Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V9, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
JustcallmeLarry
Apr 4 2014, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ Apr 4 2014, 01:37 AM) Yes to all your questions above. The only difference will be the warranty coverage. Do you plan to buy new set or used? Ic thanks bro, I going get new ori set. Ps4 too expensive for me. The warranty I must register with sony.sg? They told me if got problem can just send the set back to the shop, I hope this mean they will help send it to Sg and not open it up to fix it himself.
BobThe Builder
Apr 4 2014, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Apr 4 2014, 01:42 AM) Ic thanks bro, I going get new ori set. Ps4 too expensive for me. The warranty I must register with sony.sg? They told me if got problem can just send the set back to the shop, I hope this mean they will help send it to Sg and not open it up to fix it himself. No worries. I'm not sure about warranty registration, coz I never registered mine. Hope the shop will honour their promise, if the need arises.
chenwfng
Apr 4 2014, 10:18 AM
Hi guys, I have a question here, my PS3 can't read my game disc since yesterday. Does anyone here know where I can get a blu ray lens cleaner for PS3?
GamersFamilia
Apr 4 2014, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(chenwfng @ Apr 4 2014, 10:18 AM) Hi guys, I have a question here, my PS3 can't read my game disc since yesterday. Does anyone here know where I can get a blu ray lens cleaner for PS3? lens already k.o ... time to replace a new lens
chenwfng
Apr 4 2014, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 4 2014, 11:34 AM) lens already k.o ... time to replace a new lens Roughly how much to change the lens?
dark_heart07
Apr 7 2014, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 4 2014, 11:34 AM) lens already k.o ... time to replace a new lens I got this prob too. when I pop the disc in the PS3 I can hear the disc spinning but it wont shows on XMB. does this mean my lens kaput too?
chenwfng
Apr 7 2014, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Apr 7 2014, 09:08 AM) I got this prob too. when I pop the disc in the PS3 I can hear the disc spinning but it wont shows on XMB. does this mean my lens kaput too? High chance it kaput already. I sent mine for repair, yet to be quoted a price.
dark_heart07
Apr 7 2014, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Apr 7 2014, 10:01 AM) High chance it kaput already. I sent mine for repair, yet to be quoted a price. I ask bcoz want to confirm before ordering new lens.dun wan to waste RM60 for new lens if my motor also got prob I'll order the lens with deck which will cost around RM200+
chenwfng
Apr 7 2014, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Apr 7 2014, 10:29 AM) I ask bcoz want to confirm before ordering new lens.dun wan to waste RM60 for new lens if my motor also got prob I'll order the lens with deck which will cost around RM200+  You can actually send it to Sony Centre and let them diagnose what the problem is first, they will quote a price before fixing, if you don't want them to fix it they will return the PS3. My DVD player is running fine so I guess it's the blu ray lens problem.
dark_heart07
Apr 7 2014, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Apr 7 2014, 10:35 AM) You can actually send it to Sony Centre and let them diagnose what the problem is first, they will quote a price before fixing, if you don't want them to fix it they will return the PS3. My DVD player is running fine so I guess it's the blu ray lens problem. but mine was SG set and the warranty already expired 2 years ago. will Sony MY accept?
chenwfng
Apr 7 2014, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Apr 7 2014, 11:29 AM) but mine was SG set and the warranty already expired 2 years ago. will Sony MY accept? My warranty expired as well. They will accept, just that you will need to pay for the repair. Like I said, they will diagnose the problem and then get back to you. If you want them to fix, then they will.
Lord Red
Apr 7 2014, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Apr 7 2014, 12:43 PM) My warranty expired as well. They will accept, just that you will need to pay for the repair. Like I said, they will diagnose the problem and then get back to you. If you want them to fix, then they will. I don't know about PS warranty here but I have a Sony Digital camera a few years back. Bought in Japan. Warranty expired long oredi and the display panel gone blank. But camera still working. Went to Sony center in The Curve and asked them what's wrong. They said they will check it out and then give me a price for repairs if I agree. The checking is free. When they called me back, it was all OK oredi. They said there was a small problem with the chip and no charge. Free repair for small problem. Great.
lethalyellow
Apr 9 2014, 10:53 AM

Hey guys,
Any one of you knows if I can get the thumb controller rubber for Dualshock 3 around KL?
Thanks!
chenwfng
Apr 11 2014, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(lethalyellow @ Apr 9 2014, 10:53 AM) Hey guys, Any one of you knows if I can get the thumb controller rubber for Dualshock 3 around KL? Thanks! Bought mine from this guy, very professional and trusted seller: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1304588&hl=This post has been edited by chenwfng: Apr 11 2014, 09:46 AM
gecko8
Apr 14 2014, 10:37 AM
Guys , need help on the pricing for each item , as item all are use :
- console phat 160gb with standard set accessories - dual shock white - original sony ps3 Bluetooth mic and earphone - Nyko Media Hub - Skin Protector ( Unused ) - Game Bundle ( Street Fighter iv , Super Street Fighter iv , God Of War , God Of War - Ascension - , Final Fantasy xiii , Folklore , Call Of Duty - MW2- ,Call Of Duty - MW3 - , TF War For Cybertron , Grid , Sonic Unleashed , Dante's Inferno .
mrdownloader
Apr 20 2014, 12:45 PM
Guys, something wrong with my 2.5years old slim ps3. Lag during online/offline mode in FIFA14.
then i try play other games, unchartered and the last of us. gameplay quite ok, almost no lag problem, but heavy lag while storyline/video. i need to skip video to continue play.
Pls advice what the problem. Thanks
davidman82
Apr 28 2014, 11:24 AM
hello all the sifu here,
i am connecting my ps3 to a LTE MIFI modem, but whenever i play games(FIFA14) , it is NAT3 which is restricted and to connect players online..
Is there any setting which i can do inside my LTE MIFI MODEM to make it become NAT 1 or nat 2?(DMZ?PORT forward?) how??
arafat
Apr 29 2014, 06:53 PM
How much to sell white fat ps3 80gb with 1 controller. Play less than 50hr since bought. Is rm500 consider reasonable?
mindspring
May 3 2014, 01:35 PM
havent turn on my ps3 since ground zeroes. turned it on just now, and having problems with the display. the screen keep going blank and show no signal / mode not supported.
so i reset the display setting by holding the power button.
and guess what. now im stuck with 576p. and go any higher. i think my hdmi port is rekt. FML
khairi.hadi87
May 3 2014, 05:08 PM
Did some one know where to buy PS3 super slim skin or sticker??