WTA bout Petronas, UTP, MISC, if we got the schola

TSfantagero
post Mar 17 2006, 11:55 AM, updated 20y ago

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

me wanna ask if we got the offer for Petronas schhola and being accepted,

then we grad...
are we surely will work for them??? i mean.. do we need to find a job after grad.. or they [petronas] provide job for us???

SUSDavid83
post Mar 17 2006, 11:58 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 17 2006, 11:55 AM)
me wanna ask if we got the offer for Petronas schhola and being accepted,

then we grad...
are we surely will work for them??? i mean.. do we need to find a job after grad.. or they [petronas] provide job for us???

It depends on Petronas themselves. They may not bond after your graduated and in this case, you need to repay their scholarship.

My friend is just graduated from UTP and still pending for Petronas decision either to bond him or not by offering a position in Petronas. He's still unemployed for more 2 months.
cks2k2
post Mar 17 2006, 12:00 PM

1,966 posts

You can get the scholarship surely you can read and hopefully understand the contract.
TSfantagero
post Mar 17 2006, 02:28 PM

2,723 posts

so, that mean, our future still not so bright eventhough got schola from petronas???

ehmm......
Scud_eSpade
post Mar 17 2006, 03:18 PM

345 posts

aiyark..
so u expect just get the scolar then your future is bright eh? The important thing is study well when u get there... The scholar is just put you one leg towards a better future. It all depend AFTER you get in there. Not just utp.. everywhere also same
TSfantagero
post Mar 17 2006, 03:46 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(Scud_eSpade @ Mar 17 2006, 03:18 PM)
aiyark..
so u expect just get the scolar then your future is bright eh? The important thing is study well when u get there... The scholar is just put you one leg towards a better future. It all depend AFTER you get in there. Not just utp.. everywhere also same
no laaa i mean... after grad dengan cemerlangnya....

coz nowaday so many unemployed rite after they grad...that mean dey all dont study hard during they in U???

so, if we grad wif flying colour, we can easliy get job???
in utp or elsewhere ??
allenultra
post Mar 17 2006, 04:00 PM

9,027 posts

if u did well academically but don't know how to work, no point right?

If u get the scholarship, just go ahead and study.
If Petronas need u in the future, they will hire you.
If not, u may need to pay back sum amount of money depend on ur academic result.

As David83 said, I also heard from a senior.
E&E engineers are saturated in Petronas now......where most of the seniors with mechanical already secured a job.
ememes
post Mar 17 2006, 05:29 PM

203 posts

fantagero i bet you apply for PETRONAS scholarship.
mind telling me the courses you opted for?
TSfantagero
post Mar 17 2006, 10:03 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(ememes @ Mar 17 2006, 05:29 PM)
fantagero i bet you apply for PETRONAS scholarship.
mind telling me the courses you opted for?
i hoping for Eng... but after scrutinizing my results..
damn.. only eligible to apply bisnes and it...
so.. i jus apply that laa...
huhuuhuh..
wut bout market value for that courses???
hazremi
post Mar 17 2006, 11:12 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 17 2006, 04:00 PM)
if u did well academically but don't know how to work, no point right?

If u get the scholarship, just go ahead and study.
If Petronas need u in the future, they will hire you.
If not, u may need to pay back sum amount of money depend on ur academic result.

As David83 said, I also heard from a senior.
E&E engineers are saturated in Petronas now......where most of the seniors with mechanical already secured a job.
dun forget that petronas has closed its IT division and outsource their IT needs
TSfantagero
post Mar 18 2006, 12:22 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Mar 17 2006, 11:12 PM)
dun forget that petronas has closed its IT division and outsource their IT needs
really... whoaa.. that sound bad news for me... as i apply for it.. huhuh
only qualified for that sweat.gif
regret coz dont study hard for add and chem sweat.gif
Scud_eSpade
post Mar 18 2006, 01:03 AM

345 posts

ee field is saturated in petronas ar? better save the scholar money from now on:sweat:
come on AMD.. pick me up.. hehe doh.gif
octopuss
post Mar 18 2006, 03:49 PM

