77 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Travel Mountain Climbers Club, register yourself here!

TSjuichuan
post Jun 5 2009, 11:05 AM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

going there next saturday probably..
tester1979
post Jun 8 2009, 11:49 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

Hello guys/girls,

My sister in law will be going to mount kinabalu as a tour guide. Not as mountain guide. She will bring groups of people on trips to climb the mountain together with certified Mount Kinabalu mountain guide.

But still she will need all the necessary clothing and equipment for this.

Since this will be her first and I, myself is not too well informed about mountain climbing, hoping to get some advice on these:-

1) what kind of equipment needed? shoes? clothes? gears?
2) where and what budget needed for all these?

Appreciate any advise before Friday as plan to purchase during this coming weekend.

Thanks in advance.

mi oew
post Jun 11 2009, 09:39 PM

Name: Mi oew
Summits conquered: kinabalu(half way), bukit kutu
Next target: g.stong
frequent workout place: bukit nanas

This post has been edited by mi oew: Jun 11 2009, 09:50 PM
lycaphim
post Jun 11 2009, 10:17 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Jun 8 2009, 11:49 AM)

1) what kind of equipment needed?  shoes? clothes?  gears?
2) where and what budget needed for all these?

Clothes - No fancy jacket needed. Windbreaker + 2 shirts is enough. It won't get cold until you're really near the top. I also wore 1 trek pants + 1 short.

Balaclava/Ski mask (you know, like the robbers use) will be quite useful (RM10-20). A wool cap is fine too. I got mine at an outdoor boy-scout shop (called Outpost) at 1U.

Rain coat - Get a THICK rain coat. The transparent ponchos were useless when I was going up! You can get it for around RM20-30 (like the motorcyclists use). The guides use an umbrella, but I am not a guide, heh. tongue.gif

Gloves! Very important. Waterproof gloves (leather is okay, or you can get the fancy ski gloves. But not cotton). If your gloves/hands get wet, you'd regret it at the top. Will cost RM15-20.

Shoes - Normal running (Nike, Adidas, Reebok) shoes will do fine.

Other gear - Headlight. Get the LED ones (you can look them up on lelong.com) as they are much brighter and useful than the normal bulbs. Will cost about RM20-30.

Walking stick. No need trekking pole, just ask at the reception desk at Kinabalu Park and they should sell you one for RM5. Very useful on the way up!

Panadol and/or Altitude sickness pills. You have to ask a doctor (or maybe pharmacy) for this. Not sure about price. You'll need to take them a few hours in advance. As for me I had no altitude sickness issues and didn't take any.

You might want to bring lip balm. My lips got very very dry and painful a few days after climbing the mountain.

Other tips - Pack light (I brought only my little brother's small schoolbag all the way to the top of the mountain!), drink lots of water and don't rush. smile.gif

toto4d
post Jun 12 2009, 09:15 AM

643 posts

Would like to know whether nowaday we still can camp at Gunung Ledang? Last time I used to camp at CP5 before ascent in next morning.

I heard camping was not allowed anymore, true?
nadir
post Jun 12 2009, 04:20 PM

21 posts

pssst... any climbers want to join our TT ( teh tarik ) this saturday night around 9.30pm kasim mustafa infront of giant bayan baru ?

comelah, can shit chat about camping, hiking and about gear.

if coming, lemme know zero one two 4302347
navilink
post Jun 19 2009, 09:46 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

anyone went to Gunung Bunga Buah near Genting Highland before?
kalaso_85
post Jun 20 2009, 02:47 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 19 2009, 09:46 PM)
anyone went to Gunung Bunga Buah near Genting Highland before?
i went there b4...anything that i can help?
navilink
post Jun 20 2009, 03:03 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(kalaso_85 @ Jun 20 2009, 02:47 AM)
i went there b4...anything that i can help?

oh great! just wanted to know is the entrance located behind hotel seri malaysia? easy to find?
and how to to actually climb up the peak for beginner/intermediate climbers?
erni3
post Jun 22 2009, 02:50 PM

396 posts

ain't easy. First the Entrance look dodgy and pretty hard for amateur. Once u reach up the tar-mac there like 2 direction. Plus there no obvious trail you could follow, i assume little ppl go there anymore. There leech also. I try but give-up half way.
mi oew
post Jun 24 2009, 10:17 PM

hi.. i am going to gunung ledang on Jul.. anything i need to prepare.. the trail is very hard right? any special gear to recommend? i still have not own a proper hiking shoe yet, anything to recommend?

nadir
post Jun 24 2009, 10:25 PM

21 posts

mi oew , I have not been up Ledang yet, so cannot give much advice. Just about trekking shoes, best is to get a comfortable pair of jogging shoes with agressive soles ( like car thread ) . You can also try the famous adidas kampung, but my advice is to wear them afew times first , otherwise you might get nasty blisters up on Ledang.
chihiro2o6
post Jun 25 2009, 10:01 AM

Hey, mi oew! When are u going thr?
I'll be going on 3&4 of july!
If u r not booking yet maybe we can join together?
No need to prepare hiking shoes la...
My suggestion is "kampung adidas" is the best! Hehe~
terencey
post Jun 26 2009, 03:12 PM

119 posts

Hi, anyone here planning on a trip to Everest Base Camp?

I'm thinking of going there but no kaki.

Would like to ask if anyone been there before and what is the cost. Thanks.
mi oew
post Jun 27 2009, 01:45 AM

QUOTE(chihiro2o6 @ Jun 25 2009, 10:01 AM)
Hey, mi oew! When are u going thr?
I'll be going on 3&4 of july!
If u r not booking yet maybe we can join together?
No need to prepare hiking shoes la...
My suggestion is "kampung adidas" is the best! Hehe~
oh.. what a waste.. i am going at 11 Jul.. book already.
ya.. i think to get a kampung adidas too, but my colleague threaten me said with my skill and 'lauya' shoe, i'll fall from the start till the end.
so just bought a pair of columbia from sale.. after 50% discount still cost me RM150.. T_T

wish all the best to you for your hiking trip ya..

Lohtcing
post Jun 28 2009, 02:42 PM

98 posts

Dear experts

Is there any hiking hill near Kampung Kerinchi Or Bangsar Or Midvalley?

TSjuichuan
post Jun 30 2009, 04:38 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

Gasing Hill in PJ? its rather near to Mid valley..

i am currently joining HASH to explore some unknown hills or forest for trekking and running
seesawseen2k
post Jun 30 2009, 05:15 PM

268 posts

@Juichuan: thanks for the reply.
While I was googling for info, I found this page
http://members.fortunecity.com/tkkhong/gasing/tracks.htm

Can you have a look and tell me whether its updated?

Regards

ggoo
post Jul 8 2009, 01:20 PM

483 posts

where to buy those adidas kampung?
chihiro2o6
post Jul 8 2009, 10:17 PM

I just bought one RM6.90 from jukebox which nearby kota raya.

77 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0301sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:36 AM