Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V9, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
llsphinxll
May 8 2013, 07:00 PM
hey ps3 sifus here! in need of help.
lately my ps3 slim has been giving me some problem. first, it gives me that 'disc eject' noise when i insert a disc in. and it does not read the disc. after rebooting the device, it reads the disc, but during the middle of the game, it hangs, or shows lack of information in game.
is there something wrong with the bluray reader? approx how much wud it cost to replace a new one?
llsphinxll
May 8 2013, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 8 2013, 07:11 PM) Possibly. Does any other game hang when you play it off your HDD? A blu-ray drive replacement generally costs about RM300+ or so. i dont have any games on my hdd. cannot test whether it works off the hdd instead of a bluray. shud i get a bluray disc cleaner and see whether the problem wud b fixed with that?
llsphinxll
May 8 2013, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ May 8 2013, 08:49 PM) The BD cleaner is not so effective, according to some reviews on the net. They're not easy to find here in Malaysia too. I tried looking for it before, but couldn't find one. Ended up cleaning the lens myself through DIY method. It's quite easy actually. But you'll need special screw drivers to open the PS3 shell. oh okay. glad i haven invest in the bluray cleaner. thought of opening up my console considering how its out of warranty anyways. let me try that later tonight.
llsphinxll
May 13 2013, 08:01 PM
in relation to the problem i mentioned in the previous page, i tried opening up my console and cleaning the lens manually. the problem still there.
i try downloading some demo from the playstation store, and the console works perfectly.
i think the problem really is the lens or the whole bluray player itself. any idea how much is it to get the whole player replaced?
thinking to compare the price of replacing the reader with getting a second hand console, or wait a few more months for ps4 (skeptical)
llsphinxll
May 14 2013, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(deyamato @ May 13 2013, 10:00 PM) lens standalone can replace; for Blu-ray Drive stand alone without lens once you remove it most of your downloaded games unable to boot . wait bro, im having difficulties understanding this. you mean the problem with my console is just the blurry lens reader, and not the whole bluray drive?
llsphinxll
May 14 2013, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(deyamato @ May 14 2013, 03:28 PM) you just answered the question  . definitely not the whole blu-ray drive . hahha right. thanks thou. do you have any idea how much wud replacing the lens only cost?
llsphinxll
May 14 2013, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ May 14 2013, 06:23 PM) ps3 slim is it ? might be rm200 plus aight cool. thanks.