297 posts

i applied for UTP oso...
but since every1's applying 4 it..
im sure it'll b damn hard to even get chosen...
wont it???
lol... tongue.gif
i wonder how many chinese like me really gets chosen to b awarded with all this scholarships...
..summore JPA...haha...
UTP oso hard to get now dreaming of JPA....
lol
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
doh.gif doh.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
allenultra
post Mar 18 2006, 05:48 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Mar 17 2006, 11:12 PM)
don't really care about it though....
but then UTP still accepting ICT students during Jan 2006 intake.....

Scud_eSpade, no worry.
who knows vacancy available when u graduate?

octopuss, its seem kinda hard to apply UTP with SPM result but most of the foundation students with scholarship.
U try consult Scid_eSpade. smile.gif

octopuss, if u are really good.
U can try apply JPA, Yayasan Proton, and bla bla bla Yayasan once u enrolled into any universities in Malaysia.
octopuss
post Mar 18 2006, 06:48 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 18 2006, 05:48 PM)
don't really care about it though....
but then UTP still accepting ICT students during Jan 2006 intake.....

Scud_eSpade, no worry.
who knows vacancy available when u graduate?

octopuss, its seem kinda hard to apply UTP with SPM result but most of the foundation students with scholarship.
U try consult Scid_eSpade. smile.gif

octopuss, if u are really good.
U can try apply JPA, Yayasan Proton, and bla bla bla Yayasan once u enrolled into any universities in Malaysia.
ooohhhh...i oledi applied for JPA....but it kinda sounds unreachable..wit so many ppl getting strait A's...haha..
nvm...anyway,thanks... thumbup.gif notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
TSfantagero
post Mar 18 2006, 09:08 PM

2,723 posts

yeah man wif 4k students getting A lurus.... so many challenggers..
huhuuhuhuh...
ehmm.. so that mean.. hav to study hard if wanna get a job wif petronas...
allenultra
post Mar 18 2006, 09:23 PM

9,027 posts

u not even offer a place in UTP to study. not to say the scholarship.
Is it too early to think of u can find a job or not?

Just study hard will do.
Even if u offered with petronas scholarship, u may not compulsory to work with them.

ememes
post Mar 18 2006, 09:26 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 17 2006, 10:03 PM)
i hoping for Eng... but after scrutinizing my results..
damn.. only eligible to apply bisnes and it...
so.. i jus apply that laa...
nice. i applied for engineering courses and put sistem maklumat perniagaan as my third choice, UTP programme that is. not smart enough to pass oversea's sponsorship qualification.

octopuss, if you do believe you've your own quality, you still stand a chance. JPA wont be bias, there's plenty of chinese sponsored by JPA studying overseas. good luck then.

This post has been edited by ememes: Mar 18 2006, 09:27 PM
TSfantagero
post Mar 18 2006, 09:50 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(ememes @ Mar 18 2006, 09:26 PM)
nice. i applied for engineering courses and put sistem maklumat perniagaan as my third choice, UTP programme that is. not smart enough to pass oversea's sponsorship qualification.

octopuss, if you do believe you've your own quality, you still stand a chance. JPA wont be bias, there's plenty of chinese sponsored by JPA studying overseas. good luck then.
emems.. how's ur result??? huhuh i kantoi my chem.. so cant apply for ENG... cry.gif
yeah....... but for jpa... huhuh many students use their parent's cable duh~~ huhuhh

ememes... mcm pernah ku nampak nick nih di forum lain.. tp forum mana ekk tongue.gif

octopuss
post Mar 19 2006, 08:03 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(ememes @ Mar 18 2006, 09:26 PM)
haha....my quality ar????currently i share my qualities with other 4K students....u say got quality a not leh????
lol...
the scholars oni got 2K...application 11K...haha....later the JPA pon pengsan.... tongue.gif
sweat.gif

