U. I'm currently using 2x AC86U for my 2-storey house, but I can't vouch on the speed since I'm only connecting with 10Mbps. No issues to get full 10Mbps in either floors though. Other sifus should be able to give better advice, though. Thanks for your advise. Maybe i will try to secure a RC68U during 11.11 in taobao to test how well it will run
St. Teh
Oct 18 2018, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ Oct 18 2018, 12:29 PM) anyone know if RT-N12 can support up to 300Mbps ? what is the max speed we can get from this router for Unifi 300Mbps ? Thanks max 100mbps, usually 90mbps
St. Teh
Nov 29 2018, 03:46 PM

I just changed my LAN cable from BTU/ONU to router (CAT5E to CAT6) but the speedtest drop from the initiall 480mbps to 350mbps, I did change back to the original CAT5E but the speed still not convincing enough
May I know, after i change any LAN cable, any setting shall i update into the router?
St. Teh
Nov 30 2018, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Nov 29 2018, 06:37 PM) Hi St. Teh, There is no setting, it is plug and play. Have you try testing using different server? And may I know what router model are you using? Thank you Thanks for the update Currently using AC68, May i know how to test using different server?
St. Teh
Nov 30 2018, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Nov 30 2018, 10:32 AM) Hi St. Teh, The sever that I mean is the Speedtest server. Try different server to see the speed. Thank you Thanks for the update. Will try it tonite