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 18 2006, 09:50 PM)
emems.. how's ur result??? huhuh i kantoi my chem.. so cant apply for ENG...  cry.gif
yeah....... but for jpa... huhuh many students use their parent's cable duh~~ huhuhh

ememes... mcm pernah ku nampak nick nih di forum lain.. tp forum mana ekk tongue.gif
hehe...
pernah nampak???
mungkin i nside ur mimpi kot....
haha.... laugh.gif tongue.gif icon_idea.gif
ememes
post Mar 19 2006, 10:50 AM

203 posts

my result? so-so la. my lowest grade is 4B for Biology.
how about you?
ckwei
post Mar 19 2006, 12:11 PM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

my friend got the petronas scholarship and took mufy in monash kl before proceeding to University of Sydney to continue her degree in chemical engineering. as per what she has told me, she'll have to work with petronas for dunno 7 or 10 yrs(cant remember), or she can opt out by paying back the full amount to petronas smile.gif
TSfantagero
post Mar 19 2006, 12:51 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(ckwei @ Mar 19 2006, 12:11 PM)
my friend got the petronas scholarship and took mufy in monash kl before proceeding to University of Sydney to continue her degree in chemical engineering. as per what she has told me, she'll have to work with petronas for dunno 7 or 10 yrs(cant remember), or she can opt out by paying back the full amount to petronas smile.gif
lucky ur fren got OC offer.. as for me.. just qualify for IT and bussnies.. huhuuhh
maybe for the OC student.. their chance to be worked wif peronas.. brighter
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2006, 01:10 PM

52,874 posts

1 sponsored year tradeable to 2 working years with Petronas.
octopuss
post Mar 19 2006, 01:28 PM

297 posts

actually wen will we noe if we're chosen ar???i mean for the interview....around wat date??
april ar????
ememes
post Mar 19 2006, 01:34 PM

203 posts

according to the panduan permohonan, the date will be announced later soon after the application closed.
just keep on checking the esu website.
octopuss
post Mar 19 2006, 02:46 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(ememes @ Mar 19 2006, 01:34 PM)
according to the panduan permohonan, the date will be announced later soon after the application closed.
just keep on checking the esu website.
oooOOOOoOOO...
means still have to wait summroe 2/3 weeks...
haih....
sien...
yawn.gif

neways..tahnks thumbup.gif
LaR_c
post Mar 19 2006, 03:13 PM

Mediocrity is not an option
1,595 posts

Let's keep the one liners to the minimum, and no spams k?

fantagero - For your Q, it depends on whether if Petronas needs staff. It's illogical for them to take in several hundreds graduates every year into their company, right?

Perhaps you should change your mentality. Not being able to work with Petronas is not the end of the world. What's important is getting a degree, and the rest after graduating is really up to you. There's loads of other good companies out there.

shadow_calamity
post Mar 19 2006, 04:24 PM

124 posts

hmm.. for utp intake, i think petronas does not offers scholarship (the term they use is "Pinjaman Boleh Ubah"). They will convert it to scholarship if you grad in 1st class honor (2nd class upper you have to pay 10%, and the value you have to pay increases as you grads at lower classes)
For utp programmes (5 years) the amount of loan will reach 100K.
For engineering students, in their final year petronas will conduct an interview to select candidates to fill in vacant position in the company.
the interview itself (conducted by petronas senior managers and above) will determine whether you can enter petronas or not. (the result will be "Recommended" or "Not reccomended")

Not recommended = no job in petronas, pay the loan according to your result

Recommended =
1) Wait for vacancies, serve according to years of sponsorship (1 year sponsor 2 years bonded), no need to pay loan, no deduction in salary to pay loan or
2) if no vancancies, they will release u from the bond, no need to pay loan

but there are cases where "not recommended" are also accepted in though..

sadfully for IT or IS students.. petronas no longer conducted interview for them.. so i can say almost 0% chances to enter petronas unless u have "connection" whistling.gif

As for petronas scholars overseas, the process is also the same but the interview will be conducted by higher level staff (general managers and above) so expect tougher interview..

so if u wanted to join petronas, u will need to know the workforce market by the time you grads.. for now petronas are after those who have Petroleum Engineering and Geologist background... thumbup.gif

teddie
post Mar 19 2006, 04:44 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

MISC?? malaysia international shipping coorperation?(correct me if i'm wrong)
abt the deck officer cadet izit?
ajw
post Mar 19 2006, 04:57 PM

Hey guys,

I am a Petronas scholar. Going oversea coming July/August/Sept.
Well, Petronas is urging the current EE scholars to change to Petroleum Engineering. Most probably, EE will not get a job later as they have them in excess.

About IT. Petronas does not need any IT as they've outsourced their IT division. They may need a few. Hence, there are no chance for you to go oversea for that. They may still take intake at UTP but not for oversea.

Petronas no longer send students to UK. Now they prefer to send you to Australia and New Zealand. As for Petroleum Engineering and Geologist, USA is a place they set for you. They strongly recommend students to apply for Petroleum Engineering. Well, Petronas may change their policy a day just before you fly. So, whatever they stated in the offer letter or contract, don't bother to take it too serious as they have rights to change anything in the contract as stated in the contract that you sign.

If you study under their scholarship for 1 year, you have to work with them for 2 years. 5 years mean 10 years of working. If they do not take you to work, treat that as a loan. You have to repay. But most of us prefer to repay.However, Petroleum Engineer's salary starts at RM6000 per month. Working 2 weeks a month.

Think about it...
inotqiqi
post Mar 19 2006, 06:33 PM

241 posts

my kai kor say Petronas is lack of engineers, if you go apply scholarship, most probably u can get it wink.gif
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 19 2006, 06:49 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

hahahah that is quite sad situation for ICT and BIS student in UTP... or petronas scholar..

i m a ICT undergraduates in UTP..
Most of the post here bout petronas scholar is true...

jz wan to add additional info for ICT petronas scholar...

i heard from senior says tat..
after u grad from UTP.. there will be a camp like thingy for ICT and BIS student where petronas will conduct interview after the camp n heard 1/6 grad will selected for petronas and the rest release..

this is an unofficial info for UTP ICT grad...

p/s: for your info lotsa ICT grad here is hoping for release too... working for petronas in with IT background aint help much though.. as for us strive for first class and hope petronas release the bond free of charge....

This post has been edited by SanosukeSagara: Mar 19 2006, 06:52 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2006, 09:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Mar 19 2006, 06:49 PM)
hahahah that is quite sad situation for ICT and BIS student in UTP... or petronas scholar..

i m a ICT undergraduates in UTP..
Most of the post here bout petronas scholar is true...

jz wan to add additional info for ICT petronas scholar...

i heard from senior says tat..
after u grad from UTP.. there will be a camp like thingy for ICT and BIS student where petronas will conduct interview after the camp n heard 1/6 grad will selected for petronas and the rest release..

this is an unofficial info for UTP ICT grad...

p/s: for your info lotsa ICT grad here is hoping for release too... working for petronas in with IT background aint help much though.. as for us strive for first class and hope petronas release the bond free of charge....
Do you mean that you may apply for bond release and no need to do any replayment for 1st class graduates? What're the statistic in terms of ratio with 10 as the maximum; i.e. 5 to 10?
allenultra
post Mar 19 2006, 09:50 PM

9,027 posts

david82, what he said is hopefully Petronas released him.
U cannot apply as I know, if u want to release yourself. Pay back the loan
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2006, 10:38 PM

52,874 posts

Another question, can I know if a STPM leaver applies to UTP admission and/or Petronas scholarship? I barely can get any relevant information at their site. I have emailed them but no reply ... please help. notworthy.gif Thank you.
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 19 2006, 10:46 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

can stpm will skip foundation and continue degree as usual happy.gif...

yep 1st class if petronas release u u no need to pay...
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 19 2006, 10:48 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

welcoming ppl to enter utp though.. too boring here
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2006, 10:53 PM

52,874 posts

My friend told me that UTP is altering the course structure in order to make the first year in UTP degree to be a foundation year in order to allow STPM students to pursue for a degree course in UTP without going through the first year (foundation to be exact). How successful this implementation is? A good question as my friend has graduated and he has no idea at all.
kb2005
post Mar 19 2006, 10:57 PM

Yahoo!
17,850 posts

QUOTE(ckwei @ Mar 19 2006, 12:11 PM)
As far as i know. After the graduation, within 6 months time if Petronas call you to work for them, then you have to do so. After 6 months if they never call you, you have the choice of working with other companies. I think you need to pay only 25% of your loan amount back to Petronas (apply to second class upper only!) thumbup.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2006, 10:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 19 2006, 10:57 PM)
As far as i know. After the graduation, within 6 months time if Petronas call you to work for them, then you have to do so. After 6 months if they never call you, you have the choice of working with other companies. I think you need to pay only 25% of your loan amount back to Petronas (apply to second class upper only!)  thumbup.gif
The system is quite similar to JPA.
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 19 2006, 11:35 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

ok... new programme implementation is only started 1 year ago if i m not mistaken..... the result still dunno
allenultra
post Mar 20 2006, 08:06 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 19 2006, 10:38 PM)
Another question, can I know if a STPM leaver applies to UTP admission and/or Petronas scholarship? I barely can get any relevant information at their site. I have emailed them but no reply ... please help. notworthy.gif Thank you.
STPM/matriculation admission for UTP will be opened around mid-May to end of May.
Now is SPM intake.

If u want those information. I would glad to help. I'm one of them.

About your 2nd post.
UTP changed their programme (engineering to be exact) from 5 years to 1+4 years(just like MMU, UNITEN).
Your friend on the 5 years old syllabus, that's why he has no idea about the 1+4.

What ever information u get in utp.edu.my will be 1+4 years programme information which is foundation + 4 years degree.

For JPA, if they didn't call u up within one year. Then u can go with "bondless"
SUSDavid83
post Mar 20 2006, 04:19 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 20 2006, 08:06 AM)
STPM/matriculation admission for UTP will be opened around mid-May to end of May.
Now is SPM intake.

If u want those information. I would glad to help. I'm one of them.
About your 2nd post.
UTP changed their programme (engineering to be exact) from 5 years to 1+4 years(just like MMU, UNITEN).
Your friend on the 5 years old syllabus, that's why he has no idea about the 1+4.

What ever information u get in utp.edu.my will be 1+4 years programme information which is foundation +  4 years degree.

For JPA, if they didn't call u up within one year. Then u can go with "bondless"
I want to gather information regarding Chemical Engineering degree course at UTP for a STPM leaver. Besides, I also want to inquire for opportunity to get the Petronas scholarship too. Where can I get the admission and applications? Do I need to do all these online? Please direct me to the specific URL. Thank you.
allenultra
post Mar 20 2006, 05:03 PM

9,027 posts

Chemical eng for STPM? huh?
U study the same as those who did foundation, matriculation.
Check utp.edu.my undergraduate section.

Opportunity for scholarship?
It will be determined by the interviewer during the educamp(if u were selected to attend the educamp and being offered a place in UTP).

As I said, application only available mostly on mid/end of May.
And yes, u need to do it online.(I guess u did the same when u enter MMU, right? its same everywhere. check the website everyday.)

specific URL?
UTP only has a website.

And from ur question about application, etc. I want to ask u, have u really access www.utp.edu.my ?
A lot of answer can be found there and there is the telephone number of UTP.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Mar 20 2006, 05:06 PM
SanosukeSagara
post Mar 20 2006, 07:54 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

for petronas scholarship enter http://esuonline.petronas.com.my.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 20 2006, 07:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Mar 20 2006, 07:54 PM)
for petronas scholarship enter http://esuonline.petronas.com.my.
Do I need to repeat myself? That URL is only providing information for SPM leavers? I'm seeking information for a STPM leaver. To put in a better phrase is, can a STPM leaver apply for the scholarship using the STPM result? Or he must apply using SPM result?
forrest
post Mar 20 2006, 08:03 PM

1,045 posts

if you accept the scholarship and petronas want you to work with them, you will stick with them for long period. For example, if you are a engineering student, study 5 years, you need to work for 10 years. 1 year scholarship evualavent to 2 years working.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 20 2006, 08:05 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 20 2006, 05:03 PM)
Chemical eng for STPM? huh?
U study the same as those who did foundation, matriculation.
Check utp.edu.my undergraduate section.

Opportunity for scholarship?
It will be determined by the interviewer during the educamp(if u were selected to attend the educamp and being offered a place in UTP).

As I said, application only available mostly on mid/end of May.
And yes, u need to do it online.(I guess u did the same when u enter MMU, right? its same everywhere. check the website everyday.)

specific URL?
UTP only has a website.
And from ur question about application, etc. I want to ask u, have u really access www.utp.edu.my ?
A lot of answer can be found there and there is the telephone number of UTP.
OK. I found some information regarding admission using STPM for Chemical Engineering.

Regarding the admission or application to the course, when I clicked the Admission link, the website is only providing information regarding "Opportunities for SPM 2005 candidates". There's not information about general admission; i.e. how to apply and etc.

Regarding the educamp, what's that? Can you give me more description on this? How to be entitled for this camp?

Thank you.

QUOTE(forrest @ Mar 20 2006, 08:03 PM)
if you accept the scholarship and petronas want you to work with them, you will stick with them for long period. For example, if you are a engineering student, study 5 years, you need to work for 10 years. 1 year scholarship evualavent to 2 years working.
I'm aware of this. Thank you for your concern. Most scholarship works about the same scheme.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 20 2006, 08:06 PM
danial17
post Mar 20 2006, 08:14 PM

102 posts

i'm sure you can get more info calling them up urself

the general line is 05 368 8000, call during office hours smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 20 2006, 08:16 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(danial17 @ Mar 20 2006, 08:14 PM)
i'm sure you can get more info calling them up urself

the general line is 05 368 8000, call during office hours smile.gif
So, they won't respond to emails? I have sent them an email since last Friday.
forrest
post Mar 20 2006, 08:20 PM

1,045 posts

Reply email is not the working culture for some petronas's worker hehe..., you better call them directly.

This post has been edited by forrest: Mar 20 2006, 08:21 PM
danial17
post Mar 20 2006, 08:21 PM

102 posts

being an ex-utp student, i think they respond faster thru phone, but they just switched to an automated telephonist system, maybe it'll be quite hard to get thru 2 the ppl that'll answer ur questions wink.gif

This post has been edited by danial17: Mar 20 2006, 08:23 PM
allenultra
post Mar 20 2006, 10:11 PM

9,027 posts

Check utp.edu.my for the staff list.
Staff list does included staff's phone number.

Rector, ITMS manager replied my email quite fast.....mostly within 2 days.
TSfantagero
post Mar 24 2006, 12:54 AM

2,723 posts

ehmm.. lotsa informatipon here...
huhuh.. so..
that mean i've to consider other course b4 utp..
huhuh coz i just apply for it... wondering how IT market value....
lot of people say, dont take IT.. huuhuhh
coz low market value....

myresult just 9a, chem c5 add b3.. so not qualified for eng in utp/...

octopuss
post Mar 24 2006, 09:11 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 24 2006, 12:54 AM)
ehmm.. lotsa informatipon here...
huhuh.. so..
that mean i've to consider other course b4 utp..
huhuh coz i just apply for it... wondering how IT market value....
lot of people say, dont take IT.. huuhuhh
coz low market value....

myresult just 9a, chem c5 add b3.. so not qualified for eng in utp/...
waaa...u get 9A..but how come ur chem c5 de???
u din appeal for recheck ma??? icon_idea.gif
but 9A good good liau lu.... icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif
TSfantagero
post Mar 24 2006, 11:49 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(octopuss @ Mar 24 2006, 09:11 AM)
waaa...u get 9A..but how come ur chem c5 de???
u din appeal for recheck ma??? icon_idea.gif
but 9A good good liau lu.... icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif
hehehe... tongue.gif fyi, i kinnda stupid at chem.... during my from 4 and 5.. i never passed the chem rclxub.gif so.... no point of recheck... biggrin.gif
nway.. thanks..

btw, anyone hav opinion for taking IT in utp?? huhuuhh why so many people say it not good?? is it low market value??? susah carik kerja ???
TSfantagero
post Mar 25 2006, 11:57 AM

2,723 posts

bumpieeeee
ememes
post Apr 8 2006, 10:36 AM

203 posts

fantagero, wassup?
im shorlisted for the educamp, 19-21 april at UTP.

This post has been edited by ememes: Apr 8 2006, 11:43 AM
NMZjj
post Apr 8 2006, 10:20 PM

shine!
755 posts

I heard that my cousins who graduate from UTP that if u work for Petronas, then u no need to pay back for the scholarship... if u decide not to work for Petronas... then u got to pay back for the scholarship... But the best is to work for Petronas coz got many benefits... first of all no need pay back for the schola, then no need to scared no work after graduate, summore they will give u free grand seat to watch F1... drool.gif
kuzek07
post Apr 8 2006, 10:39 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 24 2006, 11:49 AM)
btw, anyone hav opinion for taking IT in utp?? huhuuhh why so many people say it not good?? is it low market  value??? susah carik kerja ???
i'm not sure whether i'm qualified to answer this question or not. but earlier this sem, my lecturer asked my class are we afraid that after we graduate, we'll be unemployed. one of my classmates raised his hand. my lecturer asked why and he answered the stats shows. the lecturer that said based on previous batchs, almost 100% utp's ict/bis graduates are employed except 2/3 girls who opted to marry (happy.gif).
and i had attend several career talks, most of them prefered utp students bcoz we have the longest intership program among uni at m'sia which is 8month. hopefully i answer our q.
pearl_eye
post Apr 10 2006, 01:48 PM

13 posts

yes, one thing that make UTP graduate diff from other U is the internship period. 8 months. but it also depends on u how u make your 8 months internship valuable.

up until now, ICT/BIS graduates (b4 this known as IT/IS) from UTP are highly marketable. but of course u must work smart la during ur undergrad semester. and can communicate well (involved in presentation). then, you dont have to worry about getting job.

IT market still need ppl. u can see a lot of job advert seeking for programmer in .NET, SAP, Java, PHP and others. the thing is now, most of the graduates dont have these skills or they dont really work hard to master these area during univ years, and also lack of confidence in communication (again). so if u really want to make a fortune in IT area, please please please study smart and do hands on jobs. theory and practical knowledge are equally important.

allenultra
post Apr 11 2006, 04:35 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(ememes @ Apr 8 2006, 10:36 AM)
fantagero, wassup?
im shorlisted for the educamp, 19-21 april at UTP.
UTP gonna be crowded again very soon.

kuzek07 and pearl_eye, are u still in UTP? just wonder
pearl_eye
post Apr 12 2006, 11:31 AM

13 posts

chow already la allenultra. now successfully working, hehe
but i really miss UTP cry.gif
r4ydc24
post Apr 12 2006, 05:50 PM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

owh, juz bumped into this topic. shld say hi to my cenior, pearl_eye. neva knew dat u are here all along. nway, juz lyk she said, as ict/bis student, dun haf to rely on Petronas. work ya a** hard, study as much things u can, get to know good IT companies(Intel, AMD, Oracle and SAP, to name a few), do well in the subjects related to the company (Intel n AMD, OVERCLOCK YA PC HARD!!! aahahah), go for internship in the company, work ya a** hard again, graduate on time, n try to apply at the same company u did ya intern (given dat u njoy ya internship b4).. datz my simple tips..

my counterparts in UiTM, are graduating this yr. me, another year to go. nemind, they don't have SAP and Oracle backed up in their studies. but they do have Cisco and Microsoft. Thus, get to kno ya environment, and make full use of it.

0.0278sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:34 PM